Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 11, 2004
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 113 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
36
Mixed:
33
Negative:
44
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
What "Garfield" doesn't have is the sophisticated humor the comic had. What it has is a messy dialogue with a terrible script.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
LailaV.Nov 17, 2005
I really like garfield but this movie it's a waste of time and the cat it's very stupid.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TGJun 29, 2004
You are reading this because you want to go see Garfield (you idiot). 4 minutes and 34 seconds after you enter the movie started you will start to feel the right half of your brain liquefy and your left eye started to twitch. The guy/woman 3 You are reading this because you want to go see Garfield (you idiot). 4 minutes and 34 seconds after you enter the movie started you will start to feel the right half of your brain liquefy and your left eye started to twitch. The guy/woman 3 rows down will start enjoying itself too much and actually laughed out loud. You wont think this was possible given how (insanely) boring and un-funny the slimy orange pile of crap is. By now you will be foaming out the mouth and convulsing violently in your seat whilst singing "I'm a Little Tea Pot". The person of questionable gender 3 rows down will laugh again at the same reused joke used less than 45 seconds ago that he laughed at the first time. You will somehow find the strength to get up and strangle him/her with your shoelaces. You withh then sit and start singing a mix of "The Sickness" and "Marry Had a Little Lamb" that somehow makes sense to you. But your song will be cut short as you choke on your own tongue. Thus ending the ordeal. I hope you now know that Garfeild the Movie is a threat on your life. Good-Day. *eats a cookie* Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AbbyH.Dec 1, 2004
Garfield The Movie was boring as hell. it was interesting in some parts but mostly boring. Although Ottie was cute, but why didn't he talk like the other pets in the film. That really ticked me off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoshuaB.Oct 24, 2004
The movie is vary immuture. It has way too much Action. It is funny. Teens may not enjoy this movie. I sure didn't.Don't buy this movie. If you did ,throw it in the can!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DudleyJun 12, 2004
One big fur ball that belongs in the litter box.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DaveM.Jun 21, 2004
Ok, Hollywood, you got me for $47.50 or whatever because my kids wanted to treat me to this horrible movie for Father's Day. This is why I generally refuse to go to mainstream Hollywood films. This is one of the worst movies I have ever Ok, Hollywood, you got me for $47.50 or whatever because my kids wanted to treat me to this horrible movie for Father's Day. This is why I generally refuse to go to mainstream Hollywood films. This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I honestly cannot think of a worse movie. Idiotic, formulaic, insulting and painful to sit through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
IlzeS.Dec 26, 2004
Jokes are good, but movie really sucked. This one is for kids and only!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SeymoreB.Oct 23, 2004
The storyline sucked and so did the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
VinceH.Jun 12, 2004
To the reviewer who says this is "good, dumb fun", you are wrong. Movies like "The Rundown" & "The Day After Tommorow" are good and dumb fun. "Garfield" is really bad and pointless. Breckin Meyer & JLH have absolutely NO chemistry onscreen To the reviewer who says this is "good, dumb fun", you are wrong. Movies like "The Rundown" & "The Day After Tommorow" are good and dumb fun. "Garfield" is really bad and pointless. Breckin Meyer & JLH have absolutely NO chemistry onscreen whatsoever and it is never really explained what they have in common. He goes to see her, asks her out, and all they talk about is the plot with Garfield & Otie. Everytime they're onscreen it feels completely false and like they had just met 5 minutes before shooting the scene. There is an annoying scene where Garfield is watching TV and a Black Eyed Peas video is playing...I mean come on!! In 20 years is ANYONE gonna remember them? The one good thing I can say about this film is that it's a fun game to play "Spot the obvious product placements" such as Pepsi cans littered about, a Wendy's commercial on TV, and in one that made me laugh out loud (the only time I did) there is a Pepsi ad on the mini-train set that Jon & Garfield play with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
F.Y.Jun 12, 2004
This movie was worthless...it should of had more adult humor, garfield does not need to be made for little kids honestly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarkB.Jun 13, 2004
Me and my firends went to this movie as a joke. We laughed obnoxiously loud at EVERY joke on purpose. We were the only ones laughing. By the end, it was hard to keep it up. There were SO MANY unfunny jokes. I have a sore throat. I suggest Me and my firends went to this movie as a joke. We laughed obnoxiously loud at EVERY joke on purpose. We were the only ones laughing. By the end, it was hard to keep it up. There were SO MANY unfunny jokes. I have a sore throat. I suggest you buy an orange cat who is fat, and LOOK at him for 1 hour instead of seeing this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PatrickM.Jun 14, 2004
I'll say this. Jennifer Love Hewitt is hot. But the way they portray her as a church nun with the no skin outfits (not to mention no jokes) makes her painful to endure for...how long was this masterpiece...90 minutes. Breckin Meyer, wow I'll say this. Jennifer Love Hewitt is hot. But the way they portray her as a church nun with the no skin outfits (not to mention no jokes) makes her painful to endure for...how long was this masterpiece...90 minutes. Breckin Meyer, wow that guy knows how to act. He can make any movie worse, meaning he's got some mad skills. When was he going to GASP! kiss Love Hewitt? He's the 6th member of the fab five, OH mah GAWWWD! And I'm not even going to mention the shameless plugs of Pepsi, Wendy's, and Peperidge farms goldfish. If I was a CEO of those companies, I would definitely be dropping an alka seltzer into a glass of pepto bismol right about now. The one thing that impressed me was how unbelievably realistic Garfield looked. Oh wait, no he doesnt. I cant say enough bad about this. Hey mama!! This movie was off the richter, off the richter, off the richter, off the richter scale. Um, Roger? Nice review. Next time, do me a favor and hand the narcotics over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GregJun 19, 2004
So Century Fox decided to make a movie about the second most lovabe orange cat (behind Heathcliff of course)? Well, the movie pretty much starts at the top of Niagra Falls and then it jumps fearlessly into the jagged rocks below, and I So Century Fox decided to make a movie about the second most lovabe orange cat (behind Heathcliff of course)? Well, the movie pretty much starts at the top of Niagra Falls and then it jumps fearlessly into the jagged rocks below, and I suggest you all do the same. Seriously, this movie was so bad that I saw someone leaving during the trailer to this movie when I saw Troy. The one thing that was actually good was the fact that Ody was a real dog and Garfield was computer animated. That was such an ingenious idea (maybe they had just enough budget to computerize Garfield only). Overall, this movie should disqualify any other movies for the Golden Raspberries. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CatherineJul 13, 2004
It was awful...i hated it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KatieJul 13, 2004
A waste of time and money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EfeB.Jul 30, 2004
The problem with the times we live in ISNT that computers have been getting good only recently enough for us to see belivable CGI carachters, but rather we have to watch the labor of computer wizards testing their new creations by ruining The problem with the times we live in ISNT that computers have been getting good only recently enough for us to see belivable CGI carachters, but rather we have to watch the labor of computer wizards testing their new creations by ruining all the cherished stories and carachters we know and love. some asian fella (not racist here, just realistic) probably figured a way to mimic "cat fur" on a silicon graphics machine and made a small cat model, at this point in which his boss walked into the office and decided to make a movie on this (just work with me here...i have a point). so they talked for like 20 minutes and asked "what can we do with a cat?" and instead of being imaginitive by doing something brand new, some fella suggested "garfield" the result is this. me and millions upset. just wait to see a CGI snoopy when they learn how to make effective short haired white dog skin with polished black nose. i mean, is it me or is this terrible? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LaneSep 2, 2004
Anyone for skin the cat? Just one big furball of a movie without any redeeming qualities. Awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SangHeeJ.Jan 29, 2005
I'm a big fan of the comic strips myself...but this was beyond me. Whomever would make such a movie deserves to be shot. this movie was full of nonsense slapstick comedy that would do a crying child some good. Not recommended for anyone I'm a big fan of the comic strips myself...but this was beyond me. Whomever would make such a movie deserves to be shot. this movie was full of nonsense slapstick comedy that would do a crying child some good. Not recommended for anyone with something better to do with their time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoeB.Mar 19, 2005
I nearly gone insane watching it. There should be a law to stop crap like this. Garfield Sucks!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TCChampJun 11, 2004
Painful. it's not a film for intelligent people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadS.Jul 26, 2004
When Garfield speaks, we assume that Jon (Breckin Meyer) hears "Meow" everytime the cat moves his lips. In "Babe", the one and only law of talking animal movies is laid out beautifully; whereas the farmer's wife hears barnyard When Garfield speaks, we assume that Jon (Breckin Meyer) hears "Meow" everytime the cat moves his lips. In "Babe", the one and only law of talking animal movies is laid out beautifully; whereas the farmer's wife hears barnyard cacophony, that same noise was, in essence, dubbed into English in the previous scene. "Garfield" doesn't have that outsider's POV who's not in on the secret language, but we understand what Jon is hearing when Garfield articulates himself. But in one scene, Luka, apparently, is bilingual, because he speaks English and dog within the same shot. It's my great hope for that some kid under the age of twelve will notice this violation of the talking animal rules. It wasn't a bad idea to make Odie a real dog, but they should've turned Nermal into a feline Mini-Me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChantzE.Jun 21, 2005
The worst movie i have ever seen that was not white chicks. The comic strip is mildly amusing, and the character is I guess tolerable as a ploy to sell T-shirts, I mean, Who cant love a fat cat? But who cant HATE a fat cat all Comp The worst movie i have ever seen that was not white chicks. The comic strip is mildly amusing, and the character is I guess tolerable as a ploy to sell T-shirts, I mean, Who cant love a fat cat? But who cant HATE a fat cat all Comp Generated, voiced by the lackluster bill murray,and set in a TERRIBLE plot line? The characters were just taken from the comic book and edited to fit this ABOMNIATION to humanity. I have lost all faith in god. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JacobAug 4, 2015
Garfield is as bad as you think it could be. Children will no doubt be entertained and laugh at it as I did when I was kid. Now that I’m older I laugh at how bad it is. How Bill Murray wound up in a terrible movie and he would’ve been good asGarfield is as bad as you think it could be. Children will no doubt be entertained and laugh at it as I did when I was kid. Now that I’m older I laugh at how bad it is. How Bill Murray wound up in a terrible movie and he would’ve been good as Garfield if there was a good script. Unfortunately, this is a thin story with boring characters that are dully acted. It’s a waste of everyone’s time and I feel bad for all the parents who got dragged by their kids to see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
FranzHcriticAug 3, 2014
The comics have smart, witty, and sometimes satirical humor. Here, it's an adventure movies with a Cat saving a Dog in live action. With a campy love plot between Jon and Liz which in the comics is just a laugh riot of "No". This movie is aThe comics have smart, witty, and sometimes satirical humor. Here, it's an adventure movies with a Cat saving a Dog in live action. With a campy love plot between Jon and Liz which in the comics is just a laugh riot of "No". This movie is a disgrace to Garfield and to Jim Davis. F**k it, I say. And stick to your newspapers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
CineAutoctonoDec 25, 2015
Garfield I expect nothing , unless the entire contempt , this movie is for little children , but also was the family film live-action CGI I have seen, also too short, and terrible script, horrible animation THAT S**T IS THAT ?!?.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews