Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: April 7, 2006
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 61 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
27
Mixed:
19
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
BayC.May 31, 2006
This is really a terrible film. All the women look haggard from being 2 skinny (esp. Joan Cusak). Except for Frances Mc's hubby, no one is the least bit likeable. Lots of middle-class angst. Jennifer A is so the same as Friends/office This is really a terrible film. All the women look haggard from being 2 skinny (esp. Joan Cusak). Except for Frances Mc's hubby, no one is the least bit likeable. Lots of middle-class angst. Jennifer A is so the same as Friends/office space/good girl. I vote this group the one I would least like to share a table at a fundraiser with. Yuk-o Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RoyS.Dec 15, 2006
A boring waste of actors' talent and viewers' time. The film is dismal and incoherent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JayS.Apr 15, 2006
Disappointing. Of the 4 main couples or 8 people, 6 are unlikable. Do you want to spend 90 minutes with 6 annoying people?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RobertB.May 11, 2006
This movie was absolutely awful. I'm mystified why it received some positive reviews. I know not every movie has a positive resolution or has to say something, but what this movie implies is a load of crap. Truly nonsensical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BJD.Sep 24, 2006
Extremely Boring! The story never came together, it was looking into the lives of four people, but so what? The ending is horrible because it doesn't really end, you are still left wondering about the lives of four people. What a waste Extremely Boring! The story never came together, it was looking into the lives of four people, but so what? The ending is horrible because it doesn't really end, you are still left wondering about the lives of four people. What a waste of talent, and my time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ArnoldP.Apr 24, 2006
I often value and take into account what the critics write but in the case of this film someone missed something. Wonderful ensemble acting, McDormand did create more than a one dimensional character while Aniston in a wildly challenging I often value and take into account what the critics write but in the case of this film someone missed something. Wonderful ensemble acting, McDormand did create more than a one dimensional character while Aniston in a wildly challenging role only seemed to re-enforce a dullard, poorly porteayed, who like most of the other characters, were too one dimensional. The portrayal of supposedly gay husbands was a joke with no insight or reality. What couples could be so unconscious? Why were these people even friends? One liners and some clever dialogue did not create what could have been a biting satire of manners and money. The question again, why so much praise for so little insight, so little reality. i guess we are hungry for intelligent cinema, which here was a veneer, hollow, empty, creating little empathy for the lives of these sad souls. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
tierachaunDec 13, 2013
This movie was shockingly awful. What a waste of a stellar cast. Ploddy, dull, lifeless dialogue. No wit, no insight, several unlikeable characters that did not engage whatsoever. I didn't care what happened to any of them. I didn'tThis movie was shockingly awful. What a waste of a stellar cast. Ploddy, dull, lifeless dialogue. No wit, no insight, several unlikeable characters that did not engage whatsoever. I didn't care what happened to any of them. I didn't laugh once. At one point one of the characters says "I feel like we're just waiting to die". I couldn't have agreed more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MikeG.Apr 24, 2006
Combine 90 minutes of no plot and no character development, add a bunch of characters that are not interesting in the least, and throw in dialogue that, while perhaps realistic, lacks wit or cleverness, and you have this film - a movie Combine 90 minutes of no plot and no character development, add a bunch of characters that are not interesting in the least, and throw in dialogue that, while perhaps realistic, lacks wit or cleverness, and you have this film - a movie that's almost unwatchable. Speaking of watch, I found myself looking at mine often during this pedantic film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TarkoBDec 19, 2007
Ychhhh. Like an episode of Grown Up 90210.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomM.May 8, 2006
The worst film of the year. Characters that are boring, dialogue that is boring. What can I say, it is boring. Thank the movie gods that it was only 88 minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful