Frozen

Frozen Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1073 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Anna sets off on an epic journey—teaming up with rugged mountain man Kristoff and his loyal reindeer Sven—to find her sister Elsa, whose icy powers have trapped the kingdom of Arendelle in eternal winter. Encountering Everest-like conditions, mystical trolls and a hilarious snowman namedAnna sets off on an epic journey—teaming up with rugged mountain man Kristoff and his loyal reindeer Sven—to find her sister Elsa, whose icy powers have trapped the kingdom of Arendelle in eternal winter. Encountering Everest-like conditions, mystical trolls and a hilarious snowman named Olaf, Anna and Kristoff battle the elements in a race to save the kingdom. [Walt Disney Pictures] Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 26, 2013
    100
    Wonderfully enchanting wintry fare.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 26, 2013
    90
    Frozen is a delightful animated musical, a return to form for Disney animation with an intriguing story and terrific songs.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 27, 2013
    83
    Frozen impresses by conveying coldness in all its frostbitten beauty, from northern lights and blizzards, to ice magnifying, refracting and reflecting light. The movie is a lovely example for animation enthusiasts to study.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Nov 27, 2013
    75
    Frozen establishes a strong, confident tone: Cool mythology, rich, vivid animation, and 3-D effects that are actually worth seeing, not just migraine-inducing distractions.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 13, 2013
    70
    The film transcends its various borrowings and occasional stumblings with a modern, exuberant spirit that draws heat from Broadway-style musical numbers and, before and after everything else, from marvelous 3-D animation
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Nov 6, 2013
    70
    This always enjoyable tale of mysterious magic, imperiled princesses and square-jawed men of action proves longer on striking visuals than on truly engaging or memorable characters.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Nov 26, 2013
    40
    The story — aside from a climax that plays like a too-knowing rebuke to Disney formula — goes tediously through the motions. It isn’t only Papa Walt’s head that’s been put on ice.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 292
  1. May 7, 2014
    10
    Frozen is a masterpiece in animation this was one of the best animated films I have ever seen. the musical moments was amazing the story isFrozen is a masterpiece in animation this was one of the best animated films I have ever seen. the musical moments was amazing the story is funny and charming all at once. This was truly one of the best films I have ever seen. Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    Not a fan of Disney films or musicals, so this was a surprise. Great visuals, animation, humor, and soundtrack. Right up there with Wall-E.Not a fan of Disney films or musicals, so this was a surprise. Great visuals, animation, humor, and soundtrack. Right up there with Wall-E. Highly recommend. Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    While we all love Disney and the happiness it brings to everyone, sometimes it over-shows ideals to young girls that might not come true inWhile we all love Disney and the happiness it brings to everyone, sometimes it over-shows ideals to young girls that might not come true in reality. "Frozen" addresses the meaning of love right from the start, with an adult Anna, who being separated from reality for her entire life has no idea what love truly means. .As an avid Disney fan, and as someone with two sisters, this is a movie that people of all ages will love to see. Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So, we watched Frozen recently, and I just have to write a review about it!!

    Ken and I had some mixed feelings about this film. While it was good overall, I was kinda bummed about some aspects of it.

    The good:

    --Most of the music. Let It Go is an epic song, and Olaf's song is hilarious!

    --Olaf!! He is HILARIOUS!! I adore his character, and his lines were epic :)

    --Kristoff's conversations with Sven. I do that all the time with my pets, and it was awesome and laugh-out-loud hilarious to see it in a movie!

    The disappointing:

    --Hans. I mean, really?? I did not see that coming. I also did not like that twist.

    --Elsa being the "I don't need a man" kind of woman. I loved the direction it was going when there were two guys and two girls - each girl gets to be with someone who loves them, and are able to be sisters again.

    The bad:

    --Nothing!! I didn't find anything bad with this movie. It's awesome, and while I would have changed the ending, it's just a movie ;)

    Our Alternate Ending #1:

    Since Elsa is Winter, Anna is Summer. Elsa had knocked Anna's powers out when she hit her with the snowball as a little girl, and Anna gets her magic back when Kristoff takes her to see the trolls. Then, she's able to stop her sister's eternal winter, by bringing summer. The sisters then find that they need each other to be balanced, and are able to be best friends again. Elsa doesn't have to fear her powers, because she has her sister to thaw everything back out again.

    Anna is actually the true love of Hans, and he's not cold-hearted. Kristoff ends up being Elsa's true love, and both girls find themselves able to be close sisters again, while also each having their true loves. All 4 live happily ever after!

    Our Alternate Ending #2:

    Kristoff ends up being Anna's true love, and Hans ends up being Elsa's true love. Each guy balances their girl out: winter to summer and vice versa (think about it: blonds with red-heads...winters with summers). They all balance each other out, and with the help of her new love, Elsa is able to control her powers.

    Overall:

    This is definitely a movie I will be watching again and again, and will soon become part of our home collection, I'm sure. If you haven't seen it yet, you should!! If you're a fan of Disney movies, enjoyed Tangled, or just enjoy comedy and a good story, be sure to give Frozen a shot!
    Expand
  5. AGN
    Feb 24, 2015
    7
    Frozen wasn't the cup of tea that I wanted but it was good at the least. It offers a good lesson to kids, a so-so story, and has some greatFrozen wasn't the cup of tea that I wanted but it was good at the least. It offers a good lesson to kids, a so-so story, and has some great characters (especially you Olaf). If your kids want to watch this movie so badly, just set them up in the living room with some snacks and the DVD/Blu-ray.

    Rating: 7/10
    Grade B- Decent.
    Expand
  6. chw
    Jul 19, 2014
    6
    Frozen was an alright children's film. It's also a musical, and I'm not to fond of them, but Frozen did have a good story, although there wereFrozen was an alright children's film. It's also a musical, and I'm not to fond of them, but Frozen did have a good story, although there were too many songs. Expand
  7. Aug 18, 2014
    0
    Okay so I went in with low expectations because the commercials just gave me that feeling it wasn't going to be good. Granted it did sayOkay so I went in with low expectations because the commercials just gave me that feeling it wasn't going to be good. Granted it did say musical so when I finally sat down to watch it I forced myself to be optimistic thinking it might be like a typical disney musical which end up good (ex: Lion King, Beauty and the Beast, etc) but I was let down and if I could give a negative score I would. I have no idea how so many people like it but whatever.

    Although the animation is decent (it's pixar) and the scenery is nice those are its only saving graces and it's not enough. The constant singing by people who can't sing and the songs about nothing important are grating and annoying. In the opening sequence of about 20 minutes (there are three dramatic moments in this amount of time btw) into the movie there are 4 songs and only one of them should have been there. Due to being annoyed I can't find myself able to care about the characters and although I ended up turning it off after 20 minutes I am going to force myself to watch it until the end. I can tell right now however that the characters will be severely under-developed due to all the singing which will prevent you from getting to know them and feel for them. As for the story.... from what I've heard it's very bland and the supporting characters that have been introduced already are forgettable....

    In short, I would not recommend this movie to anyone unless they're up for a bit of torture...especially if they're a musician as the songs compared to the normal quality of Disney songs are very poor and a major step backwards. Of course the whole thing seems like a major step backwards for Disney.
    Expand

See all 292 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  2. Holiday Movie Preview: The Key Films to Seek Out Before the End of the Year

    Holiday Movie Preview: The Key Films to Seek Out Before the End of the Year Image
    Published: November 19, 2013
    Get details on 18 noteworthy films due in theaters over the holiday season, including an "Anchorman" sequel plus new features from David O. Russell, Spike Jonze, Spike Lee, the Coen brothers, Martin Scorsese, and more.