Frozen

Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1023 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Anna sets off on an epic journey—teaming up with rugged mountain man Kristoff and his loyal reindeer Sven—to find her sister Elsa, whose icy powers have trapped the kingdom of Arendelle in eternal winter. Encountering Everest-like conditions, mystical trolls and a hilarious snowman namedAnna sets off on an epic journey—teaming up with rugged mountain man Kristoff and his loyal reindeer Sven—to find her sister Elsa, whose icy powers have trapped the kingdom of Arendelle in eternal winter. Encountering Everest-like conditions, mystical trolls and a hilarious snowman named Olaf, Anna and Kristoff battle the elements in a race to save the kingdom. [Walt Disney Pictures] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 26, 2013
    100
    Wonderfully enchanting wintry fare.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Nov 26, 2013
    90
    Frozen is a delightful animated musical, a return to form for Disney animation with an intriguing story and terrific songs.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 27, 2013
    83
    Frozen impresses by conveying coldness in all its frostbitten beauty, from northern lights and blizzards, to ice magnifying, refracting and reflecting light. The movie is a lovely example for animation enthusiasts to study.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Nov 27, 2013
    75
    Frozen establishes a strong, confident tone: Cool mythology, rich, vivid animation, and 3-D effects that are actually worth seeing, not just migraine-inducing distractions.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 13, 2013
    70
    The film transcends its various borrowings and occasional stumblings with a modern, exuberant spirit that draws heat from Broadway-style musical numbers and, before and after everything else, from marvelous 3-D animation
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Nov 6, 2013
    70
    This always enjoyable tale of mysterious magic, imperiled princesses and square-jawed men of action proves longer on striking visuals than on truly engaging or memorable characters.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Nov 26, 2013
    40
    The story — aside from a climax that plays like a too-knowing rebuke to Disney formula — goes tediously through the motions. It isn’t only Papa Walt’s head that’s been put on ice.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 279
  1. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    I love Frozen so much its the best movie ever besides wreak it ralph is my fav moie whats yours mine is wreak it ralph !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Bye !!!
  2. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    The Disney studio should be in happy for this year’s Academy awards nominees. They got this movie in the short list of the best animatedThe Disney studio should be in happy for this year’s Academy awards nominees. They got this movie in the short list of the best animated movie. The live shot ‘Saving Mr. Banks’ and ‘The Lone Ranger’ got nodes to compete with others in different categories. Whether they win it all or not Disney people will be more than satisfied for the nomination tag for their movies which will stay forever.

    A decade ago, people called Disney is done and dusted but in recent couple of years, it was a great come back for them. ‘Tangled’ put them on the track, now with this wonderful family movie they are more confident. Yeah, I loved this movie a lot for many reasons. It was fast, sentimental, romantic and had adorable, cute 3D character models.

    I think Disney studio is following on the footsteps of Studio Ghibli. I believe they found their strength in the name of the young girl’s role in their recent movies. Like Rapunzel for ‘Tangled’ this movie had Anna. Both the movies backed by pleasant music and admirable animal character with awesome facial expressions for humorous in parts of the storytelling.

    I had seen all the nominees of this year’s animation movie, except Studio Ghibli's ‘The Wind Rises’. I liked ‘Monster University’, it was fun, but ‘The Croods’ attracted me a lot. I was hoping French animation ‘Ernest & Celestine’ could win, but after seeing it no doubt on why it got the honour. So I am happy for this movie's win at the big event.

    9.5/10
    Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    While we all love Disney and the happiness it brings to everyone, sometimes it over-shows ideals to young girls that might not come true inWhile we all love Disney and the happiness it brings to everyone, sometimes it over-shows ideals to young girls that might not come true in reality. "Frozen" addresses the meaning of love right from the start, with an adult Anna, who being separated from reality for her entire life has no idea what love truly means. .As an avid Disney fan, and as someone with two sisters, this is a movie that people of all ages will love to see. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2014
    8
    For me it's the best Disney film in a long time. The music is great, the characters are memorable and it just has that feel of magic that theFor me it's the best Disney film in a long time. The music is great, the characters are memorable and it just has that feel of magic that the Disney films of old had. The fact I've had it less than a a week and watched it a few times already says a lot about it, again I haven't done this with a Disney film for years and years. Really wished I'd have caught this one at the cinema. The only small complaint I have is that I wish there would have been a memorable villain in there!

    A great film kids will no doubt enjoy the most but also for fans of Disney films everywhere as this is a welcome return to form.
    Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2014
    7
    Frozen is the less Disney type movie from the Disney Animation Studios. As Wreck it Ralph this film breaks the Occidental paradigm of animatedFrozen is the less Disney type movie from the Disney Animation Studios. As Wreck it Ralph this film breaks the Occidental paradigm of animated pictures, although in this case is not the idea of villain that is destroy; is one much more bigger and rooted, the true love. Which is achieve by breaking another archetype, the one of Prince Charming. Other thing that is important to mention is that Frozen explores a new relationship instead the typical of prince and princess, which is sister and sister. This is an innovation however different relationships have been explored in recent movies like Tangled and Brave, which are mother and daughter. With all these new things, the massages that are transmitted by the film are more rich and according to the current times, where the true love is a relative term and the happily ever after is a myth. The theme song Let it Go is really enchanting and the animation is excellent; only the character construction is not so good, making them bad defined. Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2014
    6
    I was really excited to see this movie. I thought it would have elements from Tangled (which I really enjoyed) but with really cool effects,I was really excited to see this movie. I thought it would have elements from Tangled (which I really enjoyed) but with really cool effects, more battles, and maybe a darker and more emotional story. But after seeing it, I really don't get the hype behind it. I mean, the animation is amazing, but that's the same with all big animated movies. The music is BEAUTIFUL. But the story and pacing are messy, and the characters are just not very well created.

    Story: there is a very cool and interesting premise, about a girl (Elsa) who has magic powers, but an accident that they cause makes her try to keep away from everyone else- including her sister, Ana. This is kind of like Tangled, but where she doesn't WANT to be kidnapped (which is a twist that I actually would have liked). But the terrible pacing makes the whole story fall short. And the music- while very good- is probably one of, if not the biggest, cause of this. A lot of major conversations between characters that should just be dialogue are done in songs. Songs should be used to express a character's emotions when he/she is alone. Also, there are so many subplots- there's a betrayal, people are trying to kill Elsa, Ana gets cursed and has to find true love, etc. It would have been okay to have a few subplots, but there were just too many. There were some emotional scenes, but they weren't really enough to make up for all the other issues.

    The characters: The characters in this movie make way too rash decisions, and they do things and know things that don't make sense for them to know. And a lot of them aren't as fleshed out as they could be. For example, there is a betrayal with one of the characters, when there was NO indication that he was bad in any way. And there is one character who is introduced to be a bad guy, but only does one thing that is really evil. Even Elsa isn't given enough screen time to make us truly understand her- I mean, we understand that she is going through a lot, and has had to since she was a child. But could we not have a few more emotional scenes with her
    But I will give props to the snowman- he was quite likable and funny.

    Overall, I give it a 6 because of those emotional scenes and the beautiful music mixed with very animation.
    Expand
  7. Aug 18, 2014
    0
    Okay so I went in with low expectations because the commercials just gave me that feeling it wasn't going to be good. Granted it did sayOkay so I went in with low expectations because the commercials just gave me that feeling it wasn't going to be good. Granted it did say musical so when I finally sat down to watch it I forced myself to be optimistic thinking it might be like a typical disney musical which end up good (ex: Lion King, Beauty and the Beast, etc) but I was let down and if I could give a negative score I would. I have no idea how so many people like it but whatever.

    Although the animation is decent (it's pixar) and the scenery is nice those are its only saving graces and it's not enough. The constant singing by people who can't sing and the songs about nothing important are grating and annoying. In the opening sequence of about 20 minutes (there are three dramatic moments in this amount of time btw) into the movie there are 4 songs and only one of them should have been there. Due to being annoyed I can't find myself able to care about the characters and although I ended up turning it off after 20 minutes I am going to force myself to watch it until the end. I can tell right now however that the characters will be severely under-developed due to all the singing which will prevent you from getting to know them and feel for them. As for the story.... from what I've heard it's very bland and the supporting characters that have been introduced already are forgettable....

    In short, I would not recommend this movie to anyone unless they're up for a bit of torture...especially if they're a musician as the songs compared to the normal quality of Disney songs are very poor and a major step backwards. Of course the whole thing seems like a major step backwards for Disney.
    Expand

See all 279 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  2. Holiday Movie Preview: The Key Films to Seek Out Before the End of the Year

    Holiday Movie Preview: The Key Films to Seek Out Before the End of the Year Image
    Published: November 19, 2013
    Get details on 18 noteworthy films due in theaters over the holiday season, including an "Anchorman" sequel plus new features from David O. Russell, Spike Jonze, Spike Lee, the Coen brothers, Martin Scorsese, and more.