Goodbye Cruel Releasing | Release Date: April 29, 2005
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 20 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
11
Mixed:
0
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
MickV.Jan 15, 2006
And that's generous, a sort of acknowledgment that yes the director is at least aiming for a sort of feeling. But, my God, what a waste the thing he aims for is. A slice of no life really. Not a single interesting or charming line is And that's generous, a sort of acknowledgment that yes the director is at least aiming for a sort of feeling. But, my God, what a waste the thing he aims for is. A slice of no life really. Not a single interesting or charming line is uttered in the entire film. Is it possible people could really be so helpless or inarticulate. Only in a film that painfully seeks to mark itself as authentic. A complete waste of time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
M.MasiNov 1, 2005
-0 is my real vote. You fools -- all of you! This is a case of the emperor has no clothes and you are all too chicken to admit it! One of the worst "wastes of time" (couldn't call it a movie) that I've ever seen!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
E.R.Feb 5, 2006
Charming, real, totally absorbing film that shows real talent from top to bottom, from upstart young director Bujalski to lead actress Dollenmayer. It's artfully shot despite having virtually no budget; the dialogue is fresh, funny, and Charming, real, totally absorbing film that shows real talent from top to bottom, from upstart young director Bujalski to lead actress Dollenmayer. It's artfully shot despite having virtually no budget; the dialogue is fresh, funny, and absorbing. Anyone who has ever experience those awkward post-college years ought to love this--but really, anyone who appreciates a unique new sensibility on film ought to give it a try. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
NickG.Jul 31, 2006
pointless rubbish, no directorial qualities to speak of and rambling dialogue which to little if any funny anything.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
AlfonzoB.Jul 1, 2007
Excruciatingly entertaining look at socially inept people struggling in the uncertainty of life. This film is good but Bujalski's follow up Mutual Appreciation is my favorite film right now. There is a wonderful lo-fi feel to this flick Excruciatingly entertaining look at socially inept people struggling in the uncertainty of life. This film is good but Bujalski's follow up Mutual Appreciation is my favorite film right now. There is a wonderful lo-fi feel to this flick but he it just needed some characters with more backbone to fill in it's holes But maybe that is Bujalski's point! Not everyone is openly forthcoming in their emotions..... Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavePAug 30, 2005
I picked this up on a whim, and I couldn't believe how it slowly won me over. Bujalski is a wonderfully adept writer, and he gets a cautiously natural performance out of everyone involved, most notably Kate Bujalski in the winsome I picked this up on a whim, and I couldn't believe how it slowly won me over. Bujalski is a wonderfully adept writer, and he gets a cautiously natural performance out of everyone involved, most notably Kate Bujalski in the winsome central role. For anyone that's ever seen a college-shot film and thought how you could make one better, see this one. You can't make one better. This is the best no-budget film I've ever seen. And by quite a wide margin. But a side note of caution for those that have no interest in the truly indie film: stay FAR away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanB.Jan 25, 2006
Whoa. I think the past view reviews are kinda harsh. It's a pretty interesting movie, in that it has a real DIY feel and it aims to show a sort of 20-something life that movies don't usually cover... It's certainly not great. Whoa. I think the past view reviews are kinda harsh. It's a pretty interesting movie, in that it has a real DIY feel and it aims to show a sort of 20-something life that movies don't usually cover... It's certainly not great. But, y'know. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JimG.Jan 7, 2006
Huh? Perhaps the director has captured the way we really speak to one another (correction, the way this particular generation speaks), but the stop and start stilted stammering in this movie completely obscured any ability to become Huh? Perhaps the director has captured the way we really speak to one another (correction, the way this particular generation speaks), but the stop and start stilted stammering in this movie completely obscured any ability to become interested in any of the characters or the plot if there was any. The director wins! The audience loses. Don't waste your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarceloT.Mar 28, 2006
We need people like this guy to bring back long lost indie credibility.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TyT.Jan 22, 2006
I honestly was forced to walk out of tthe theatre while watching this movie. It is clear that the critics who rated this film have no idea what they are talking about and should be fired and then removed from the face of the earth. I only I honestly was forced to walk out of tthe theatre while watching this movie. It is clear that the critics who rated this film have no idea what they are talking about and should be fired and then removed from the face of the earth. I only gave this film a one because I dont think that it is possible for any film to deserve a zero, however this one came excruciatingly close. HONESTLY not worth your time and/or money. Trust me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
lhDec 27, 2005
This was seriously THE WORST, painfully ameteurish movie I have ever seen. Totally agree with the emperor's clothes comment, and I cannot believe it's gotten (and keeps getting) such rave reviews. Don't encourage people to This was seriously THE WORST, painfully ameteurish movie I have ever seen. Totally agree with the emperor's clothes comment, and I cannot believe it's gotten (and keeps getting) such rave reviews. Don't encourage people to make this crap! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HalfwelshmanDec 1, 2011
Funny Ha Ha is not just an example of charming and well-performed comedy-drama, but it's important in terms of film history, effectively beginning the mumblecore film movement. It's a micro-budget production with a home-made feel, and reliesFunny Ha Ha is not just an example of charming and well-performed comedy-drama, but it's important in terms of film history, effectively beginning the mumblecore film movement. It's a micro-budget production with a home-made feel, and relies on its actors naturalistic improvisations. It's about young people drifting through life post-college, and the trials and tribulations of relationships, both romantic and friendship-based. The film's narrative is seen almost entirely from the central character's perspective - Marnie (the effortlessly brilliant Kate Dollenmayer) is uncertain of her future, so takes life as it comes, encountering a number of hurdles along the way. The story itself is simplistic, and perhaps a little too minimal to gain your undivided attention for 90 minutes, and many of the film's events are left unresolved and open to interpretation. This will be a divisive point - you'll likely find it either liberating or immensely irritating (I personally didn't mind the lack of resolution, but did found myself a little disappointed). The actors all do a great job of improvising realistic conversations (talking like real people actually do - a rarity on film) and there's the odd chuckle to be had. The film is admirable for doing something a bit different with the rom-com as a genre, but I'm not certain the rest of it is being quite as original as it clearly wants to be - the low-key aesthetics owe a lot to Dogme 95, and the improvisation and comedy derived from everyday situations sometimes makes the film feel like a Mike Leigh knockoff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews