Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 11, 2007
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 58 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
30
Mixed:
3
Negative:
25
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
AshleighMay 20, 2007
Awful Awful Awful. Even Jane Fonda's performance (which I thought was good) could make me give this anything but a zero. Maybe I disliked it so much because I feel it was horribly mis-marketed.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GeorgeB.May 27, 2007
How could so much fine acting talent be lured into this very junior version of a bad Off-Off-Broadway play? Step onstage from another room, say something, turn around and return off-stage. Adding Hull Idaho added nothing - sorry but its How could so much fine acting talent be lured into this very junior version of a bad Off-Off-Broadway play? Step onstage from another room, say something, turn around and return off-stage. Adding Hull Idaho added nothing - sorry but its mountain and lake beauty was overwhelmed by this bad production. Looking for a place to go if you don't have air conditioning - think of any other movie first. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MikeMay 7, 2007
I saw a screening of this and it's just awful. Lindsay Lohan is so strident, Felicity huffman is annoying and I just felt sory for Jane Fonda. I think Gary Marshall has never visited a small town. The supporting characters were cliche I saw a screening of this and it's just awful. Lindsay Lohan is so strident, Felicity huffman is annoying and I just felt sory for Jane Fonda. I think Gary Marshall has never visited a small town. The supporting characters were cliche stock characters and there were so many bad wigs in this movie. Such a waste of time and money. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
dijavantewowOct 15, 2010
This one freaked me out. Especially Lindsay Lohan trying to show her stuff... ew. There were a lot of weird moments, and I don't know why I even sat through the whole thing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MitchellMay 12, 2007
Strong acting. Lindsay is a knock out. Enjoyed every moment of her on screen. Movie has it's flaws, but it doesn't deserve the backlash its been getting. Go see it for yourself. Great mix of comedy and drama with strong Strong acting. Lindsay is a knock out. Enjoyed every moment of her on screen. Movie has it's flaws, but it doesn't deserve the backlash its been getting. Go see it for yourself. Great mix of comedy and drama with strong performances by all the leading ladies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomC.May 13, 2007
The negative reviews are somewhat surprising. I thought the movie was excellent and Lindsey Lohan's performance simply astounding. All the bad press she gets is a great disservice to her acting ability.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerekMay 15, 2007
I can see what the reviews mean when they mention the tonal shifts, but this movie is still great. Lindsay is, by far the most underrated young actress to come around in a long time because people get too caught up in her public image. I can see what the reviews mean when they mention the tonal shifts, but this movie is still great. Lindsay is, by far the most underrated young actress to come around in a long time because people get too caught up in her public image. I've been saying it all along, and now she has proved it with a real character, not a sugary Disney one. Although this movie does have its flaws, I can tell you from personal experience that Lohan's performance rings absolutely TRUE. If you've ever met someone like her character in your life, then you know what I am talking about. No, not everyone deals with her character's circumstances the same way.. some people are healthier about it. But her character is a very realistic depiction of the other way that people can go. I do not want to get into it too much and ruin it for those that haven't seen it though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Sarahk.May 20, 2007
When going to see this movie, I had a completely different idea of how the movie would be. But, it turned out to be really good, and I was really impressed with the plot line, and the acting. I think Lindsey Lohan did a great job, better When going to see this movie, I had a completely different idea of how the movie would be. But, it turned out to be really good, and I was really impressed with the plot line, and the acting. I think Lindsey Lohan did a great job, better then expected. There was also a lot of things that allowed you to keep guessing and kept you interested in the movie. A definite go see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ShawnMay 8, 2007
Terrible cliched mess of a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YvonneB.May 9, 2007
Wow, what a suprise. You think you know what happened and then.. . Garry Marshall - great job in dealing with such a sensitive issue and seeing Jane Fonda - THANK GOD she has returned to the screen!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregR.May 11, 2007
Good Acting, good story, too much reality of Americans for American audiences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaylorMay 14, 2007
I have no clue why this movie is getting negative reviews. I thought it was an excellent movie, and I can't wait to see it again this week. YES AGAIN! Felicity Huffman did such a wonderful job playing Lilly, her as a drunk is pretty I have no clue why this movie is getting negative reviews. I thought it was an excellent movie, and I can't wait to see it again this week. YES AGAIN! Felicity Huffman did such a wonderful job playing Lilly, her as a drunk is pretty hilarious! I loved the movie no matter what anybody says so GO GEORGIA RULE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HannajMay 9, 2007
Dreadful mishmash of acting styles and genres. none of them interesting enough to make this film worthwhile.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JS.Jun 18, 2007
This was a fantastic movie. Do not believe all of this negative hype. It all comes from people expecting the wrong kind of movie. They marketed this as a comedy and while there are funny parts its very dramatic. THIS IS A MUST SEE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MirandaJun 26, 2008
Its tough to comment on a movie like this. I think if you wanted to see it you should although it is by no means what I expected it to be it is good but different. People say Lindsay was by no means identifiable but they may not know how Its tough to comment on a movie like this. I think if you wanted to see it you should although it is by no means what I expected it to be it is good but different. People say Lindsay was by no means identifiable but they may not know how victims of molestation since they were young act, because she actually portrayed it well from my knowledge og the situation. How can felicity huffman be a bad drunk aren't drunks supposed to be bad actors??? huh! anyways I think it was worth watching and maybe to real for "real" Americans as stated in a few previous comments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ZakeW.May 12, 2007
Nothing impressive. Wait to rent this one if interested in seeing this, though I do not even recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JuneH.May 13, 2007
Terrible. Lohan looks like she's 35 in some scenes and there are uncomfortable parallels with her real life party girl image. the girl needs a better director than Garry Marshall to get a real performance out of her. Felicity Huffman Terrible. Lohan looks like she's 35 in some scenes and there are uncomfortable parallels with her real life party girl image. the girl needs a better director than Garry Marshall to get a real performance out of her. Felicity Huffman comes off even worse in a shrill, embarrassing portrait of an alcoholic. Jane Fonda shoulda stayed retired if this is the sort of script she's being offered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarkB.May 14, 2007
Georgia Rules are household commandments set down by conservative-but-feisty Hull, Idaho resident Georgia (Jane Fonda), and include the notion that while dropping f-bombs in everyday speech is more or less acceptable, using the Lord's Georgia Rules are household commandments set down by conservative-but-feisty Hull, Idaho resident Georgia (Jane Fonda), and include the notion that while dropping f-bombs in everyday speech is more or less acceptable, using the Lord's name in vain (even very mildly) earns you a mouthful of Lifebuoy. She left out a couple of important guidelines relating to moviegoing that would serve all of us well here, starting with the Cleopatra Addandum, which advises that movies in which the offscreen misbehavior of one or more participants (in this case, Lindsay Lohan's hard-partying antics) fills the tabloids and trades are usually best avoided. Then there's the Garry Corollary, stating that if your film deals with such extremely sensitive topics as alcoholism, pathological teen promiscuity and child molestation, the man who brought you Laverne & Shirley is NOT your go-to guy. Garry Marshall, a specialist in mostly forgettable feel-good fluff, has knocked it out of the park twice in 15 tries: Pretty Woman is a genuinely charming modern-day adult fairy tale, and Nothing In Common, a tremendously perceptive comedy-drama about an adult's responsibility toward his parents that was the first big-screen indication that Tom Hanks was more than just a comedian as well as a fine swan song for Jackie Gleason, was also one of the most underrated American movies of the 1980s. Georgia Rules, on the other hand, ranks right down there at the bottom of the Marshall Meter with 1994's astonishing S & M-com Exit to Eden...and at least THAT one wasn't going for warm and fuzzy. Georgia Rule has dozens of problems but if I had to pick a central one it would be the character of Hull visitor Rachel, a truly odious, sexually sadistic little tease who in many other movies would be the villainness, but whom Marshall and screenwriter Mark Andrus (As Good As It Gets) perversely try to pass off as sensitive, funny and sympathetic--the latter because she was sexually abused by her stepfather at age 12 (or was she?) However, it would be amiss to go without mentioning this movie's blatant, bigoted Mormon-bashing and stereotyping (the LDS guys are unbelievably clueless and naive; the girls are stuck-up snobs) which is so pervasive that if Mitt Romney becomes our next President, he might do well to go over Marshall's, Andrus's and producer James G. Robinson's last 25 years of IRS returns with a barbershop full of fine-toothed combs. (That would help him get MY vote!) Fonda and Felicity Huffman (who plays Lilly, Georgia's daughter and Rachel's mom) triumph over the material with excellent performances; Marshall is often credited for working well with actresses, and sometimes this is deserved (if anyone did more to make Julia Roberts an incredibly beloved actress and superstar, I'd like to know who)...but honestly, how much coaching do two such consistently fine performers as Fonda and Huffman truly need? Lohan's portrayal is a lot more problematic; given the extent and notoriety of her behavior over the last couple of years (at the rate she's going it's just a matter of time before she really runs afoul of the law just like Paris Hilton, and unfortunately just as many people polled will think she should also do time) it's hard to tell whether, in playing this deeply troubled but genuinely nasty young woman, Lohan is really acting or just "playing herself". If the latter is the case, I really miss the sweet kid from Freaky Friday, Mean Girls and, in her childhood, the Disney remake of their Parent Trap, and I hate that a system that can be so hazardous to actresses at such a tender, formative age seems to have completely eaten her alive. That's truly sad...but just as pathetic is the realization that Morgan Creek Productions and Universal Pictures are so out of touch that they truly believed that this thoroughly disagreeable, distasteful debacle was the perfect movie to release on Mother's Day weekend! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
Rev.RikardMay 28, 2007
A poor attempt at creating an updated "Ordinary People" style film. However in the Mary Tyler Moore/ Timothy Hutton classic the truth begging for its day in court was not shrouded in a murky story with unbelievable, wooden characters engaged A poor attempt at creating an updated "Ordinary People" style film. However in the Mary Tyler Moore/ Timothy Hutton classic the truth begging for its day in court was not shrouded in a murky story with unbelievable, wooden characters engaged in conversations spiced with stale "American Pie" slices of adolescent humor. Consequently, so many interactions in this film are tasteless. Conrad, Hutton's character in Ordinary People, was not only so believable the audience could identify with his tormented scream for truth to rear its liberating head, we easily recognized that truth. We were mesmerized by its destructive power to slither its way in and through the lives of the entire family. Truth hidden is no longer truth; it is repressed torment. We joined Conrad in pleading for truth to move from the shadows of repressed pain and liberate him. His honest interaction with his therapist revealed conversations that could find expression in the life of every viewer. In Georgia Rule the truth is a tease. "So that's the truth; no, that's the truth!" This is the mental and emotional exercise invoked by this film. This technique works in great mysteries. However, rather than offer us dialogues of substance, Lohan's character attempts to shock everyone with sophomoric sex-sated insults that are intended to shock everyone out of denial. At some point we no longer care about Lohan's character. She is not only a recognizable character from any teen sex movie, she is so unlike most of us we cannot know her. The ultimate insult lies in the fact that the truth lurking beneath this tangle of dysfunctional characters is a serious social/family issue. Toying with an issue laden with horrific pain angered me, and I am sure many viewers. When at last the moment of epiphany comes, we are not sure what has been accomplished, and what this film has said about repressed truth and family life. In Ordinary People, the moment of epiphany was touching and haunting. The great rule in Georgia Rule should be to avoid this formula if one wants to make a relevant film about a serious family issues that impacts culture. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
This was an amazing movie! The premise of the movie is a troubled family sending their insane daughter to live with her hard-nosed Grandmother in Idaho. From the previews, I was expecting a lame, even raunchy comedy, boy I was I wrong. WhileThis was an amazing movie! The premise of the movie is a troubled family sending their insane daughter to live with her hard-nosed Grandmother in Idaho. From the previews, I was expecting a lame, even raunchy comedy, boy I was I wrong. While it had it's comedic aspect to it, it was so much more than that. It was the story of trust and redemption that centers not around Georgia and her rules, but rather around her granddaughter played by Lindsey Lohan. I don't like Lohan, her previous roles, or even how she is as a person, but in this movie, she's terrific. I think it's because she was actually playing herself. A smart but troubled girl, who acts slutty and stupid to keep up appearances and hide from her own misery. This movie was smart and funny as well as deep and emotional. It's a can't miss film that everyone should see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeAug 10, 2015
The acting was okay and the subject matter was interesting but some events and characters were not believable which made the movie sometimes boring.Overall it was an okay entertaining film starring Lindsey Lohan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews