Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Michael Haneke remakes his own 1997 about a vacationing family who gets an unexpected visit from two deeply disturbed young men. Their idyllic holiday turns nightmarish as they are subjected to unimaginable terrors and struggle to stay alive. [Warner Independent Pictures]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Mar 19, 2013
    100
    A chilly and extraordinarily controlled treatise on film violence, Funny Games punishes the audience for its casual bloodlust by giving it all the sickening torture and mayhem it could possibly desire. Neat trick, that.
  2. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Mar 19, 2013
    88
    The experience of watching Funny Games, be it the original or this version, is never forgotten, whatever your ultimate impression of the film.
  3. Reviewed by: Damon Wise
    Mar 19, 2013
    80
    A stylish, darkly satirical horror-thriller, raising serious questions about Hollywood’s sanitisation of violence.
  4. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Mar 19, 2013
    50
    Many American viewers may take Haneke at his word and walk out midway through this grueling ethics exam of a movie. But much as I may resent the facile polemics of Haneke's shame-the-viewer project, I have to respect the way that he nailed me, trembling, to my seat.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 19, 2013
    38
    So sadistic and disturbing, Games is easily the toughest movie to sit through since 1994's "Natural Born Killers."
  6. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Mar 19, 2013
    30
    A patronizing, self-satisfied piece of work, Funny Games is Michael Haneke's way of chastising us for blindly following the traditional rules of entertainment.
  7. 0
    Haneke’s assault on our fantasy lives is shallow, unimaginative, and glacially unengaged--a sucker punch without the redeeming passion of punk.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    This movie knows what it wants to be and supports everything about itself. If you love movies with sarcastic evil funny characters and an interesting idea, this is for you. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    I absolutey love this film! This is a psychological thriller -although not psychologically challenging- that will keep you in suspense from the beginning to the end. Things start slowly and they build up little by little. I know this movie can be very disturbing for some, perhaps even unbearable; but others will get caught, haunted by it. We should also consider that this is not a movie that aims to teach you something. Not at all! After all, that is not the purpose of a movie -or at least this type of movies-, the 'lesson' you get from a movie is an extra! Nevertheless, if a movie moves you, and makes you feel strong, deep emotions -either positive or negative- then, there has to be something special and/or great about that film. I did feel this movie, intensely!. Undoubtedly, the reactions that people have about Funny Games, are antagonistic, but many, as myself, probably feel that this is a movie to keep at home, in our collection! One thing I celebrate about this movie, is the ending....it says 'bye' to predictable, happy endings;not that there is something wrong with happy endings, but it is good to see something different every now and then. A solid 9, for sure! Collapse
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    I think its name is "Funny Games" because is the film the one is playing with the watcher. Some parts of the movie are very boring, but is very realistic in so many ways. Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2012
    5
    The fact that Naomi Watts is still able to give one of the year's very best performances in a film that doesn't even deserve her presence proves just how talented she is. Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2013
    5
    Try to be a masterpiece, but to no avail.
  6. Mar 13, 2011
    4
    ... its not enough to make a movie mix every kind of violence possible and find that - because violence tends to be shocking - the movie itself will have some impact ...

    the plot of this film is an empty sequence. No point is madeâ
    Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2011
    0
    Haneke's attempt at creating "unbearable cinema" ultimately failed with this film, in my opinion. I found it quite boring because it is overly focused at trying to provoke emotions from the audience and in doing so lost all meaning. There was no plot, no build up, nothing. I quicker recommend that one watched paint dry before I recommend this film for anyone. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers