User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 238 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 238
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    Get Him to the Greek lacks the heart of Forgetting Sarah Marshall but retains the witty style of gross-out comedy. Jonah Hill is disappointing here as he is a very talented comedian and Russell Brand has become a yoga-loving L.A. bum. He's always been such an idol to me.
  2. Oct 4, 2010
    8
    I think what's most impressive surrounding the film is the soundtrack that was prepared for it. Russell Brand can out-sing his girl, Katy Perry in spades, while at the same time managing a hilarious act throughout the film. Unfortunately, Jonah Hill still can't make me laugh.
  3. Oct 8, 2010
    7
    watched it on a plane last week. it was funny in places. just funny though. really liked russel brand in it and that fat guy from superbad. i enjoyed it it was good :)
  4. Oct 10, 2010
    9
    Get Him To The Greek is a brilliant film, combining outlandish behavior, regrettably nostalgic moments, and humorous emotion. Jonah Hill and Russell Brand are a hilarious duo, complimenting each other throughout this wild crazy roller coaster ride. If you want a comedy, watch this movie.
  5. GeorgeM.
    Jun 10, 2010
    9
    Fans of Forgetting Sarah Marshal need to go into this movie realising that it is not the same Type of movie. The timeline doesn't quite tie together and the humor is far less clever. However, It's a great time. I was laughing every 5 minutes save the occasional emotional tie-ins. The movie is a very hard-R, that occasionally goes over the top, but was easily worth the price of Fans of Forgetting Sarah Marshal need to go into this movie realising that it is not the same Type of movie. The timeline doesn't quite tie together and the humor is far less clever. However, It's a great time. I was laughing every 5 minutes save the occasional emotional tie-ins. The movie is a very hard-R, that occasionally goes over the top, but was easily worth the price of admission. I highly recommend it. Not especially clever, but extremely funny. Go with friends (not really a date movie) Expand
  6. JasonM
    Jun 8, 2010
    7
    I am beyond perplexed at some of these negative reviews. One guy says "75% of the theater laughed hysterically through most of the movie," yet gives the movie a 3, complete with pretentious yet meaningless adjectives to describe it? Please. I'll gladly admit that this was not a perfect film: simple plot, unnecessary drama, etc... But it was undoubtedly HILARIOUS... at least to anyone I am beyond perplexed at some of these negative reviews. One guy says "75% of the theater laughed hysterically through most of the movie," yet gives the movie a 3, complete with pretentious yet meaningless adjectives to describe it? Please. I'll gladly admit that this was not a perfect film: simple plot, unnecessary drama, etc... But it was undoubtedly HILARIOUS... at least to anyone with a sense of humor it was. Hence the overall 7 rating. Full of funny and wild moments, Get Him To The Greek may not fill you with Oscar buzz, but it will certainly leave you entertained. Expand
  7. KeatonJ.
    Jun 8, 2010
    9
    When I first heard that a spin-off was being made of one of my favorite comedies of all times, I was kind of worried, but I am relieved to report that Get Him to the Greek does justice to Forgetting Sarah Marshall. Greek takes the eccentric rock star Aldous Snow (Russell Brand) from Forgetting Sarah Marshall and makes him a much bigger character. Brand was fantastic in Forgetting Sarah When I first heard that a spin-off was being made of one of my favorite comedies of all times, I was kind of worried, but I am relieved to report that Get Him to the Greek does justice to Forgetting Sarah Marshall. Greek takes the eccentric rock star Aldous Snow (Russell Brand) from Forgetting Sarah Marshall and makes him a much bigger character. Brand was fantastic in Forgetting Sarah Marshall, and is even better in this one. The plot involves Aaron Green (Jonah Hill), who works for a record company and must escort Snow to a comeback concert to get the revenue flowing again. As you can imagine, these two get into quite some interesting situations. The two characters work great on the screen together, creating a constant flow of laughs from start to finish; however, there is also another character that caught my eye. His name is P. Diddy. He may not be a top-notch actor, but he delivers some of the funniest lines of the movie. There is one specific scene with all three characters that may be the funniest scene I Expand
  8. DrazenL
    Jun 5, 2010
    10
    In terms of being rated as a comedy, this movie gets a perfect 10 out of 10. i didn't stop laughing once for the entire 108 minutes. russell brand, jonah hill are amazing, but p diddy was the x-factor that made this movie. i did not expect him to be so funny. definitely the comedy of the year!
  9. BrianN.
    Jun 12, 2010
    8
    Believe it or not, Diddy was the true star of this film. His portrayal of alpha male and studio big man Sergio was hands down the most hilarious comedy performance since Ed Helms in "The Hangover." Hill and Brand were no slouches either, with their offbeat chemistry and witty rapport. Get to the Greek immediately.
  10. MichaelD.
    Jun 25, 2010
    10
    This movie is probably the most funniest movie of the year.Gotta give credits to Janah Hill because he is so funny from the inside out.Russel Brand is funny but not too funny yet.Diddy on the otherhand is already getting his comedy roots with this movie right here this is the start for Diddy to be funny.I have never saw Diddy can be funny in this movie in my life i thought he is gonna be This movie is probably the most funniest movie of the year.Gotta give credits to Janah Hill because he is so funny from the inside out.Russel Brand is funny but not too funny yet.Diddy on the otherhand is already getting his comedy roots with this movie right here this is the start for Diddy to be funny.I have never saw Diddy can be funny in this movie in my life i thought he is gonna be the worstest actor but not this one i thought he was really good in this movie.I love this movie it is really funnyfrom start to finish funnier than "The Hangover". Expand
  11. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    Get Him to the Greek is a really,really,REALLY funny and it's one of the best comedy films of the year! Jonah Hill and Russell Brand are both friggin hilarious! The scenes are way,WAY too funny! This is another raunchy movie about Snow and Green heading to Greek Theatre at L.A. for 72 hours and they both themselves with drugs,drinking,and even more hilarity way that is mind-f@#$ed aroundGet Him to the Greek is a really,really,REALLY funny and it's one of the best comedy films of the year! Jonah Hill and Russell Brand are both friggin hilarious! The scenes are way,WAY too funny! This is another raunchy movie about Snow and Green heading to Greek Theatre at L.A. for 72 hours and they both themselves with drugs,drinking,and even more hilarity way that is mind-f@#$ed around the movie. Sean Combs is in this movie and he's really funny too and I love the way when Combs plays a executive producer. This is the sequel to Forgetting Sarah Marshall,but I prefer Sarah Marshall better,because I'm happy with both of them and this is best sequel so far that is good. But you will enjoy this f@#$ing film and you will laugh so HARD that is really funny! Expand
  12. Aug 17, 2010
    8
    A funny movie that I enjoyed watching. Could have been a bit better but it also could have been a lot worse.
  13. Oct 4, 2010
    7
    This movie was pretty funny throughout, although it had a couple of strange twists, but I enjoyed it and would recommend seeing it if you liked Forgetting Sarah Marshall (which this movies is a spin-off of). It was not as good or funny as Sarah Marshall though. Russell Brand was not as funny as he could have been but that was a result of the script/writing. My wife did not care for thisThis movie was pretty funny throughout, although it had a couple of strange twists, but I enjoyed it and would recommend seeing it if you liked Forgetting Sarah Marshall (which this movies is a spin-off of). It was not as good or funny as Sarah Marshall though. Russell Brand was not as funny as he could have been but that was a result of the script/writing. My wife did not care for this movie and thought it was stupid, but she was also in kind of a **** mood when we saw it, plus I picked it which made it easier for her not to like! Good comedies seem to be few and far between, this one is not perfect but definitely worth seeing. Expand
  14. Oct 9, 2010
    7
    "I'm borderline here , this movie was , well you could say funny , outrageous , and extremely crude. But some of the gross out gags went to far at times for my taste , its better than Forgetting Sarah Marshall P-Diddy gave a great comedic performance" .. B+
  15. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    The funniest movie I have seen in years. People are inclined to compare it to Forgetting Sarah Marshall, since they're both written by Segel and feature the same rockstar character, Aldous Snow (Russel Brand), but the movies should be taken separately, as they are nothing alike. Sarah Marshall thrives because of not only its comedy, but because of its heart and charm. Get Him to The GreekThe funniest movie I have seen in years. People are inclined to compare it to Forgetting Sarah Marshall, since they're both written by Segel and feature the same rockstar character, Aldous Snow (Russel Brand), but the movies should be taken separately, as they are nothing alike. Sarah Marshall thrives because of not only its comedy, but because of its heart and charm. Get Him to The Greek is all about the laughs, and at multiple points in the movie it had me laughing uncontrollably and without stopping for more than five minutes straight. Also, not to give anything away, but after all the laughs it hit me with a surprisingly touching moment at the end. 10/10 Expand
  16. Aug 11, 2011
    8
    I pretty enjoyed the movie, although it didn't generate a lot of laughs, it still was interesting as a whole. Russel Brand is so funny and amazing and Diddy was a pleasure surprise. I loved the scene when they all get high on Jeffrey in the apartment. The funny thing was when Jonah Hill accidentally calls his girlfriend when he had sex with the **** girl. Oh, I so love this comedy.
  17. Jul 18, 2011
    8
    Brand's performance is very strong here, and very likeable. Hill also gives a hilariously pitch-perfect performance as well. What I really like about the film is it's insider view of the life of a wild rockstar. It all seems so true and I found myself believing that what is depicted onscreen is probably quite similar to the real thing. Brand is also a very strong singer, and I was greatlyBrand's performance is very strong here, and very likeable. Hill also gives a hilariously pitch-perfect performance as well. What I really like about the film is it's insider view of the life of a wild rockstar. It all seems so true and I found myself believing that what is depicted onscreen is probably quite similar to the real thing. Brand is also a very strong singer, and I was greatly impressed with his musical talents! Oddly enough, P. Diddy gives an excellent performance as well! Expand
  18. TedH
    Jun 4, 2010
    1
    Yeah, the Hangover of 2010 -- and that sucked TOO!!! Awful! Total GARBAGE. Stop telling me this junk is funny!
  19. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    Everyone has dreams some people dream of being a rock star and taking the world by storm, some people dream of being huge movie stars and have fans scream there name as they walk down the carpet to the premiere of their movie. However, for some they are just dreams and Aaron Green (Jonah Hill) is no exception you see Aaron is like most people he dreams big however, his dreams never canEveryone has dreams some people dream of being a rock star and taking the world by storm, some people dream of being huge movie stars and have fans scream there name as they walk down the carpet to the premiere of their movie. However, for some they are just dreams and Aaron Green (Jonah Hill) is no exception you see Aaron is like most people he dreams big however, his dreams never can fully come to fruition due to his place on the totem pole of life. What Aaron wants more than anything else in the world is to be just like his rock star hero Aldous Snow(Russell Brand) he wants to live like Aldous, he wants to party like Aldous, he wants the women that Aldous can get. Essentially Aaron Green wants to be Aldous Snow and he may get his chance when he comes up with an idea for his record label to put on an anniversary concert for the rock star at the Greek theater. Hoping to meet his hero and at the same time revive the long dead rockers career bringing him back into favor with the public. Now all Aaron has to do is "Get him to the Greek.â Expand
  20. May 10, 2011
    5
    P Diddy's performance helps to elevate this film into watchable territory. For a comedy, Get Him to the Greek fails to deliver a great number of laughs, and also does not tell a particularly interesting story. There are some good moments in this film, usually when Diddy is on screen, yet there are a number of moments that fall flat. Nevertheless, this is a decent film, just don't go inP Diddy's performance helps to elevate this film into watchable territory. For a comedy, Get Him to the Greek fails to deliver a great number of laughs, and also does not tell a particularly interesting story. There are some good moments in this film, usually when Diddy is on screen, yet there are a number of moments that fall flat. Nevertheless, this is a decent film, just don't go in expecting great things. Expand
  21. Tbone
    Jun 7, 2010
    3
    This fell short for me. But I'll admit....Killers was pretty good. Saw it with the girl. While she made me, glad she did.
  22. markh
    Jun 6, 2010
    6
    The film lacks the snap and wit of earlier Jud Aptow attempts but fall short because the writer couldn't decided which of two storylines was more interesting -- a gross out rock n roll comedy or a tender love story -- so the film unwisely tries to do both and fails at doing either well.
  23. GaryW
    Jun 7, 2010
    1
    One of the worst movies I have ever seen. I thought "The Hangover" and "Sarah Marshall" were examples of great to good cinema. This is the other extreme.
  24. LeoF
    Jun 10, 2010
    6
    Essentially just a buddy/road flick. Pretty funny at times, but like "I Love You Man" and "Forgetting Sarah Marshall", the comedy is undermined by a sappy, mopey message/moral like an Afterschool Special. The sappy ending pretty much ruins all the comedy that came before it, just like the "I Love You Man" and "...Sarah Marshall".
  25. WaltS.
    Jun 6, 2010
    3
    About 75% of the theater laughed hysterically through most of the movie. And an 8.6 from Metacritic users? I found "Get Him to the Greek" to be repellent, cliched, and dull. Should have guessed as much given the absurd amount of marketing for this stinker. I wasn't expecting a Woody Allen movie (I thought that "The Hangover" was a good time) - but shame on all those involved in this About 75% of the theater laughed hysterically through most of the movie. And an 8.6 from Metacritic users? I found "Get Him to the Greek" to be repellent, cliched, and dull. Should have guessed as much given the absurd amount of marketing for this stinker. I wasn't expecting a Woody Allen movie (I thought that "The Hangover" was a good time) - but shame on all those involved in this mess. Avoid. Expand
  26. Nov 8, 2010
    3
    P. Diddy was a big mistake in casting. He is a terrible actor and was painful to watch - I can't believe he had so many scenes.

    The movie itself was pretty funny for the first half, but then it just got weird and stupid. Bad jokes, bad story line, and p. diddy ruined it for me.
  27. Jul 22, 2011
    5
    this was suppose to be a commedy right? well why isnt it that funny? russel brand who isnt a bad stand up commidien and jonah hill is known to be pretty funny. yet they are out done by of all people Pdiddy who of all people i would expect to be the least funniest person to be in a commedy film . the story its self is mildly entertaining having russell brand play a washed up singer tryingthis was suppose to be a commedy right? well why isnt it that funny? russel brand who isnt a bad stand up commidien and jonah hill is known to be pretty funny. yet they are out done by of all people Pdiddy who of all people i would expect to be the least funniest person to be in a commedy film . the story its self is mildly entertaining having russell brand play a washed up singer trying to make a play back into the industry and having jonah hill try to keep him in check but the commedy between the two is pretty flat . they do have a few decent funny moments but they are all out done by Pdiddy which i know if you havent seen this you are thinking thats got to a be a bunch of BS but its true , Expand
  28. Oct 13, 2010
    5
    I really like Jonah Hill and Russell Brand, but this movie as a complete composition wasn't as great as it could have been. I feel like the writing just didn't give them a lot to work with. There were sporadic funny parts, but overall a boring movie. Having said that, I would love to see them paired up in a movie again.
  29. Nov 2, 2010
    7
    A Film Review By: Sam Fragoso

    "Get Him To The Greek" *** Russel Brand renews his role as "Aldous Snow" from "Forgetting Sarah Marshall", in the new outrageous comedy "Get Him To The Greek". Review Teamwork and chemistry. I think it's the key to most films, but in particular comedies. As you have seen the few comedies I have liked this year it had great cast's with loads of chemistry
    A Film Review By: Sam Fragoso

    "Get Him To The Greek"

    ***

    Russel Brand renews his role as "Aldous Snow" from "Forgetting Sarah Marshall", in the new outrageous comedy "Get Him To The Greek".


    Review
    Teamwork and chemistry. I think it's the key to most films, but in particular comedies. As you have seen the few comedies I have liked this year it had great cast's with loads of chemistry (Hot Tub Time Machine and The Other Guys).

    Nicholas Stoller who directed "Forgetting Sarah Marshall" is really good at balancing comedic moments and genuine romantic scenes. With that being said, "Get Him To The Greek" does what a lot of comedies do these days, which is it's funny for half of the film then towards last quarter of the the movie it gets really repetitive and drawn out.

    However the last ten minutes of the movie were extremely funny and honestly most of that credit goes to Jonah Hill (Superbad and Funny People) and surprisingly P-Diddy. "Get Him To Greek" is not nearly as audacious and unforgettable as "Forgetting Sarah Marshall", but it's still a good mix of slap-stick comedy and good story telling from Stoller and Segel. B for "Get Him To The Greek"
    Expand
  30. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    Very very funny, right there along the lines of Forgetting Sarah Marshall. Diddy kills it, he steals the movie, w/o him it wouldn't have been nearly as good.
  31. Jan 24, 2011
    5
    P. Diddy was the only funny thing about this movie. Rest of the movie was pretty much pointless and boring. Jonah Hill and Russell Brand were retarded as always, unfunny dull characters.
  32. Apr 17, 2011
    0
    The trailers of this movie were so misleading as they indicated that this movie may actually be funny. Russell Brand and Jonah Hill seemed like a dynamite pair to put in a comedy film, but they are accompanied by a terrible story and a mediocre script, filled with a few funny parts. This movie should be renamed "Get Me The Hell Out Of This Cinema So That I Don't Need To Watch This JunkThe trailers of this movie were so misleading as they indicated that this movie may actually be funny. Russell Brand and Jonah Hill seemed like a dynamite pair to put in a comedy film, but they are accompanied by a terrible story and a mediocre script, filled with a few funny parts. This movie should be renamed "Get Me The Hell Out Of This Cinema So That I Don't Need To Watch This Junk Anymore". Harsh, but true. Expand
  33. Nov 30, 2012
    0
    This was actually the worst movie I've ever seen. I didn't find any of the jokes funny and in fact a lot of the jokes just made me angry. I had moderate hopes for this being the sort of sequel for "Forgetting Sarah Marshall" but this movie just left me feeling angry. I sat through the whole movie thinking "This has to get better, right?" but it didn't. If you like a movie with mindlessThis was actually the worst movie I've ever seen. I didn't find any of the jokes funny and in fact a lot of the jokes just made me angry. I had moderate hopes for this being the sort of sequel for "Forgetting Sarah Marshall" but this movie just left me feeling angry. I sat through the whole movie thinking "This has to get better, right?" but it didn't. If you like a movie with mindless swearing and crude stupid humor then maybe you'll find this movie funny but I most certainly didn't have a good time at all. Expand
  34. Aug 25, 2012
    5
    A very watchable film, but it just doesn't reach the heights set by its predecessor Forgetting Sarah Marshall. I also find it extremely strange that Jonah Hill plays two completely different characters in the two films. However this film does have its funny points, especially Brand who has another stormer. However Jonah Hill would perhaps be more comfortable in a similar-ish role toA very watchable film, but it just doesn't reach the heights set by its predecessor Forgetting Sarah Marshall. I also find it extremely strange that Jonah Hill plays two completely different characters in the two films. However this film does have its funny points, especially Brand who has another stormer. However Jonah Hill would perhaps be more comfortable in a similar-ish role to Brand's rather than the more serious role that he played. I think he struggled a little. Expand
  35. Nov 8, 2012
    4
    It isn't terrible, but it needed better writing. It was hit-or-miss humor. Example: the african child bit is hilarious, the jamming drugs up one's ass in the middle of an airport is silly and sophomoric. The character played by Russel Brand is more annoying this time around. He might be best as a supporting character.
  36. AMovieCritic
    Jun 5, 2010
    9
    A lot better than I thought it would be based on the commercials. One of the funniest movies I've seen in a long time.
  37. PaulR.
    Jun 13, 2010
    8
    I would give it an 8.5, and its definately the best movie i've seen this year so far. Probaly the funniest movie since Tropic Thunder, i never knew Russel Brand was so funny. Seth Rogen and suprsingly P Diddy are hilarious as well (maybe his character should get the next spin-off?) and was also a little touching as well. If your going to see something this month, make it Get Him To I would give it an 8.5, and its definately the best movie i've seen this year so far. Probaly the funniest movie since Tropic Thunder, i never knew Russel Brand was so funny. Seth Rogen and suprsingly P Diddy are hilarious as well (maybe his character should get the next spin-off?) and was also a little touching as well. If your going to see something this month, make it Get Him To The Greek. Expand
  38. OliverN.
    Jun 4, 2010
    9
    The "Hangover" of 2010.
  39. jb
    Jun 5, 2010
    8
    I'm simple minded so I thought I was going to just a "cheap laughs" show. Turns out that the laughs are there, and the movies got bits that I felt existential, as well as expose-ish about; good stuff. I think the reality within the movie is too generous though, because the main character (the fat semi-wimpy dude with the Michael Cera-ish demeanor) is just like me, yet I could never I'm simple minded so I thought I was going to just a "cheap laughs" show. Turns out that the laughs are there, and the movies got bits that I felt existential, as well as expose-ish about; good stuff. I think the reality within the movie is too generous though, because the main character (the fat semi-wimpy dude with the Michael Cera-ish demeanor) is just like me, yet I could never land the kind of ladies or jobs that this guy gets. Expand
  40. RichardW
    Jun 5, 2010
    9
    Hysterical and gross in this instance produce a well-acted rock and roll comedy that rarely slows down from start to finish. Brand and Hill make for a classic odd couple.
  41. StephenP
    Jun 5, 2010
    9
    Probably the funniest movie I've seen in a while. I enjoyed this movie more in theatres than I did The Hangover.
  42. MaximillianR
    Jun 5, 2010
    10
    Funny as can be, its a total mind fuck, even if you don't feel my dick in your brain
  43. JamesP
    Jun 5, 2010
    10
    Easily the funniest movie since Superbad.
  44. joer
    Jun 5, 2010
    10
    One of the best movies in awhile, since all the useless i dont wanna see movies came out. There is one part where they smoke weed with p.diddy, really amazing part. i have never laughed 5mins straight in a movie or saw something so epicly awsome.
  45. AlexC.
    Jun 6, 2010
    10
    HILARIOUS. whole theatre was cracking up for 2 hours. P. Diddy......friggin' hysterical
  46. Trevor
    Jun 6, 2010
    9
    Extremely funny and worth the price of admission. I doubt I went 5 minutes without laughing. Go see this if you enjoyed The Hangover, Superbad, Pineapple express etc.
  47. ChadS.
    Jun 11, 2010
    7
    Unbeknownst to Aaron Green, he has a doppleganger; his name is Matthew van der Wyk, a hapless waiter/aspiring rock star who works at a Hawaiian resort, and they're both played by Jonah Hill. As Aaron, an intern for a major label record company, Hill gives what amounts to a naive meta-performance, in which he incognizantly reprises his role from Nicholas Stoller's "Forgetting Unbeknownst to Aaron Green, he has a doppleganger; his name is Matthew van der Wyk, a hapless waiter/aspiring rock star who works at a Hawaiian resort, and they're both played by Jonah Hill. As Aaron, an intern for a major label record company, Hill gives what amounts to a naive meta-performance, in which he incognizantly reprises his role from Nicholas Stoller's "Forgetting Sarah Marshall", as both star and filmmaker pay incidental homage to Polish filmmaker Krzysztof Kieslowski, since the music industry flunky in "Get Him to the Greek", like the hotel employee soaking up the Oahu sun from the 2008 film starring Jason Siegel, are similar in that they're likeminded music lovers who gush over the same rock star, Infant Sorrow frontman Aldous Snow(Russell Brand). Before Kieslowski achieved international recognition with "Trzy Kolory"(American title: "The Three Colours Trilogy"), he made "The Double Life of Veronique", starring Irene Jacobs in a dual role, giving a bravura but subtle performance as duplicate musical artists, Veronika and the titular character, singers both, whereas Aaron and Matthew are groupies both, living in two different countries(Hawaii and the United States), as does the indistinguishable women(Poland and France), who almost meet, when Veronika sees Veronique fleetingly on a Krakow sidewalk through the window of a moving bus. The only windows condusive to the transfiguration of abiding doubles in "Get Him to the Greek" are Aldous' eyes, where Matthew sees the future, sees Aaron, a potential A & R man who might listen to his demo tape should the junkie rock star pass it along. But does true synchronicity exist between the men? While Veronique is hit by an unidentifiable jolt of melancholy following Veronika's onstage collapse during a sold-out concert, it's only speculation as to how Matthew would react, presuming there's a communique between both strangers, after Aldous gives Aaron a shot of adrenaline to stave off a drug overdose. Expand
  48. IvanK.
    Jun 13, 2010
    10
    This is probably the best comedy of the summer, even better than forgetting Sarah Marshall, Russel Brand is hilarious.
  49. JudM
    Jun 6, 2010
    10
    Good movie, go russel!
  50. DaveJ.
    Jun 7, 2010
    10
    Had everybody in the theater laughing thru-out. Music was great also. Had more than just laughs. It made you think about some tough topics in a funny way.
  51. DannyS.
    Jun 9, 2010
    10
    Just as good as Forgetting Sarah Marshall! I loved it, laughs from beginning to end!
  52. AlanG
    Jun 16, 2010
    10
    This movie is racist, offensive, disgusting, and extremely inappropriate. It's also one of the best comedies I've ever seen.
  53. Nov 6, 2010
    9
    Don't let the fact that you may not like Russel Brand hinder you from seeing this movie. He will make you love his shtick in this film. He's hilarious.
  54. Oct 30, 2010
    6
    It resembles the movie Hangover in some ways. I love Russell Brand and his dry British cynicism. Jonah Hill is a good complement to the cast and brings some funny moments when he tries things for the first time... If you are not squeamish and you are not easily offended, you might like it too.
  55. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    I loved Forgetting Sarah Marshall so to see Jonah Hill and Russell Brand together again was something I didn't want to miss. Get Him To The Greek is on the whole a funny film. The comedy wasn't quite as funny as I perhaps thought it would be but I still love it and will watch it over and over again.
  56. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    I watched this movie maybe a year ago and loved it. Then I watched it again today.... AND I LOVE IT EVEN MORE!!!! This movie is rediculously unpredictable for the first time viewer, mostly do to the improv-ious nature of the film. Most of the movie was created on the shoulders of the actors involved. That is how you know you are dealing with a great cast. A movie that can make youI watched this movie maybe a year ago and loved it. Then I watched it again today.... AND I LOVE IT EVEN MORE!!!! This movie is rediculously unpredictable for the first time viewer, mostly do to the improv-ious nature of the film. Most of the movie was created on the shoulders of the actors involved. That is how you know you are dealing with a great cast. A movie that can make you laugh out loud (lol) throughout on the 8th time viewing it is worth owning, which as of today, I do. Brand and Hill are such a classic duo. The antics of Brand's character Aldous Snow are beyond outrages but the way Jonah Hill's character Aaron Green deals with his antics is what makes the movie a must-see. Absolutely worth your time to check this one out! 10/10 Expand
  57. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    Hilarious. Battle for funniest movie of the year is between this and "Hot Tub Time Machine." If you have a personality and sense of humor, you'll love this movie. If you're in the church choir, never rolled a joint and married the girl (or guy) that took your virginity, it's not for you. Just that simple.
  58. Nov 29, 2010
    7
    Russell Brand, Jonah Hill, and Diddy. You put all three of them into a movie and you get this hilarious and raunchy comedy. This is probably one of the good comedies of the year 2010. Talk about a bad year in movies, there is practically no good comedies these days. Comedies like Killers, Sex and the City 2, Cop Out, and Furry Vengeance all bombed in the box office and critics hated them.Russell Brand, Jonah Hill, and Diddy. You put all three of them into a movie and you get this hilarious and raunchy comedy. This is probably one of the good comedies of the year 2010. Talk about a bad year in movies, there is practically no good comedies these days. Comedies like Killers, Sex and the City 2, Cop Out, and Furry Vengeance all bombed in the box office and critics hated them. Although Get Him to the Greek is raunchy and full of sex jokes, it still got me laughing my ass off. I enjoyed this very much and writing a long review for a comedy like this isn't my style. Expand
  59. Nov 30, 2010
    6
    While it was funny and it bowed into the humor of today it seemed to much. Trying to hard to be funny and being funny are to very different things. Jonah Hill and Russel Brand are very funny and do great together but i think it lacked the proper script for these two. they needed more off the script stuff to make it flow together and not so written.
  60. May 8, 2011
    7
    The movie was alright. If I had to pick the best actor, it would be P Diddy. Jonah Hill was quite good as well and so was Russell Brand. Very good humour as well.
  61. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    6
    P. Diddy steals the show, Russel Brand's character wears thin fast. Where in Forgetting Sarah Marshall he's hilarious in small doses.
  62. Aug 7, 2011
    9
    A truly hilarious movie. Russel Brand, Rose Byrne and P.Diddy make this film. Character and joke driven, this is what a light comedy should be. The plot is simple: Get Him to The Greek, everything else is free range. A riot. Can be watched multiple times and still be enjoyed. The soundtrack (that was done by the actual cast for a change) was great. Aldious Snow is larger than life and yetA truly hilarious movie. Russel Brand, Rose Byrne and P.Diddy make this film. Character and joke driven, this is what a light comedy should be. The plot is simple: Get Him to The Greek, everything else is free range. A riot. Can be watched multiple times and still be enjoyed. The soundtrack (that was done by the actual cast for a change) was great. Aldious Snow is larger than life and yet Russel brand is able to take this and build him into a ridiculous and yet very human and flawed character. 1 point deduction because Jonah Hill throws up too much. Expand
  63. Aug 25, 2011
    8
    This movie is hilarious at all times and because of that, it is entertaing at all times. Russel Brand's performance is right up with his Forgetting Sarah Marshall one.
  64. Aug 27, 2011
    7
    There's not much to analyze in Get Him to the Greek. All you need to know is that it is a very funny film, due to Russell Brand's tactic to make his ridiculous character seem like he could exist in real life. And, come to think of it, he probably did.
  65. Nov 16, 2011
    6
    GET HIM TO THE GREEK is a good comedy film, even though there are many funny moments, I felt disappointed after I watched it.
  66. Aug 18, 2012
    8
    Funny, exaggerated and unfair, laughs roll naturally and this film manages to make something positive from the excesses, the jokes are great and the acting is not far behind, a great option for anyone laugh.
  67. Jan 28, 2012
    6
    Some top-notch direction and an interesting, original story help to make Get Him to the Greek more watchable than the script would allow on its own. The gags are all centred around drugs, alcohol and sex, which are mostly handled crudely; allowing for little variety, even in the many farcical situations the two leads find themselves in. The cast put up an acceptable performance, thoughSome top-notch direction and an interesting, original story help to make Get Him to the Greek more watchable than the script would allow on its own. The gags are all centred around drugs, alcohol and sex, which are mostly handled crudely; allowing for little variety, even in the many farcical situations the two leads find themselves in. The cast put up an acceptable performance, though Jonah Hill's awkward deadpan can become a little tiring. As stated, the direction is excellent -- especially for a comedy -- but the writing is just too dependent on the audience's tolerance of Brand's ego to be consistently enjoyable. Expand
  68. Dec 14, 2014
    4
    A one trick pony of sex and drugs that gets old very quickly. Russell Brand is a horrible actor that needs to stay off the screen. Had some laughs here and there but Get Him to the Greek is a below average film.
  69. Nov 7, 2012
    7
    I keep saying it over and over, but I do because it's worth saying. Jonah Hill will do very well as an actor. I've seen him master comedy, now I'd like to see him take a shot at drama.
  70. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    It's surprisingly good acting and worthwhile thematic elements make up for some undoubtedly awkward moments.
  71. Feb 18, 2013
    7
    Decent comedy but at the end of the day there isn't much here that I haven't seen before from the genre or the film's main stars so it tends to blend in with the rest of them. Hill Brand are good together don't get me wrong, but both can get annoying at times as funny as they can be. Storyline was decent, but again noting special. A few good laughs here and there but nothing compared toDecent comedy but at the end of the day there isn't much here that I haven't seen before from the genre or the film's main stars so it tends to blend in with the rest of them. Hill Brand are good together don't get me wrong, but both can get annoying at times as funny as they can be. Storyline was decent, but again noting special. A few good laughs here and there but nothing compared to the better works we have seen from this team before, so its good but not the best. Expand
  72. Aug 2, 2013
    7
    I could have a few of these tracks saved on my phone. If I'm honest: I could easily brush my teeth to African child. Russell Brand is at his comic and simple best as Aldous Snow while Jonah Hill leaves something to be desired. I expected Jonah to pull material from 'Superbad' or 'Knocked Up' to shape his character but while the guy looks older he loses his comedic edge to Brand andI could have a few of these tracks saved on my phone. If I'm honest: I could easily brush my teeth to African child. Russell Brand is at his comic and simple best as Aldous Snow while Jonah Hill leaves something to be desired. I expected Jonah to pull material from 'Superbad' or 'Knocked Up' to shape his character but while the guy looks older he loses his comedic edge to Brand and P-Diddy. The plot isn't fantastic, nor is it expected to be. However, 'Get Him To The Greek' with its rocking soundtrack is quite enjoyable. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. What transpires gives fresh meaning to ‘sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll.'
  2. Never achieves the propulsive traction and outrageous/endearing balance that made "The Hangover" such a smash this time last year.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    70
    Barring a few lapses, the gags fly by in rapid-fire fashion, and enough of them connect -- thanks in part to the amusing mix of Hill's hang-dog demeanor with Brand's lanky, relentless hedonism.