Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 242 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Senior Charlie Brewster finally has it all going on: he's running with the popular crowd and dating the most coveted girl in his high school. In fact, he's so cool he’s even dissing his best friend. But trouble arrives when Jerry moves in next door. He seems like a great guy at first, butSenior Charlie Brewster finally has it all going on: he's running with the popular crowd and dating the most coveted girl in his high school. In fact, he's so cool he’s even dissing his best friend. But trouble arrives when Jerry moves in next door. He seems like a great guy at first, but there’s something not quite right—but everyone, including Charlie's mom, doesn't notice. After observing some very strange activity, Charlie comes to an unmistakable conclusion: Jerry is a vampire preying on the neighborhood. Unable to convince anyone, Charlie has to find a way to get rid of the monster himself in this Craig Gillespie-helmed revamp of the comedy-horror classic. (DreamWorks Pictures)

    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Aug 18, 2011
    80
    Farrell looks like he's having the time of his 400-year-old life.
  2. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Aug 18, 2011
    75
    Fright Night joins "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" as proof that you actually can do this sort of thing correctly.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Aug 18, 2011
    75
    Fright Night isn't quite a classic vampire movie, but it's refreshingly straightforward and self-deprecating.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Aug 17, 2011
    70
    It's a somewhat goofy movie that also manages some real scares. Best of all, it makes excellent use of an element of vampire stories effective since Count Dracula confronted Van Helsing in Bram Stoker's novel: I know that you know, and I also know there is nothing you can do about it.
  5. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Aug 18, 2011
    63
    With the exception of a few stakes and crosses jumping from the screen, some bloody sprays here and there, and one creepy, claustrophobic car ride, the 3-D glasses are a hindrance, not an enhancement.
  6. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Aug 29, 2011
    60
    Funny and scary - and sometimes both at once - it lives up to the original, even if it fails to surpass it.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Aug 19, 2011
    38
    Feeble comic one-liners and slow pacing combine for a routine fangfest in this remake of the 1985 film.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 68
  2. Negative: 9 out of 68
  1. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best movies of the year. I was really surprised at how great Fright Night was. Everything from the acting, the atmosphere,Easily one of the best movies of the year. I was really surprised at how great Fright Night was. Everything from the acting, the atmosphere, the music, the story... it was all pin-point perfect. Colin Farrell was absolutely amazing in this movie. I mean, everyone is great in it but Colin really stands out. Everyone should see this movie in theaters, it's fantastic. 10/10 Expand
  2. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    So I went and saw this movie opening night with my girlfriend who is a die hard fan. Walking into the theater there was only about three otherSo I went and saw this movie opening night with my girlfriend who is a die hard fan. Walking into the theater there was only about three other movie goers in attendance. I have to say this movie was great and while watching the movie we didn't even notice that we were basically alone. Colin Ferrel's take on Jerry's character is a very refreshing rebirth of Chris Serandon's sexy seductive vampire. Things like the green apple obsession remind lovers of the original that the movie producers hadn't forgotten this movies roots. I wish it had done better because this truly was the best movie I saw over the summer. Expand
  3. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    i liked this movie a lot! haven't seen the original yet but i must say if the original is great which i hear it is then this remake did ani liked this movie a lot! haven't seen the original yet but i must say if the original is great which i hear it is then this remake did an awesome job. i liked the cast except for the "bully" Charley's friend who is a total ASS! and looks a lot like James Franco! wait that's because they're brothers. lol anyways the movie was great can't say it was "Scary" but it did have its suspense! Colin Farrel did AWESOME! he really convinced me, and definitely looked the part ,nice job. Charley's character was a dick to Ed AKA "Mclovin" but he played a passable part honestly i think that part could have gone to anyone. Amy who is Charley's girlfriend also had a passable performance and could have been replaced easily! OVERALL the movie was good it served its Purpose. Not quite scary but definitely had its suspenseful moments. Some good humor in it also and some nice action scenes. Didn't care for the 3D! SO I'm giving this movie 9/10 some parts dragged a bit like the whole going to "Vegas" thing but its a great movie. I also compared this movie to "Disturbia" imagine Disturbia meets Vampires! REALLY UNDERRATED FILM. its actually sad that people would go watch a **** movie over THIS! if you're going to see a movie i highly suggest you watch this one! its definitely worth 12 or 15 bucks!....... Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2011
    7
    This was a well done movie. Fun. Funny. Gory. And scary too. I had liked the original in its day and there are things they lost from thatThis was a well done movie. Fun. Funny. Gory. And scary too. I had liked the original in its day and there are things they lost from that one which I wish they had preserved, including the mechanism for Charlie's discovery of the nature of his neighbor. There were moments in the movie where the 3-D was really impactful, but frankly, those moments were too few and far between. Lesson learned, do not take someone who has been recently bitten into the sunlight.........Yikes. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2012
    7
    Hard not to be tarnished having watched the original 2 movies, but this feels more a new direction for the series and it largely works at whatHard not to be tarnished having watched the original 2 movies, but this feels more a new direction for the series and it largely works at what it does well, but there are things that pull the lining out the story in places. Farrell's performance as the vampire are decent, although there was a sort of vacant feel to it... my biggest issue was really the casting for peter vincent... hard not to see him as Dr. Who. Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2012
    5
    Nothing new in this teen vampire flick, except for the lack of nudity. I usually stay away from these movies but the Green Metacritic ratingNothing new in this teen vampire flick, except for the lack of nudity. I usually stay away from these movies but the Green Metacritic rating and the name actors peeked my curiosity. It is different from the usual fare (nubile lasses needing no reason to remove their tops), but not here. Someone must owe someone as Mr Farrell and MS Collette appear. Mr Farrell may have had good fun being the "bad guy" but Ms Collette is clearly here for her name as she has a very small meaningless part. There are a couple of attractive women (a fetching girlfriend and crying stripper) but also with little dialogue, although our hero does need a sweetheart to encourage him. Mr Yelchin plays it for real, although there are a few laughs, it tries to be a serious film. He is believable and does have some unusual facial expressions, but overall he is average. The film is well made, good pacing, silly and preposterous at times, but aren't most teen vampire films? I wanted to like it as the "names" do a credible job, but it's just not worth seeing. Not horrible, but not recommended (C+). Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    0
    I registered with Metacritic so I could write this review. There just has to be more in your life for you to do than watch this movie.I registered with Metacritic so I could write this review. There just has to be more in your life for you to do than watch this movie. Seriously. Go do something productive, you'll thank yourself for it in the long run.

    worst. anything. ever.
    Collapse

See all 68 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Remakes of the Past Decade

    Ranked: Best and Worst Remakes of the Past Decade Image
    Published: August 16, 2011
    This Friday brings remakes of "Conan the Barbarian" and "Fright Night" to theaters. Just how good (and bad) can a remake possibly be? We take a look at examples of both extremes released since 2000.
  2. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.