Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: January 11, 2013
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 291 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
159
Mixed:
88
Negative:
44
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
sesostrisJan 14, 2013
Angels: This is a good gangster movie. The dialog is tough, and smart, the characters are interesting, The plot is exciting, the scenery and costumes are very stylish, and the violence is, well, very violent. What is not to like. I haveAngels: This is a good gangster movie. The dialog is tough, and smart, the characters are interesting, The plot is exciting, the scenery and costumes are very stylish, and the violence is, well, very violent. What is not to like. I have an admission to make. This movie is really an 8/9, but I gave it a 10, because I wanted to raise its average to combat the 'haters'. Because of the negative reviews I almost did not go to see the movie, but my buddy out-voted me, and I am very glad that he did. Did I say that Sean Penn and Ryan Gosling knock the ball out of the park? Look, those boys really get into character, and I am a sucker for pretty boy Ryan. Now, the critics say, this movie is no LA Confidential. Which must be true, because it's called 'Gangster Squad'. A very enjoyable night out. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
10
hypnofeedJan 14, 2013
A movie like this should be rated on it's entertainment value, and this movie is brilliant. I don't understand why people don't like it? It is an all round superb movie, in fact i loved it so much i'm going to see it again. It was veryA movie like this should be rated on it's entertainment value, and this movie is brilliant. I don't understand why people don't like it? It is an all round superb movie, in fact i loved it so much i'm going to see it again. It was very emotional at some parts and shocking at others. No major issue stood out at me at all. I love that era and location in history and this movie was perfect for entertaining that. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
pkgadersonsJan 14, 2013
Amazing movie .
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
anothercoolguyJan 18, 2013
I really like it .
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
rancorJan 19, 2013
This movie is fantastic. Ton of blood, action, and suspense. If you like those types of movies, than Gangster Squad is for you. Right from the beginning, the movie had my attention.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonMay 14, 2013
The rapidly expanding Los Angeles of the 1940s and 50s the time when the aeronautics industry was becoming prominent, the freeway system being built, Disneyland was launched and the Chicago and east coast mob was moving in on Nevada andThe rapidly expanding Los Angeles of the 1940s and 50s the time when the aeronautics industry was becoming prominent, the freeway system being built, Disneyland was launched and the Chicago and east coast mob was moving in on Nevada and southern California has become a favourite subject of the period crime film these past 20 years. It began with Barry Levinson's Bugsy, set in this new criminal milieu, and Lee Tamahori's Mulholland Falls, which centred on the ruthless cops hired to tackle these largely Jewish newcomers (known as the "Kosher Nostra"). It continued with two films based on James Ellroy's fact-based novels, LA Confidential and The Black Dahlia. The vicious New York gangster and former featherweight boxer Mickey Cohen came west via Chicago, sent by Murder Inc's Meyer Lansky to assist Ben "Bugsy" Siegel. In Bugsy, Cohen was on his way up in the mid-1940s and impersonated by Harvey Keitel, and in LA Confidential, when at his 50s peak, by Paul Guilfoyle. In the naive, heavy-handed, handsomely designed Gangster Squad, he's played as a preening, psychopathic monster by Sean Penn. We first see him using two cars to tear a Chicago interloper in two behind the "Hollywoodland" sign, thus establishing him as the monster who's corrupting the pure, law-abiding Los Angeles. The film is virtually a cross between those 1970s thrillers in which Vietnam veterans return home to clean up their tarnished homeland and Brian De Palma's The Untouchables, where Kevin Costner's Eliot Ness recruits an elite band of cops to break Al Capone's stranglehold hold on prohibition Chicago. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
siphrJan 13, 2013
Can't help but think that critics have an agenda. This is a really good movie. I really liked the way it was stylized and filmed. It is a bit funny sometimes but a great experience through and through. Shall watch it again. Highly recommended.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
vahshyJan 14, 2013
5;6; دربار7; ای6; کتاب چیز زیادی 6;5;ید8;6;5; ا5;ا 1;ک ک6;5; خ8;ب5;6; دربار7; ای6; کتاب چیز زیادی 6;5;ید8;6;5; ا5;ا 1;ک ک6;5; خ8;ب باش7; ای6;جا 7;5; کار خاصی 6;دار5; ک4;ا 5;یچرخ5; ببی6;5; ک7; چی 7;ست؟ Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
Trebius51Jan 15, 2013
I really enjoyed this movie from beginning to end. It COULD'VE been an epic movie like other gangster movies in the past, but sadly it's only 1 1/2 hours long. I think this movie should've been a 3 hour epic, or nearly 3 hours...and moreI really enjoyed this movie from beginning to end. It COULD'VE been an epic movie like other gangster movies in the past, but sadly it's only 1 1/2 hours long. I think this movie should've been a 3 hour epic, or nearly 3 hours...and more story-focused. But I thoroughly enjoyed it and will be watching it again tomorrow. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
MathewMansonJan 24, 2013
I didn't know what to expect when I considered seeing this film--I was worried that there would be too much action and try to be something that it shouldn't. Gangster Squad is a heavily cliched film which does almost everything right. AreI didn't know what to expect when I considered seeing this film--I was worried that there would be too much action and try to be something that it shouldn't. Gangster Squad is a heavily cliched film which does almost everything right. Are cliches all that bad? I don't think they are. A good introduction to all of the characters is key for this kind of film. The antagonist played by Sean Penn blew my mind and made me enjoy every moment he was on screen. Only problem I noticed with the introduction is that it drags on for longer than it needed to do so--taking up too much of a film which could have been longer. The mind-set needed to watch this film is that of what the classic gangster films used to be like. It's a classically designed and cliche gangster film which blew me away and only just misses out on the perfect score due to length. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
tekkenfanFeb 5, 2013
I really, really enjoyed this movie. Excellent acting, and pace. Unlike many movies today, it was not "too long" the script was clean. Sean Penn was ferocious and very scary. I hope he wins an Oscar.
Good comedic relief also. My
I really, really enjoyed this movie. Excellent acting, and pace. Unlike many movies today, it was not "too long" the script was clean. Sean Penn was ferocious and very scary. I hope he wins an Oscar.
Good comedic relief also. My expectations were fully met.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Meth-dudeDec 19, 2015
The acting was really good,the special effects were good and the movie was entertaining.Sure there was some unbelievable scenes and the movie was predictable at times but it's still one hell of a great movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
RobvanshowJan 11, 2013
Writing about this movie, but avoiding spoilers, I will say that I'm baffled by the reviews stating it's mediocre or awful. I went into this movie expecting entertainment. Any film by the name of "Gangster Squad" is not expected to be highlyWriting about this movie, but avoiding spoilers, I will say that I'm baffled by the reviews stating it's mediocre or awful. I went into this movie expecting entertainment. Any film by the name of "Gangster Squad" is not expected to be highly storytellling. It's a classier version of a shoot-em-up. Great humor and subtle nuances made this film very entertaining. Josh Brolin, Sean Penn, and even in a quirky way Ryan Gosling all stood out with memorable acting. The only person that felt a little cut-and-dry was the one who played Brolin's character's wife (I'd throw that to the writing and not the actress herself). I honestly felt this movie was somewhat reminiscent of Dick Tracy, but less colorful. The action, the style, and the cinematography were all on point and the edit made to remove the Movie Theater scene (which delayed the movie's release in the first place) and replace it with something else is quite seamless. There were some surprise cast members that I didnt know were in the movie, but added very very well to the story. I give this movie an 8 out of 10 (would be 8.5 if it had the option) as there are some minor flaws and points where I feel it was rushed in some areas, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. I will buy the DVD when it is released and hopefully there is bonus footage, so it wont feel so rushed. Would recommend to friends and strangers alike. I'd say just watch with an open mind and not for the movie to be taken DRASTICALLY seriously, and just as a friday night flick. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
RPGaddictJan 13, 2013
Don't go into this expecting LA Confidential and you're half way towards enjoying a fun comic book style movie with over the top violence that is almost entirely stylish over any type of content. Reminded me a bit of Last Man Standing withDon't go into this expecting LA Confidential and you're half way towards enjoying a fun comic book style movie with over the top violence that is almost entirely stylish over any type of content. Reminded me a bit of Last Man Standing with Bruce Willis, although this is slightly more fleshed out, the action is well choreographed and the dialogue is macho more than meaningful. A lot of cool characters including Robert Patrick's bit as a gunslinger who just doesn't miss. Brolin and Gosling play their part to keep everything ticking over whilst Penn is maniacal as Cohen. This isn't a deep film, but it is a good old shoot em up with snappy one liners, cool characters and lots of style. Go to see it! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Sir_BrandonJan 14, 2013
Gangster Squad provides exactly what I expected but also wanted. It has violence, tommy guns, cool suits, and a lot of attitude, which is precisely what a gangster flick should contain. The movie is a terrific throwback to the days whenGangster Squad provides exactly what I expected but also wanted. It has violence, tommy guns, cool suits, and a lot of attitude, which is precisely what a gangster flick should contain. The movie is a terrific throwback to the days when mobsters ran wild and had everyone eating out of the palm of their hand. Director Ruben Fleischer (Zombieland) shows no mercy when it comes to the characters getting their hands dirty. He tells a ferocious and foul tale based on true events, but balances it with some good old-fashioned fun and more humor than one might expect from a film like this. Fleischer creates a thrilling, stylish atmosphere and has a hell of a cast to bring such a flashy yet corrupted, dangerous time in our history to life.

Set in the City of Angels in 1949, boxing champ-turned-mobster Mickey Cohen (Sean Penn) is running the streets and owns just about everything and everyone in town. Cohen does not have his sights set on just one or two cities in California. He is way too greedy for that. He wants control over the entire state. While most just turn a blind eye, Police Chief Parker (Nick Nolte) wants to take Cohen down and get him out of his city. But he knows he cannot do it within the confinements of the law so he brings in a war hero turned cop named John O
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
NicoskovJan 21, 2013
This is definitely a good movie, which I really enjoyed watching. The story is quite okay, and fits the era very good. The characters are all decent at least. Good guy O
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineJan 27, 2013
This movie has a nice cast, good visual effects, nice operator's work and a great atmosphere of post-WWII Los Angeles. The entourage reminded me of a video game LA Noire. To describe a genre: it isn't a criminal drama it's a gangster styleThis movie has a nice cast, good visual effects, nice operator's work and a great atmosphere of post-WWII Los Angeles. The entourage reminded me of a video game LA Noire. To describe a genre: it isn't a criminal drama it's a gangster style action movie. A nice one to watch it once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DisasterpieceMKMar 3, 2013
This is a perfect noir genre film it has grit and nails, and doesn't try to weigh you down with lofty ideals or convoluted nonsense. And I am a fan of lofty ideals and convoluted nonsense. Not everything needs to be a perfect thinkpieceThis is a perfect noir genre film it has grit and nails, and doesn't try to weigh you down with lofty ideals or convoluted nonsense. And I am a fan of lofty ideals and convoluted nonsense. Not everything needs to be a perfect thinkpiece about violence especially when it comes to a gangster film. Detractors would probably feel the same about a Western film or a Kung Fu flick. It has its fans and that it who the film was made for. I understand why people would not like it but I don't care for Michael Bay flicks either so I go out of my way to avoid them. Smarter that way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
adokretzMay 24, 2013
Don't let the critics scare you away, because they always tend to hate movies like this one. Obviously people should have a certain mindset when watching a movie called "Gangster Squad". The movie is everything you expected it to be: ADon't let the critics scare you away, because they always tend to hate movies like this one. Obviously people should have a certain mindset when watching a movie called "Gangster Squad". The movie is everything you expected it to be: A stylish shoot 'em up with top notch acting and lots of dead bad guys. It has a ton of humor and I laughed out loud more times than I do in a lot of modern comedies. It had a few emotional moments as well, but nothing to make you tear up. Not that anyone would watch this movie because they want to cry. It's a great story and I love this ind of movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
jdeck83May 29, 2013
Very good movie and as others have mentioned, much more graphic than expected but in a good way. Did a great job of portraying the era and had a little bit of everything.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Pomegranate23Jul 22, 2013
This started out as a serious gangster movie and ended in a wild west shooting style. Interesting characters, while the movie is deep and tells a scary story its full of meaningless shooting and action. An interesting mix thats good for allThis started out as a serious gangster movie and ended in a wild west shooting style. Interesting characters, while the movie is deep and tells a scary story its full of meaningless shooting and action. An interesting mix thats good for all fans of the wild west and 1940s america. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuSep 11, 2013
Gangster Squad is the cheesiest, most unrealistic, cliche ridden and overblown crime film you could ever think of. But man oh man is it fun! Ice cool guys get the beautiful dames, old haggard badasses get to be, um, badass and Sean Penn getsGangster Squad is the cheesiest, most unrealistic, cliche ridden and overblown crime film you could ever think of. But man oh man is it fun! Ice cool guys get the beautiful dames, old haggard badasses get to be, um, badass and Sean Penn gets to spew such ridiculous gold as "Here comes Santa Claus!" with a Tommy-gun in his hands. Expecting L.A Confidential? You'll leave disappointed.Go in expecting a cop-based version of Scarface and you'll walk away with a mile-wide grin on your face. Fantastic stuff! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MarkLaingFeb 3, 2014
Great, snappy dialogue. Story was a bit all over the place and there was none of the elegance or "cleanliness" of Mulholland Falls or Chinatown but my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it nonetheless. Wonderful sets, solid acting. I'm a suckerGreat, snappy dialogue. Story was a bit all over the place and there was none of the elegance or "cleanliness" of Mulholland Falls or Chinatown but my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it nonetheless. Wonderful sets, solid acting. I'm a sucker for these LA 1940s period pieces so what can I tell ya? Great watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oblique15Feb 16, 2014
Gangster Squad, was better than my expectations.I can`t say it has much in it that are memorable moments, but it`s a movie worth watching. It has some great characters on the good and bad side of things.The ending was satisfying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
keve16Mar 26, 2015
7.9/10................................................................................................................................................
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MarcDoyleJan 12, 2013
On paper, and based on the preview, this is a movie that I absolutely should have loathed. Reminded me a bit of the old Warren Beatty / Madonna debacle Dick Tracy. Even as I enjoyed the first third or so, I expected the other shoe to drop.On paper, and based on the preview, this is a movie that I absolutely should have loathed. Reminded me a bit of the old Warren Beatty / Madonna debacle Dick Tracy. Even as I enjoyed the first third or so, I expected the other shoe to drop. I was happy to be wrong. It's no LA Confidential, but I had a lot of fun with this film. The casting choices are solid (Robert Patrick and Michael Pena are terrific), it's exciting if not extremely profound or innovative in terms of storytelling, but with modest expectations, I think action fans and fans of the lead actors will get what they need out of it. It actually got a rather widespread round of applause in my somewhat film-snobby theater. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
tropicAcesJan 12, 2013
It's just a fun movie. I'm a sucker for gangster movies and history, and while at times this is over the top it's still a beautifully shot and decently acted film. Just go in with an open mind and don't be expecting "Goodfellas" and you'llIt's just a fun movie. I'm a sucker for gangster movies and history, and while at times this is over the top it's still a beautifully shot and decently acted film. Just go in with an open mind and don't be expecting "Goodfellas" and you'll enjoy yourself. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
analogkid280Jan 21, 2013
Nitty and gritty. Lots of very clever dialogue. More style than accuracy but this is intentional. Plenty of blood and stars. With all the stars and testosterone in this movie I have to describe it as The Expendables for 1940's gangster movieNitty and gritty. Lots of very clever dialogue. More style than accuracy but this is intentional. Plenty of blood and stars. With all the stars and testosterone in this movie I have to describe it as The Expendables for 1940's gangster movie fans. If this is what you want then you will not be disappointed. I only gave it a 7 out of 10 since I pretty much had the plot figured out as the movie ran along and got a tad bit tired as the movie came to a close. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nuckchucklerJan 28, 2013
Overall, a pretty good gangster movie. The whole feel of the movie is spot on and Sean Penn's role as Mickey Cohen definitely delivered. Pacing can be a bit of a problem. Writing isn't Gangster Squad's strong suit, as the movie can becomeOverall, a pretty good gangster movie. The whole feel of the movie is spot on and Sean Penn's role as Mickey Cohen definitely delivered. Pacing can be a bit of a problem. Writing isn't Gangster Squad's strong suit, as the movie can become predictable to some. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mansoJan 30, 2013
The movie itself its entertaining but nothing for the ages. Sean Penn is atrocious in my opinion. But I do think Ryan Gosling did a good job. Emma Stone and Brolin where decent too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews