Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: January 11, 2013
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 303 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
165
Mixed:
93
Negative:
45
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
DisasterpieceMKMar 3, 2013
This is a perfect noir genre film it has grit and nails, and doesn't try to weigh you down with lofty ideals or convoluted nonsense. And I am a fan of lofty ideals and convoluted nonsense. Not everything needs to be a perfect thinkpieceThis is a perfect noir genre film it has grit and nails, and doesn't try to weigh you down with lofty ideals or convoluted nonsense. And I am a fan of lofty ideals and convoluted nonsense. Not everything needs to be a perfect thinkpiece about violence especially when it comes to a gangster film. Detractors would probably feel the same about a Western film or a Kung Fu flick. It has its fans and that it who the film was made for. I understand why people would not like it but I don't care for Michael Bay flicks either so I go out of my way to avoid them. Smarter that way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Smudger599Mar 24, 2013
This film had the potential to be one of the great gangster films of this century. Unfortunately it did not exceed this expectation. The plot was outstanding, the cast was good, what could go wrong? To be frank, a lot went wrong. This film isThis film had the potential to be one of the great gangster films of this century. Unfortunately it did not exceed this expectation. The plot was outstanding, the cast was good, what could go wrong? To be frank, a lot went wrong. This film is not worth the watch and i am glad it hasn't won any Oscars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CtheTavApr 1, 2013
IN MY OPINION **MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS** by CtheTav What can I say about this film? The plot of Gangster squad was so predictable every twist can be seen well before it happens, particularly groan worthy was the ambush in Chinatown. The plotIN MY OPINION **MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS** by CtheTav What can I say about this film? The plot of Gangster squad was so predictable every twist can be seen well before it happens, particularly groan worthy was the ambush in Chinatown. The plot isn't the reason to watch this film however. It's a period action film through and through with fantastic action throughout. Whether it's the Slow-Mo over the top gun fighting or the violent fisticuffs, it kept my eyes glued to the screen the whole time. The voice-over monologue was a bit heavy handed but was dropped a few minutes so that was okay. I think my favourite part was the car chase with the heroin truck which was very fun to watch. Sadly the forgettable characters let this film down as none of the actors deserve to read the dialogue lazily written for them, a shame really as this film could have been brilliant if not for the story. Rating- 7 out of 10 Good action, predictable and stale plot Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
drakensengApr 10, 2013
A decent movie overall. The movie basically about cop vengeance on criminals in Los Angeles. Main character/actor was pretty good and main bad guy/actor was pretty good as well. But the other cast members sucked. Theres a decent amount ofA decent movie overall. The movie basically about cop vengeance on criminals in Los Angeles. Main character/actor was pretty good and main bad guy/actor was pretty good as well. But the other cast members sucked. Theres a decent amount of action scenes mixed in with some drama and thriller moments. But the movie just didn't excelled at any particular area that drew interest from me. Its a good guy always wins type of movie, just to point out. Title is a bit misleading.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AntonioBenitezApr 20, 2013
I don't agree with the general critics of this film, it's true that it is not an Oscar film and it could have had more suspense and tension, but it definitely had a lot of action and decent scripts. This movie deserves better numbers thanI don't agree with the general critics of this film, it's true that it is not an Oscar film and it could have had more suspense and tension, but it definitely had a lot of action and decent scripts. This movie deserves better numbers than what it has. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BrianMcCriticApr 27, 2013
An unfortunate waste of such great talent. This is just an average film still entertaining, but really lacks when it comes to the script and the tone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Bruce722May 4, 2013
Gangster Squad was a really good movie. The cast is fantastic and they all deliver flawlessly. Josh Brolin and Sean Penn counter one another perfectly and the supporting cast of Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone, Anthony Mackie, and so many more allGangster Squad was a really good movie. The cast is fantastic and they all deliver flawlessly. Josh Brolin and Sean Penn counter one another perfectly and the supporting cast of Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone, Anthony Mackie, and so many more all fill key roles. The plot and characters were both developed really well also. There were a few plot holes that can be explained through assumptions but pretty weak ones. That and some of the action sequences, especially early on, is what held the film back. Ultimately I think that's the cause for the lower ratings. I don't think a lot of these "experts" actually watch entire films if they don't like how they start and this movie starts slowly. Once it gets going though, it's a really enjoyable film. And it has freaking Emma Stone in a little red dress, that should be enough reason to watch. In all seriousness though, it's a solid movie that most people were probably enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
hapycampr2002May 23, 2013
I couldn't tell if the scenes and dialogue were meant to be a little tongue-in-cheek or sincere. It felt almost comical in places, like the director was winking at us and saying "don't take it too seriously." But that sense was so uneven asI couldn't tell if the scenes and dialogue were meant to be a little tongue-in-cheek or sincere. It felt almost comical in places, like the director was winking at us and saying "don't take it too seriously." But that sense was so uneven as to make me believe it wasn't intentional. I liked the story line: the depiction of a group of anonymous lawmen who go after an omnipotent gangster and the corrupted city officials under his control. I actually enjoyed the movie despite its flaws. I think that may be because the art direction, cinematography, and excellent acting compensated for the predictable story telling and the over the top earnestness of the screenplay and directing. It was enjoyable to watch. I wouldn't recommend it except with caveats. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ICEExMagicMay 25, 2013
Even though it isn't as good I thought it would be.It still has a good story,great action and a pretty good ending.Even though the end fight was disappointing,it is still a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
A_NorthernerJul 7, 2013
There is no doubting that director Ruben Fleischer produced a stylish film, or perhaps the word flashy is actually more fitting, but to use a line as clichéd as the film itself, it's all style over substance.

I would like to see the
There is no doubting that director Ruben Fleischer produced a stylish film, or perhaps the word flashy is actually more fitting, but to use a line as clichéd as the film itself, it's all style over substance.

I would like to see the original story behind the unit just to see how many of the unit's members were of the writers own making. The unit is literally an identi-kit of clichéd characters, the war veteran, the ladies man, the black dude, the nerdy one with the family, the old-should-be retired one. With the exception of Brolin and Gosling's characters, and Penn's over the top scene chewing Mickey Cohen, the rest of the film's big names are wasted on flimsy two dimensional roles. But hey, the slow-motion gun fire and car chase looks great though right?

The film's production was not trouble free, what with the re-writing of a pivotal scene following the Aurora cinema tragedy but I really can't imagine that this missing scene could have saved Gangster Squad from being any other than an average crime flick.

The main problem with Gangster Squad is it's competition. This story has been told before, think of L.A. Confidential (1950's LAPD) or The Untouchables (police unit against Al Capone), and both times the storytelling was superior.

Considering how good the film could have been with the cast and story at hand, Gangster Squad is a disappointingly average film but it's still probably worth checking out as one of 2013's biggest releases.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SimpleMethodJul 14, 2013
This movie was a disappointment, but not as bad as some critics make it out to be. I thought it was decent, but the trailers made it look fantastic, and it really wasn't.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JmsbppJul 15, 2013
la mafia domino en los angeles en 1949 por mickie coen pero la fuerza antiganster se pone en medio como una especie de "the avengers" para detener esto a punta de balas y golpes un buen trama pero no un excelente desarrollo
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Mothman225Jul 19, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hollywood dishes out hundreds of movies each year with the intend of mindless, awe-inspiring entertainment. "Gangster Squad" fits this category appropriately. It is violent, ridiculous, full of clichés, and not to be taken too seriously. The plot itself is something we have seen over and over again: a group of incorruptible cops come together to take down a ruthless gangster. Sounds like Brian De Palma's "The Untouchables." That movie was also a bloody, inaccurate, fun crowd- pleaser, but it had something that "Gangster Squad" lacks, and that is great characters.

Sure, Josh Brolin embodies the appearance and mind of a tough, take-no-prisoners cop, and Sean Penn as Mickey Cohen is intense and over the top, while holding some bursts of brilliance, but everyone else in this movie is blandly acted. The forced relationship developed between Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone's characters feels rushed and uninspiring-as if its soul intend was just for the purpose of having a romance story. Giovanni Ribisis, Michael Pena, Robert Patrick, and Anthony Mackie are not bad sidekicks of the gangster squad, but not enough dedication is given to them. The rest of the supporting cast falls into this shtick.

"Gangster Squad" makes up for it with its grim cinematography, slowed down and sped up action sequences, and not to mention its nice set pieces and costumes. This movie is fun to watch for a first viewing and for that I give it a 7/10. If I see it again though, I probably would not be so inclined to score such a high rating.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuSep 11, 2013
Gangster Squad is the cheesiest, most unrealistic, cliche ridden and overblown crime film you could ever think of. But man oh man is it fun! Ice cool guys get the beautiful dames, old haggard badasses get to be, um, badass and Sean Penn getsGangster Squad is the cheesiest, most unrealistic, cliche ridden and overblown crime film you could ever think of. But man oh man is it fun! Ice cool guys get the beautiful dames, old haggard badasses get to be, um, badass and Sean Penn gets to spew such ridiculous gold as "Here comes Santa Claus!" with a Tommy-gun in his hands. Expecting L.A Confidential? You'll leave disappointed.Go in expecting a cop-based version of Scarface and you'll walk away with a mile-wide grin on your face. Fantastic stuff! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
i_love_RevengeJan 25, 2014
The movie is buoyed by snappy lines ("go buy an ice-cream" being one of the dumbest and best screen line), good looking cast, beautiful 1940s scenery and yes, some really funny scenes, but it lacks sorely in its storyline. The ending wasThe movie is buoyed by snappy lines ("go buy an ice-cream" being one of the dumbest and best screen line), good looking cast, beautiful 1940s scenery and yes, some really funny scenes, but it lacks sorely in its storyline. The ending was almost an anti-climax, (being a mindless shoot-out) and Emma Stone's role is reduced to that of a beautiful moll who pretty much has little use in the screen. If it worked on all these things, the show could really be a great blockbuster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MarkLaingFeb 3, 2014
Great, snappy dialogue. Story was a bit all over the place and there was none of the elegance or "cleanliness" of Mulholland Falls or Chinatown but my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it nonetheless. Wonderful sets, solid acting. I'm a suckerGreat, snappy dialogue. Story was a bit all over the place and there was none of the elegance or "cleanliness" of Mulholland Falls or Chinatown but my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it nonetheless. Wonderful sets, solid acting. I'm a sucker for these LA 1940s period pieces so what can I tell ya? Great watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oblique15Feb 16, 2014
Gangster Squad, was better than my expectations.I can`t say it has much in it that are memorable moments, but it`s a movie worth watching. It has some great characters on the good and bad side of things.The ending was satisfying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SolInvictaMar 7, 2016
It's like watching a live action cartoon with an A-list cast. The actors try to make this movie believable but it's so over the top and ridiculous you might as well shut off your brain and pretend you're playing a video game. Hammy dialogueIt's like watching a live action cartoon with an A-list cast. The actors try to make this movie believable but it's so over the top and ridiculous you might as well shut off your brain and pretend you're playing a video game. Hammy dialogue all over the place, soulless shootouts. Gangster Squad is a classic case of style over substance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleMay 23, 2016
I really liked Gangster Squad, which surprised me given the poor reviews. Beautifully shot with fantastic cinematography, Gangster Squad is an impeccably stylish and well put together gangster flick. With good turns from its impressive cast,I really liked Gangster Squad, which surprised me given the poor reviews. Beautifully shot with fantastic cinematography, Gangster Squad is an impeccably stylish and well put together gangster flick. With good turns from its impressive cast, Gangster Squad matches its good actors with a compelling plot that keeps you hooked with its real life basis. The characters are hit-and-miss (Emma Stone's character in particular is a miss), but otherwise, I thought they were well crafted or at least satisfyingly so compared to other movies out there nowadays. The action is well shot and the violence is nowhere near as bad as some critics would have you think. While not as good as classic noirs or modern day takes on the genre, Gangster Squad is a flashy, lavishly shot gangster film that satisfies the eyes more than the mind, but that is okay in my book given its good pacing, compelling story, and again, its over-abundance of style. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mohamad91hkAug 29, 2016
enjoyable movie, perfect acting specially Sean Penn, interesting introduction to all characters, I didn't feeling bored during the movie despite the movie was predictable. it is not perfect movie but it deserves watching.

P.S. Sorry for
enjoyable movie, perfect acting specially Sean Penn, interesting introduction to all characters, I didn't feeling bored during the movie despite the movie was predictable. it is not perfect movie but it deserves watching.

P.S. Sorry for my poor languge
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AbeMCOct 9, 2016
Lush visuals and an A-list cast, but comes off feeling like Untouchables Lite. Decent performances by all the actors, but Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone stood out the most. It's a simple love story that's been told many times before; they simplyLush visuals and an A-list cast, but comes off feeling like Untouchables Lite. Decent performances by all the actors, but Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone stood out the most. It's a simple love story that's been told many times before; they simply sold it very well - and Gosling's character was easily the most layered in the production. Everyone else is two-dimensional at best (including Sean Penn and Josh Brolin). Worth a watch if you're fan of any of the actors involved, or you just have a hankering for some old '50s style gangster action. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
darkbloodshed13Oct 31, 2016
This movie takes a classic approach to gangster movies and does decent job. True it's not as good as the old gangster movies but it has a certain style that Hollywood lacks today. It's about the city of Los Angeles during a time when gangsterThis movie takes a classic approach to gangster movies and does decent job. True it's not as good as the old gangster movies but it has a certain style that Hollywood lacks today. It's about the city of Los Angeles during a time when gangster ran the town. this gangster was named Micky Cohen. Nobody in the the city dare stands accept for the ex-military officer turned cop John O'Mara. O'Mara ends up having to put a special task force to chase the gangs out of Los Angeles. This means that the movie needs portray a handful of characters well enough so the audience can find interest in all of them. This is were the movie fails because instead of showcasing every character to the best of there ability they make it so some character just feel like stereotypes. In conclusion if your looking for an old style gangster film with new film making techniques involved than this film is for you, however if your looking for an interesting story with interesting characters stay far away from this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
vulvuratMay 14, 2017
Well, this movie was rather dumb and cliché, but I won't say it is absolutely bad. In fact,for a night after a tiring day, it is good for mind-turned-of entertainment. Some nice costumes and decent dialogue, packed with cliché characters andWell, this movie was rather dumb and cliché, but I won't say it is absolutely bad. In fact,for a night after a tiring day, it is good for mind-turned-of entertainment. Some nice costumes and decent dialogue, packed with cliché characters and a predictable plot, it's the forgettable, pleasently nostalgic advenure film. The actors are good, though, but don't expect much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews