Funny Ha Ha

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 9 out of 20

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MickV.
    Jan 15, 2006
    2
    And that's generous, a sort of acknowledgment that yes the director is at least aiming for a sort of feeling. But, my God, what a waste the thing he aims for is. A slice of no life really. Not a single interesting or charming line is uttered in the entire film. Is it possible people could really be so helpless or inarticulate. Only in a film that painfully seeks to mark itself as And that's generous, a sort of acknowledgment that yes the director is at least aiming for a sort of feeling. But, my God, what a waste the thing he aims for is. A slice of no life really. Not a single interesting or charming line is uttered in the entire film. Is it possible people could really be so helpless or inarticulate. Only in a film that painfully seeks to mark itself as authentic. A complete waste of time. Expand
  2. M.Masi
    Nov 1, 2005
    0
    -0 is my real vote. You fools -- all of you! This is a case of the emperor has no clothes and you are all too chicken to admit it! One of the worst "wastes of time" (couldn't call it a movie) that I've ever seen!
  3. E.R.
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    Charming, real, totally absorbing film that shows real talent from top to bottom, from upstart young director Bujalski to lead actress Dollenmayer. It's artfully shot despite having virtually no budget; the dialogue is fresh, funny, and absorbing. Anyone who has ever experience those awkward post-college years ought to love this--but really, anyone who appreciates a unique new Charming, real, totally absorbing film that shows real talent from top to bottom, from upstart young director Bujalski to lead actress Dollenmayer. It's artfully shot despite having virtually no budget; the dialogue is fresh, funny, and absorbing. Anyone who has ever experience those awkward post-college years ought to love this--but really, anyone who appreciates a unique new sensibility on film ought to give it a try. Expand
  4. NickG.
    Jul 31, 2006
    3
    pointless rubbish, no directorial qualities to speak of and rambling dialogue which to little if any funny anything.
  5. ChrisM
    May 24, 2005
    10
    This is what being twenty feels like. If you aren't that twenty year old executive or in the club scene. Rambling, simple and beautiful.
  6. AlfonzoB.
    Jul 1, 2007
    6
    Excruciatingly entertaining look at socially inept people struggling in the uncertainty of life. This film is good but Bujalski's follow up Mutual Appreciation is my favorite film right now. There is a wonderful lo-fi feel to this flick but he it just needed some characters with more backbone to fill in it's holes But maybe that is Bujalski's point! Not everyone is openly Excruciatingly entertaining look at socially inept people struggling in the uncertainty of life. This film is good but Bujalski's follow up Mutual Appreciation is my favorite film right now. There is a wonderful lo-fi feel to this flick but he it just needed some characters with more backbone to fill in it's holes But maybe that is Bujalski's point! Not everyone is openly forthcoming in their emotions..... Expand
  7. Hootyk
    Jul 31, 2005
    9
    Andrew is the new jim jamursch....sole keeper of the film flame which burns truly personal.
  8. DaveP
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    I picked this up on a whim, and I couldn't believe how it slowly won me over. Bujalski is a wonderfully adept writer, and he gets a cautiously natural performance out of everyone involved, most notably Kate Bujalski in the winsome central role. For anyone that's ever seen a college-shot film and thought how you could make one better, see this one. You can't make one better. I picked this up on a whim, and I couldn't believe how it slowly won me over. Bujalski is a wonderfully adept writer, and he gets a cautiously natural performance out of everyone involved, most notably Kate Bujalski in the winsome central role. For anyone that's ever seen a college-shot film and thought how you could make one better, see this one. You can't make one better. This is the best no-budget film I've ever seen. And by quite a wide margin. But a side note of caution for those that have no interest in the truly indie film: stay FAR away. Expand
  9. DanB.
    Jan 25, 2006
    6
    Whoa. I think the past view reviews are kinda harsh. It's a pretty interesting movie, in that it has a real DIY feel and it aims to show a sort of 20-something life that movies don't usually cover... It's certainly not great. But, y'know.
  10. JimG.
    Jan 7, 2006
    1
    Huh? Perhaps the director has captured the way we really speak to one another (correction, the way this particular generation speaks), but the stop and start stilted stammering in this movie completely obscured any ability to become interested in any of the characters or the plot if there was any. The director wins! The audience loses. Don't waste your time.
  11. MarceloT.
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    We need people like this guy to bring back long lost indie credibility.
  12. stevenp.
    May 22, 2005
    10
    Smashing!!!! I could not take my eyes off of kate dollenmayer. she had me falling for her.
  13. TyT.
    Jan 22, 2006
    1
    I honestly was forced to walk out of tthe theatre while watching this movie. It is clear that the critics who rated this film have no idea what they are talking about and should be fired and then removed from the face of the earth. I only gave this film a one because I dont think that it is possible for any film to deserve a zero, however this one came excruciatingly close. HONESTLY not I honestly was forced to walk out of tthe theatre while watching this movie. It is clear that the critics who rated this film have no idea what they are talking about and should be fired and then removed from the face of the earth. I only gave this film a one because I dont think that it is possible for any film to deserve a zero, however this one came excruciatingly close. HONESTLY not worth your time and/or money. Trust me. Expand
  14. lh
    Dec 27, 2005
    0
    This was seriously THE WORST, painfully ameteurish movie I have ever seen. Totally agree with the emperor's clothes comment, and I cannot believe it's gotten (and keeps getting) such rave reviews. Don't encourage people to make this crap!
  15. Dec 1, 2011
    7
    Funny Ha Ha is not just an example of charming and well-performed comedy-drama, but it's important in terms of film history, effectively beginning the mumblecore film movement. It's a micro-budget production with a home-made feel, and relies on its actors naturalistic improvisations. It's about young people drifting through life post-college, and the trials and tribulations ofFunny Ha Ha is not just an example of charming and well-performed comedy-drama, but it's important in terms of film history, effectively beginning the mumblecore film movement. It's a micro-budget production with a home-made feel, and relies on its actors naturalistic improvisations. It's about young people drifting through life post-college, and the trials and tribulations of relationships, both romantic and friendship-based. The film's narrative is seen almost entirely from the central character's perspective - Marnie (the effortlessly brilliant Kate Dollenmayer) is uncertain of her future, so takes life as it comes, encountering a number of hurdles along the way. The story itself is simplistic, and perhaps a little too minimal to gain your undivided attention for 90 minutes, and many of the film's events are left unresolved and open to interpretation. This will be a divisive point - you'll likely find it either liberating or immensely irritating (I personally didn't mind the lack of resolution, but did found myself a little disappointed). The actors all do a great job of improvising realistic conversations (talking like real people actually do - a rarity on film) and there's the odd chuckle to be had. The film is admirable for doing something a bit different with the rom-com as a genre, but I'm not certain the rest of it is being quite as original as it clearly wants to be - the low-key aesthetics owe a lot to Dogme 95, and the improvisation and comedy derived from everyday situations sometimes makes the film feel like a Mike Leigh knockoff. Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 70
    Like a lot of scenes in Funny Ha Ha, the commonplace somehow seems invigoratingly original.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    80
    A beautifully observant and wholly unpretentious film with roots more in Cassavetes than Sundance-style showbiz.
  3. 70
    Bujalski has a knack for the genuine moment.