Frozen

Frozen Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1133 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Anna sets off on an epic journey—teaming up with rugged mountain man Kristoff and his loyal reindeer Sven—to find her sister Elsa, whose icy powers have trapped the kingdom of Arendelle in eternal winter. Encountering Everest-like conditions, mystical trolls and a hilarious snowman namedAnna sets off on an epic journey—teaming up with rugged mountain man Kristoff and his loyal reindeer Sven—to find her sister Elsa, whose icy powers have trapped the kingdom of Arendelle in eternal winter. Encountering Everest-like conditions, mystical trolls and a hilarious snowman named Olaf, Anna and Kristoff battle the elements in a race to save the kingdom. [Walt Disney Pictures] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 26, 2013
    100
    Wonderfully enchanting wintry fare.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 26, 2013
    90
    Frozen is a delightful animated musical, a return to form for Disney animation with an intriguing story and terrific songs.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 27, 2013
    83
    Frozen impresses by conveying coldness in all its frostbitten beauty, from northern lights and blizzards, to ice magnifying, refracting and reflecting light. The movie is a lovely example for animation enthusiasts to study.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Nov 27, 2013
    75
    Frozen establishes a strong, confident tone: Cool mythology, rich, vivid animation, and 3-D effects that are actually worth seeing, not just migraine-inducing distractions.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 13, 2013
    70
    The film transcends its various borrowings and occasional stumblings with a modern, exuberant spirit that draws heat from Broadway-style musical numbers and, before and after everything else, from marvelous 3-D animation
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Nov 6, 2013
    70
    This always enjoyable tale of mysterious magic, imperiled princesses and square-jawed men of action proves longer on striking visuals than on truly engaging or memorable characters.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Nov 26, 2013
    40
    The story — aside from a climax that plays like a too-knowing rebuke to Disney formula — goes tediously through the motions. It isn’t only Papa Walt’s head that’s been put on ice.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 300
  1. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    frozen movie its the best , amazing , fantastic.
    animation and musical very very good, i like
    frozen movie its the best , amazing , fantastic.
    animation and musical very very good, i like it......................................................
    Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    Frozen has surpassed the audience’s expectations of a cliché Disney movie. Directors Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee transformed the typical loveFrozen has surpassed the audience’s expectations of a cliché Disney movie. Directors Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee transformed the typical love story into a love between sisters. This is one of many reasons why this movie has done so well in the box offices, as well as in the eyes of the viewers. Frozen’s incorporation of memorable songs only brought this animated film to another level. Unlike most musicals, there was not an overuse of songs. In fact, they were strategically placed to evenly break up the movie. Also, it was easy to follow the plot line, without being predictable. Through out the entire movie, your interest is captured. Although Frozen had an intended audience for children, when people saw the movie it was hard not to fall in love with the characters and the message of sisterhood.

    This movie revamped the term “princess” by giving us two independent and headstrong young ladies. Sisters Anna, voiced by Kristen Bell, and Elsa, voiced by Idina Menzel, were in conflict for a majority of the movie. By making the journey of these two princesses the main focus, Buck and Lee made the movie less about the romantic aspect between Elsa and Hans, voiced by Santino Fontana, which I think puts a refreshing spin on Disney movies. Instead of creating another movie about a princess needing a hero to rescue her, we have been given an animated film where the princess saves not only herself, but her sister and the city of Arendelle as well.

    While Frozen did teach the audience about the love between sisters, it also sent out an important message about self-acceptance. Throughout the movie, Elsa struggled to come to terms with who she truly was. She was so afraid of anyone knowing the truth about her icy powers that she shut out her friends and family. Anna strived to prove to Elsa that she can conquer what she thinks is impossible. She made Elsa feel like she had someone on her side no matter what happened. This sent a very powerful message to the audience, especially for children at an impressionable age; everyone should learn to accept who they truly are because to live a life in hiding is not a good one.

    People of any age could enjoy Frozen. The intended audience for this film was for children, but many teenagers and adults have found this move in their hearts. For the children in the audience, Frozen was a magical movie with fun songs to sing along to and clumsy characters, like Olaf, to laugh at. This movie also taped into the older generations’ childhood and their love for Disney movies. Anyone who loved Disney movies as a child could have seen this movie and been brought back to that time in their life. As for the adults with children, it was hard not to love a movie that taught the importance of family and self-acceptance.

    Major criticism for this movie was that the songs were not inspiring and did not leave a memorable impression. I disagree. I found that the songs were catchy, fun, and easy to sing along to. The songs varied in topics, moods, and messages. Some songs rhymed, others did not, but all contained remarkable lyrics. With such a wide variety, at least one song could of found its way stuck inside someone’s head. Going beyond what the songs were about, the placement of these songs played a huge role in the success of them. Each song was carefully placed in order to break up key moments in the movie. Without any of these memorable songs, especially “Let It Go” by Idina Menzel, this movie would not have reached it’s full potential.

    Another major criticism for this movie was that Olaf, the talking snowman voiced by Josh Grad, was an extraneous character and did not add to the plot and was therefor useless. Olaf’s role in the movie was very legitimate and necessary. When Anna first came across Olaf, she was looking for her sister in the mountains. Since Olaf was a native of the land, he helped her find the way. For the rest of the movie he was her friend and helped her save Arendelle. He was no more important that Rajah for Jasmine or Flounder for Ariel; they were characters that became the princess’ companion and helped guide them along. Olaf also added a humorous element to the movie; he was by far the most comical character and brought a necessary element that none of the other characters could provide- innocence. He was childish at heart, and therefor had a major impact in the mood of the story. Whenever something started to become too serious, Olaf jumped in and automatically brought the story back to what the audience can relate to. Without Olaf, the movie would of felt very incomplete.

    Overall, the directors and the voices behind the characters did a great job with this Disney film. The fact that this was a non-traditional princess movie is what set it apart from the rest. This movie can bring a smile to anyone’s face, regardless of age. Frozen had all of the qualities of a 5-star movie: catchy songs, powerful messages, and personable characters.
    Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    While we all love Disney and the happiness it brings to everyone, sometimes it over-shows ideals to young girls that might not come true inWhile we all love Disney and the happiness it brings to everyone, sometimes it over-shows ideals to young girls that might not come true in reality. "Frozen" addresses the meaning of love right from the start, with an adult Anna, who being separated from reality for her entire life has no idea what love truly means. .As an avid Disney fan, and as someone with two sisters, this is a movie that people of all ages will love to see. Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2013
    8
    I was afraid I wouldn't like this movie because of the fact that it is kind of a musical. But honestly, while I wasn't really into that wholeI was afraid I wouldn't like this movie because of the fact that it is kind of a musical. But honestly, while I wasn't really into that whole idea of the singing aspect, it still plays off pretty well and reminds me a little bit of good old Disney movies like "The Lion King". What really struck me was Josh Gad's portrayal of Olaf. He's one of those characters who's more of a comic relief type of character, but at the same tie plays a big part and brings a lot of heart and love to the role. Overall, Disney animations are coming back! I give it a B+. Expand
  5. Feb 4, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Frozen, a story of family, love and beating the odds. The movie starts out with the loss of parents, a fight between sisters and a town cast into a perpetual winter. Elsa, the queen of Arendelle, has been trying to keep her magical powers a secret. When Anna, Elsa’s sister, and Elsa get into an argument over a potential engagement, Elsa’s secret becomes public to the whole kingdom. This leads Elsa to isolate herself in the forest in an attempt to “protect” those she loves. Anna bands with a mountain man named Kristoff and his reindeer Sven, in an attempt to protect the kingdom. With twists, turns, and adventure throughout the movie. With a race against time Anna proves that an act of true love is what is needed to end the winter. In an attempt to safe her sister Anna almost gives her life. This ultimately leads to end the curse of the perpetual winter and the restoration of unity between sisters.
    Even though the summary of the movie seems like it would be a heart wrenching classic, Frozen’s overall performance was quite mediocre. Starting with the positive aspects of the movie. One’s expectations with a Disney Film would be flawless animation, this is where Frozen delivered. Throughout the film you can see articulate buildings, houses and castles fitting the Scandavian region the movie is depicting. The buildings were not the only thing that caught my eye, the patterns and colors in the clothing each character was wearing were beautifully elaborate. One of the amazing scenes took place when Elsa was created her castle with her powers, as each spiral rose up from the ground it created a glow that was immaculate. If the castle was created in real life, it would be classified as one of the great wonders of the world. The animators had a task in front of them with variety of different characters that would be in this film such has a human with magical powers, talking snowmen, rock trolls, giant snow creatures and many more. With each character they were able to create flowing movement, facial emotions and real life actions to give it the appeal that this could be real.
    I grew up singing along Disney movies such as The Lion King, The Jungle Book and other classics which sometimes you can still catch me singing today. The music in Frozen was very catchy and upbeat just like the Disney classics. At the same time it was a little different, it almost had a Broadway or musical feel as Elsa, Anna and others sang solos and duets. With this style of music, it aloud a greater audience then just little children it appeal to those who are fond musicals. While I was watching the movie I saw this little six year old girl who was singing every song, I couldn’t help but smile and try to sing along. My girlfriend, who loves musicals like Wicked and Beauty and the Beast, loved the music so much that she went out at bought the sound track, she puts it in when she wants to be in a better mood or just to sing along. I believe that is what Disney is trying to get out of their movies, are happy feelings that make you want more.
    As in most Disney movies such as Finding Nemo, there seems to be a tragic start usually consisting of a death to a parent but this time it seemed to be almost wrong. Both parents were killed leaving behind two young girls to grow up in a castle by themselves due to Elsa’s fear of hurting others with her magical powers. The two girls become isolated from each other, which the depiction of being held captive against their will for different reasons. A plot of murder, greed and lust is underlying in the movie with one of the characters. Is something that children should be exposed to at such an early age? I think not! You might as well let them watch Lone Survivor at least it had some deep moral value to the plot.
    When we think of Disney we think of romantic princess love stories like Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty and Snow White to name a couple but Frozen’s love story was a disaster. Anna who wants nothing more to be in love, is betrayed by the man of her dreams. Not to mention that Elsa has no love romance in her life, even though she just became the queen of Arendelle. The end left you still sad about the whole situation there wasn’t a “Happily Ever After” ending that is Disney’s trademark.
    I would say that this will not be one of the great Disney classics that everyone cherishes and passes down to their children. I was left with a sense of emptiness towards the whole film. I would give this film 2 out of 4 stars because I know that Disney is capable of so much more. You don’t need to go to the movie instead go buy the soundtrack and sing out loud with you children, friends and even your girlfriend.
    Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2016
    6
    Of course, Frozen is the most successful in money animated film in history, but just for his masterpiece of original song, animation andOf course, Frozen is the most successful in money animated film in history, but just for his masterpiece of original song, animation and unforgettable characters. But the plot may be a bit gloomy, just saved because of its great direction and music, of course. So sadly, Frozen is just another animated film in cinema history, naturally, winner of many awards that it really deserves, despite the many kinds that it has. Expand
  7. May 31, 2016
    0
    The whole movie basically makes me really irritating and frustrated, especially when you expect a Disney animated movie to actually deliverThe whole movie basically makes me really irritating and frustrated, especially when you expect a Disney animated movie to actually deliver the quality of a Disney film. The characters and the songs all make my cringe and that made me not want to watch this movie again. Disappointing. Expand

See all 300 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  2. Holiday Movie Preview: The Key Films to Seek Out Before the End of the Year

    Holiday Movie Preview: The Key Films to Seek Out Before the End of the Year Image
    Published: November 19, 2013
    Get details on 18 noteworthy films due in theaters over the holiday season, including an "Anchorman" sequel plus new features from David O. Russell, Spike Jonze, Spike Lee, the Coen brothers, Martin Scorsese, and more.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: September 27, 2013
    Watch all of the latest trailers--including Need for Speed, Dom Hemingway, Frozen, and Diana--and catch up on this week's film news.
  4. Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films)

    Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films) Image
    Published: July 17, 2010
    Even in a year where the directing Oscar went to a woman for the first time, female filmmakers still don't receive the recognition that their male counterparts do. We look at the top women directors and their films, including the two best-reviewed live-action films of the summer.