User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 207 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 207

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. kld
    Aug 21, 2011
    9
    Having been a fan of the original and not a big fan of hollywood remakes, i was worried about this redo. The basic premise is the same but the makers definitely augmented the whole storyline. Colin Farrell is passable, not great. It's probably the weakest part of the film...Jerry"s role. The other actors and their parts are really good. Peter Vincent's reincarnation is prettyHaving been a fan of the original and not a big fan of hollywood remakes, i was worried about this redo. The basic premise is the same but the makers definitely augmented the whole storyline. Colin Farrell is passable, not great. It's probably the weakest part of the film...Jerry"s role. The other actors and their parts are really good. Peter Vincent's reincarnation is pretty ingenious. Overall, this is a really good summer movie. Really really funny too...and most of that can't be showed in trailers because it would amiss of context. Not sure why this didn't do well at the box office...I think the trailers failed to show the humor. The Russian kid who plays Charlie and the girl from 28 Weeks Later are excellent in their roles...as is McLovin and Toni Colette. Most fun i had at the movie this summer...for sure. Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best movies of the year. I was really surprised at how great Fright Night was. Everything from the acting, the atmosphere, the music, the story... it was all pin-point perfect. Colin Farrell was absolutely amazing in this movie. I mean, everyone is great in it but Colin really stands out. Everyone should see this movie in theaters, it's fantastic. 10/10
  3. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    Simply brilliant. I think it takes a certain type of movie fan to appreciate this kind of film. Treads a fine line between comedy and horror which could be seen as cheap and cheesy but if you can get past that, wow masterpiece. Literally the best film I've seen in years but it's kind of my genre.
  4. Aug 20, 2011
    9
    Entertaining in many aspects, balancing jaded roots and a modern flow to create one pretty awesome flick. Action, horror, suspense, comedy - it does all of this with a **** that provides pure adrenaline at times, and fun and laughter at others.
  5. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    FRIGHT NIGHT is a fun, hilarious, bloody, campy and highly entertaining remake that doesn't fail to make the audience enjoy this 100 minutes of blood and fangs. Although there isn't much scares, it is still a fun vampire flick that is one of the better remakes you will see.
  6. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    In the wake of nothing but highly feminine, not scary, VERY homosexual vampire movies, this one came along. And despite me not seeing the original, nor caring too much for vampires since I like zombie movies better, and the best vampire movie I've seen and recall is "Let Me In", this movie changed my view on vampire movies; there's still hope for good vampire movies, and Twilight hasn'tIn the wake of nothing but highly feminine, not scary, VERY homosexual vampire movies, this one came along. And despite me not seeing the original, nor caring too much for vampires since I like zombie movies better, and the best vampire movie I've seen and recall is "Let Me In", this movie changed my view on vampire movies; there's still hope for good vampire movies, and Twilight hasn't ruined them, despite greatly making people thing their nothing to fear and something you want as a pet. Expand
  7. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    i liked this movie a lot! haven't seen the original yet but i must say if the original is great which i hear it is then this remake did an awesome job. i liked the cast except for the "bully" Charley's friend who is a total ASS! and looks a lot like James Franco! wait that's because they're brothers. lol anyways the movie was great can't say it was "Scary" but it did have its suspense!i liked this movie a lot! haven't seen the original yet but i must say if the original is great which i hear it is then this remake did an awesome job. i liked the cast except for the "bully" Charley's friend who is a total ASS! and looks a lot like James Franco! wait that's because they're brothers. lol anyways the movie was great can't say it was "Scary" but it did have its suspense! Colin Farrel did AWESOME! he really convinced me, and definitely looked the part ,nice job. Charley's character was a dick to Ed AKA "Mclovin" but he played a passable part honestly i think that part could have gone to anyone. Amy who is Charley's girlfriend also had a passable performance and could have been replaced easily! OVERALL the movie was good it served its Purpose. Not quite scary but definitely had its suspenseful moments. Some good humor in it also and some nice action scenes. Didn't care for the 3D! SO I'm giving this movie 9/10 some parts dragged a bit like the whole going to "Vegas" thing but its a great movie. I also compared this movie to "Disturbia" imagine Disturbia meets Vampires! REALLY UNDERRATED FILM. its actually sad that people would go watch a **** movie over THIS! if you're going to see a movie i highly suggest you watch this one! its definitely worth 12 or 15 bucks!....... Expand
  8. nye
    Aug 20, 2011
    9
    Better than i expected. The cast was really good, especially anton yelchin who did a great charley, david tennant and chris mintz plasse were funny and hilarious. Everybody have to see it. Will not be disappointed.
  9. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    I was really surprised at how great Fright Night was. Everything from the acting, the atmosphere, the music, the story... it was all pin-point perfect. Colin Farrell was absolutely amazing in this movie.
    www.onsale7.com designer clothing online stores
  10. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    The movie "Fright Night" is just what you've been waiting for, if you've been looking to see a fun, intense, vampire, bloody, good time! The movie was basically made for nothing less then a fun time. So boys, grab your dates, head to the theater, and get ready for movie that truly defines a night of fright, and bloody good fun!
  11. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    For me, this is one of the best suspense movies that I have seen in a long time. You get everything you ever wanted in a movie without needing to change theaters. You get sucked into the story right from the start and you have a lot of fun during it trying to figure out how he is going to get out of the situation. I never thought that Colin Farrow had it in him to be able to pull this off,For me, this is one of the best suspense movies that I have seen in a long time. You get everything you ever wanted in a movie without needing to change theaters. You get sucked into the story right from the start and you have a lot of fun during it trying to figure out how he is going to get out of the situation. I never thought that Colin Farrow had it in him to be able to pull this off, but he does. I never watched the original and after this I don't think that I want to. The graphics are amazing and seeing the old one will just make me want to see the new one and trash the old one. Great movie must see! Expand
  12. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    While I wouldn't say this is the greatest movie of all time or even close. I would say this is a fun movie to go see. The scares are more subtle and the humor is easy to follow. This is a remake of the older 80's film it does however take a darker twist to it. Ferrell's Jerry role is much more intimidating and scarier than the old version. Some people wont understand the film or areWhile I wouldn't say this is the greatest movie of all time or even close. I would say this is a fun movie to go see. The scares are more subtle and the humor is easy to follow. This is a remake of the older 80's film it does however take a darker twist to it. Ferrell's Jerry role is much more intimidating and scarier than the old version. Some people wont understand the film or are looking to deep for something that isnt there. This film is predictable but it isnt about the epic story twisting or some nonsense like that and there are no Emo-Vamps in this. If your looking for a more classic style movie of bang here it is then this is the movie for you, I relate it to a simplistic roller coaster. I can just sit and enjoy the ride so to speak. Expand
  13. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    So I went and saw this movie opening night with my girlfriend who is a die hard fan. Walking into the theater there was only about three other movie goers in attendance. I have to say this movie was great and while watching the movie we didn't even notice that we were basically alone. Colin Ferrel's take on Jerry's character is a very refreshing rebirth of Chris Serandon's sexy seductiveSo I went and saw this movie opening night with my girlfriend who is a die hard fan. Walking into the theater there was only about three other movie goers in attendance. I have to say this movie was great and while watching the movie we didn't even notice that we were basically alone. Colin Ferrel's take on Jerry's character is a very refreshing rebirth of Chris Serandon's sexy seductive vampire. Things like the green apple obsession remind lovers of the original that the movie producers hadn't forgotten this movies roots. I wish it had done better because this truly was the best movie I saw over the summer. Expand
  14. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    I saw it, not enough good as expected but it's OK. David Tennant comes in as the magician just at the right time to juice up the proceedings, it's all for vampires lover. supply chain management system
  15. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    Collin Farrel is simple the best vampire i ever seen, obviously Gary Oldman is the best classic vampire but this movies is just great! this movie show a vampire the way it is mean to be, this movies is just another kick in the ass of twilight, suck this Edward Cullen!
  16. Sep 30, 2011
    9
    I don't know why this movie didn't have more success, it was totally awesome. Colin Farrell was the perfect casting choice for Jerry, and Anton Yelchin establishes himself as leading man material. I don't get the people who weren't blown away by this film.
  17. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    I should have seen this at the cinema but I got caught up in other things. It sounded extremely fascinating when I first heard about this, mostly considering there were some great actors in it, like David Tennant and Colin Farrell. When I did see this a couple of days ago, I suddenly agreed with my previous statement. To make it more effective, my parents turned out all the lights in theI should have seen this at the cinema but I got caught up in other things. It sounded extremely fascinating when I first heard about this, mostly considering there were some great actors in it, like David Tennant and Colin Farrell. When I did see this a couple of days ago, I suddenly agreed with my previous statement. To make it more effective, my parents turned out all the lights in the house, so all I could see was this disturbing glow of a bloodthirsty vampire tearing out someone's throat. Colin Farrell makes for a very effective vampire; (he was my favourite character) he didn't really scare me, he was more creepy than that. He certainly had the look and quality of a vampire. Remakes aren't normally as good as the original, but despite the normality, the acting, the dialogue, the atmosphere - it all creeped the hell out of me. This is also fantastically gory and the actors just passed swiftly under it, refusing to give in despite the fact that there was a vampire on the loose. Nothing like Twilight - as Ed described Jerry (cool name for a supernatural creature by the way) - he's the freaking shark from Jaws. In fact, this is very, very good quality. Would have liked it to have a higher score, but at least the reviews were mostly favourable. It just seemed a damn shame that I didn't see it when it came out, especially in 3D. It was extremely thrilling and heart-pounding though anyway. Highly recommended. Expand
  18. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    A fun, bloody, violent and hilarious remake that is better than the original is really entertaining and enjoyable.
  19. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    this' one of the best remake movies in this year.'cause this movie didn't follow the original movie at all,the director had added some new elements in this movie.this' a good movie.
  20. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fright Night is a 2011 film directed by Craig Gillespie's remake of the 1985 film. The story is about Charley Brewster (Anton Yelchin) a boy to try to achieve popularity and get noticed by the girl he loves he began to neglect his best friend Ed (Christopher Mintz-Plaase). For a short time close to home Brewster moved Jerry (Colin Farrell) and Ed thinks he's a vampire who chooses his victims in the neighborhood but Charlie does not believe him. But in the end he will change his mind when he begins to investigate after the death of Ed and will face a terrible adventure to protect his mother and the girl he loves. The film has an excellent direction with excellent photography and the horror genre and the comedy genre are able to join well being able to make people laugh (just think of the vampire named Jerry) and also to scare you. Excellent interpretation of Colin Farrell in the role of vampire and hilarious characters of Christopher Mintz-Plaase and David Tennant who plays here an alleged vampire hunter. A lot of love for sure except for Twilight fans because in this film, there are many quotes that make fun of the saga of the same name. Expand
  21. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    A really funny film, I think that is not much scare than the original, but is great, the cast is awesome, Anton Yelchin, Collin Farrell, David Tennant, wow are awesome, I love this remake.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Aug 29, 2011
    60
    Funny and scary - and sometimes both at once - it lives up to the original, even if it fails to surpass it.
  2. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Aug 19, 2011
    75
    It ends up getting a surprising number of things right.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Aug 19, 2011
    50
    While this nouveau Fright Night does a reasonable job of maintaining the fun spirit of the original film, between the blood splatters and vamp stakings, it never builds on what the original had to offer -- and thus never quite makes a convincing case for its own existence.