Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: October 19, 2001
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 119 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
51
Mixed:
29
Negative:
39
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
KarthXLRMar 25, 2011
Was this supposed to be a detective film, a thriller, or a horror story? Because it fails at all three at them. Johnny Depp has been miscast into a bland and uninteresting character while all other characters are simply uninteresting to beginWas this supposed to be a detective film, a thriller, or a horror story? Because it fails at all three at them. Johnny Depp has been miscast into a bland and uninteresting character while all other characters are simply uninteresting to begin with. Not bad, but completely forgettable. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
5
TokyochuchuNov 4, 2013
From Hell would almost be interesting if it wasn't for the bungled love story, awful accents and empty conclusion. There are a few nice things about this Jack the Ripper flick but overall it's a mess.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LoRevisorDec 28, 2014
Excelente Filme,Ótimo elenco,roteiro,direção e produção.
Com atuações Brilhantes de Johnny Depp,Ian Holm,Heather Graham,Robbie Coltrane e Jason Flemying.
Super Suspense,cheio de vida,supresas e terror.
Brilhante Filme
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 25, 2013
Watch it!!! Perfect!!!! A masterpiece!!!! It's one of my favourite thrillers!!!! Johnny Depp is always perfect in his movies!!! He has a gift!!!!! He's the best actor in the world!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
talisencrwAug 16, 2016
I went into this having only seen 'The Book of Eli' by these directors, The Hughes Brothers. I quite liked that film, although I did feel their vivacious stylizations interfered with the telling of the story. Seeing this earlier film ofI went into this having only seen 'The Book of Eli' by these directors, The Hughes Brothers. I quite liked that film, although I did feel their vivacious stylizations interfered with the telling of the story. Seeing this earlier film of theirs confirmed that suspicion, though it's still a fine film. Though Johnny Depp (the brothers' 5th choice for the lead) does a fine job as the film's protagonist (I haven't read Alan Moore's graphic novel yet, so I can't say how this filmic adaptation compares), it certainly would have been interesting to see how any of their previous choices would have done (in order of their preference): Daniel Day-Lewis, Sean Connery, Jude Law and Brad Pitt (but especially either of the first two). It has a fine supporting cast, is beautiful to look at and is consistently intriguing. I especially liked Heather Graham (I think this is solidly amongst her best work), Ian Holm, Robbie Coltrane and, most significantly, Katlin Cartlidge. Boy, do I ever miss her in films made ever since. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MattBrady99Sep 15, 2015
The atmosphere in 'From Hell' creates this stomach turning, graphic and this gothic universe where the Ripper lives, and that's why it gave this movie a unique look and feel to it. Johnny Depp once again brings a solid performance in thisThe atmosphere in 'From Hell' creates this stomach turning, graphic and this gothic universe where the Ripper lives, and that's why it gave this movie a unique look and feel to it. Johnny Depp once again brings a solid performance in this movie and the overall film is a decent watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Zanessa250QIJul 5, 2015
Curti,Muito bom,Excelente,Obra-prima E Perfeição. Eu acho que esses 31 individuos que deram votos negativos de 0 a 3 são retardados que não sabem o que é história e roteiro de qualidade podiam morrer.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
raciocinioJul 7, 2015
Mega-Ultra-Hiper Filmaço... Engraçado a dois dias atrás tinha 31 cidadãos que votaram negativo isto é de 0 a 3,aumentou dois retardados em apenas dois dias.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
sicranoApr 4, 2016
........................................................................................................................................................................................................................great
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisNov 5, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From Hell was the most stylish and frightening horror film that I have seen in years. The film was visceral in atmosphere and I was on the edge of my seat for the entire 2 hours and twenty minutes. This is definitely one of the most clever horror films that I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RobertBroganSep 30, 2015
The problem I had with From Hell was that it felt like I was watching a movie about Jack the Ripper, set in London. I never got that immersive cinematic experience. While the production values were fine, the way things came off reminded meThe problem I had with From Hell was that it felt like I was watching a movie about Jack the Ripper, set in London. I never got that immersive cinematic experience. While the production values were fine, the way things came off reminded me too much of History Channel dramatizations. I'd put that down to overacting on the part of the supporting cast; Heather Graham and Johnny Depp were fine, as was the directing. I must admit that I ended up returning the disc early to get to the next one in my queue. I read spoilers for the rest of the film and the story sounds much more interesting than what I had seen up to that point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZaynhewsonjavadApr 4, 2016
......................................................................................................................................................................Great writing and performances
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
clinteastwooMay 11, 2016
................................................................................................................................................................Masterpiece Movie Everything Is Masterpiece the script, the acting, the end....................................................................................................................................................................Masterpiece Movie Everything Is Masterpiece the script, the acting, the end.... Who give negative reviews for this movie don't know what is a Great Script Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gigizaynDec 22, 2016
What People Want???? A Horror Movie????

The movie is about an investigation, and super convincing by the way. Read in synopsis before wanted an horror movie!!!!, the haters can laugh, but the movie is convincing ever in the murder scenes the
What People Want???? A Horror Movie????

The movie is about an investigation, and super convincing by the way. Read in synopsis before wanted an horror movie!!!!, the haters can laugh, but the movie is convincing ever in the murder scenes the horror scenes, Great acting, great script! An great underrated movie!!!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews