From Dusk Till Dawn

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 292 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 292

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    To me, It's incredibly rare for a movie to not only to suck you in but to keep you interested and entertained through out and this movie really did it for me. I loved it.
  2. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    This movie is directed by Robert Rodriquez and has a screenplay by Quentin Tarantino who also has a role in the film. This is actually one of the first movies by Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino that I watched and from then on I pretty much became a fan of them both. So, when it came out on Blu-ray a while ago I had to get it for the collection of course.

    When I and my dear wife
    This movie is directed by Robert Rodriquez and has a screenplay by Quentin Tarantino who also has a role in the film. This is actually one of the first movies by Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino that I watched and from then on I pretty much became a fan of them both. So, when it came out on Blu-ray a while ago I had to get it for the collection of course.

    When I and my dear wife first watched this movie we did not really know what it was all about. We thought it was just another robbery/criminal story and the first half of the movie it is indeed
    Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    George Clooney and Quentin Tarantino shine in this great vampire flick. Starts as a movie about two criminals on the run. The thing about this movie is it the first and second halves could be their own films. The first half is a interesting tale of two brothers in crime. About midway it turns into a highly entertaining vampire movie. Great quotable dialogue, memorable scenes, some decentGeorge Clooney and Quentin Tarantino shine in this great vampire flick. Starts as a movie about two criminals on the run. The thing about this movie is it the first and second halves could be their own films. The first half is a interesting tale of two brothers in crime. About midway it turns into a highly entertaining vampire movie. Great quotable dialogue, memorable scenes, some decent performances and vampires. What more could you want? Expand
  4. j30
    Nov 10, 2011
    6
    A mildly entertaining movie that starts out like a Tarantino movie and then quickly turns into a horror b-movie.
  5. PatC.
    May 1, 2006
    2
    Two halves of different movies spliced together with total disregard for continuity. The first half is entertaining in its Tarantino expect-the-unexpected content, but the second half treats it as mere disposable prologue, making the entire project disposable - apparently what the filmmakers set out to do. Mission accommplished.
  6. Aug 20, 2014
    6
    Suitably sleazy entertainment. The first half of the movie is a grindhouse style crime-thriller, while the second is an over-the-top and goofy vampire movie that doesn't take itself seriously at all and is filled with extremely gory kills. The only things that stay the same throughout are that it's completely vulgar and it's main characters are violent and deranged.

    It can be stupid,
    Suitably sleazy entertainment. The first half of the movie is a grindhouse style crime-thriller, while the second is an over-the-top and goofy vampire movie that doesn't take itself seriously at all and is filled with extremely gory kills. The only things that stay the same throughout are that it's completely vulgar and it's main characters are violent and deranged.

    It can be stupid, offensive, or at times just downright gross. Surprisingly though that's what makes it fun. Watching it turn from a crime-thriller with two deranged leads (Clooney and Tarantino himself) into a dumb, b-movie horror flick feels surprisingly natural, and it's just overall a decent amount of trashy and stupid fun. It's definitely not for everyone, but there's something about it that still makes it worth a look. Just keep in mind this is far from high-art. I give it a 6.8/10.
    Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2014
    6
    From Dusk Till Dawn is extremely trashy, cheesy, vulgar entertainment. This is real 80's pulp mashed together is laughably bad script and screenplay. It's trashy but fun. George Clooney plays Seth Gecko and Quentin Tarantino playes Richard Gecko- another word for rapist in movie history. These brothers care about crime, when the tables turn in an attempt to rob a gas station, the brothersFrom Dusk Till Dawn is extremely trashy, cheesy, vulgar entertainment. This is real 80's pulp mashed together is laughably bad script and screenplay. It's trashy but fun. George Clooney plays Seth Gecko and Quentin Tarantino playes Richard Gecko- another word for rapist in movie history. These brothers care about crime, when the tables turn in an attempt to rob a gas station, the brothers find themselves in big trouble after every cop in the state looks for them. When the boys find a RV to escape- they find three family members in it. Jacob Fuller, played by Harvey Keitel- Kate Fuller, played by Julliete Lewis and Scott Fuller played by Ernest Liu. The story progresses as they go to a club called the **** Twister and get a sexy dance by Salma Hayek. Yeah, that's it. But the second half is about fighting vampires rather than focusing on the story and characters. It wastes too much time. The story is absurd and most people wont like it- especially Tarantino fans. But the real cringe to the movie is this the acting and the all time fun you have in this cheesy flick. It's the most fun you'll have but still- it's flawed. I would say give it a rent and check out your brain at the door. Expand
  8. Nov 2, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film was absolutly fantastic for just over an hour. Literally one of the best things I'd ever seen, clever, funny, cool, well acted. Aaand then this lady turns into a vampire, tarentino dies and the whole thing goes to hell. I've never been so disappointed. Expand
  9. Jan 28, 2014
    0
    Another bunch of sicko crap from Tarantino, who is one of the sickest wackos ever to come out of Hollywood. Having Clooney in it only made it worse - if that was possible.
  10. AndrewM.
    Feb 6, 2005
    9
    Movies in general exist for one of two reasons, and sometimes both. These are: to entertain and to edify. Genre aside, some films are easy to categorize in this respect, while others walk a tighter line. From Dusk To Dawn should be clearly seen in the former, regarding both the above points. If your definition of entertainment in cinema does not include raw aspects of any kind (or Movies in general exist for one of two reasons, and sometimes both. These are: to entertain and to edify. Genre aside, some films are easy to categorize in this respect, while others walk a tighter line. From Dusk To Dawn should be clearly seen in the former, regarding both the above points. If your definition of entertainment in cinema does not include raw aspects of any kind (or Tarantino 'touches', if you like) then steer well clear of this film; the game is over before it even began. If however you like the coarse elements and consider they enhance the cinematic experience, or are just open-minded and not perturbed by them, then I highly recommend this film. FDTD is unlike any movie I have seen and I consider it near a masterpiece of filmmaking. The acting is first-rate, the overall production is flawless and the writing is...well, that can be expounded upon simply by looking at who's responsible. In the vein of The Crying Game, not much can be disclosed without spoiling the experience. All that needs to be said is that it is original, comical, farcical, and very entertaining, for which reason, solely, it was made. Expand
  11. JonathanD.
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    Awesome movie with geat lines and actions. Goerge Clooney is coolest as ever. Thanks Quentin!
  12. May 2, 2011
    5
    A fun ride that has a better first half than the second. If this movie had just left out the whole vampire story and just continued with the first half it would have been much more thrilling and possibly become an unexpected success. George Clooney gives a great job and Tarantino, Lewis and Keitel do well also. However, the only reason I wouldn't give this movie full marks is because ofA fun ride that has a better first half than the second. If this movie had just left out the whole vampire story and just continued with the first half it would have been much more thrilling and possibly become an unexpected success. George Clooney gives a great job and Tarantino, Lewis and Keitel do well also. However, the only reason I wouldn't give this movie full marks is because of the fact that the vampire action reaches levels of pure mindless schlock and forgets all drama, suspense and character. In other words, a good time for horror fans and a bad time for serious moviegoers. Expand
  13. May 19, 2015
    6
    Is it great? No, but it certainly is very entertaining. That being said it isn't much more than entertaining. The kills are great and the action/comedy keeps you watching it but when you look beyond that there really isn't all that much substance.
  14. Oct 9, 2015
    6
    A fun and campy horror gorefest, From Dusk Till Dawn certainly ranks up there with the weirdest movies I have encountered during my journey through film. From the major tonal shift to the fact that it exists as a decent movie in many different genres, and to the fact that it stars George Clooney viciously killing vampires, From Dusk Till Dawn is quite the experience. It is never truly aA fun and campy horror gorefest, From Dusk Till Dawn certainly ranks up there with the weirdest movies I have encountered during my journey through film. From the major tonal shift to the fact that it exists as a decent movie in many different genres, and to the fact that it stars George Clooney viciously killing vampires, From Dusk Till Dawn is quite the experience. It is never truly a horror film in the sense that it scares you, but it is one in the sense that it truly just lingers within you. Once you watch this one, you have become the undead and will never switch back. Weird turn after weird turn reveal a wildly entertaining if over-the-top film that truly never fails to live up to my expectations for it. It is not a great film, but is a fun one and has some classic Tarantino writing and gore, plus a good performance from George Clooney, and solid direction form Robert Rodriguez. A Tarantino-Clooney-Rodriguez group project can never truly can too awry, now can it? Overall, this one is a nice, light break from more serious horror films during the lead up to any Halloween. Expand
  15. Nov 9, 2014
    7
    I think this movie is really good. It is by far the best vampire movie I've ever seen. I really like how the vampires look. Not terrible obvious mask and not so good you'll get nightmares but like directly in the middle. Also the story is funny and suspenseful. I like this movie but it's not the GREATEST. so that's why I gave it a 7.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. 89
    This is horror with a wink and a nod to drive-in theatres and sweaty back seats. This is how it's done.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeff Giles
    60
    Robert Rodriguez's second effort is a funny, craftily written piece of low-grade horror crapola.
  3. 75
    It's great fun, but certainly not great art.