User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 46
  2. Negative: 30 out of 46
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2010
    7
    If you see a trailer for this and then decide to see it, what did you expect, exactly? It's low brow, but Fraser does well with physical comedy and some of the bits are laugh out loud funny, the participants are having so much fun it's contagious and, come on, the real message here is that loving families should be respected and valued - what's wrong with that?
  2. Sep 29, 2013
    1
    Sight gags and cheesy dialogue don't save this movie. In fact, this is one of the stupidest movies I've ever seen. Brendan Frasier cannot be taken seriously as an actor anymore because of his career choices to be in movies like these, which do nothing but make the little kids laugh and the older ones and adults cringe.
  3. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    DO NOT listen to critics on this one. When i was going to watch this movie i thought that it would be horrible. But after watching it i could not stop laughing. In fact i watched the movie again the next night.
  4. Alex
    Apr 30, 2010
    6
    I know most critics will hate this movie, but in my opinion I think Furry Vengeance is a funny movie that could teach people how animals feel and about caring for the environment.
  5. DavidB.
    May 1, 2010
    3
    We're all adults here. We can agree that it's not a good movie - not even in the typically grating children's genre - but with all the critical bashing going on, I think we should take a moment and focus on who is to blame. It's not Brendan Fraser (who is amazingly committed to even the worst moments of this anemic movie), it's most likely not the writers We're all adults here. We can agree that it's not a good movie - not even in the typically grating children's genre - but with all the critical bashing going on, I think we should take a moment and focus on who is to blame. It's not Brendan Fraser (who is amazingly committed to even the worst moments of this anemic movie), it's most likely not the writers (credited or otherwise, as there were probably no less than a dozen on this thing - it's been listed on IMDB for at least 5 years), it's not even the editor (who should be given an award for having to sit through who knows how many cuts of what he knew was an unsalvageable film), or anyone else in the cast or crew who, I'm guessing, did it to feed their families. The blame for this and every other painful excuse for entertainment lies with the studio and producers who are there from day one and shepherd it through to fruition. Their sole purpose is to make a product that they believe will make money. Yes, the director should also shoulder the blame of course, but in the end (unless the director is some genius auteur who is afforded final cut) it's the people whose logo is proudly displayed before the first frame of the movie that should be called out by name and forced to apologize for wasting our time. Then again, if we didn't have these movies, we wouldn't appreciate the good ones when they show up every once in a while. Expand
  6. SebaW.
    May 2, 2010
    5
    The movie was good but the actors suck.
  7. fredl
    May 4, 2010
    2
    I've seen the movie, puked, and then puked again at the vivaciously bad acting from both the actors and animals. I strongly recommend not watching it.
  8. AlanG.
    Jun 6, 2010
    0
    Dear God, this movie sucks. I;m pretty sure this movie was made to be a lesson to other kids movies to make sure they aren't this bad.
  9. ChadS.
    May 2, 2010
    4
    Say what you want about William Girdler's "Day of the Animals", the 1977 camp classic about a group of hikers confronting High Sierra critters that attack, the capricious fallout due to a thinning ozone layer as being grade-Z dreck and retroactive liberal propaganda: an environmental torture porn film, just the sort of thing Al Gore might have directed had he gone to the USC Film Say what you want about William Girdler's "Day of the Animals", the 1977 camp classic about a group of hikers confronting High Sierra critters that attack, the capricious fallout due to a thinning ozone layer as being grade-Z dreck and retroactive liberal propaganda: an environmental torture porn film, just the sort of thing Al Gore might have directed had he gone to the USC Film School instead of Harvard. At least there was a deductive axiom, albeit speculative, behind the blitzkreig of flying rats and Hitch-schlockian birds. "Day of the Animals" was a cautionary tale about the hazards of aerosol spray cans. Radiation had denatured the mountain beasts into cold-blooded killing machines, but they lacked a consciousness as to why the humans must pay. "Furry Vengeance", on the other hand, offers no such ecological explanation for the woodland creatures' aberrant comportment, in which these animal rebels display antrhopomorphic behavior without a scientific cause, still, whereas the afflicted creatures from the Girdler film ambushed its human opponents without calculation, the fierce raccoon and his furry minions are fully cognizant to the concept of home, family, and rezoning ordinances for the development of upper-class tract housing. A montage which shows the animal wars with mankind throughout he ages, rules out any possibility for a "Day of the Animals"-inspired subtext, since the fighting commenced well before the Industrial Age. "Furry Vengeance" is just a dumb kid's movie, which is far less ambitious than a dumb political one like "Day of the Animals". And it's sloppy. As Dan Sanders, Brendan Fraser plays an ambitious real estate developer who, after getting his ass kicked repeatedly by the wildlife, inevitably has second thoughts about deforestation once he learns that "animal relocation" is corporate-speak for "liquidation". But the filmmaker provides an inadequate suture for the mover and shaker's rehabilitation, since "Furry Vengeance" never deals with the beaver holocaust, in which Dan ordered the construction foreman to blow up the dam. Expand
  10. DavidL.
    May 3, 2010
    1
    The worst film I've seen all year. Dreadful effects, blatant racism and a genuinely unfunny script. Nothing to recommend this film to anyone.
  11. David
    May 3, 2010
    0
    I have not seen this movie and I am not going to. Why? Because it really looks stupid! But I had to reply to Alex. "it could teach people how animals feel..." Really?! Are you serious?! Can you please tell me how animals feel? I didn't know that Hollywood had the inside track on the mental composition of animals.
  12. Aug 27, 2010
    1
    One thing I really hate on Metacritic, is when somebody says "I haven't seen the Movie but it looks really bad" so they give it a 3. Because in my opinion that undermines the point of user reviews, to get an alternative look at films, as opposed to professional critics. This film has the dubious honor of the exception I take to the rule, because (and I've seen the Movie) when you look atOne thing I really hate on Metacritic, is when somebody says "I haven't seen the Movie but it looks really bad" so they give it a 3. Because in my opinion that undermines the point of user reviews, to get an alternative look at films, as opposed to professional critics. This film has the dubious honor of the exception I take to the rule, because (and I've seen the Movie) when you look at the Trailer, you've pretty much seen the full thing. Brendan Frasier acting with all the charisma of the animals he's fighting, fart jokes and a quite frankly depressing enviromental message which seems slapped on in order to try and appeal to those wanting to educate their kids, unfortunatly it falls completely flat because there's nothing intelligent in this film, at all. It's insulting that they think your child would be idiotic enough to find this entertaining. It has the stench of corporate heartlessness about it. I think Brendan Frasier's a good actor but i wish he'd star in good Movies. At the end of the day if your child (or you) does not recall in horror at the extremely uncomedic way Brendan Frasier screams (he's stuck in a portaloo, hilarious!) they will cry at the abysmal effects which were literally puppets Brendan Frasier controlled! I dislike CGI but they could at least try. Expand
  13. Aug 28, 2010
    0
    I didn't even see this movie but by looking at the cover..watching one trailer..and finding about the worst actor of all time is in it(Brendon Fraiser) i can tell that i never wanted to see it.
  14. Aug 19, 2010
    4
    Nama Brendan Fraser sepertinya akan terus diingat sebagai nama seorang aktor yang terjebak untuk selalu membintangi film-film yang ditujukan untuk pangsa pasar keluarga. Bukan sebuah masalah besar jika film-film yang ia bintangi merupakan film-film keluarga dengan kualitas yang memorable dan dapat dibanggakan. Namun dengan judul-judul seperti Looney Tunes: Back In Actions, Inkheart danNama Brendan Fraser sepertinya akan terus diingat sebagai nama seorang aktor yang terjebak untuk selalu membintangi film-film yang ditujukan untuk pangsa pasar keluarga. Bukan sebuah masalah besar jika film-film yang ia bintangi merupakan film-film keluarga dengan kualitas yang memorable dan dapat dibanggakan. Namun dengan judul-judul seperti Looney Tunes: Back In Actions, Inkheart dan Extraordinary Measures, yang tidak hanya gagal meraih perhatian para kritikus film dunia namun juga gagal meraih simpati para penonton, Fraser sepertinya harus semakin sering mempertimbangkan film yang akan ia bintangi. Dan Furry Vengeance bukanlah sebuah film yang akan merubah kenyataan itu.

    Dengan naskah yang dituliskan oleh Michael Carnes dan Josh Gilbert (Mr. Woodcock, 2007), Furry Vengeance mengisahkan mengenai Dan Sanders (Fraser), seorang pengembang perusahaan perumahan yang mendapatkan tugas dari pimpinannya, Neil Lyman (Ken Jeong), untuk membangun sebuah kompleks perumahan yang bertemakan alam dengan menggunduli sejumlah area perhutanan. Untuk melaksanakan tugasnya tersebut, Dan beserta istri, Tammy (Brooke Shields), dan anaknya, Tyler (Matt Prokop), harus mau direlokasi ke wilayah hutan selama setahun.

    Pada awalnya, Dan mendukung usaha perusahaannya untuk membangun perumahan yang ramah terhadap lingkungan. Namun ketika pemimpinnya mengungkapkan bahwa akan ada fase kedua dari pembangunan perumahan tersebut â
    Expand
  15. Sep 10, 2010
    0
    Just terrible. And I would really like to submit this review having said just that, and only that. Just terrible. However, metacritic has a 150 character minimum so I will expand by saying it's almost worth seeing because it is so bad. Wow, how does something like this even get made? Seriously.
  16. Feb 9, 2011
    1
    Absolutely pathetic. Save the environment rubbish with pathetic acting and not a single good joke. Brendan Frasier could be in better movies if he wanted to. (look at "The Mummy", or "Crash") but he just keeps taking these crap jobs and gets laughed at by the world in all the wrong ways. shame on you anybody who had anything to do with this.
  17. Mar 15, 2011
    0
    Worst family comedy movie ever made!!! Brendan Frasier should know better than doing a crappy family comedy that isn't going to do well in. Everyone sucked in it and only little kids are going to laugh at this horrible comedy.
  18. CRL
    Aug 26, 2011
    2
    I think we all knew what we were getting with this one. It's a completely physical comedy that never strays from offering another cliche. Vengeance also wastes Fraser and Jeong, as well as the rest of its cast, with a nonexistent plot powered by a crazed raccoon and ends on a decidedly bad Disney-esque note.
  19. AlekR.
    May 17, 2010
    0
    One of the worst bash-fests about "evil" corporations and deforesting I've seen in awhile. It barely has any semblance of a coherent plot. A well deserved 0 in my opinion.
  20. Sep 24, 2012
    5
    It'a a little confusing if Brendan Fraser is the leading role of a horrible but average family movie. Animal Planet on steroids. But Furry Vengeance has a lot of great moments, but the acting, the music, and the environment stuff may look like a Captain Planet PSA, but it's not. Not a good movie, but I'll rent it.
  21. Aug 3, 2013
    1
    Algo mas que despreciar furry vengeance tiene además de un solo escenario y mal tema, unos asquerosos efectos y mucha mediocridad en todo, parece que lo hubiera hecho una persona
Metascore
23

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 15 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Wilonsky
    30
    Furry Vengeance isn’t really a movie at all; it's a message provided by the good people at Participant Media.
  2. 38
    On the sliding critter-comedy scale, Furry Vengeance falls somewhere between the Chipmunks and the Chihuahua (the one from Beverly Hills).
  3. Maybe your kids will insist that you see Furry Vengeance. Then again, wouldn't this be the perfect time to let them test their independence and sit through it alone? Otherwise, good luck. You have my condolences.