Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: October 30, 2009
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 41 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
26
Mixed:
2
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
LaikafanJul 5, 2014
First time I watched this movie two minuets in and I was underwhelmed but it quickly grew on me and it improves each time I watch it . Crammed with dysfunctional characters and some outrageously gross moments ( the defecating python winsFirst time I watched this movie two minuets in and I was underwhelmed but it quickly grew on me and it improves each time I watch it . Crammed with dysfunctional characters and some outrageously gross moments ( the defecating python wins for sure ) but it's ripe with hilarious one liners and our house often rings with quotes from the movie. I love it and don't understand why it was so poorly received Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
t-bombzMay 14, 2011
The only scene worth watching is the hidden finale, after the credits have rolled, with Sam Rockwell as Bronco. Watch it on YouTube or something. But for God's sake don't bother with the rest of the movie. It really is as horrible as it'sThe only scene worth watching is the hidden finale, after the credits have rolled, with Sam Rockwell as Bronco. Watch it on YouTube or something. But for God's sake don't bother with the rest of the movie. It really is as horrible as it's rating shows. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
RyanGeeSep 28, 2010
Imitation is the sincerest form a flattery. It is apparent that the Hess siblings desiderated to fancy their own works with their newest film Gentlemen Broncos. To qualify, Gentlemen Broncos utilizes the same exact formula of a societalImitation is the sincerest form a flattery. It is apparent that the Hess siblings desiderated to fancy their own works with their newest film Gentlemen Broncos. To qualify, Gentlemen Broncos utilizes the same exact formula of a societal misfit used in both Nacho Libre and Napoleon Dynamite. While those two comedic movies were both equally unique and humorous, Broncos feels stale, farcical, and ultimately, a waste of my time.

Gentlemen Broncos is a story of Benjamin(Michael Angarano), a home-schooled misfit, who inspires to become a prominent science fiction writer. Benjamin attends a writing workshop headed by Chevalier (Jemaine Clement), his paragon of an author, who steals his story leaving the characters in tangles of plagiarism and adaptation rights.

As a tenacious fan of Hessâ
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
BorneoFunctionDec 27, 2011
If this film was an animal it would be a majestic eagle. It tickled me in all the right places and bought me tampons from stores I simply would not expect. 10/10
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
smullins85Jan 20, 2011
I can't believe how harshly this movie was panned by critics when it came out. This movie is clever, original, and funny. It gets better on subsequent viewings when you start to really notice little things like a candy dish full of bullets orI can't believe how harshly this movie was panned by critics when it came out. This movie is clever, original, and funny. It gets better on subsequent viewings when you start to really notice little things like a candy dish full of bullets or the attire of sci fi fans waiting in line for a book signing. This is the perfect movie to watch when you want to watch a movie and don't know what you are in the mood for. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
RustyNov 5, 2009
Funny. But you have to like this style of movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JacksonJNov 9, 2009
Hess films make many squirm, as I do occasionally, but I see very redeeming virtues in their uncomfortable depictions of sad life in the rural mountain west. For most filmmakers and movie goers, Hollywood and the Cinema is a larger than life Hess films make many squirm, as I do occasionally, but I see very redeeming virtues in their uncomfortable depictions of sad life in the rural mountain west. For most filmmakers and movie goers, Hollywood and the Cinema is a larger than life fantasy world. Women like Catherine Zeta-Jones play female leads, Men like George Clooney play male leads, and everything is more glamorous, exciting, and entertaining than real-life. In essence, film becomes an escape from the drab mundane to another more exciting reality. Even films that are supposed to be dramatic, gritty, or depressing are played up with an engaging score, winsome actors, or beautiful scenery. This departure from reality is ferociously combated by the Hess'. Their films appear to be set in black holes that have drawn in kitsch from even the remotest corners of the universe and their characters are costumed with the saddest finds a thrift store could possibly offer, but there is purpose in the uncomfortable ugliness of it all; and if you Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
alisondNov 16, 2009
Hilarious, zanny, smart and tender. We couldn't stop laughing the whole time and went back again and it was even funnier.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RobDNov 7, 2009
This is right up hess' alley. He does a great job with great cast. It's not intended to be an intellectually stimulating movie and you shouldn't expect to get that from it. It's just plain fun entertaining humor.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JamesGatzJul 2, 2011
Sucks that the studio crapped its pants at the limited release reviews. This movie is funny, weird, wonderful. If it had gotten a wide release, it probably would have made its money back. Instead it soured Jared Hess' name (unfairly).Sucks that the studio crapped its pants at the limited release reviews. This movie is funny, weird, wonderful. If it had gotten a wide release, it probably would have made its money back. Instead it soured Jared Hess' name (unfairly). RyanGee's comments: Jared and Jerusha Hess are married. Not siblings. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
TheSagePenguinAug 15, 2011
I enjoyed both Napoleon Dynamite and Nacho Libre, but Gentlemen Broncos feels more like an inept attempt to capture Hess' style than an effort from Hess himself. if you remove what worked from Napoleon Dynamite (the endearing performances andI enjoyed both Napoleon Dynamite and Nacho Libre, but Gentlemen Broncos feels more like an inept attempt to capture Hess' style than an effort from Hess himself. if you remove what worked from Napoleon Dynamite (the endearing performances and odd resemblance to reality amidst the bizarre) and pepper in more than a dash of inane bathroom humor just to guarantee a sunk ship, then you get Gentlemen Broncos - a movie trying so hard to be weird and off-beat that nothing feels genuine, and everything comes off contrived. The movie practically shouts its absurdities at its audience, pleading for them to become catchphrases and fads. But what won hearts with Napoleon Dynamite was its spontaneity. In contrast, Gentleman Broncos is cold calculated absurdity. And in this reviewer's opinion, it is flat-out awful. I haven't found myself less entertained in years, and have rarely found myself more insulted as a viewer by a movie smugly assuming own charm. Avoid this. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
IIISPQRIIIOct 9, 2012
One of the only movies I'm able to watch multiple times and still laugh at the ridiculousness of everything. Of course, the humor is low brow and sometimes disgusting, but the movie does follow an adolescent writer after all. It's hard toOne of the only movies I'm able to watch multiple times and still laugh at the ridiculousness of everything. Of course, the humor is low brow and sometimes disgusting, but the movie does follow an adolescent writer after all. It's hard to recommend this film to many people, but if you used to make movies using your parent's camcorder, then I would suggest you watch this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JmsbppJul 20, 2013
Grentlemen Broncos tiene un buen contenido poco aprovechado con personajes ridículos y poco entendibles no logra la idea principal después de un tiempo y el autor de la película actúa como un idiota perdido,sin saber que lo estan estafando.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
djmooSep 6, 2015
How bad can a movie be? How on earth anyone can pay for a script like this and use 10 million dollars in production? This movie is worse than "The Room". Do avoid "Gentlemen Broncos" at all cost, it sucks life out of anybody.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
spiderproviderSep 30, 2016
This film gets better with each watching. In the same way as Napoleon Dynamite, I wasn't sure what I was watching the first time I saw it, and upon repeat viewings I laughed harder and harder at all of the gloriously stupid jokes andThis film gets better with each watching. In the same way as Napoleon Dynamite, I wasn't sure what I was watching the first time I saw it, and upon repeat viewings I laughed harder and harder at all of the gloriously stupid jokes and excellent characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews