Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 11, 2004
5.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 97 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
28
Mixed:
41
Negative:
28
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
sinadoomJun 16, 2013
I am shocked at how badly received this film is. It has great animation, a decent story, it's funny and suitable for everyone. OK it is cheesey, predictable and perhaps not got the greatest acting, but sometimes a film where everything goesI am shocked at how badly received this film is. It has great animation, a decent story, it's funny and suitable for everyone. OK it is cheesey, predictable and perhaps not got the greatest acting, but sometimes a film where everything goes to plan and has a happy ending is a good thing. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
6
SolidWeaselMGSMar 23, 2013
I think it was alright, I used to really like it, but then I grew up to Marmaduke and forgot about this for a while, I think many people might disagree though. But the real question was, why did Bill Murray do Garfield? It just looksI think it was alright, I used to really like it, but then I grew up to Marmaduke and forgot about this for a while, I think many people might disagree though. But the real question was, why did Bill Murray do Garfield? It just looks confusing when you hear about it. I would at least go by calling it a movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
DanBurritoOct 1, 2015
Woah, this movie gets WAY too much hate. A 27? Believe me, it's a lot better than that. Bill Murray was perfect as Garfield, in fact, his performance as Garfield was the best Garfield performance ever. It's true that John behaved a bit TOOWoah, this movie gets WAY too much hate. A 27? Believe me, it's a lot better than that. Bill Murray was perfect as Garfield, in fact, his performance as Garfield was the best Garfield performance ever. It's true that John behaved a bit TOO differently from his cartoon self (the original John was a bit of a loveable nut whereas this one is just a bit absent-minded). But Garfield was well captured and it's not like they dumbed it down or anything- like the comic, there are lots of moments where the title character makes a witty comment on something (I.e, after having fallen into a van full of boxes of Lasagna he says "Once again, my life has been saved by the miracle of lasagna") it's a fun movie, much better than they say. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
What "Garfield" doesn't have is the sophisticated humor the comic had. What it has is a messy dialogue with a terrible script.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellMay 29, 2012
It has captured the spirit of the show an awful lot better than it could have, and it results in a family movie that is actually a ton of fun.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
JSMDec 17, 2012
Garfield Garfield is a cat who lived with a young man and he did unpleasant stuff at home so the man who cared and look after Garfield disliked Garfield when he did unpleasant and naughty stuff. One day the young man who looked after GarfieldGarfield Garfield is a cat who lived with a young man and he did unpleasant stuff at home so the man who cared and look after Garfield disliked Garfield when he did unpleasant and naughty stuff. One day the young man who looked after Garfield decided to take Garfield with him to the hospital. When the young man arrived at the hospital he was told to take a dog home with Garfield. When they all arrived home Garfield dislikes the dog that was taken home with him. Garfield was not being kind to the dog. When the young man looks after the dog Garfield was so angry. So Garfield decided to mess up the home and pushed the shelves and furniture. The part that I like was when Garfield communicates with his carer and other dog. The film had a great ending. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
homer4presidentMar 27, 2015
An OK live action film of the famous cartoon strip. Manages to keep the same sense of humor as the comics and it's good that Bill Murray did the voice over as he did with the cartoon show. Overall more of a movie for the youngsters.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
LailaV.Nov 17, 2005
I really like garfield but this movie it's a waste of time and the cat it's very stupid.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
cookie93Jan 14, 2012
This movie is similar to The Flintstones, Scooby-Doo and many other cartoon series adapted to live-action movies. I really hated this movie it was so stupid, so dull and so ridiculous. The character of Garfield was terribly made not onlyThis movie is similar to The Flintstones, Scooby-Doo and many other cartoon series adapted to live-action movies. I really hated this movie it was so stupid, so dull and so ridiculous. The character of Garfield was terribly made not only because of the effects they used but the performance. And not only Garfield, also all the rest of the cast was so terrible. A movie to be forgotten. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
JacobAug 4, 2015
Garfield is as bad as you think it could be. Children will no doubt be entertained and laugh at it as I did when I was kid. Now that I’m older I laugh at how bad it is. How Bill Murray wound up in a terrible movie and he would’ve been good asGarfield is as bad as you think it could be. Children will no doubt be entertained and laugh at it as I did when I was kid. Now that I’m older I laugh at how bad it is. How Bill Murray wound up in a terrible movie and he would’ve been good as Garfield if there was a good script. Unfortunately, this is a thin story with boring characters that are dully acted. It’s a waste of everyone’s time and I feel bad for all the parents who got dragged by their kids to see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieLonely94Nov 7, 2010
a decent adaptation of our lovable comic strip character
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
OfficialNov 15, 2013
"Garfield: The Movie" definitely does not have the consistent humor that the cartoon had. Honestly, I don't think adults will find much fun with this movie, but most kids should still be entertained for most parts, since they probably won't"Garfield: The Movie" definitely does not have the consistent humor that the cartoon had. Honestly, I don't think adults will find much fun with this movie, but most kids should still be entertained for most parts, since they probably won't notice the problems from the awful dialogue and script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
FranzHcriticAug 3, 2014
The comics have smart, witty, and sometimes satirical humor. Here, it's an adventure movies with a Cat saving a Dog in live action. With a campy love plot between Jon and Liz which in the comics is just a laugh riot of "No". This movie is aThe comics have smart, witty, and sometimes satirical humor. Here, it's an adventure movies with a Cat saving a Dog in live action. With a campy love plot between Jon and Liz which in the comics is just a laugh riot of "No". This movie is a disgrace to Garfield and to Jim Davis. F**k it, I say. And stick to your newspapers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MariofanDec 20, 2015
This was a good movie. Garfield and Bill Murray are awesome! The storyline was great. The animated Garfield character was amazing. The characters were good. Garfield is better than the critics said it was and I would recommend it. GarfieldThis was a good movie. Garfield and Bill Murray are awesome! The storyline was great. The animated Garfield character was amazing. The characters were good. Garfield is better than the critics said it was and I would recommend it. Garfield >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Math and French Homework Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
CineAutoctonoDec 25, 2015
Garfield I expect nothing , unless the entire contempt , this movie is for little children , but also was the family film live-action CGI I have seen, also too short, and terrible script, horrible animation THAT S**T IS THAT ?!?.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeFeb 9, 2016
If Garfield got the hanging of the CGI effects, there would be no way that Garfield can totally outdo himself from making this movie look like a mess.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GamecubeLoverAug 9, 2016
It is decent but could have been better like the cgi and the acting. But everything ranges from bad to okay so this movie is decent but flawed and will disappoint a lot of people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
sanesal2911Jun 23, 2016
this movie shows the essential spirit of Garfield, but never develops a good climax, the plot have a lot of dissipated potential.
it's good, with a happy ending and absolutely not a waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
masontcarrNov 18, 2016
Classic, One Of My Favorite Movies. Bill Murray As Garfield Was Just One Of The Funniest Things I've Ever Seen, Yeah I Know This Movie Is Hated, But Still Very Funny And Liked It Since I Was Little.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MonkiReviewsJan 23, 2018
I think it was good overall, but needs a lot of work to be great. The animation isn’t the best, but it can look great at times. The story I thought was mostly good, it was fun to watch. I think it is good, but not as good as as other movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Ismaelneto123Apr 6, 2018
note six the movie is cool, good, funny the movie is not bad nor very good this is a movie love or hate my opinion is a movie more or less
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews