From Up on Poppy Hill

  • Studio:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Set in Yokohama in 1963, this lovingly hand-drawn film centers on Umi and Shun and the budding romance that develops as they join forces to save their high school’s ramshackle clubhouse from demolition. [GKIDS]
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 28, 2013
    100
    Your kids may will fall in love with it, if you help them find it.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Mar 29, 2013
    83
    Although simpler and less mysterious than the great Hayao Miyazaki movies, the gently melancholic From Up on Poppy Hill is still a must see at a time when family entertainment is too often synonymous with blandness.
  3. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Aug 3, 2013
    80
    Goro Miyazaki’s film is about the point at which we decide not what we want to be when we grow up, but who, and the way the tiniest moments in our lives often have the most far-reaching effect.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Mar 14, 2013
    65
    It's the warm tenor of the film that ultimately rescues it.
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Mar 27, 2013
    63
    The artistry is peaceful and comforting to the eyes but not especially stirring. Given the pictorial extremes that Studio Ghibli has gone to in the past, "Up on Poppy Hill" is weak tea.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Aug 2, 2013
    60
    It's a light, breezy 1960s-set coming-of-age tale that strives to convey something of how Japan rebuilt itself after the traumas of the second world war.
  7. Reviewed by: Caroline McKenzie
    Mar 11, 2013
    50
    The story arc is somewhat facile, and its lesson about preserving history instead of demolishing it to make way for new, shiny things is too obvious.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    From Up on Poppy Hill is a simple-yet nostalgic and sweet story. The characters are likable. The main characters is a realistic and beautifulFrom Up on Poppy Hill is a simple-yet nostalgic and sweet story. The characters are likable. The main characters is a realistic and beautiful heroine. The story itself will bring back that sense of nostalgia you get thinking about your first love; or just when you where young and in school. Definitely one of my favorite Hayao Miyazaki films. Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    From Up on Poppy Hill is a beautiful film. It has charm, harmony and hopefull for new generations. Like "Only Yesterday" and "Ocean Waves",From Up on Poppy Hill is a beautiful film. It has charm, harmony and hopefull for new generations. Like "Only Yesterday" and "Ocean Waves", "From Up on Poppy Hill" is an another traditional and folklore Studio Ghibli film. Expand
  3. May 4, 2013
    10
    One of Ghibli's best, very much akin to Whispers of the Heart but without the magic cats, and with characters a bit more down to earth, with aOne of Ghibli's best, very much akin to Whispers of the Heart but without the magic cats, and with characters a bit more down to earth, with a greater sense of community. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Another Ghibli masterpiece. Great story, top-tier animation, and a great story make this an all around winner. The plot may be difficult forAnother Ghibli masterpiece. Great story, top-tier animation, and a great story make this an all around winner. The plot may be difficult for young children to follow, this is a more mature story. Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    From Up on Poppy Hill is a delightful Gibili anime. Ditching the fantasy motifs completely, the movie tells an understated story of young loveFrom Up on Poppy Hill is a delightful Gibili anime. Ditching the fantasy motifs completely, the movie tells an understated story of young love and it's obstacles. The film is sweet, subtle and delivers a superbly animated vision of a newly post war Japan. Excellent stuff, as usual! Expand
  6. May 12, 2015
    8
    I really shouldn't like this film because it's the type of story that normaly wouldn't appeal to me but in this case i love it and it's aI really shouldn't like this film because it's the type of story that normaly wouldn't appeal to me but in this case i love it and it's a credit to both of the Miyazaki's . Goro has listened to a lot of the criticism's he received for earthsea and has improved his direction without compromising his style and it works well with his fathers excellent writing. the story is pretty good sucking you into this world and it's characters in the wake of Japan's relatively recent history of receiving the olympics in the 60's though the narrative can get a bit lost on occasion but not to the extent that it ruins it. the voice acting is great though i've only seen the english dub so i can't comment on the Japanese version and the animation as usual really excels itself. it's another triumph for ghibli. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2014
    6
    I enjoyed this movie. It's about a bunch of kids fighting to save the old quarter of their 1960's Japanese town. There are some great scenesI enjoyed this movie. It's about a bunch of kids fighting to save the old quarter of their 1960's Japanese town. There are some great scenes in here, primarily concerning boys and girls and funny, spot-on ways they behave around one another. It's not the best of stories - the storytelling is clumsy at times (some subplots are contrived and serve little to the overarching story) and there are plenty of conventional tropes (the two leads are sympathetic but a little bland, and their romance is 100% predictable). But there's a sweetness and gentleness to the tale that lingers. A good movie. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  2. Spring Movie Preview: 21 Notable Upcoming Films

    Spring Movie Preview: 21 Notable Upcoming Films Image
    Published: March 6, 2013
    Get a look at all of the films coming to theaters in March and April, including the latest Stephenie Meyer adaptation, a G.I. Joe sequel, a Tom Cruise sci-fi film, and new movies from Danny Boyle, Terrence Malick, Derek Cianfrance, and Shane Carruth.