Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Jan 19, 2012
    50
    Just because a Japanese animated film is screening at the Museum of Fine Arts doesn't mean that you can count on Miyazaki-caliber artistry.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Jan 20, 2012
    50
    Fans, go be with your people. Others, approach cautiously.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jan 19, 2012
    63
    Like a lot of anime, the movie remains entertaining even when you have no idea what's going on.
  4. Reviewed by: David Lewis
    Jan 19, 2012
    75
    With excellent animation, gobs of action, mystical mayhem and more twists and turns than you can count, Fullmetal Alchemist: The Sacred Star of Milos - the latest installment of the anime sensation from Japan - is not likely to disappoint its fans. Or the uninitiated.
  5. Reviewed by: Kalvin Henely
    Jan 18, 2012
    63
    Manages to be an entertaining and faithful expansion on the original material while being inconsequential to it.
  6. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Jan 19, 2012
    50
    The widescreen canvas is an improvement over television's limited expanse. But if you're not among the indoctrinated, don't bother.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Miller
    Jan 18, 2012
    60
    It's silly and excessive, but Fullmetal Alchemist occasionally strikes a note of adolescent truth, as when Ed wishes for "some way to get our bodies back."
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    6
    Great plot, great animation, but some main characters from old fma lack of role in the story (such as Roy mustang, Riza Hawkeye, Winry )Great plot, great animation, but some main characters from old fma lack of role in the story (such as Roy mustang, Riza Hawkeye, Winry ) Overall, for a merely anime in japan this anime is AWESOME, but not for Hollywood. This movie is great, if Hiromu Arakawa (the main author) wrote the story, everything will certainly get much better Full Review »
  2. Jan 29, 2012
    7
    This is a great movie story wise. WHAT IN THE WORLD HAPPENED TO THE ANIMATION? Was there a super tight budget!!! Over all I give the story aThis is a great movie story wise. WHAT IN THE WORLD HAPPENED TO THE ANIMATION? Was there a super tight budget!!! Over all I give the story a great 8.5 out of 10 and the animation a dismal 5 out of 10. Full Review »
  3. May 31, 2016
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Overall, this movie is kinda mediocre. The animation doesn't look so much like an actual anime. The original 2003 series had better animation. This movie is from 2011. There is no excuse for this. As for the story, I was waiting to see what was going to happen with the Elric brothers, but instead the focus is on characters I don't really care about with an uninteresting story. I guess I just wanted to see the focus on our main characters so much, that it made me not interested in Julia and her brother. Also, what's the point of this movie? It's not like the first one where they continue with story or anything. There is literally no reason for this movie to exist at all, as it does nothing to serve the series. Neither the original nor Brotherhood. If I was to see this without watching the series, this movie would be more enjoyable. As a stand alone movie, it's passable. But as a FMA movie, it's pointless and unnecessary. I'd stick the first movie FMA: Conquer of Shamballa as it continues the story from the original series and has a reason to exist unlike this movie. Full Review »