Gerry

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichaelS.
    Mar 7, 2003
    8
    Not as powerful as the Bela Tarr films which inspired it, but sublime nonetheless. Once the awkward improvised dialogue gives way to desperate wandering and the ravages of time, the film hits its stride and becomes a thing of beauty. Not perfect, but one hell of a comeback.
  2. PeterB.
    Mar 2, 2003
    8
    Slow and superb from the visuals, Part's haunting music and structure defined through 2 characters alone. It's not often films of this quality appear that require patience and take their time with real rewards throughout. This is definitely one such movie that will stay with me a long time.
  3. MikeB.
    May 25, 2004
    8
    It was plain great. awesome shoot the sh.t dialogue. visually stunning to risk sounding trite. Ebert was right. get lost in it and you'll get its beauty. check out the walking heads shot.
  4. karens.
    Apr 26, 2005
    7
    Thank god I watched it on DVD (not at the movies) because I gave up at 11:30pm after 20 minutes and decided it was too slow for the sleep deprived. The next morning, once it hit around 50minutes in, the slow beginning was able to be appreciated as purposeful timing and not as dragging out a story with little plot. I think the director did a great job of suspense and interest for the Thank god I watched it on DVD (not at the movies) because I gave up at 11:30pm after 20 minutes and decided it was too slow for the sleep deprived. The next morning, once it hit around 50minutes in, the slow beginning was able to be appreciated as purposeful timing and not as dragging out a story with little plot. I think the director did a great job of suspense and interest for the patient viewer with a simple script. Expand
  5. AMulroneycakesWithNoName
    Oct 26, 2003
    7
    Yeah. Well. Okay, then. Here's Matt Damon and t'other Affleck walking. A lot. For a long time. The end. It's beyond criticism, really: it's the kind of film that knows what it wants to do and how and for how long it wants to do it, and if you get bored, it's your problem. Someone in Britain called it "unforgivable" - which, short of something like "f**cky doodly Yeah. Well. Okay, then. Here's Matt Damon and t'other Affleck walking. A lot. For a long time. The end. It's beyond criticism, really: it's the kind of film that knows what it wants to do and how and for how long it wants to do it, and if you get bored, it's your problem. Someone in Britain called it "unforgivable" - which, short of something like "f**cky doodly dum dum dum" is just about the worst thing you can say in reaction to it. It's not made for you, but for itself. And it doesn't have to apologise for what it is. And if you think it does, if that is your attitude, you don't deserve cinema. Really. "Gerry" is what it is, and what it is needs no excuses. Face it: knowing in advance what it entails, either you want to watch it or you don't. And if you don't, and yet end up seeing it anyway, don't come crying to me when you don't like it, because it in't my fault. So there. Expand
  6. ChadS.
    Apr 13, 2003
    7
    "Gerry" is the ideal movie for rude parents to allow their shrieking baby to wail away. It'll keep a segment of the audience, the segment that can't believe what they walked into, from slipping into a state of rem. Me, however, I've seen "Werckmeister Harmonies". I knew what to expect; long takes of two men walking...in silence, but unlike the Bela Tarr film, instead of "Gerry" is the ideal movie for rude parents to allow their shrieking baby to wail away. It'll keep a segment of the audience, the segment that can't believe what they walked into, from slipping into a state of rem. Me, however, I've seen "Werckmeister Harmonies". I knew what to expect; long takes of two men walking...in silence, but unlike the Bela Tarr film, instead of metaphor(a fossilized whale that signifies, heaven knows what), we get Matt Damon trying to coax Casey Affleck from a rock. Really, this movie should be insufferable, but it's not. "Gerry" is like a John Ford film on codeine. Gus Van Sant makes good use of his locations. He also pays homage to Hou Hsiao-hsien(I think) at the beginning when the two adventure-seekers occupy their car towards imminent doom. This protracted scene of mere driving recalls "Goodbye, South Goodbye". Even if Bela Tarr and Hsiao-hsien means nothing to you, take note that Matt Damon and an Affleck are there to hold your hand through this sometimes boring, but audacious stunt. I mean, film. Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2010
    7
    Gus Van Sant's minimalist, non-narrative "Gerry" is a film that needs no narrative direction - it's a movie about being lost, and as a viewer you have the choice to become lost with it (watching it in isolation might help). However, if you find you cannot do that, it becomes little more than an endurance test - one that you are likely to lose.
  8. Jun 23, 2014
    9
    Gerry was a surprise for me. I Absolutely LOVED this movie as not much was said and the whole scenario unraveled inside ones head. Truly arthouse cinema. I cant believe Hollywood got this one right. I believe the people who didnt care for this movie probably have too much going on inside their own heads and cant relax into the true essence of being lost in the desert. Well done CaseyGerry was a surprise for me. I Absolutely LOVED this movie as not much was said and the whole scenario unraveled inside ones head. Truly arthouse cinema. I cant believe Hollywood got this one right. I believe the people who didnt care for this movie probably have too much going on inside their own heads and cant relax into the true essence of being lost in the desert. Well done Casey Affleck and Matt Damon ! ! ! ;~), Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 31
  2. Negative: 7 out of 31
  1. A gorgeously shot endurance test that is impossible to get through on anything less than a full night's sleep and a double shot of espresso.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    30
    Defiantly uncommunicative picture.
  3. Gerry is ragingly bad art that contributes to a definition of independent film as something no one would want to sit through.