Metascore
25

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Three generations of top actresses unite in a film from director Garry Marshall about the power of redemption, freedom in forgiveness and unbreakable bonds of motherhood. (Universal)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 29
  2. Negative: 18 out of 29
  1. The American public likes nothing better than a tragedy with a happy ending, William Dean Howells observed. But Marshall so cautiously downplays the tragic elements of his plot that the sweetness and light left a sour taste in my mouth.
  2. In the acting contest that ensues, each star comes off reasonably well, though, surprisingly, Lohan (who had well-publicized emotional problems on the set) wins out over Huffman's comic drunk and Fonda's leathery evocation of her father, Henry, in "On Golden Pond."
  3. There's enough family dysfunction here to fill out a dozen soppy soap operas.
  4. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    30
    No offense to either of them, but Georgia Rule suggests an Ingmar Bergman script as directed by Jerry Lewis. The subject matter is grim, the relationships are gnarled, the worldview is bleak, and, at any given moment, you suspect someone's going to be hit with a pie.
  5. Misguided at best and repellent at worst, the movie has, ironically enough, a single asset: Lohan's performance as a rebellious, uncontrollable teen.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    25
    And so it goes, leaving an awful taste and the inevitable question: Jane Fonda made a comeback to do dreck like this and "Monster-in-Law?"
  7. Certain words should be reserved for special occasions. "Abysmal" is one of them, and Georgia Rule is as special as such occasions get.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 10 out of 20
  1. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    This was an amazing movie! The premise of the movie is a troubled family sending their insane daughter to live with her hard-nosed Grandmother in Idaho. From the previews, I was expecting a lame, even raunchy comedy, boy I was I wrong. While it had it's comedic aspect to it, it was so much more than that. It was the story of trust and redemption that centers not around Georgia and her rules, but rather around her granddaughter played by Lindsey Lohan. I don't like Lohan, her previous roles, or even how she is as a person, but in this movie, she's terrific. I think it's because she was actually playing herself. A smart but troubled girl, who acts slutty and stupid to keep up appearances and hide from her own misery. This movie was smart and funny as well as deep and emotional. It's a can't miss film that everyone should see! Expand
  2. Taylor
    May 14, 2007
    10
    I have no clue why this movie is getting negative reviews. I thought it was an excellent movie, and I can't wait to see it again this week. YES AGAIN! Felicity Huffman did such a wonderful job playing Lilly, her as a drunk is pretty hilarious! I loved the movie no matter what anybody says so GO GEORGIA RULE! Expand
  3. Sarahk.
    May 20, 2007
    9
    When going to see this movie, I had a completely different idea of how the movie would be. But, it turned out to be really good, and I was really impressed with the plot line, and the acting. I think Lindsey Lohan did a great job, better then expected. There was also a lot of things that allowed you to keep guessing and kept you interested in the movie. A definite go see! Expand
  4. MarkB.
    May 14, 2007
    3
    Georgia Rules are household commandments set down by conservative-but-feisty Hull, Idaho resident Georgia (Jane Fonda), and include the notion that while dropping f-bombs in everyday speech is more or less acceptable, using the Lord's name in vain (even very mildly) earns you a mouthful of Lifebuoy. She left out a couple of important guidelines relating to moviegoing that would serve all of us well here, starting with the Cleopatra Addandum, which advises that movies in which the offscreen misbehavior of one or more participants (in this case, Lindsay Lohan's hard-partying antics) fills the tabloids and trades are usually best avoided. Then there's the Garry Corollary, stating that if your film deals with such extremely sensitive topics as alcoholism, pathological teen promiscuity and child molestation, the man who brought you Laverne & Shirley is NOT your go-to guy. Garry Marshall, a specialist in mostly forgettable feel-good fluff, has knocked it out of the park twice in 15 tries: Pretty Woman is a genuinely charming modern-day adult fairy tale, and Nothing In Common, a tremendously perceptive comedy-drama about an adult's responsibility toward his parents that was the first big-screen indication that Tom Hanks was more than just a comedian as well as a fine swan song for Jackie Gleason, was also one of the most underrated American movies of the 1980s. Georgia Rules, on the other hand, ranks right down there at the bottom of the Marshall Meter with 1994's astonishing S & M-com Exit to Eden...and at least THAT one wasn't going for warm and fuzzy. Georgia Rule has dozens of problems but if I had to pick a central one it would be the character of Hull visitor Rachel, a truly odious, sexually sadistic little tease who in many other movies would be the villainness, but whom Marshall and screenwriter Mark Andrus (As Good As It Gets) perversely try to pass off as sensitive, funny and sympathetic--the latter because she was sexually abused by her stepfather at age 12 (or was she?) However, it would be amiss to go without mentioning this movie's blatant, bigoted Mormon-bashing and stereotyping (the LDS guys are unbelievably clueless and naive; the girls are stuck-up snobs) which is so pervasive that if Mitt Romney becomes our next President, he might do well to go over Marshall's, Andrus's and producer James G. Robinson's last 25 years of IRS returns with a barbershop full of fine-toothed combs. (That would help him get MY vote!) Fonda and Felicity Huffman (who plays Lilly, Georgia's daughter and Rachel's mom) triumph over the material with excellent performances; Marshall is often credited for working well with actresses, and sometimes this is deserved (if anyone did more to make Julia Roberts an incredibly beloved actress and superstar, I'd like to know who)...but honestly, how much coaching do two such consistently fine performers as Fonda and Huffman truly need? Lohan's portrayal is a lot more problematic; given the extent and notoriety of her behavior over the last couple of years (at the rate she's going it's just a matter of time before she really runs afoul of the law just like Paris Hilton, and unfortunately just as many people polled will think she should also do time) it's hard to tell whether, in playing this deeply troubled but genuinely nasty young woman, Lohan is really acting or just "playing herself". If the latter is the case, I really miss the sweet kid from Freaky Friday, Mean Girls and, in her childhood, the Disney remake of their Parent Trap, and I hate that a system that can be so hazardous to actresses at such a tender, formative age seems to have completely eaten her alive. That's truly sad...but just as pathetic is the realization that Morgan Creek Productions and Universal Pictures are so out of touch that they truly believed that this thoroughly disagreeable, distasteful debacle was the perfect movie to release on Mother's Day weekend! Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2010
    3
    This one freaked me out. Especially Lindsay Lohan trying to show her stuff... ew. There were a lot of weird moments, and I don't know why I even sat through the whole thing. Expand
  6. Mike
    May 7, 2007
    2
    I saw a screening of this and it's just awful. Lindsay Lohan is so strident, Felicity huffman is annoying and I just felt sory for Jane Fonda. I think Gary Marshall has never visited a small town. The supporting characters were cliche stock characters and there were so many bad wigs in this movie. Such a waste of time and money. Expand
  7. Hannaj
    May 9, 2007
    0
    Dreadful mishmash of acting styles and genres. none of them interesting enough to make this film worthwhile.

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: 20 Worst Chick Flicks of the Past 20 Years

    Ranked: 20 Worst Chick Flicks of the Past 20 Years Image
    Published: August 11, 2010
    It's classic summer counterprogramming: When a major action film comes out (like this week's "The Expendables"), counter it with something that appeals to women (like this week's "Eat Pray Love"). We look back at some of the worst examples of the "chick flick" genre since 1990.