Galaxy Quest

Galaxy Quest Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 154 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Nearly twenty years after their hit TV seriers was canceled, the five stars of "Galaxy Quest" are still in costume, making appearances at science fiction conventions for their legions of die-hard fans. They unexpectedly find themselves back in action when a group of aliens arrive at aNearly twenty years after their hit TV seriers was canceled, the five stars of "Galaxy Quest" are still in costume, making appearances at science fiction conventions for their legions of die-hard fans. They unexpectedly find themselves back in action when a group of aliens arrive at a convention and whisk Commander Taggart (Allen) and his crew into space to help them in their all-too-real war against a deadly adversary. (Dreamworks) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. More than one joke or one idea. It's a thoroughly satisfying comedy --and a respectable space adventure, as well.
  2. New York Post
    Reviewed by: Jonathan Foreman
    88
    An affectionate, often clever and unflaggingly funny satire.
  3. The wisecracks fly fast and furious
  4. Philadelphia Inquirer
    Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    75
    It's quite a lot of fun.
  5. 70
    The many eight-to-11-year-olds in the audience seemed completely enthralled.
  6. Instead of making fun of the series' fans and their lifestyle, Galaxy Quest targets actors and how an onscreen image can forever lock a performer in a particular role. And that proves to be its saving grace.
  7. TNT RoughCut
    Reviewed by: Christopher Brandon
    30
    It seems as if it was made by people who have never actually watched an episode of Star Trek. So all the old poke-fun-at-Trekkies cliches are here.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    When i first watched it i wasn't sure. So i bought it and watched it again and again and again. Absolutely brilliant, one of my favouriteWhen i first watched it i wasn't sure. So i bought it and watched it again and again and again. Absolutely brilliant, one of my favourite films of all time. The idea is perfect and the cast were perfect. Expand
  2. MarcJ
    May 3, 2010
    10
    Hilarious movie. One of my all time favorites.
  3. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    "By Grabthar's hammer, by the suns of Warvan, you shall be avenged!" After the dissapointments into the Star Trek franchise that were Voyager,"By Grabthar's hammer, by the suns of Warvan, you shall be avenged!" After the dissapointments into the Star Trek franchise that were Voyager, Enterprise and Nemesis, I like to think that line is suitable for all trekkies. And we were avenged, with a brilliant satire known as...Galaxy Quest! This could have turned out so rubbish, been another "Date Movie" or "Meet The Spartans". So what happened? It had good writers, who knew to spoof Star Trek whilst keeping respect for the series and the fans. The actors play their roles brilliantly, from Allen's Shatner-esque role (complete with the attitude) to Rickman's self-hating take on Mr Spock. Sam Rockwell has a good turn also, as the terrified once-redshirt, humourously awaiting his end. The great references to original Trek ("There goes the shirt again") really make this a must see for all Star Trek fans. The battle of Jason Nesmith VS The Rock Monster had an "Amok Time" feel to it The idea is bonkers, stars of space-set TV show taken to space by aliens who believe the TV show was real. And it works, providing laughs all throughout. It also provides heart, like when Quellek is killed. There should not be a dry eye in the house when Lazarus recites his catchphrase for his dying ally. I rate this as a must see, especially for Trek fans. Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    8
    Of course it can be funny for everyone, but every people who have watch a Star Trek episode, reference of even an other parody is able toOf course it can be funny for everyone, but every people who have watch a Star Trek episode, reference of even an other parody is able to watch it. Good actors (mainly Sigourney Weaver and of course Alan Rickman, simply hilarious has a pseudo-vulcan), respective mockery, tons of good ideas for an excellent comedy. Expand
  5. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    A very funny movie that I imagine does a very realistic parody of the original Star Trek cast (if they were put into this situation.) AllanA very funny movie that I imagine does a very realistic parody of the original Star Trek cast (if they were put into this situation.) Allan Rickman is just brilliant, Sigorny Weaver further cement her Queen of Sci-Fi role, and Tim Allen, *long silent pause* Tim Allen. Overall a great movie that is a great Sci-Fi comedy that has allot of fun with itself. Collapse
  6. Apr 3, 2016
    8
    I never expected to like this one as much as I did, but here we are. Galaxy Quest is everything a satirical film needs to be and expertlyI never expected to like this one as much as I did, but here we are. Galaxy Quest is everything a satirical film needs to be and expertly mocks sci-fi films such as Star Trek, while also providing unique entertainment of its own. Tim Allen, Sigourney Weaver, Alan Rickman, Tony Shalhoub, Sam Rockwell, and Justin Long, are all very good here and turn in equally hysterical performances. From beginning to end, Galaxy Quest is incredibly funny poking fun not only at the genre, but also at acting, fan bases, and Hollywood as a whole. Even better, it is not necessary to watch the films it spoofs here because the themes and jokes are easily accessible regardless. Overall, Galaxy Quest is a very entertaining and smartly made satire. Expand
  7. WesM.
    Jul 13, 2008
    0
    Dunno; I feel like the camp and cheese found in here was a sign of what was to come from director Parisot.

See all 37 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Making the Jump: Sitcom Stars on the Big Screen

    Making the Jump: Sitcom Stars on the Big Screen Image
    Published: April 7, 2010
    The stars of the new movie "Date Night," Steve Carell and Tina Fey are only the latest in a long line of TV comedy stars attempting to break into film. Find out who succeeded, and who should have stayed on television.
  2. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.
  3. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  4. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.