Friends with Kids

Friends with Kids Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Friends With Kids is a comedy about a close-knit circle of friends at that moment in life when children arrive and everything changes. The last two singles in the group observe the effect that kids have had on their friends' relationships and wonder if there’s a better way. They decide toFriends With Kids is a comedy about a close-knit circle of friends at that moment in life when children arrive and everything changes. The last two singles in the group observe the effect that kids have had on their friends' relationships and wonder if there’s a better way. They decide to have a kid together - and date other people. This unconventional 'experiment' leads everyone in the group to question the nature of friendship, family and, finally, true love. (Roadside Attractions) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 8, 2012
    88
    An indelibly funny and touching comedy with a real sting in its tail. The laughs leave scars.
  2. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 9, 2012
    75
    Credit Westfeldt, who is also the writer and director, with a classic setup for farce, brightly executed.
  3. Mar 8, 2012
    70
    What will likely draw butts into theaters for Friends with Kids isn't one star in particular, but the sum of its comic pieces.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Mar 8, 2012
    60
    The movie looks like every other rom com, all spacious apartments and sleek, woodsy vacation homes, but it takes you through a wider range of responses to the relationships and characters than most.
  5. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Mar 10, 2012
    50
    In spite of my general distaste for Friends With Kids, let me cast my vote on the side of those who liked the ending. I wish more of the film had had that scene's fresh mixture of casual banter and breathless intimacy, instead of sounding like half-remembered dialogue from a movie we've all seen too many times before.
  6. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Mar 8, 2012
    50
    The result is a talky, predictable, less-audacious-than-it-thinks romantic comedy.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 8, 2012
    10
    It's shrill in tone, awash in unexamined narcissism - kids are just pretexts for laughs, rather than objects of love - and afflicted by explosive verbal diarrhea. There's simply no base line of normal human activity, let alone intimacy, until the anticouple finally re-examines their anticommitment credo. By then everyone has been so selfish and dislikable that our commitment to the film is lost.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    I loved this movie and would recommend everyone to see it. I disagree with every reservation expressed by the critics. Unlike them, I feelI loved this movie and would recommend everyone to see it. I disagree with every reservation expressed by the critics. Unlike them, I feel this was a perfect movie. Jennifer Westfeldt, who wrote, directed, and acted in this movie deserves a lot of credit for doing so many tasks so well. I'm guessing that it was a labor of love.

    The script, which is the backbone of any movie: * was centered around an important issue (what do singles do about having a family as they're getting older), * advanced the action naturally from one scene and dilemma to another, * contained dialogue and repartee that was natural and witty

    The direction: * kept us continually engaged - there wasn't one moment that I was just waiting for the next thing to happen - even though I was eager to find out * kept the dialogue flowing between 6 actors - which is not an easy task * had all the actors act perfectly without any false notes * integrated the kids into the action - another difficult directing task

    The acting: * was great. All the actors were funny, exasperated, mean, kind, caring, and loving in turn with no false notes

    Go see it! See if I'm right and the kvetchy critics are wrong!
    Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Rarely does a movie present characters that you identify with everyone of them or have been everyone of them at some point in your life. YetRarely does a movie present characters that you identify with everyone of them or have been everyone of them at some point in your life. Yet somehow you want to be none of them. That is life. Humor, truth, emotion, and the impossible dilemmas of life rarely rear their heads together in one story, but they do here. Though the directing is nowhere near Woody Allen's Hanna and Manhattan, and the climax is very hollywood, the majority of the film would make Woody very proud. Expand
  3. Jul 30, 2015
    8
    Friends with Kids is a happy rom com that'll give you big laughs than will give you scars. The co-writer/star Jennifer Westfeldt's debut as aFriends with Kids is a happy rom com that'll give you big laughs than will give you scars. The co-writer/star Jennifer Westfeldt's debut as a solo writer and director, gives us smart dialogue also a funny story of parents. In the wake of their friends' marriages, longtime pales Julie (Jennifer Westfeld) and Jason (Adam Scott) want to have a child together but don't want to become a couple. When they become a "time share" they reason, they can experience the joys of parenthood without significantly curbing their personal freedom. However, when they both become involved with each others, they discover they secretly have romantic feelings for each other. It's cliche'd but Westfeld's script and the performances save this cliche'd rom-com. Grade B+ Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2012
    6
    Adam Scott and Jennifer Westfeldt (who also wrote and directed) are the last singles in their circle of married friends. After the others allAdam Scott and Jennifer Westfeldt (who also wrote and directed) are the last singles in their circle of married friends. After the others all have kids, they decide to split one, but maintain their single status and platonic friendship. Predictability ensues. While there's an energetic pace and a quality supporting cast, there's not enough about the script or the characters to make it consistently funny. Unfortunately, the leading pair lacks sufficient charisma or comic chops to justify their casting. Those who enjoy chick flicks may find it pleasant, but this film doesnâ Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2012
    5
    Surprisingly entertaining movie about 2 good friends who decide to have
    A baby together, without the hassle that comes
    With regular
    Surprisingly entertaining movie about 2 good friends who decide to have
    A baby together, without the hassle that comes
    With regular relationships. Very moving and very new York .
    Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2013
    4
    I didnt find the movie boring, it kept intrest at a steady pace. But, once everything was over, the whole movie was just pointless. It had aI didnt find the movie boring, it kept intrest at a steady pace. But, once everything was over, the whole movie was just pointless. It had a good idea, but it just didnt go anywhere with it. Sort of a mixed feeling. Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2012
    0
    This was terrible, watched it with the family and was extremely disappointed. The main actress showed us what bad acting is.. please trust meThis was terrible, watched it with the family and was extremely disappointed. The main actress showed us what bad acting is.. please trust me when i say.. DO NOT WATCH THIS... Collapse

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall Film Festival Roundup: Reviews from Venice, Telluride, and TIFF

    Fall Film Festival Roundup: Reviews from Venice, Telluride, and TIFF Image
    Published: September 20, 2011
    With the 2011 installments of the three major fall film festivals now complete, we sample the reaction from professional critics and film bloggers to the movies generating the most buzz at the three festivals, including new works by Alexander Payne, Whit Stillman, Roman Polanski, David Cronenberg, Steve McQueen, and Madonna.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: February 17, 2012
    This week, get a first look at "Damsels in Distress" and "Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter," watch new trailers and clips for "John Carter," "Friends with Kids," and more, and catch up on the week's film news.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: January 13, 2012
    Our weekly film column returns after a holiday hiatus with brand new trailers for Wes Anderson's "Moonrise Kingdom," the promising comedy "Friends with Kids," and more upcoming films. Plus, get a concise recap of the past week's film news.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  5. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  6. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  7. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 21, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The Magnificent Seven, Storks, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.