Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1009 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Anna sets off on an epic journey—teaming up with rugged mountain man Kristoff and his loyal reindeer Sven—to find her sister Elsa, whose icy powers have trapped the kingdom of Arendelle in eternal winter. Encountering Everest-like conditions, mystical trolls and a hilarious snowman namedAnna sets off on an epic journey—teaming up with rugged mountain man Kristoff and his loyal reindeer Sven—to find her sister Elsa, whose icy powers have trapped the kingdom of Arendelle in eternal winter. Encountering Everest-like conditions, mystical trolls and a hilarious snowman named Olaf, Anna and Kristoff battle the elements in a race to save the kingdom. [Walt Disney Pictures] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 26, 2013
    100
    Wonderfully enchanting wintry fare.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 26, 2013
    90
    Frozen is a delightful animated musical, a return to form for Disney animation with an intriguing story and terrific songs.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 27, 2013
    83
    Frozen impresses by conveying coldness in all its frostbitten beauty, from northern lights and blizzards, to ice magnifying, refracting and reflecting light. The movie is a lovely example for animation enthusiasts to study.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Nov 27, 2013
    75
    Frozen establishes a strong, confident tone: Cool mythology, rich, vivid animation, and 3-D effects that are actually worth seeing, not just migraine-inducing distractions.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 13, 2013
    70
    The film transcends its various borrowings and occasional stumblings with a modern, exuberant spirit that draws heat from Broadway-style musical numbers and, before and after everything else, from marvelous 3-D animation
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Nov 6, 2013
    70
    This always enjoyable tale of mysterious magic, imperiled princesses and square-jawed men of action proves longer on striking visuals than on truly engaging or memorable characters.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Nov 26, 2013
    40
    The story — aside from a climax that plays like a too-knowing rebuke to Disney formula — goes tediously through the motions. It isn’t only Papa Walt’s head that’s been put on ice.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 278
  1. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    Amazing movie for both children and adults. It combines great characters with a great story and very catchy broadway style songs. IAmazing movie for both children and adults. It combines great characters with a great story and very catchy broadway style songs. I seriously can't understand why anyone wouldn't love this movie! Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    Excellent show, absorbing, entertaining, perfect animation, colors, and music. When it is needed to get away from tensions and dull moviesExcellent show, absorbing, entertaining, perfect animation, colors, and music. When it is needed to get away from tensions and dull movies there is no better than Frozen. Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    While we all love Disney and the happiness it brings to everyone, sometimes it over-shows ideals to young girls that might not come true inWhile we all love Disney and the happiness it brings to everyone, sometimes it over-shows ideals to young girls that might not come true in reality. "Frozen" addresses the meaning of love right from the start, with an adult Anna, who being separated from reality for her entire life has no idea what love truly means. .As an avid Disney fan, and as someone with two sisters, this is a movie that people of all ages will love to see. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2014
    8
    For me it's the best Disney film in a long time. The music is great, the characters are memorable and it just has that feel of magic that theFor me it's the best Disney film in a long time. The music is great, the characters are memorable and it just has that feel of magic that the Disney films of old had. The fact I've had it less than a a week and watched it a few times already says a lot about it, again I haven't done this with a Disney film for years and years. Really wished I'd have caught this one at the cinema. The only small complaint I have is that I wish there would have been a memorable villain in there!

    A great film kids will no doubt enjoy the most but also for fans of Disney films everywhere as this is a welcome return to form.
    Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2014
    7
    There is so much hype for this film. Everyone is singing the songs, everyone is quoting dialogue - and that isn't always the kids! So I had toThere is so much hype for this film. Everyone is singing the songs, everyone is quoting dialogue - and that isn't always the kids! So I had to get around to watching it at some point. The music is pretty top-notch and I'm not usually a fan of musicals. There is quite a lot of it though and some transitions into and out of them are a bit scruffy. It does also seem rather rushed overall with its rather odd pacing, but its charm should melt many a frozen heart Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2014
    6
    People have so over rated it. It's just another movie which is easily forgettable ..!!
    Music was good(not the starting 10 min.), story was
    People have so over rated it. It's just another movie which is easily forgettable ..!!
    Music was good(not the starting 10 min.), story was different but not great, characters were good but not well built.
    The only character i really loved in the movie is that cute little talking snowman, he was the best built character in movie..!!
    I give it 5, one extra for snowman..!!
    Expand
  7. Aug 18, 2014
    0
    Okay so I went in with low expectations because the commercials just gave me that feeling it wasn't going to be good. Granted it did sayOkay so I went in with low expectations because the commercials just gave me that feeling it wasn't going to be good. Granted it did say musical so when I finally sat down to watch it I forced myself to be optimistic thinking it might be like a typical disney musical which end up good (ex: Lion King, Beauty and the Beast, etc) but I was let down and if I could give a negative score I would. I have no idea how so many people like it but whatever.

    Although the animation is decent (it's pixar) and the scenery is nice those are its only saving graces and it's not enough. The constant singing by people who can't sing and the songs about nothing important are grating and annoying. In the opening sequence of about 20 minutes (there are three dramatic moments in this amount of time btw) into the movie there are 4 songs and only one of them should have been there. Due to being annoyed I can't find myself able to care about the characters and although I ended up turning it off after 20 minutes I am going to force myself to watch it until the end. I can tell right now however that the characters will be severely under-developed due to all the singing which will prevent you from getting to know them and feel for them. As for the story.... from what I've heard it's very bland and the supporting characters that have been introduced already are forgettable....

    In short, I would not recommend this movie to anyone unless they're up for a bit of torture...especially if they're a musician as the songs compared to the normal quality of Disney songs are very poor and a major step backwards. Of course the whole thing seems like a major step backwards for Disney.
    Expand

See all 278 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  2. Holiday Movie Preview: The Key Films to Seek Out Before the End of the Year

    Holiday Movie Preview: The Key Films to Seek Out Before the End of the Year Image
    Published: November 19, 2013
    Get details on 18 noteworthy films due in theaters over the holiday season, including an "Anchorman" sequel plus new features from David O. Russell, Spike Jonze, Spike Lee, the Coen brothers, Martin Scorsese, and more.