User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 183 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 183
  2. Negative: 67 out of 183
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KarynC.
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    I loved this movie. What a ride. Very cool scenes and concept.
  2. MichaelO.
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    This movie kicks ass. Butler rocks. Better than expected.
  3. MikeR.
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    Its not so serious like you think And NY Times doesn't like none movie.
  4. ChristianB
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Butler and Hall did a great role in this movie and the people that rate it 0 are people who dont like guns firing and good acting
  5. JamesB.
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    A surreal, hyperintense experience. Not going to be for everyone, but those who like it will love it.
  6. AngelaF
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    Amusing, and quite likely behaviour from bored, rich people in the future should such technology become available.
  7. JosephA
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    This movie is worth watching. Just finished watching, and unlike other people here, they will give it a 0 before they even watch it. I think many people out there are underrating it for bad reasons. Yes I am also a gamer but just a casual one. Yes not all gamers are horny fat guys in a basement too, but there is a market out there for those type of people, people who have no life. The This movie is worth watching. Just finished watching, and unlike other people here, they will give it a 0 before they even watch it. I think many people out there are underrating it for bad reasons. Yes I am also a gamer but just a casual one. Yes not all gamers are horny fat guys in a basement too, but there is a market out there for those type of people, people who have no life. The point is that this villain took advantage of that market and than continued with the fps games market. Anyhow this movie is good. Ending was.....eh. But I give it a ten to try to average out all the other unfair reviews( Which won't work but I try). It deserves a 8.5 atleast because it was enjoyable. Those who rate it 0 for a stupid reason shouldn't be here. Expand
  8. Patrick
    Sep 6, 2009
    10
    This movie was amazing, everything I was expecting when I went to this movie. If you liked death race, or you like pure action with not to much back story - this is for you. Loved every minute of it.
  9. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    It's not even close...WORST MOVIE EVER MADE. Not even sure you can call it a movie. I can't, for the life of me figure out what the hell Gerard Butler was thinking doing this. Maybe he was blackmailed? Lost a bet? Maybe he had no idea that drugged out rave freaks would turn it into what it became. Absolute 100% crap.
  10. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    Estoy muy seguro de que ni siquiera a tratar de descifrar este comentario porque está en español, pero sin embargo, en realidad era una película muy buena, y estoy tratando de promediar las críticas de aquí, porque si nos fijamos en la base de datos de la película del Internet , tiene una calificación de un sólido cinco punto ocho,Estoy muy seguro de que ni siquiera a tratar de descifrar este comentario porque está en español, pero sin embargo, en realidad era una película muy buena, y estoy tratando de promediar las críticas de aquí, porque si nos fijamos en la base de datos de la película del Internet , tiene una calificación de un sólido cinco punto ocho, por supuesto, no puedo usar los números porque uno de ustedes en realidad podría sospechar que esto no es una crítica legítima, pero bueno, no lo es, me gusta mucho el cine, y me gusta manipular las cosas, así que sí, ponerlos juntos y tienes esta mierda aquí, una revisión españolas, bueno, no exactamente una crítica, pero sí, me gusta el cine, me gustan los ponis y lanzadores de cohetes y el pastel de manzana, consulte lo que es un maravilloso ser humano que soy ... bueno, sí, adiós, y si usted es hispano, y entiendes lo que estoy diciendo, entonces ir a ver la película, usted no será decepcionado. Expand
  11. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    Epic! Very nice movie i like this!........................................................................................................................................................
  12. stevieb
    Jan 14, 2010
    9
    Great Movie. Something different from the same crop of boring movies being produced.
  13. DerekT
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    Movie taste is just like ass, everyone has one ! it really surprised me this low score ! The movie really delivered what it intended to ! its MY kind of movie, and as i can see, it is the same for other ppl. if you don't like this kind of movie, your critic is as useful as a judge in a golf game. now, for those who enjoy this kind of movie and aren't just wasting their own time Movie taste is just like ass, everyone has one ! it really surprised me this low score ! The movie really delivered what it intended to ! its MY kind of movie, and as i can see, it is the same for other ppl. if you don't like this kind of movie, your critic is as useful as a judge in a golf game. now, for those who enjoy this kind of movie and aren't just wasting their own time and ours... the movie is great, really worth watching ! Expand
Metascore
27

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 8 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    40
    The audience gets played in Gamer. This latest eye-scraper from writer-directors Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor is as hopped up as their "Crank" pics, but with dour Gerard Butler as a soldier commandeered by a teenage gamer, it's considerably less interactive.
  2. Reviewed by: Josh Modell
    42
    The trouble with Gamer is that it’s weird, but not weird enough for the long haul.
  3. What the movie needs more than anything else is a fast-forward button.