Miramax Films | Release Date: February 14, 2003
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 29 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
16
Mixed:
4
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
AetyrFeb 17, 2012
I gave it 1 point because it did one thing well; it made me feel exactly what the characters were feeling. Unfortunately, what the characters felt was lost, desperate and at some points in intense pain.
It doesn't have any metaphors or
I gave it 1 point because it did one thing well; it made me feel exactly what the characters were feeling. Unfortunately, what the characters felt was lost, desperate and at some points in intense pain.
It doesn't have any metaphors or philosophies to analyse because it has fewer words in the script than most films have on the back of the DVD box.
If you like long, silent, beautiful views of desert scenery feel free to try this, as it's all you'll get. Though you could always just go on the Internet, search for a photograph of a desert and stare at that for 2 hours for much the same effect.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
moonman1994Jul 29, 2013
Uninteresting and not engaging. I usually don't have a problem with films that are "slow" but this film isn't slow in the way that it takes a while to get into it's "slow" in the way that it's boring and you never get into it. It's not allUninteresting and not engaging. I usually don't have a problem with films that are "slow" but this film isn't slow in the way that it takes a while to get into it's "slow" in the way that it's boring and you never get into it. It's not all around terrible it's just not very good. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MichaelS.Mar 7, 2003
Not as powerful as the Bela Tarr films which inspired it, but sublime nonetheless. Once the awkward improvised dialogue gives way to desperate wandering and the ravages of time, the film hits its stride and becomes a thing of beauty. Not Not as powerful as the Bela Tarr films which inspired it, but sublime nonetheless. Once the awkward improvised dialogue gives way to desperate wandering and the ravages of time, the film hits its stride and becomes a thing of beauty. Not perfect, but one hell of a comeback. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterB.Mar 2, 2003
Slow and superb from the visuals, Part's haunting music and structure defined through 2 characters alone. It's not often films of this quality appear that require patience and take their time with real rewards throughout. This is Slow and superb from the visuals, Part's haunting music and structure defined through 2 characters alone. It's not often films of this quality appear that require patience and take their time with real rewards throughout. This is definitely one such movie that will stay with me a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeB.May 25, 2004
It was plain great. awesome shoot the sh.t dialogue. visually stunning to risk sounding trite. Ebert was right. get lost in it and you'll get its beauty. check out the walking heads shot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
karens.Apr 26, 2005
Thank god I watched it on DVD (not at the movies) because I gave up at 11:30pm after 20 minutes and decided it was too slow for the sleep deprived. The next morning, once it hit around 50minutes in, the slow beginning was able to be Thank god I watched it on DVD (not at the movies) because I gave up at 11:30pm after 20 minutes and decided it was too slow for the sleep deprived. The next morning, once it hit around 50minutes in, the slow beginning was able to be appreciated as purposeful timing and not as dragging out a story with little plot. I think the director did a great job of suspense and interest for the patient viewer with a simple script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AMulroneycakesWithNoNameOct 26, 2003
Yeah. Well. Okay, then. Here's Matt Damon and t'other Affleck walking. A lot. For a long time. The end. It's beyond criticism, really: it's the kind of film that knows what it wants to do and how and for how long it wants Yeah. Well. Okay, then. Here's Matt Damon and t'other Affleck walking. A lot. For a long time. The end. It's beyond criticism, really: it's the kind of film that knows what it wants to do and how and for how long it wants to do it, and if you get bored, it's your problem. Someone in Britain called it "unforgivable" - which, short of something like "f**cky doodly dum dum dum" is just about the worst thing you can say in reaction to it. It's not made for you, but for itself. And it doesn't have to apologise for what it is. And if you think it does, if that is your attitude, you don't deserve cinema. Really. "Gerry" is what it is, and what it is needs no excuses. Face it: knowing in advance what it entails, either you want to watch it or you don't. And if you don't, and yet end up seeing it anyway, don't come crying to me when you don't like it, because it in't my fault. So there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Apr 13, 2003
"Gerry" is the ideal movie for rude parents to allow their shrieking baby to wail away. It'll keep a segment of the audience, the segment that can't believe what they walked into, from slipping into a state of rem. Me, however, "Gerry" is the ideal movie for rude parents to allow their shrieking baby to wail away. It'll keep a segment of the audience, the segment that can't believe what they walked into, from slipping into a state of rem. Me, however, I've seen "Werckmeister Harmonies". I knew what to expect; long takes of two men walking...in silence, but unlike the Bela Tarr film, instead of metaphor(a fossilized whale that signifies, heaven knows what), we get Matt Damon trying to coax Casey Affleck from a rock. Really, this movie should be insufferable, but it's not. "Gerry" is like a John Ford film on codeine. Gus Van Sant makes good use of his locations. He also pays homage to Hou Hsiao-hsien(I think) at the beginning when the two adventure-seekers occupy their car towards imminent doom. This protracted scene of mere driving recalls "Goodbye, South Goodbye". Even if Bela Tarr and Hsiao-hsien means nothing to you, take note that Matt Damon and an Affleck are there to hold your hand through this sometimes boring, but audacious stunt. I mean, film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EricMJan 16, 2005
The worst movie I have ever seen. (period)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IvanY.Jan 3, 2009
I gave this a zero because they didn't have lower numbers. All you "brilliant" art cinema-freaks that find this waste of electricity and human effort entertaining or meaningful make me sick. Gus, Casey and Matt should be sued for adding I gave this a zero because they didn't have lower numbers. All you "brilliant" art cinema-freaks that find this waste of electricity and human effort entertaining or meaningful make me sick. Gus, Casey and Matt should be sued for adding to global warming for the non-green energy used to make it. The real story would have been much more interesting to portray and more meaningful. I would also like to sue to get the two hours of my life wated watching that tripe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SidneyR.Dec 15, 2008
I don't know what could have been better but perhaps more explanation and an explanation at the end of the boring photography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ryancarroll88Aug 26, 2010
Gus Van Sant's minimalist, non-narrative "Gerry" is a film that needs no narrative direction - it's a movie about being lost, and as a viewer you have the choice to become lost with it (watching it in isolation might help). However, if youGus Van Sant's minimalist, non-narrative "Gerry" is a film that needs no narrative direction - it's a movie about being lost, and as a viewer you have the choice to become lost with it (watching it in isolation might help). However, if you find you cannot do that, it becomes little more than an endurance test - one that you are likely to lose. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
tpjaggJun 23, 2014
Gerry was a surprise for me. I Absolutely LOVED this movie as not much was said and the whole scenario unraveled inside ones head. Truly arthouse cinema. I cant believe Hollywood got this one right. I believe the people who didnt care forGerry was a surprise for me. I Absolutely LOVED this movie as not much was said and the whole scenario unraveled inside ones head. Truly arthouse cinema. I cant believe Hollywood got this one right. I believe the people who didnt care for this movie probably have too much going on inside their own heads and cant relax into the true essence of being lost in the desert. Well done Casey Affleck and Matt Damon ! ! ! ;~), Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews