User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 218 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 218
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ColinG
    Aug 14, 2009
    6
    The funny parts were funny, but the story was long and mediocre.
  2. Kyle
    Aug 14, 2009
    10
    This film has one of the best stories in a comedy. It is amazing and still lol hilarious at the same time. This movie works both as a comedy with a great story and a movie with a great story that just happens to be extremely funny. If you like Sandler, Rogen, or Apatow you must see this movie.
  3. babettecooper
    Aug 2, 2009
    1
    i gave it a 1 for the very few laughs and for Adam Sandlers performance which was, at times, good...... the rest was looong , boring, self indulgent.
    Poor Adam Sandler, he must not be able to say "NO" to Judd Apatow and got himself into this mess of a film. Sad for Sandler and sad for the audiences that were literally sighing with boredom in my theatre!
  4. AlbertJ.
    Aug 20, 2009
    6
    The bad: I left an hour and a half into the movie. The good: It was good enough that I lasted that hour and a half! I don't know, maybe it will be like Punch Drunk Love in that I'll enjoy it better my 3rd or 4th time watching it. But as it was, it's definitely not in my top 5 of Adam Sandler movies.
  5. EddieW
    Aug 2, 2009
    0
    Another lame dick joke bore fest that is 146 minutes!!! 146 minutes? Are you kidding me? Why doesn't anyone call these crapy Apatow movies out for exactly what they are, "utter garbage!" Stop telling me this crap is sophisticated and funny. I've seen funny movies and NONE OF THESE APATOW FILMS ARE FUNNY. Knocked up and Forty year Old Virgin sucked too (and were WAY too long!
  6. C.B.
    Aug 26, 2009
    6
    Apatow's first stinker. The third act made me want to strangle a stranger.
  7. emilym
    Aug 3, 2009
    5
    The first half of the movie is a funny and moving look at a comedian who questions some of his life choices as he faces a life-threatening illness. However, the second half of the movie veers off into a long, drawn out love triangle story, essentially killing what might have otherwise been a pretty good movie.
  8. JO
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    Very funny, I loved it, don't understand some of the weaker reviews. EVERYONE was laughing so much during this movie. It was a bit long but not too long. It really is like 2 movies in one. The first have is all comedy and jokes with a sprinkle of sadness. The second half was a lot more serious with a hint of jokes. You sure get your moneys worth, i'll tell you that much. Seth Very funny, I loved it, don't understand some of the weaker reviews. EVERYONE was laughing so much during this movie. It was a bit long but not too long. It really is like 2 movies in one. The first have is all comedy and jokes with a sprinkle of sadness. The second half was a lot more serious with a hint of jokes. You sure get your moneys worth, i'll tell you that much. Seth was great as always and Sandler always impresses me in movies that have an actual plot and comedy. Go see it, you will have a good time. Better than stupid BRUNO! Expand
  9. AMovieCritic
    Aug 3, 2009
    7
    Thought it was pretty good. Some very funny moments, and a pretty heartfelt performance by Adam Sandler; get this guy an Oscar nom. Movie is a way too long 2 hours and 20 minutes, though, and feels like it, and the jokes even begin to repeat themselves as the movie goes on (especially those involving a certain male organ.) Very funny movie at times, very touching movie at others, but the Thought it was pretty good. Some very funny moments, and a pretty heartfelt performance by Adam Sandler; get this guy an Oscar nom. Movie is a way too long 2 hours and 20 minutes, though, and feels like it, and the jokes even begin to repeat themselves as the movie goes on (especially those involving a certain male organ.) Very funny movie at times, very touching movie at others, but the very long runtime and seemingly endless scenes of crying and sulking and a very unresolved ending (I found it brave, most may find it frustrating,) will have most people leaving the theater feeling tired rather than entertained. Good movie, if Apatow had cut the script down by about 20 minutes it may have been great. I love the personal feel to it; Apatow has his wife and kids in this, as he did in Knocked Up, and there are numerous real-life home movies of Sandler doing comedy and making prank calls scattered throughout. These are very likable characters and when they banter it's great fun. But it's just way too long a runtime for a comedy, and I'm very surprised that this fact wasn't picked up on in the movie's apparently numerous test screenings. Expand
  10. Branden
    Aug 3, 2009
    4
    I was bored to death with this movie. The only good things about the movie were Jonah Hill and Aziz Ansari.
  11. MichaelB
    Aug 4, 2009
    9
    I love movies that get lots of 10s and 0s. A great work of art should get a strong emotional reaction from people, and I really enjoy great works of art. That's what this movie is, in my opinion. Apatow is like a better version of Kevin Smith, with a hotter wife. I am so glad he has stepped into the hole left by the Coen Brothers and Wes Anderson in making funny, intelligent movies. I love movies that get lots of 10s and 0s. A great work of art should get a strong emotional reaction from people, and I really enjoy great works of art. That's what this movie is, in my opinion. Apatow is like a better version of Kevin Smith, with a hotter wife. I am so glad he has stepped into the hole left by the Coen Brothers and Wes Anderson in making funny, intelligent movies. I can't wait to see what he comes up with next. Expand
  12. AaronB
    Aug 4, 2009
    7
    Overall very good movie, i totally agree with Emily M... the first half of the movie totally rocks, it's funny and moving really pulls you in. But the whole love triangle in the second half just drags, is painful to watch, they could have cut all of it out the movie might have gone down as a classic. Good performances from all the cast, definitly Sandler's best performance since Overall very good movie, i totally agree with Emily M... the first half of the movie totally rocks, it's funny and moving really pulls you in. But the whole love triangle in the second half just drags, is painful to watch, they could have cut all of it out the movie might have gone down as a classic. Good performances from all the cast, definitly Sandler's best performance since maybe Punch Drunk Love and 50 first dates. Expand
  13. Doc
    Aug 4, 2009
    6
    Here's the deal. It's not a bad movie, but although there are small bits of mild humor throughout, this movie is not a comedy, but the powers that be want you to think it is. If you're looking for a comedy the likes of "Hangover" and some of the other "R" rated stuff out recently, this is not your movie. Apparently they don't think they can sale Adam Sandler as a Here's the deal. It's not a bad movie, but although there are small bits of mild humor throughout, this movie is not a comedy, but the powers that be want you to think it is. If you're looking for a comedy the likes of "Hangover" and some of the other "R" rated stuff out recently, this is not your movie. Apparently they don't think they can sale Adam Sandler as a serious actor, and they very well may be right. Not bad - just not that good. Expand
  14. danielw.
    Aug 4, 2009
    9
    A great movie. It is however bound to defy expectations. This is not a funny movie, though it has some very funny bits in it. It is a movie about people who make other people laugh, and about what drives them to do so -- a whole motley of motivations that includes fear, insecurity, anger, lust. Funny people are, it turns out, people who have seen the dark sides of human existence and have A great movie. It is however bound to defy expectations. This is not a funny movie, though it has some very funny bits in it. It is a movie about people who make other people laugh, and about what drives them to do so -- a whole motley of motivations that includes fear, insecurity, anger, lust. Funny people are, it turns out, people who have seen the dark sides of human existence and have developed a uniquely human coping mechanism -- laughter. The writing is as usual in Apatow films whip-sharp, and the actors revel in the space that they have been given by the writer/director to explore ambiguity and nuance. Sandler in particular is a revelation -- a performance that cannot be reduced to any one character trait. We hate him, pity him, love him, laugh at him, sometimes within the same scene. Will not satisfy those who think that comedy is about staged set pieces, but will resonate deeply with those who realize that comedy is a part of normal life. Sure, the movie sags a bit in the second half. But I respected Apatow's integrity in putting it up there at the cost perhaps of the movie's commercial viability. It is shaggy and sometimes misshapen, but then again so is life. It reminded me of an Arnaud Desplechin movie -- not a reference that one is accustomed to in thinking about an Adam Sandler flick, but the one that seemed most apt to me. Expand
  15. RaymondS
    Aug 5, 2009
    8
    Judd Apatow is moving towards a more touching comedy and away from the his slapstick comedies. Funny people was a lot of fun, up to the middle where it became embarrassing. The awkwardness lasted about 30 minutes, but the rest of the movie was worth it.
  16. MattM
    Aug 6, 2009
    3
    Apatow knows how to write funny dialogue. It's too bad he doesn't know how to write serious dialogue, or a cohesive story for that matter. Funny People felt like a somewhat good movie tacked onto a sad attempt at a love story. All of Apatow's funny stuff seemed likes it belongs on a stage being delivered by a stand up rather than mashed up into a terrible movie. Big Apatow knows how to write funny dialogue. It's too bad he doesn't know how to write serious dialogue, or a cohesive story for that matter. Funny People felt like a somewhat good movie tacked onto a sad attempt at a love story. All of Apatow's funny stuff seemed likes it belongs on a stage being delivered by a stand up rather than mashed up into a terrible movie. Big disappointment, by far the worst Apatow movie. Expand
  17. JaredG
    Sep 10, 2009
    10
    Loved it. This has to be Adam Sandlers best film. It was real, touching, emotional and hilarious. I cannot imagine why people hated it? There was so much detail! The whole Yo! Teach and Jason Schwartzmann thing was too funny, Seth Rogen is cute and funny as always and Sandler actually put in an amazing performance. The Crude humour and Adam Sandler acting like a tool was part of the Loved it. This has to be Adam Sandlers best film. It was real, touching, emotional and hilarious. I cannot imagine why people hated it? There was so much detail! The whole Yo! Teach and Jason Schwartzmann thing was too funny, Seth Rogen is cute and funny as always and Sandler actually put in an amazing performance. The Crude humour and Adam Sandler acting like a tool was part of the social commentary of the comedy industry. Expand
  18. LanceK.
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    Has to be one of my favorite films of the 2009-other than a little lull in the second half-i can't comprehend the bad reviews some critic have given this movie.
  19. ThomasL
    Dec 7, 2009
    2
    Unfunny and verging on the revolting. I give it a star each for the two young ladies who delivered nice performances. You know what? Men, when they get together, unless they're gay, tend to talk about women's parts, not their own. If standup comedians are different, they should resist making movies about them. Utter tripe.
  20. Luis
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    It was more than what I expected. Great movie.
  21. kirkg
    Jul 31, 2009
    10
    Worked for me. excellent performances all around, one of the best of the summer.
  22. BradyC
    Jul 31, 2009
    3
    Three hours long and only one hour was funny, it's like there's two movies crammed together here. If you saw the Comedy Central Special, don't bother paying to see the movie.
  23. EliP
    Jul 31, 2009
    0
    Half the theater was checking their phones to see when this would end.
  24. TomT
    Aug 1, 2009
    0
    What a loser movie! What is a "dramedy" anyway, laughing at a funeral or cracking jokes in intesive care while other are in emotional agony? That used to be called rude and stupid. Who thinks penis jokes or a fat comedian screwing entertaining, 11 yr olds? I came for a laugh and left within 20m despite dropping $30.
  25. DanL
    Aug 1, 2009
    8
    Funny People is a movie that some people will call brilliant and some will think is completely stupid and off base. I don't fall to either side, but I do think it was what it's name implies- funny- and very well done. Brilliant? Probably not, but definitely worth seeing. Everyone knows the premise by now, it's a comedy about comedians starring comedians, and this intrigued Funny People is a movie that some people will call brilliant and some will think is completely stupid and off base. I don't fall to either side, but I do think it was what it's name implies- funny- and very well done. Brilliant? Probably not, but definitely worth seeing. Everyone knows the premise by now, it's a comedy about comedians starring comedians, and this intrigued me from the get go. Couple this with being an Apatow junkie, and I was pretty sure I was going to enjoy it, despite very mixed reviews by the press (it has a 60 on metacritic with plenty of 100s and plenty of 30s). Adam Sandler stars as George Simmons, an incredibly rich, well known, foul mouthed comedian who has plummetted into the lonely life of romanticoms and shitty kids movies, losing sight of what he really wanted to be until a seemingly terminal illness sets him back on path. Seth Rogan plays Ira Wright, a very mediocre budding stand up comic who is overshadowed by his more successful roommates (who are played excellently by Jonah Hill and Jason Schwartzman). The two cross paths after Wright has a rare successful set based on bashing the preceding one by a depressed Simmons at a small comedy club. Simmons takes Wright under his wing as an assistant and opening act and the two tour and become best friends, although neither fully embraces the friendship. Wright helps Simmons further embrace the rest of his short life and reconnect with his past, and Simmons helps Wright become a better comedian and person as a whole. That was just the first half of the movie, the extended trailer reveals the plot twist but I won't ruin it for anyone who doesn't know. That synopsis makes it seem like a melodramatic Sandler effort, but it really isn't. While it is a very dark comedy, Apatow still supplies us with plenty of laugh out loud material for over two and a half hours. The movie drags a bit, in my opinion, but it always lightens up and cracks a good joke before staleness can set in. The acting in the film is impeccible in my opinion. Sandler and Rogan have develop a great rapport for each other through the film, and are aided by Hill, Schwartzman (who was the weakest in the movie in my opinion, but still great), Leslie Mann, Aubrey Plaza, and a great job by Eric Bana as Mann's somewhat crazy Australian husband, and Sandler's main opponent as her love interest. Other comedians aid in the film, such as Aziz Ansari who plays the absolutely insane comedian Randy. Eminem also assists in one of the best cameos I've ever witnessed. He can really act, I'm surprised he hasn't delved into film much since Eight Mile. Apatow really lets this movie's plot flesh out to the fullest, but he doesn't hold back the funny. This movie may have the most cock/balls jokes I've ever heard, and every time you think they are getting old, they hit you harder and with more ridiculousness, and I think many of you will really appreciate it. This movie also works because the actors obviously have strong connection to their roles. Simmons is so much like Adam Sandler it's not even funny, and while I don't think Sandler has quite the same views on like as the character, he was definitely working some things out as one of the prominent comedians in his generation. The other comedians, playing up-and-coming comics, really sell their roles, as they are not that far removed from the position. Rogan and Hill just broke into the scene big a few years ago with 40 year old virgin, Knocked Up, and Superbad, and the memories of their fledgling careers are probably fresh in their minds. Overall, to me this movie isn't perfect or excellent, but it is very very good, and definitely worth seeing. Apatow's first "big boy" film is definitely unique and delivers on what is set out to, but it still has the flavor you would expect. Sandler/Rogan/Apatow is a very powerful trio and I would love to see them work together more often, because this film was definitely a collaborative effort and I think it worked out incredibly well. Some of you may not like it, but I'm sure at least one of you will swear by it. Expand
  26. GregH
    Aug 1, 2009
    0
    Absolutely and totally offensive. The continuos references to the male anatomy and the constant bombardment of the F-word shows a total lack of intelligence by the creators. i cannot believe that jokes referring to the Holocaust and Hitler can be tolerated by the Jewish community. A complete waste of money and time.
  27. DougT
    Aug 1, 2009
    7
    It was pretty funny in the first one hour, but then it gets way too long which the humor did not last long. Great job, Apatow. You're losing it.
  28. NachoC
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    When I came in to see Funny People I expected the same kind of toilet humor that I experienced when I watched 40 year old virgin. But after analyzing his films I have come to understand that there is actually an undermining meaning to the whole 'fart jokes'. Funny People is a mature comedy and oddly enough the film actually makes you feel connected to the characters even if they When I came in to see Funny People I expected the same kind of toilet humor that I experienced when I watched 40 year old virgin. But after analyzing his films I have come to understand that there is actually an undermining meaning to the whole 'fart jokes'. Funny People is a mature comedy and oddly enough the film actually makes you feel connected to the characters even if they make the dumbest choices. I was content with the ending and I am happy to say it felt less like a Hollywood film and more like real life. I recommend it. Expand
  29. AnthonyO.
    Aug 12, 2009
    5
    I personally do not understand why some people loved the film. First of all, every joke was about a dick or balls and it got a little sickening after hearing about cocks for two hours. I'm not conservative really at all, but that kind of humor just gets old, esp. when it's in every single Apatow film. That humor can be funny but the amount of it has to be in good taste. One of I personally do not understand why some people loved the film. First of all, every joke was about a dick or balls and it got a little sickening after hearing about cocks for two hours. I'm not conservative really at all, but that kind of humor just gets old, esp. when it's in every single Apatow film. That humor can be funny but the amount of it has to be in good taste. One of the few elements that it aimed for and delivered, was emotion, but in the end I don't think it satisfied the audience because he didn't get the girl and that's what people wanted. Yes he grew from the experience, but again, you have to give the audience what they want. Expand
  30. ChadS.
    Aug 1, 2009
    7
    Influential film critic Pauline Kael had this to say about SNL alumnus Adam Sandler: "I have to say, I don't get Adam Sandler at all. I don't understand what makes him funny to people." As actor George Simmons, Sandler uses his alter-ego as an exemplar to reflect back on a filmography that he might not be terribly proud of. Even George's own father infers bafflement about Influential film critic Pauline Kael had this to say about SNL alumnus Adam Sandler: "I have to say, I don't get Adam Sandler at all. I don't understand what makes him funny to people." As actor George Simmons, Sandler uses his alter-ego as an exemplar to reflect back on a filmography that he might not be terribly proud of. Even George's own father infers bafflement about his son's comedic appeal when he brings up Jackie Gleason's name. After extolling the virtues of the late comedian, the father patronizes his son by adding that he's funny also. All George ever wanted to do was make his father laugh, he confides in Ira(Seth Rogen). But by the looks of it, as George and the folks lounge poolside on his palacial estate, he failed. Dispersed throughout "Funny People", we see clips of the same Hollywood junk that the real-life actor foists upon the public on a regular basis. "Redo", a film that George derisively calls the "baby picture" to reporters, is the cause of his sheepish facade when he's forced to watch it with Laura's younger daughter on DVD. After so many forgettable comedies, "Funny People" might be the kind of film that George would want to make after getting a clean bill of health from his doctor. Joining Paul Thomas Anderson's "Punchdrunk Love" and James L. Brooks' "Spanglish", this latest serious effort by Sandler acknowledges the binary at work whenever the generational comic takes on a non-comedic role. Although his last two ventures into serious film underperformed at the box office, assuming that Sandler and George Simmons are one and the same, commercial failure probably wouldn't add to the self-loathing and self-doubt that a "Merman"(George's film) or a "Little Nicky"(Sandler's film) would cause an actor with serious daddy issues. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Gets old fast.
  2. 88
    It's the work of a major talent. Apatow scores by crafting the film equivalent of a stand-up routine that encompasses the joy, pain, anger, loneliness and aching doubt that go into making an audience laugh.
  3. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    60
    Apatow answers to no one. His worst enemy as a director is his unwillingness to linger in the dark places from which his comedy springs.