Funny People

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 219 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 219
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RichardW
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    If Apatow knew what and when to edit, this would be a perfect movie of loneliness, sarcasm, humor and redemption.
  2. ScottA.
    Aug 2, 2009
    7
    The movie was a little long and could have been cut shorter but that would have left out what Apatow was trying to accomplish here. I found it to be very funny, comedy and drama is interwoven throughout the entire film, sometimes unfortunately making the viewer feel a little distracted from the subtext of the film. I would for sure recommend the film.
  3. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    Funny People is a intelligent, funny adult film. Now a days the genre of comedy is now sex. We get a number of new movies every year trying to milk the success of Judd Apatow films. Some of them are good and I can name a few. However they need to rely on crude and vulgar actions to get laughs. We get so many of those antics to the point of feeling disgust for the characters, but when theFunny People is a intelligent, funny adult film. Now a days the genre of comedy is now sex. We get a number of new movies every year trying to milk the success of Judd Apatow films. Some of them are good and I can name a few. However they need to rely on crude and vulgar actions to get laughs. We get so many of those antics to the point of feeling disgust for the characters, but when the third act comes up we have to cheer for them it's dumb. Apatow's movies are different there fresh in orignatly and the crude and vulgar comedy is kept to a restrictive level. Thus giving us time to know the characters in between the big laughs. The movie starts with George Simmons played by Adam Sandler, he's a successful comedian and actor. He has stared in many films and is a prodigy to all standups. He lives alone and does mostly everything alone. One day he's sitting in a doctors office getting the news that he's been diagnosied with a rare form of cancer. His doctor firmily says it, he needs to try out expermental medicine. We then meet Ira played by Seth Rogen who's a up and coming comic trying to get out of the deli that he works at. One day George performs at a standclub that he has'nt been in three years. He notices Ira's performance and takes him under his wing as a assistant. They form a friendship and where George goes Ira goes. He trys to make ammends with his famliy and with the girl that got away, played by Leslie Mann who is married to someone else. So when George is thinking the worst his doctor tells him your getting better and tells him get a hold of your life again. You must think in a clinched kind of way he changes his personality and treat people better and go for the girl right? wrong, he exploits his condtion and tries to go for the girl. These are characters in a realistic plot. With problems and smart dialouge. Yes theirs crude and vulgar actions but it's done in a way that everyday people talk, with your friends, with your spouse. Judd Apatow did a very mature film proving you can mix vulgar and adaptable characters. This movie is based on everyday people with the only difference is that there Funny People. Expand
  4. RayC
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    It made me laugh and it touched me. It was deeply moving. Plus it felt completely original to me. Believe it or not, Adam Sandler actually has talent. The dirty jokes are hilarious. Great movie, great story.
  5. RobertS
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    This is an amazing movie. People's taste in humor will obviously vary. I imagine that anyone from older generations that never managed to get comfortable with anything vaguely sexual or crude will probably not find the movie to their liking. People in Apatow's core demographics - i.e. young men - will love it. It is a bit long, but I think most people are willing to spend time This is an amazing movie. People's taste in humor will obviously vary. I imagine that anyone from older generations that never managed to get comfortable with anything vaguely sexual or crude will probably not find the movie to their liking. People in Apatow's core demographics - i.e. young men - will love it. It is a bit long, but I think most people are willing to spend time with quality. Expand
  6. EvinC
    Aug 12, 2009
    7
    I love Judd Apatow but this fillm is a step down from is others. It let me down but it was a good flick. I hope the next film is better. Seth Rogen is my favorite person in the entire world.
  7. GlennP
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    This is the best film of the year. This is definitely not a typical Judd Apatow formula comedy, instead it's more of a "Dramady". The result of this effort is just wonderful and refreshing in a Hollywood where absolute garbage films like "GI Joe" and "Transformeras" are more the norm. Adam Sandler delivers an Oscar-worthy performance as the emotionally tortured comic George Simmons, This is the best film of the year. This is definitely not a typical Judd Apatow formula comedy, instead it's more of a "Dramady". The result of this effort is just wonderful and refreshing in a Hollywood where absolute garbage films like "GI Joe" and "Transformeras" are more the norm. Adam Sandler delivers an Oscar-worthy performance as the emotionally tortured comic George Simmons, providing a depth of character and insight into the character that makes one believe the movie really is in large part about Sandler and not Simmons. Seth Rogen holds his own in a supporting role as Ira Wright, an up and coming comic that dreams of having the life George Simmons leads until he sees it up close. This film is as I said, the best film of the year by a country mile. It takes chances American films rarely take, and even at its length of over 140 minutes it holds the audience's attention and makes us care about the characters. A truly amazing achievement for Apatow and company. Expand
  8. JerryB
    Aug 2, 2009
    7
    Good for what it was a little to deep for a comedy. Hangover and Bruno still take comedy of the year for me.
  9. DanD
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    It upsets me that people aren't giving it great reviews. I loved it. Really funny and its got heart too. I don't know what people were expecting that hated it. Yeah some parts should be trimmed down, but that doesn't make it worse than Transformers. It's intelligent, witty, and yet casual and warm. It's great go see it. And this is the first time I've It upsets me that people aren't giving it great reviews. I loved it. Really funny and its got heart too. I don't know what people were expecting that hated it. Yeah some parts should be trimmed down, but that doesn't make it worse than Transformers. It's intelligent, witty, and yet casual and warm. It's great go see it. And this is the first time I've reviewed on here so I'm going to vent, should there ever really be a 0 for a movie like Dark Knight when it was on here? Or a 10 for Transformers. A 10? It's insulting to other movies. A 0 should be saved for a Nazi snuff film or Hottie and the Naughty 2. Be realistic people. Expand
  10. KrystalR
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    Another great one from Apatow.... I loved Seth Rogen's character... the movie had meaning and "touched" you on a deeper level. The jokes are grade A and the story is a mix of funny and serious. All I have to say is "Judd, keep these movies comin!"
  11. JamesP
    Aug 3, 2009
    8
    Knocked Up still remains Apatow's best, but Funny People is Apatow in prime form and for the first time in five years, Adam Sandler finally does a good movie.
  12. go
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    It has being a long time since I saw great movie this year maybe too long.Apatow will be critize for the simple fact that he breaks the barries that he thy self form this is his best movie.Is a drama that starts in very familiar ground but in its development for something very unique with that said I am here to proclame that funny people is one of the best film we have seen so far this It has being a long time since I saw great movie this year maybe too long.Apatow will be critize for the simple fact that he breaks the barries that he thy self form this is his best movie.Is a drama that starts in very familiar ground but in its development for something very unique with that said I am here to proclame that funny people is one of the best film we have seen so far this year.With Adam best performance of his life and Seth giving us something that many of had doubt that he has the ability to perform in dramas.Also the script maybe a bit loosing at the end but the the end it self was superior and open minded that give you a sense of future to come.Funny People comes from an unexpected source Apatow let away the childish comedies and grew to something superior and vast. Expand
  13. MattF
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    Brilliant, funny, a true masterpeice. A great comedic film with just enough depression to make it a drama flick and still be funny. I laughed and cried at the same time, if judd apatow movies are your nitch its a must see. Dont give it a bad review if you just dont like judd apatow, its his style its definately a really good flick for its style. 10 out of 10 (p.s. people think about what Brilliant, funny, a true masterpeice. A great comedic film with just enough depression to make it a drama flick and still be funny. I laughed and cried at the same time, if judd apatow movies are your nitch its a must see. Dont give it a bad review if you just dont like judd apatow, its his style its definately a really good flick for its style. 10 out of 10 (p.s. people think about what you put before you review something). Expand
  14. KristianP
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    One of the more underrated films of the year.
  15. JohnN.
    Jul 31, 2009
    10
    Critics have been dying to pan Apatow. Some of these 30s and 40s are just embarrassingly obvious that they want to be clever. The problem is... the movie is fantastic.
  16. HubertW.
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Apatow's best film! you can tell he really put his heart into this one and he hit a homerun. an epic and brilliant comedy with an all-star cast that nail their roles! it has depth not seen in his prior films but not at the cost of any comedy. you will laugh your ass off and be left with something to ponder and reflect on. hangover was great, but there is no question this is the bestApatow's best film! you can tell he really put his heart into this one and he hit a homerun. an epic and brilliant comedy with an all-star cast that nail their roles! it has depth not seen in his prior films but not at the cost of any comedy. you will laugh your ass off and be left with something to ponder and reflect on. hangover was great, but there is no question this is the best comedy of the year...critics don't know sh.t about rating comedies. they never have...so many of them miss the boat entirely (case in point: Dumb and Dumber rated 39 on Metacritic) Expand
  17. jamieh
    Aug 1, 2009
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie. Very funny and somewhat touching, has to be one of Adam Sandler's best performances. The only knock against it is it was about 20mins to long.
  18. BowenM
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Can't say enough.
  19. Kyle
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    This film has one of the best stories in a comedy. It is amazing and still lol hilarious at the same time. This movie works both as a comedy with a great story and a movie with a great story that just happens to be extremely funny. If you like Sandler, Rogen, or Apatow you must see this movie.
  20. JO
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    Very funny, I loved it, don't understand some of the weaker reviews. EVERYONE was laughing so much during this movie. It was a bit long but not too long. It really is like 2 movies in one. The first have is all comedy and jokes with a sprinkle of sadness. The second half was a lot more serious with a hint of jokes. You sure get your moneys worth, i'll tell you that much. Seth Very funny, I loved it, don't understand some of the weaker reviews. EVERYONE was laughing so much during this movie. It was a bit long but not too long. It really is like 2 movies in one. The first have is all comedy and jokes with a sprinkle of sadness. The second half was a lot more serious with a hint of jokes. You sure get your moneys worth, i'll tell you that much. Seth was great as always and Sandler always impresses me in movies that have an actual plot and comedy. Go see it, you will have a good time. Better than stupid BRUNO! Expand
  21. AMovieCritic
    Aug 3, 2009
    7
    Thought it was pretty good. Some very funny moments, and a pretty heartfelt performance by Adam Sandler; get this guy an Oscar nom. Movie is a way too long 2 hours and 20 minutes, though, and feels like it, and the jokes even begin to repeat themselves as the movie goes on (especially those involving a certain male organ.) Very funny movie at times, very touching movie at others, but the Thought it was pretty good. Some very funny moments, and a pretty heartfelt performance by Adam Sandler; get this guy an Oscar nom. Movie is a way too long 2 hours and 20 minutes, though, and feels like it, and the jokes even begin to repeat themselves as the movie goes on (especially those involving a certain male organ.) Very funny movie at times, very touching movie at others, but the very long runtime and seemingly endless scenes of crying and sulking and a very unresolved ending (I found it brave, most may find it frustrating,) will have most people leaving the theater feeling tired rather than entertained. Good movie, if Apatow had cut the script down by about 20 minutes it may have been great. I love the personal feel to it; Apatow has his wife and kids in this, as he did in Knocked Up, and there are numerous real-life home movies of Sandler doing comedy and making prank calls scattered throughout. These are very likable characters and when they banter it's great fun. But it's just way too long a runtime for a comedy, and I'm very surprised that this fact wasn't picked up on in the movie's apparently numerous test screenings. Expand
  22. MichaelB
    Aug 4, 2009
    9
    I love movies that get lots of 10s and 0s. A great work of art should get a strong emotional reaction from people, and I really enjoy great works of art. That's what this movie is, in my opinion. Apatow is like a better version of Kevin Smith, with a hotter wife. I am so glad he has stepped into the hole left by the Coen Brothers and Wes Anderson in making funny, intelligent movies. I love movies that get lots of 10s and 0s. A great work of art should get a strong emotional reaction from people, and I really enjoy great works of art. That's what this movie is, in my opinion. Apatow is like a better version of Kevin Smith, with a hotter wife. I am so glad he has stepped into the hole left by the Coen Brothers and Wes Anderson in making funny, intelligent movies. I can't wait to see what he comes up with next. Expand
  23. AaronB
    Aug 4, 2009
    7
    Overall very good movie, i totally agree with Emily M... the first half of the movie totally rocks, it's funny and moving really pulls you in. But the whole love triangle in the second half just drags, is painful to watch, they could have cut all of it out the movie might have gone down as a classic. Good performances from all the cast, definitly Sandler's best performance since Overall very good movie, i totally agree with Emily M... the first half of the movie totally rocks, it's funny and moving really pulls you in. But the whole love triangle in the second half just drags, is painful to watch, they could have cut all of it out the movie might have gone down as a classic. Good performances from all the cast, definitly Sandler's best performance since maybe Punch Drunk Love and 50 first dates. Expand
  24. danielw.
    Aug 4, 2009
    9
    A great movie. It is however bound to defy expectations. This is not a funny movie, though it has some very funny bits in it. It is a movie about people who make other people laugh, and about what drives them to do so -- a whole motley of motivations that includes fear, insecurity, anger, lust. Funny people are, it turns out, people who have seen the dark sides of human existence and have A great movie. It is however bound to defy expectations. This is not a funny movie, though it has some very funny bits in it. It is a movie about people who make other people laugh, and about what drives them to do so -- a whole motley of motivations that includes fear, insecurity, anger, lust. Funny people are, it turns out, people who have seen the dark sides of human existence and have developed a uniquely human coping mechanism -- laughter. The writing is as usual in Apatow films whip-sharp, and the actors revel in the space that they have been given by the writer/director to explore ambiguity and nuance. Sandler in particular is a revelation -- a performance that cannot be reduced to any one character trait. We hate him, pity him, love him, laugh at him, sometimes within the same scene. Will not satisfy those who think that comedy is about staged set pieces, but will resonate deeply with those who realize that comedy is a part of normal life. Sure, the movie sags a bit in the second half. But I respected Apatow's integrity in putting it up there at the cost perhaps of the movie's commercial viability. It is shaggy and sometimes misshapen, but then again so is life. It reminded me of an Arnaud Desplechin movie -- not a reference that one is accustomed to in thinking about an Adam Sandler flick, but the one that seemed most apt to me. Expand
  25. RaymondS
    Aug 5, 2009
    8
    Judd Apatow is moving towards a more touching comedy and away from the his slapstick comedies. Funny people was a lot of fun, up to the middle where it became embarrassing. The awkwardness lasted about 30 minutes, but the rest of the movie was worth it.
  26. JaredG
    Sep 10, 2009
    10
    Loved it. This has to be Adam Sandlers best film. It was real, touching, emotional and hilarious. I cannot imagine why people hated it? There was so much detail! The whole Yo! Teach and Jason Schwartzmann thing was too funny, Seth Rogen is cute and funny as always and Sandler actually put in an amazing performance. The Crude humour and Adam Sandler acting like a tool was part of the Loved it. This has to be Adam Sandlers best film. It was real, touching, emotional and hilarious. I cannot imagine why people hated it? There was so much detail! The whole Yo! Teach and Jason Schwartzmann thing was too funny, Seth Rogen is cute and funny as always and Sandler actually put in an amazing performance. The Crude humour and Adam Sandler acting like a tool was part of the social commentary of the comedy industry. Expand
  27. LanceK.
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    Has to be one of my favorite films of the 2009-other than a little lull in the second half-i can't comprehend the bad reviews some critic have given this movie.
  28. Luis
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    It was more than what I expected. Great movie.
  29. kirkg
    Jul 31, 2009
    10
    Worked for me. excellent performances all around, one of the best of the summer.
  30. DanL
    Aug 1, 2009
    8
    Funny People is a movie that some people will call brilliant and some will think is completely stupid and off base. I don't fall to either side, but I do think it was what it's name implies- funny- and very well done. Brilliant? Probably not, but definitely worth seeing. Everyone knows the premise by now, it's a comedy about comedians starring comedians, and this intrigued Funny People is a movie that some people will call brilliant and some will think is completely stupid and off base. I don't fall to either side, but I do think it was what it's name implies- funny- and very well done. Brilliant? Probably not, but definitely worth seeing. Everyone knows the premise by now, it's a comedy about comedians starring comedians, and this intrigued me from the get go. Couple this with being an Apatow junkie, and I was pretty sure I was going to enjoy it, despite very mixed reviews by the press (it has a 60 on metacritic with plenty of 100s and plenty of 30s). Adam Sandler stars as George Simmons, an incredibly rich, well known, foul mouthed comedian who has plummetted into the lonely life of romanticoms and shitty kids movies, losing sight of what he really wanted to be until a seemingly terminal illness sets him back on path. Seth Rogan plays Ira Wright, a very mediocre budding stand up comic who is overshadowed by his more successful roommates (who are played excellently by Jonah Hill and Jason Schwartzman). The two cross paths after Wright has a rare successful set based on bashing the preceding one by a depressed Simmons at a small comedy club. Simmons takes Wright under his wing as an assistant and opening act and the two tour and become best friends, although neither fully embraces the friendship. Wright helps Simmons further embrace the rest of his short life and reconnect with his past, and Simmons helps Wright become a better comedian and person as a whole. That was just the first half of the movie, the extended trailer reveals the plot twist but I won't ruin it for anyone who doesn't know. That synopsis makes it seem like a melodramatic Sandler effort, but it really isn't. While it is a very dark comedy, Apatow still supplies us with plenty of laugh out loud material for over two and a half hours. The movie drags a bit, in my opinion, but it always lightens up and cracks a good joke before staleness can set in. The acting in the film is impeccible in my opinion. Sandler and Rogan have develop a great rapport for each other through the film, and are aided by Hill, Schwartzman (who was the weakest in the movie in my opinion, but still great), Leslie Mann, Aubrey Plaza, and a great job by Eric Bana as Mann's somewhat crazy Australian husband, and Sandler's main opponent as her love interest. Other comedians aid in the film, such as Aziz Ansari who plays the absolutely insane comedian Randy. Eminem also assists in one of the best cameos I've ever witnessed. He can really act, I'm surprised he hasn't delved into film much since Eight Mile. Apatow really lets this movie's plot flesh out to the fullest, but he doesn't hold back the funny. This movie may have the most cock/balls jokes I've ever heard, and every time you think they are getting old, they hit you harder and with more ridiculousness, and I think many of you will really appreciate it. This movie also works because the actors obviously have strong connection to their roles. Simmons is so much like Adam Sandler it's not even funny, and while I don't think Sandler has quite the same views on like as the character, he was definitely working some things out as one of the prominent comedians in his generation. The other comedians, playing up-and-coming comics, really sell their roles, as they are not that far removed from the position. Rogan and Hill just broke into the scene big a few years ago with 40 year old virgin, Knocked Up, and Superbad, and the memories of their fledgling careers are probably fresh in their minds. Overall, to me this movie isn't perfect or excellent, but it is very very good, and definitely worth seeing. Apatow's first "big boy" film is definitely unique and delivers on what is set out to, but it still has the flavor you would expect. Sandler/Rogan/Apatow is a very powerful trio and I would love to see them work together more often, because this film was definitely a collaborative effort and I think it worked out incredibly well. Some of you may not like it, but I'm sure at least one of you will swear by it. Expand
  31. DougT
    Aug 1, 2009
    7
    It was pretty funny in the first one hour, but then it gets way too long which the humor did not last long. Great job, Apatow. You're losing it.
  32. NachoC
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    When I came in to see Funny People I expected the same kind of toilet humor that I experienced when I watched 40 year old virgin. But after analyzing his films I have come to understand that there is actually an undermining meaning to the whole 'fart jokes'. Funny People is a mature comedy and oddly enough the film actually makes you feel connected to the characters even if they When I came in to see Funny People I expected the same kind of toilet humor that I experienced when I watched 40 year old virgin. But after analyzing his films I have come to understand that there is actually an undermining meaning to the whole 'fart jokes'. Funny People is a mature comedy and oddly enough the film actually makes you feel connected to the characters even if they make the dumbest choices. I was content with the ending and I am happy to say it felt less like a Hollywood film and more like real life. I recommend it. Expand
  33. ChadS.
    Aug 1, 2009
    7
    Influential film critic Pauline Kael had this to say about SNL alumnus Adam Sandler: "I have to say, I don't get Adam Sandler at all. I don't understand what makes him funny to people." As actor George Simmons, Sandler uses his alter-ego as an exemplar to reflect back on a filmography that he might not be terribly proud of. Even George's own father infers bafflement about Influential film critic Pauline Kael had this to say about SNL alumnus Adam Sandler: "I have to say, I don't get Adam Sandler at all. I don't understand what makes him funny to people." As actor George Simmons, Sandler uses his alter-ego as an exemplar to reflect back on a filmography that he might not be terribly proud of. Even George's own father infers bafflement about his son's comedic appeal when he brings up Jackie Gleason's name. After extolling the virtues of the late comedian, the father patronizes his son by adding that he's funny also. All George ever wanted to do was make his father laugh, he confides in Ira(Seth Rogen). But by the looks of it, as George and the folks lounge poolside on his palacial estate, he failed. Dispersed throughout "Funny People", we see clips of the same Hollywood junk that the real-life actor foists upon the public on a regular basis. "Redo", a film that George derisively calls the "baby picture" to reporters, is the cause of his sheepish facade when he's forced to watch it with Laura's younger daughter on DVD. After so many forgettable comedies, "Funny People" might be the kind of film that George would want to make after getting a clean bill of health from his doctor. Joining Paul Thomas Anderson's "Punchdrunk Love" and James L. Brooks' "Spanglish", this latest serious effort by Sandler acknowledges the binary at work whenever the generational comic takes on a non-comedic role. Although his last two ventures into serious film underperformed at the box office, assuming that Sandler and George Simmons are one and the same, commercial failure probably wouldn't add to the self-loathing and self-doubt that a "Merman"(George's film) or a "Little Nicky"(Sandler's film) would cause an actor with serious daddy issues. Expand
  34. AlexH.
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    I've always been a fan of Apatow and his movies about people getting high, doing illegal things, in other terms, his silly but yet great movies. For "Funny People," Apatow shows a side of his filmmaking, thats more or less, emotionally funny. Adam Sandler proves to an audience that he can be in serious films and Seth Rogen just keeps up his brilliant work. "Funny People" is I've always been a fan of Apatow and his movies about people getting high, doing illegal things, in other terms, his silly but yet great movies. For "Funny People," Apatow shows a side of his filmmaking, thats more or less, emotionally funny. Adam Sandler proves to an audience that he can be in serious films and Seth Rogen just keeps up his brilliant work. "Funny People" is definitely a change from "Knocked Up" or "The 40-Year Old Virgin," but it's a good change and a smart and enjoyable one too. Expand
  35. AdamC.
    Aug 2, 2009
    8
    I've never cared for Adam Sandler's feature films until now. Judd Apatow wrote this film with such a cunningly knowing voice that it just rings true. Seth Rogen's character is easily believable in this film. Sadly, Jonah Hill doesn't get much screen time, but he makes the most of the time that he does. There are some great laughs in this movie and lots of well-acted I've never cared for Adam Sandler's feature films until now. Judd Apatow wrote this film with such a cunningly knowing voice that it just rings true. Seth Rogen's character is easily believable in this film. Sadly, Jonah Hill doesn't get much screen time, but he makes the most of the time that he does. There are some great laughs in this movie and lots of well-acted scenes. Easily recommended for a great Saturday afternoon at the movies. Expand
  36. SteveG
    Aug 7, 2009
    7
    "Funny People" is too long; it could have easily lost 45 minutes. But there are a number of very funny moments. Seeing Adam Sandler in almost a self-parody type of roll was brilliant, as was using Sandleresque script ideas actually penned by Apatow and rejected by Sandler as the filmography of the main character. The ill-fated love story of the film's second half really does bog down "Funny People" is too long; it could have easily lost 45 minutes. But there are a number of very funny moments. Seeing Adam Sandler in almost a self-parody type of roll was brilliant, as was using Sandleresque script ideas actually penned by Apatow and rejected by Sandler as the filmography of the main character. The ill-fated love story of the film's second half really does bog down the experience of the movie. Apatow is so "powerful" now that he can make the movie he wants, despite the fact that someone should have pointed out the naked emperor on the screen. Expand
  37. RobJ
    Sep 6, 2009
    9
    First off, there has been lots of complaining about how this movie is too long, but this is Apatow we're talking about. 40 year old virgin and Knocked Up are only 15 minutes shorter than this, and both of these films are comedic masterpieces. Yes a couple of scenes could've been cut. But if you truly are a fan of Apatow/Sandler/Rogen then you'd be ok sittin through 15-20 First off, there has been lots of complaining about how this movie is too long, but this is Apatow we're talking about. 40 year old virgin and Knocked Up are only 15 minutes shorter than this, and both of these films are comedic masterpieces. Yes a couple of scenes could've been cut. But if you truly are a fan of Apatow/Sandler/Rogen then you'd be ok sittin through 15-20 minutes of filler. Rogen and Sandler are the biggest comedic masters in the business today. Funny People is funny, but should be approached with the mindset that it isn't a complete comedy. I guess the term would be a dramedy, because there are just as many dramatic aspects to the film as there are comedic. The acting is terrific, Sandler really shines in this role. Rogen is hilarious, even the robotic Eric Bana isn't so bad. Apatow's writing/directing is superb, and the cinematography is excellent. Funny People is by no stretch of the imagination a perfect film, but in the realm in where hilarious comedy and heart wrenching drama walk hand in hand, Sandler and Rogen are a match made in heaven. Expand
  38. JimW.
    Jan 22, 2010
    9
    Very underrated movie. Really good story line, great natural acting. Leslie Mann absolutely kills a couple of those scenes. Almost felt cinema verite'.
  39. BarryS.
    Mar 28, 2010
    8
    As a drama: raises important questions and themes in unusual and thought-provoking ways. As a comedy: many of the jokes are really funny, and many of those that aren't were intended to bomb. Don't see this movie if you just want pure light-hearted comedy. Otherwise, I must agree that it rambles and goes too long, but is otherwise a profound success.
  40. WinstonL
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    Sandler AND Rogen are on my Oscar-watch.
  41. NedW
    Nov 13, 2009
    7
    A better-than-expected Adam Sandler film in which Sandler shows - as he has in a few other films of his - that he has a thoughtful mind. It has a lot of humor in it, of course, but its serious side feels organic to the whole. I would recommend it to people but hesitate to overpraise it. It's good, not great.
  42. PeterJ.
    Dec 29, 2009
    8
    I was surprised at how good this movie was considering some of Adam Sandler's works. Seth Rogen does a very nice job taking the pressure off of him though, and I actually found this movie more creative and funny than the Hangover.
  43. WillT.
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    The score above (60) does no justice to the movie. Appears most people who have commented expected a comedy piece and weren't prepared for the drama and incite. I too rented this thinking it would be a funny movie with pretty basic 'skin level ;comedy. I was surprised, enthralled, and captivated by the story and dark humour. Even the cameos by Eminem, Sarah Silverman etc are The score above (60) does no justice to the movie. Appears most people who have commented expected a comedy piece and weren't prepared for the drama and incite. I too rented this thinking it would be a funny movie with pretty basic 'skin level ;comedy. I was surprised, enthralled, and captivated by the story and dark humour. Even the cameos by Eminem, Sarah Silverman etc are poignant. This movie is totally underrated. Expand
  44. JimC
    Dec 8, 2009
    9
    Wow, did the critics (and some of the public) miss the mark with this one. I can only chalk it up to the movie being not at all what they expected. This is an excellent piece of work from Apatow--almost a genre unto himself--and certainly Adam Sandler's best performance. It is a dark piece of work that provides far greater insight into the world of comedians, and show business, in Wow, did the critics (and some of the public) miss the mark with this one. I can only chalk it up to the movie being not at all what they expected. This is an excellent piece of work from Apatow--almost a genre unto himself--and certainly Adam Sandler's best performance. It is a dark piece of work that provides far greater insight into the world of comedians, and show business, in general than most other "insider" movies I can think of. The best of its comedy is in the little moments of satire. For example, Sandler's less-than-stellar film career is sent up--he basicaly plays a more bitter, entitled, miserable version of himself. Little lines like "Paul Rudd wants to do a bromance with you," or the hackneyed scenes from Schwartzman's sitcom are priceless. These guys get it. The characters are not meant to be very sympathetic. They're comedians as comedians really are--the most insecure, miserable, back-stabbing (yet self-aware) creatures in show biz. But, in typical Apatow fashion, they're well-rounded human beings. I'm actually astonished how poorly this movie has been received. It's not as uproarious as 40 Year Old Virgin, Knocked Up, etc.--but it's every bit as good as those films. Expand
  45. ClarkC.
    Jul 31, 2009
    9
    8.5 Funny People is a good movie. It has raunchy humor that all rogan and sandler fans can enjoy. It actually has a plot unlike some apatow movies and shows a deeper insight on almost all of the characters in the film. Although this movie isnt for the very cleanly or younger person, it is great for an adult comedy. However, It has plot holes throughout the entire film, which takes a toll 8.5 Funny People is a good movie. It has raunchy humor that all rogan and sandler fans can enjoy. It actually has a plot unlike some apatow movies and shows a deeper insight on almost all of the characters in the film. Although this movie isnt for the very cleanly or younger person, it is great for an adult comedy. However, It has plot holes throughout the entire film, which takes a toll on the length of the movie (more than 2 hours). Overall, it was great. I was entertained throughout the entire movie... good parts, sad parts and the stand-up shows especially. Go see it, be entertained. Isnt that why we watch movies anyways? Expand
  46. AllanB.
    Jul 31, 2009
    9
    Sure, a little long. But completely absorbing and at times, spectacular. Leslie Mann is tremendously underrated.
  47. Mike
    Jul 31, 2009
    9
    Fantastic movie. And Brady C, I don't take your opinion seriously because the movie was not 3 hours long...it was barely even 2 and a half hours. Ugh.
  48. AdamD.
    Jul 31, 2009
    10
    I saw the movie at an advanced screening 3 months ago, and I knew that it would get about a 60. the last 45 minutes do not really matter because the first hour thirty really works. All you have to do is keep an open mind, critics are not saying the movie is bad, just flawed, and I totaly agree, but Judd Apatow made the movie he wanted to make, and I dont think he regrets anything. Stop I saw the movie at an advanced screening 3 months ago, and I knew that it would get about a 60. the last 45 minutes do not really matter because the first hour thirty really works. All you have to do is keep an open mind, critics are not saying the movie is bad, just flawed, and I totaly agree, but Judd Apatow made the movie he wanted to make, and I dont think he regrets anything. Stop bashing this man, hes a really nice guy and he respects his fans. Expand
  49. IsaiahG.
    Jul 31, 2009
    10
    This is a movie that gives you a strange touch. It makes you laugh but also touches the feelings that are not usually shown in comedies. Apatow had really perfected his vison of combining both feelings into one. This is probably one of Apatow's greatest pictures yet.
  50. BrandonO
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    The main reason this film is receiving ill reviews is that it was marketed as a comedy. This film is 60% drama and 40% dark comedy, which is the most dramatic of comedy. This film will make you laugh on occasion, but Apatow's intention with Funny People was evoke real feelings. True, his comedies have all had measurable emotional value, but their main purpose was to give laughs. The main reason this film is receiving ill reviews is that it was marketed as a comedy. This film is 60% drama and 40% dark comedy, which is the most dramatic of comedy. This film will make you laugh on occasion, but Apatow's intention with Funny People was evoke real feelings. True, his comedies have all had measurable emotional value, but their main purpose was to give laughs. Funny People is a very serious movie, and when watched as such is a wonderful experience. This is definitely Apatow's best production to date. Expand
  51. Aug 19, 2010
    7
    Comedian gets terminal illness, hires joke writer, gives him chance at stand-up, ex girlfriend shows up, her Australian husband shows up, mayhem.
    Usual Judd Apatow affair but with a slightly darker tone than usual. The cast are very good with Adam Sandler playing a sort of self parody & I did enjoy Eric Bana's OTT Aussie.
    Maybe a bit too long but plenty of laughs along the way.
  52. Oct 13, 2010
    9
    This movie felt real to me. It captured a glimpse of humanity's lonely, awkward and sometimes superficial complexity. Some of the poor reviews I think are the result of expectations of this being a comedy. I think it would be more accurately described as a drama with humorous lines.
  53. Aug 18, 2012
    7
    Funny People is an interesting and entertaining comedy / drama hybrid with excellent performances by Adam Sandler, Seth Rogan and Eric Banna. The standup in the film is amusing but the movie's real quality lies in it's heart... And it has Jason schwartzman in it. Nuff said!
  54. Aug 3, 2011
    7
    Although I absolutely love Judd Apatow's films, this one ranks third in his directorial efforts (right behind Knocked Up and 40 Year Old Virgin). What is great about the film though is the balance of humor and drama. Adam Sandler does a great job. One of the better things he's ever done.
  55. Sep 4, 2011
    8
    A more dramatic turn from Judd Apatow sees Adam Sandler playing what is essentially an exaggerated version of himself. The performances are great, and it's one of the few films which I can happily sit through despite its huge run time.
  56. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    I thought this film would be a comedy but in actually fact I think this film should be classed as a drama. Sure it is funny in places but it is a lot more serious than most other Judd Apatow productions. Despite this, I actually enjoyed the film. Eric Bana is a fantastic actor and Seth Rogan along with Adam Sandler for once bring a sense of realism to their roles. I think Rogan would suitI thought this film would be a comedy but in actually fact I think this film should be classed as a drama. Sure it is funny in places but it is a lot more serious than most other Judd Apatow productions. Despite this, I actually enjoyed the film. Eric Bana is a fantastic actor and Seth Rogan along with Adam Sandler for once bring a sense of realism to their roles. I think Rogan would suit more roles like this in the future as well his more obvious drug-addled roles. Expand
  57. Jul 11, 2013
    7
    Not correctly advertised. It's a really depressing movie, honestly. Very different from typical apatow fare. But I still enjoyed it, despite feeling like I in fact had cancer at the end of it.
  58. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    In a time where a lot of comedies involve lowbrow, unintelligent humor, Funny People is a surprisingly smart and heartfelt comedy that features funny performances by Seth Rogen and Adam Sandler.
  59. Jun 11, 2014
    7
    Many people will complaint about the length, but this is Apatow's best film. Apatow has a nice way to mix comedy and drama. Seth Rogen puts on a very nice performance, Adam Sandler puts on a way better performance that he puts on in his other comedic flops, Sandler is very different and wise in this role we've seen that side of him in movies such as Punch Drunk-Love and the veryMany people will complaint about the length, but this is Apatow's best film. Apatow has a nice way to mix comedy and drama. Seth Rogen puts on a very nice performance, Adam Sandler puts on a way better performance that he puts on in his other comedic flops, Sandler is very different and wise in this role we've seen that side of him in movies such as Punch Drunk-Love and the very underrated Reign Over Me. Expand
  60. Jul 31, 2014
    8
    Funny People: 8 out of 10: What is amazing about Funny people is considering its set-up and storyline it manages to deftly dodge a veritable minefield of bathos laid out before it. The story is about comedian, who is super rich after a string of really bad comedies (Adam Sandler playing himself), finds he has version of leukemia and well is going to die soon. Therefore, he reflects back onFunny People: 8 out of 10: What is amazing about Funny people is considering its set-up and storyline it manages to deftly dodge a veritable minefield of bathos laid out before it. The story is about comedian, who is super rich after a string of really bad comedies (Adam Sandler playing himself), finds he has version of leukemia and well is going to die soon. Therefore, he reflects back on his life makes amends and chases the girl that got away with the help of new assistant, a thin Seth Rogen.

    Yes, it is what we hipsters would call Narm city. Yet this Judd Aptow directed flick is so self aware of the pitfalls that it not just avoids them for the most part but in a true stand up comic style calls them out. This is at its heart a very smart and aware film. What could have been Terms of Endearment with dick jokes turns into an occasionally funny and somewhat touching film. It is also a very real film about real people and I am going to repeat myself here but it is truly smart.

    The only real downside I see is that I really do not see myself watching this film again anytime soon. It is a great ride but it never reaches that next level. The movie consists of some very funny bits, but do not come aboard expecting belly laughs. In addition, while I found myself enjoying the laid back pace at 153 minutes there is no question this feels more like a directors cut than a tightly paced theatrical release.
    Expand
  61. Jul 11, 2014
    8
    This in my opinion Adam Sandler best movie before Punch Drunk Love. This movie is underrated because I'll say," Does anyone know what the movie Funny People is". Then everyone who look at me weird but no spoilers in this review but this movie is a 2 and a half hours of a good movie maybe my 7th Favorite movie of all time but the everyone is giving all of their best her even Adam Sandler isThis in my opinion Adam Sandler best movie before Punch Drunk Love. This movie is underrated because I'll say," Does anyone know what the movie Funny People is". Then everyone who look at me weird but no spoilers in this review but this movie is a 2 and a half hours of a good movie maybe my 7th Favorite movie of all time but the everyone is giving all of their best her even Adam Sandler is giving all his best here. Seth Rogen is funny in this such as Jonah Hill, Leslie Mann, Eric Bana and many more. But this is Judd Apatow best film he I think giving all his best too. If I had to give a rating to this film its a easy A- . Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Gets old fast.
  2. 88
    It's the work of a major talent. Apatow scores by crafting the film equivalent of a stand-up routine that encompasses the joy, pain, anger, loneliness and aching doubt that go into making an audience laugh.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    60
    Apatow answers to no one. His worst enemy as a director is his unwillingness to linger in the dark places from which his comedy springs.