User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 266 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 266
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    I really, really enjoyed this movie. Excellent acting, and pace. Unlike many movies today, it was not "too long" the script was clean. Sean Penn was ferocious and very scary. I hope he wins an Oscar.
    Good comedic relief also. My expectations were fully met.
  2. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    On paper, and based on the preview, this is a movie that I absolutely should have loathed. Reminded me a bit of the old Warren Beatty / Madonna debacle Dick Tracy. Even as I enjoyed the first third or so, I expected the other shoe to drop. I was happy to be wrong. It's no LA Confidential, but I had a lot of fun with this film. The casting choices are solid (Robert Patrick and MichaelOn paper, and based on the preview, this is a movie that I absolutely should have loathed. Reminded me a bit of the old Warren Beatty / Madonna debacle Dick Tracy. Even as I enjoyed the first third or so, I expected the other shoe to drop. I was happy to be wrong. It's no LA Confidential, but I had a lot of fun with this film. The casting choices are solid (Robert Patrick and Michael Pena are terrific), it's exciting if not extremely profound or innovative in terms of storytelling, but with modest expectations, I think action fans and fans of the lead actors will get what they need out of it. It actually got a rather widespread round of applause in my somewhat film-snobby theater. Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2013
    8
    Don't go into this expecting LA Confidential and you're half way towards enjoying a fun comic book style movie with over the top violence that is almost entirely stylish over any type of content. Reminded me a bit of Last Man Standing with Bruce Willis, although this is slightly more fleshed out, the action is well choreographed and the dialogue is macho more than meaningful. A lot ofDon't go into this expecting LA Confidential and you're half way towards enjoying a fun comic book style movie with over the top violence that is almost entirely stylish over any type of content. Reminded me a bit of Last Man Standing with Bruce Willis, although this is slightly more fleshed out, the action is well choreographed and the dialogue is macho more than meaningful. A lot of cool characters including Robert Patrick's bit as a gunslinger who just doesn't miss. Brolin and Gosling play their part to keep everything ticking over whilst Penn is maniacal as Cohen. This isn't a deep film, but it is a good old shoot em up with snappy one liners, cool characters and lots of style. Go to see it! Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    Can't help but think that critics have an agenda. This is a really good movie. I really liked the way it was stylized and filmed. It is a bit funny sometimes but a great experience through and through. Shall watch it again. Highly recommended.
  5. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    This movie is fantastic. Ton of blood, action, and suspense. If you like those types of movies, than Gangster Squad is for you. Right from the beginning, the movie had my attention.
  6. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    I didn't know what to expect when I considered seeing this film--I was worried that there would be too much action and try to be something that it shouldn't. Gangster Squad is a heavily cliched film which does almost everything right. Are cliches all that bad? I don't think they are. A good introduction to all of the characters is key for this kind of film. The antagonist played by SeanI didn't know what to expect when I considered seeing this film--I was worried that there would be too much action and try to be something that it shouldn't. Gangster Squad is a heavily cliched film which does almost everything right. Are cliches all that bad? I don't think they are. A good introduction to all of the characters is key for this kind of film. The antagonist played by Sean Penn blew my mind and made me enjoy every moment he was on screen. Only problem I noticed with the introduction is that it drags on for longer than it needed to do so--taking up too much of a film which could have been longer. The mind-set needed to watch this film is that of what the classic gangster films used to be like. It's a classically designed and cliche gangster film which blew me away and only just misses out on the perfect score due to length. Collapse
  7. May 14, 2013
    10
    The rapidly expanding Los Angeles of the 1940s and 50s the time when the aeronautics industry was becoming prominent, the freeway system being built, Disneyland was launched and the Chicago and east coast mob was moving in on Nevada and southern California has become a favourite subject of the period crime film these past 20 years. It began with Barry Levinson's Bugsy, set in this newThe rapidly expanding Los Angeles of the 1940s and 50s the time when the aeronautics industry was becoming prominent, the freeway system being built, Disneyland was launched and the Chicago and east coast mob was moving in on Nevada and southern California has become a favourite subject of the period crime film these past 20 years. It began with Barry Levinson's Bugsy, set in this new criminal milieu, and Lee Tamahori's Mulholland Falls, which centred on the ruthless cops hired to tackle these largely Jewish newcomers (known as the "Kosher Nostra"). It continued with two films based on James Ellroy's fact-based novels, LA Confidential and The Black Dahlia. The vicious New York gangster and former featherweight boxer Mickey Cohen came west via Chicago, sent by Murder Inc's Meyer Lansky to assist Ben "Bugsy" Siegel. In Bugsy, Cohen was on his way up in the mid-1940s and impersonated by Harvey Keitel, and in LA Confidential, when at his 50s peak, by Paul Guilfoyle. In the naive, heavy-handed, handsomely designed Gangster Squad, he's played as a preening, psychopathic monster by Sean Penn. We first see him using two cars to tear a Chicago interloper in two behind the "Hollywoodland" sign, thus establishing him as the monster who's corrupting the pure, law-abiding Los Angeles. The film is virtually a cross between those 1970s thrillers in which Vietnam veterans return home to clean up their tarnished homeland and Brian De Palma's The Untouchables, where Kevin Costner's Eliot Ness recruits an elite band of cops to break Al Capone's stranglehold hold on prohibition Chicago. Expand
  8. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    I love 1930s 1950s gangster movies! Everything about them is awesome, This movie has a lot of great actors, good special effects, a lot of great scenes, and a good story. And just because I love gangster movies, 10/10
  9. May 24, 2013
    8
    Don't let the critics scare you away, because they always tend to hate movies like this one. Obviously people should have a certain mindset when watching a movie called "Gangster Squad". The movie is everything you expected it to be: A stylish shoot 'em up with top notch acting and lots of dead bad guys. It has a ton of humor and I laughed out loud more times than I do in a lot of modernDon't let the critics scare you away, because they always tend to hate movies like this one. Obviously people should have a certain mindset when watching a movie called "Gangster Squad". The movie is everything you expected it to be: A stylish shoot 'em up with top notch acting and lots of dead bad guys. It has a ton of humor and I laughed out loud more times than I do in a lot of modern comedies. It had a few emotional moments as well, but nothing to make you tear up. Not that anyone would watch this movie because they want to cry. It's a great story and I love this ind of movie. Expand
  10. May 29, 2013
    8
    Very good movie and as others have mentioned, much more graphic than expected but in a good way. Did a great job of portraying the era and had a little bit of everything.
  11. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    This started out as a serious gangster movie and ended in a wild west shooting style. Interesting characters, while the movie is deep and tells a scary story its full of meaningless shooting and action. An interesting mix thats good for all fans of the wild west and 1940s america.
  12. Dec 16, 2013
    7
    2013 for me seems to be completely over saturated with sequels and copy cats. I know people have been saying that for years but this year I have seen a lot. Its not necessarily a bad thing in my opinion though. Good movies leave people wanting more and therefor its understandable that movies like gangster squad are made. Right away and all the through I was constantly reminded of "The2013 for me seems to be completely over saturated with sequels and copy cats. I know people have been saying that for years but this year I have seen a lot. Its not necessarily a bad thing in my opinion though. Good movies leave people wanting more and therefor its understandable that movies like gangster squad are made. Right away and all the through I was constantly reminded of "The Untouchables", its influence on this movie are undeniable. A group of cops go above the law to bring down the mob. Once I accepted that and moved on I was entertained thoroughly. This movie has loads of action and lots of big name actors who keep it interesting. Most notably is Sean Penn who has a great performance as the mob boss. It makes me wish he played more characters like this because he definitely stuck out as the best. In the end I would call this movie a cross between the plot of "the untouchables" and the characters from something more comical like "Dick Tracy". Although it isn't as incredible as lots of gangster movies its still a good worthwhile watch. Expand
  13. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    Angels: This is a good gangster movie. The dialog is tough, and smart, the characters are interesting, The plot is exciting, the scenery and costumes are very stylish, and the violence is, well, very violent. What is not to like. I have an admission to make. This movie is really an 8/9, but I gave it a 10, because I wanted to raise its average to combat the 'haters'. Because of theAngels: This is a good gangster movie. The dialog is tough, and smart, the characters are interesting, The plot is exciting, the scenery and costumes are very stylish, and the violence is, well, very violent. What is not to like. I have an admission to make. This movie is really an 8/9, but I gave it a 10, because I wanted to raise its average to combat the 'haters'. Because of the negative reviews I almost did not go to see the movie, but my buddy out-voted me, and I am very glad that he did. Did I say that Sean Penn and Ryan Gosling knock the ball out of the park? Look, those boys really get into character, and I am a sucker for pretty boy Ryan. Now, the critics say, this movie is no LA Confidential. Which must be true, because it's called 'Gangster Squad'. A very enjoyable night out. Expand
  14. Jan 11, 2013
    8
    Writing about this movie, but avoiding spoilers, I will say that I'm baffled by the reviews stating it's mediocre or awful. I went into this movie expecting entertainment. Any film by the name of "Gangster Squad" is not expected to be highly storytellling. It's a classier version of a shoot-em-up. Great humor and subtle nuances made this film very entertaining. Josh Brolin, Sean Penn, andWriting about this movie, but avoiding spoilers, I will say that I'm baffled by the reviews stating it's mediocre or awful. I went into this movie expecting entertainment. Any film by the name of "Gangster Squad" is not expected to be highly storytellling. It's a classier version of a shoot-em-up. Great humor and subtle nuances made this film very entertaining. Josh Brolin, Sean Penn, and even in a quirky way Ryan Gosling all stood out with memorable acting. The only person that felt a little cut-and-dry was the one who played Brolin's character's wife (I'd throw that to the writing and not the actress herself). I honestly felt this movie was somewhat reminiscent of Dick Tracy, but less colorful. The action, the style, and the cinematography were all on point and the edit made to remove the Movie Theater scene (which delayed the movie's release in the first place) and replace it with something else is quite seamless. There were some surprise cast members that I didnt know were in the movie, but added very very well to the story. I give this movie an 8 out of 10 (would be 8.5 if it had the option) as there are some minor flaws and points where I feel it was rushed in some areas, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. I will buy the DVD when it is released and hopefully there is bonus footage, so it wont feel so rushed. Would recommend to friends and strangers alike. I'd say just watch with an open mind and not for the movie to be taken DRASTICALLY seriously, and just as a friday night flick. Expand
  15. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    It's just a fun movie. I'm a sucker for gangster movies and history, and while at times this is over the top it's still a beautifully shot and decently acted film. Just go in with an open mind and don't be expecting "Goodfellas" and you'll enjoy yourself.
  16. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie from beginning to end. It COULD'VE been an epic movie like other gangster movies in the past, but sadly it's only 1 1/2 hours long. I think this movie should've been a 3 hour epic, or nearly 3 hours...and more story-focused. But I thoroughly enjoyed it and will be watching it again tomorrow.
  17. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    A movie like this should be rated on it's entertainment value, and this movie is brilliant. I don't understand why people don't like it? It is an all round superb movie, in fact i loved it so much i'm going to see it again. It was very emotional at some parts and shocking at others. No major issue stood out at me at all. I love that era and location in history and this movie was perfectA movie like this should be rated on it's entertainment value, and this movie is brilliant. I don't understand why people don't like it? It is an all round superb movie, in fact i loved it so much i'm going to see it again. It was very emotional at some parts and shocking at others. No major issue stood out at me at all. I love that era and location in history and this movie was perfect for entertaining that. Expand
  18. Jan 14, 2013
    8
    Gangster Squad provides exactly what I expected but also wanted. It has violence, tommy guns, cool suits, and a lot of attitude, which is precisely what a gangster flick should contain. The movie is a terrific throwback to the days when mobsters ran wild and had everyone eating out of the palm of their hand. Director Ruben Fleischer (Zombieland) shows no mercy when it comes to theGangster Squad provides exactly what I expected but also wanted. It has violence, tommy guns, cool suits, and a lot of attitude, which is precisely what a gangster flick should contain. The movie is a terrific throwback to the days when mobsters ran wild and had everyone eating out of the palm of their hand. Director Ruben Fleischer (Zombieland) shows no mercy when it comes to the characters getting their hands dirty. He tells a ferocious and foul tale based on true events, but balances it with some good old-fashioned fun and more humor than one might expect from a film like this. Fleischer creates a thrilling, stylish atmosphere and has a hell of a cast to bring such a flashy yet corrupted, dangerous time in our history to life.

    Set in the City of Angels in 1949, boxing champ-turned-mobster Mickey Cohen (Sean Penn) is running the streets and owns just about everything and everyone in town. Cohen does not have his sights set on just one or two cities in California. He is way too greedy for that. He wants control over the entire state. While most just turn a blind eye, Police Chief Parker (Nick Nolte) wants to take Cohen down and get him out of his city. But he knows he cannot do it within the confinements of the law so he brings in a war hero turned cop named John O
    Expand
  19. Feb 22, 2013
    7
    This film has received many bad reviews, but not because it's a bad movie. The truth is it's just not what people expected it to be. When you hear about a mafia movie, you expect an epic, inside look like with Goodfellas or Casino, but Gangster Squad is from the cops point of view and more like The Untouchables. Gangster Squad is based on a novel and is about an off the books LAPDThis film has received many bad reviews, but not because it's a bad movie. The truth is it's just not what people expected it to be. When you hear about a mafia movie, you expect an epic, inside look like with Goodfellas or Casino, but Gangster Squad is from the cops point of view and more like The Untouchables. Gangster Squad is based on a novel and is about an off the books LAPD operation aimed at bringing down Micky Cohen. In the 1940s, LA had a growing mafia problem on it's hands, and Mickey Cohen was set to become the next Al Capone. Unbeknownst for decades, the LAPD sent a group of cops, who didn't play by the book, after Cohen and by going after his business interests, they attempt to destroy his growing empire. The story is a great one, well deserving of a film adaptation, but what people didn't like was how it turned into an action film. This story has all the makings of an epic mafia drama, an you will be hard pressed to find a better performance than the one Sean Penn gives as Mickey Cohen. It was somewhat disappointing that they didn't get more into Cohen and his operation, but for what it was, it was a great film. As for the cast, it features some of Hollywood's best an brightest as old school meets the up and coming stars of the big screen. Every one from the stars to the ancillary characters give Oscar worthy performances that will be sadly overlooked. because of the nature of the film. If you're looking for a classic mob drama, you're going to be disappointed, but if you want to see an action packed cop movie with a mob element, then Gangster Squad is the film for you. Expand
  20. Jan 14, 2013
    9
    5;6; دربار7; ای6; کتاب چیز زیادی 6;5;ید8;6;5; ا5;ا 1;ک ک6;5; خ8;ب باش7; ای6;جا 7;5; کار خاصی 6;دار5; ک4;ا5;6; دربار7; ای6; کتاب چیز زیادی 6;5;ید8;6;5; ا5;ا 1;ک ک6;5; خ8;ب باش7; ای6;جا 7;5; کار خاصی 6;دار5; ک4;ا 5;یچرخ5; ببی6;5; ک7; چی 7;ست؟ Expand
  21. Jan 21, 2013
    7
    Nitty and gritty. Lots of very clever dialogue. More style than accuracy but this is intentional. Plenty of blood and stars. With all the stars and testosterone in this movie I have to describe it as The Expendables for 1940's gangster movie fans. If this is what you want then you will not be disappointed. I only gave it a 7 out of 10 since I pretty much had the plot figured out as theNitty and gritty. Lots of very clever dialogue. More style than accuracy but this is intentional. Plenty of blood and stars. With all the stars and testosterone in this movie I have to describe it as The Expendables for 1940's gangster movie fans. If this is what you want then you will not be disappointed. I only gave it a 7 out of 10 since I pretty much had the plot figured out as the movie ran along and got a tad bit tired as the movie came to a close. Expand
  22. Jan 21, 2013
    8
    This is definitely a good movie, which I really enjoyed watching. The story is quite okay, and fits the era very good. The characters are all decent at least. Good guy O
  23. Jan 27, 2013
    8
    This movie has a nice cast, good visual effects, nice operator's work and a great atmosphere of post-WWII Los Angeles. The entourage reminded me of a video game LA Noire. To describe a genre: it isn't a criminal drama it's a gangster style action movie. A nice one to watch it once.
  24. Jan 28, 2013
    7
    Overall, a pretty good gangster movie. The whole feel of the movie is spot on and Sean Penn's role as Mickey Cohen definitely delivered. Pacing can be a bit of a problem. Writing isn't Gangster Squad's strong suit, as the movie can become predictable to some.
  25. Jan 30, 2013
    7
    The movie itself its entertaining but nothing for the ages. Sean Penn is atrocious in my opinion. But I do think Ryan Gosling did a good job. Emma Stone and Brolin where decent too.
  26. Feb 1, 2013
    7
    In 1949 Hollywood, a gangster from New York (Sean Penn) muscles his way into the West Coast crime syndicates. To bring him down, a renegade cop (Josh Brolin) assembles a team of outsiders (including Ryan Gosling). This is a time when everybody smoked and women were called "tomatoes." This film's elegant period style and suave, snappy dialogue verge on parody, but director Rubin FleischerIn 1949 Hollywood, a gangster from New York (Sean Penn) muscles his way into the West Coast crime syndicates. To bring him down, a renegade cop (Josh Brolin) assembles a team of outsiders (including Ryan Gosling). This is a time when everybody smoked and women were called "tomatoes." This film's elegant period style and suave, snappy dialogue verge on parody, but director Rubin Fleischer manages to keep a sense of fun, while loading it with plenty of fights (fists and guns). The performances are enjoyable and the pacing never lags. While this isn't exceptional in any way, it's still thoroughly entertaining. Expand
  27. Feb 2, 2013
    7
    It was a nice movie, sure, it does not have great dialog or great acting but it was quite entertaining. I'm picky with the use of my free time, and I must say I had a great time. Maybe in terms of a good movie from a art point of view it would deserve like 4.5 but taking the entertainment value it would be a 7.
  28. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    This is a perfect noir genre film it has grit and nails, and doesn't try to weigh you down with lofty ideals or convoluted nonsense. And I am a fan of lofty ideals and convoluted nonsense. Not everything needs to be a perfect thinkpiece about violence especially when it comes to a gangster film. Detractors would probably feel the same about a Western film or a Kung Fu flick. It has itsThis is a perfect noir genre film it has grit and nails, and doesn't try to weigh you down with lofty ideals or convoluted nonsense. And I am a fan of lofty ideals and convoluted nonsense. Not everything needs to be a perfect thinkpiece about violence especially when it comes to a gangster film. Detractors would probably feel the same about a Western film or a Kung Fu flick. It has its fans and that it who the film was made for. I understand why people would not like it but I don't care for Michael Bay flicks either so I go out of my way to avoid them. Smarter that way. Expand
  29. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    This film had the potential to be one of the great gangster films of this century. Unfortunately it did not exceed this expectation. The plot was outstanding, the cast was good, what could go wrong? To be frank, a lot went wrong. This film is not worth the watch and i am glad it hasn't won any Oscars.
  30. Apr 1, 2013
    7
    IN MY OPINION **MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS** by CtheTav What can I say about this film? The plot of Gangster squad was so predictable every twist can be seen well before it happens, particularly groan worthy was the ambush in Chinatown. The plot isn't the reason to watch this film however. It's a period action film through and through with fantastic action throughout. Whether it's the Slow-MoIN MY OPINION **MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS** by CtheTav What can I say about this film? The plot of Gangster squad was so predictable every twist can be seen well before it happens, particularly groan worthy was the ambush in Chinatown. The plot isn't the reason to watch this film however. It's a period action film through and through with fantastic action throughout. Whether it's the Slow-Mo over the top gun fighting or the violent fisticuffs, it kept my eyes glued to the screen the whole time. The voice-over monologue was a bit heavy handed but was dropped a few minutes so that was okay. I think my favourite part was the car chase with the heroin truck which was very fun to watch. Sadly the forgettable characters let this film down as none of the actors deserve to read the dialogue lazily written for them, a shame really as this film could have been brilliant if not for the story. Rating- 7 out of 10 Good action, predictable and stale plot Expand
  31. Apr 20, 2013
    7
    I don't agree with the general critics of this film, it's true that it is not an Oscar film and it could have had more suspense and tension, but it definitely had a lot of action and decent scripts. This movie deserves better numbers than what it has.
  32. May 4, 2013
    7
    Gangster Squad was a really good movie. The cast is fantastic and they all deliver flawlessly. Josh Brolin and Sean Penn counter one another perfectly and the supporting cast of Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone, Anthony Mackie, and so many more all fill key roles. The plot and characters were both developed really well also. There were a few plot holes that can be explained through assumptions butGangster Squad was a really good movie. The cast is fantastic and they all deliver flawlessly. Josh Brolin and Sean Penn counter one another perfectly and the supporting cast of Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone, Anthony Mackie, and so many more all fill key roles. The plot and characters were both developed really well also. There were a few plot holes that can be explained through assumptions but pretty weak ones. That and some of the action sequences, especially early on, is what held the film back. Ultimately I think that's the cause for the lower ratings. I don't think a lot of these "experts" actually watch entire films if they don't like how they start and this movie starts slowly. Once it gets going though, it's a really enjoyable film. And it has freaking Emma Stone in a little red dress, that should be enough reason to watch. In all seriousness though, it's a solid movie that most people were probably enjoy. Expand
  33. May 23, 2013
    7
    I couldn't tell if the scenes and dialogue were meant to be a little tongue-in-cheek or sincere. It felt almost comical in places, like the director was winking at us and saying "don't take it too seriously." But that sense was so uneven as to make me believe it wasn't intentional. I liked the story line: the depiction of a group of anonymous lawmen who go after an omnipotent gangsterI couldn't tell if the scenes and dialogue were meant to be a little tongue-in-cheek or sincere. It felt almost comical in places, like the director was winking at us and saying "don't take it too seriously." But that sense was so uneven as to make me believe it wasn't intentional. I liked the story line: the depiction of a group of anonymous lawmen who go after an omnipotent gangster and the corrupted city officials under his control. I actually enjoyed the movie despite its flaws. I think that may be because the art direction, cinematography, and excellent acting compensated for the predictable story telling and the over the top earnestness of the screenplay and directing. It was enjoyable to watch. I wouldn't recommend it except with caveats. Expand
  34. May 25, 2013
    7
    Even though it isn't as good I thought it would be.It still has a good story,great action and a pretty good ending.Even though the end fight was disappointing,it is still a good movie.
  35. Jul 19, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hollywood dishes out hundreds of movies each year with the intend of mindless, awe-inspiring entertainment. "Gangster Squad" fits this category appropriately. It is violent, ridiculous, full of clichés, and not to be taken too seriously. The plot itself is something we have seen over and over again: a group of incorruptible cops come together to take down a ruthless gangster. Sounds like Brian De Palma's "The Untouchables." That movie was also a bloody, inaccurate, fun crowd- pleaser, but it had something that "Gangster Squad" lacks, and that is great characters.

    Sure, Josh Brolin embodies the appearance and mind of a tough, take-no-prisoners cop, and Sean Penn as Mickey Cohen is intense and over the top, while holding some bursts of brilliance, but everyone else in this movie is blandly acted. The forced relationship developed between Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone's characters feels rushed and uninspiring-as if its soul intend was just for the purpose of having a romance story. Giovanni Ribisis, Michael Pena, Robert Patrick, and Anthony Mackie are not bad sidekicks of the gangster squad, but not enough dedication is given to them. The rest of the supporting cast falls into this shtick.

    "Gangster Squad" makes up for it with its grim cinematography, slowed down and sped up action sequences, and not to mention its nice set pieces and costumes. This movie is fun to watch for a first viewing and for that I give it a 7/10. If I see it again though, I probably would not be so inclined to score such a high rating.
    Expand
  36. Sep 11, 2013
    8
    Gangster Squad is the cheesiest, most unrealistic, cliche ridden and overblown crime film you could ever think of. But man oh man is it fun! Ice cool guys get the beautiful dames, old haggard badasses get to be, um, badass and Sean Penn gets to spew such ridiculous gold as "Here comes Santa Claus!" with a Tommy-gun in his hands. Expecting L.A Confidential? You'll leave disappointed.Go inGangster Squad is the cheesiest, most unrealistic, cliche ridden and overblown crime film you could ever think of. But man oh man is it fun! Ice cool guys get the beautiful dames, old haggard badasses get to be, um, badass and Sean Penn gets to spew such ridiculous gold as "Here comes Santa Claus!" with a Tommy-gun in his hands. Expecting L.A Confidential? You'll leave disappointed.Go in expecting a cop-based version of Scarface and you'll walk away with a mile-wide grin on your face. Fantastic stuff! Expand
  37. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Great, snappy dialogue. Story was a bit all over the place and there was none of the elegance or "cleanliness" of Mulholland Falls or Chinatown but my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it nonetheless. Wonderful sets, solid acting. I'm a sucker for these LA 1940s period pieces so what can I tell ya? Great watching.
  38. Feb 16, 2014
    8
    Gangster Squad, was better than my expectations.I can`t say it has much in it that are memorable moments, but it`s a movie worth watching. It has some great characters on the good and bad side of things.The ending was satisfying.
  39. Mar 26, 2015
    8
    7.9/10................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 38
  2. Negative: 10 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Feb 27, 2013
    42
    The violence is so indifferently presented that it has no kick; it’s not grim or graphic enough to shock, but it doesn’t rev us up, either. The picture’s various shoot-’em-up sequences are so generically conceived and shot that each one is indistinguishable from the next – by the movie’s end, they may as well all collapse into an exhausted heap.
  2. 75
    Gangster Squad is a gang war drama built on Western conventions, a rootin' tootin', Camel-smokin', whiskey swillin' shoot'em up.
  3. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jan 19, 2013
    30
    The over-all result is a misstep for Fleischer. [21 Jan. 2013, p. 78]