Paramount Pictures | Release Date: November 9, 2005
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 122 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
60
Mixed:
6
Negative:
56
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
MikeF.Nov 10, 2005
Why are people hating on this movie. This movie was awesome. Its not 8 mile. Its better than 8 mile.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BobS.Nov 11, 2005
Really good....50 cent is a great man.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BenTraversNov 13, 2005
Solid, powerful film. A statement as much as his music is.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
BenM.Nov 8, 2005
The opening scene is pretty good, but it's downhill from there. Terence Howard as Bama is the best thing is this film, he steals the movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
2PacGameNov 11, 2005
50 Cent is not an actor & not a RAPPER.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
keithhNov 18, 2005
OUTSTANDING MOVIE. 50 cent is awesome.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ZNov 19, 2005
This is what you get when you let rappers touch a camera!! Go and buy a personal-sized pizza, its a much much better buy. Watch it only if its the only movie available in town, or you are a real "fanatic".
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
LingX.Nov 20, 2005
The alternative title could be "Act or DIE TRYIN' "
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TerranceGNov 21, 2005
Fiddy is the worst actor I have ever seen star in a movie. The studio execs who greenlighted this garbage must have been high.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SavyNov 11, 2005
This is a negative movie for society. Movie promotes violence is good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JacksonNov 11, 2005
Waste of time and money.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JohnB.Nov 10, 2005
That was the biggest waste of my time. I also can't understand why people think they can be incredibly rude and loud in movies about rappers, I don't understand how people could be proud of such a horrible character, and no one That was the biggest waste of my time. I also can't understand why people think they can be incredibly rude and loud in movies about rappers, I don't understand how people could be proud of such a horrible character, and no one should be surprised that someone was shot at this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SeanQNov 15, 2005
Mr. Cent is brilliant. The nuances with which he portrays his character are so convincing, so effortless, and so richly detailed that it must make every graduate of Julliard absolutely mad with jealousy to see him prancing around sans Mr. Cent is brilliant. The nuances with which he portrays his character are so convincing, so effortless, and so richly detailed that it must make every graduate of Julliard absolutely mad with jealousy to see him prancing around sans chemise, dropping line after memorable line, as Mr. Doggy-Dogg says, "like it's hot." And not since Psycho has the "shower scene" had such an emotional impact on an audience. Philip Seymour Hoffman doesn't stand a chance at the Oscars! Bravo, Mr. Cent! Bravo! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoNov 10, 2005
A very good film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeNov 10, 2005
I'm not a big fan of 50's music, but i thought this movie was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
briand.Nov 29, 2005
It was tight.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesM.Nov 8, 2005
This movie is awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KennethB.Nov 9, 2005
50 Cent is not an actor, this movie is a charade to his career. Well i think he's over his head with himself. he's trying to win over people with this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EduardoNov 9, 2005
The bass rattling the rearview mirror in the credit sequence is as good as it got. They should of cast Lil Dice from City of God to play Fiddy when he was a kid. I walked away from this movie thinking that Terrance Howard needs an Oscar nod The bass rattling the rearview mirror in the credit sequence is as good as it got. They should of cast Lil Dice from City of God to play Fiddy when he was a kid. I walked away from this movie thinking that Terrance Howard needs an Oscar nod for Hustle and Flow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NickK.Dec 16, 2005
Truly dire. Should be renamed Get Rich with Bad Actin'.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisD.Jan 16, 2006
There is bound to be negative reviews and i bet that most the people who have slated this movie had already made up their mind before they saw it. I was tahnkfully the opposite, afetr readin a few reviews in which it was torn apart i was There is bound to be negative reviews and i bet that most the people who have slated this movie had already made up their mind before they saw it. I was tahnkfully the opposite, afetr readin a few reviews in which it was torn apart i was going in anticipating 2hrs of 50 Cent showing off his bling and enhancing his gangsta reputation. I was pleasently surprised. The opening scene which combines some masterful directing by Sheridan and a Bass beating tune by 50 (I'll Whip Ya Head Boy) actually makes u think that the movie aint gonig to be that abd and the film is in capable hands. And it is. Sheridan carries it through with some surprisingly adequate acting by 50 Cent. Screen time isnt taken up by rapping which works well as when 50 does rap it has a greater impact. Good support acting make this an enjoyable. If you go into this with a clear mind and willinmg to except its a good advert for his soundtrack then you will enjoy this above average gangsta movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexZ.Jan 29, 2006
First off: I know, I know I don't like 50 Cent that's why I'm giving it a bad rating. While this is out of the way, though I hope you noticed the sarcasm, I may be able to state my opinion on this movie. Even though I First off: I know, I know I don't like 50 Cent that's why I'm giving it a bad rating. While this is out of the way, though I hope you noticed the sarcasm, I may be able to state my opinion on this movie. Even though I ain't a fan of him a good friend of mine is. So that day I had nothing to do and he made his best to convince me watching this movie. I went there without any prejudices because I never really cared about 50 Cent and 2Pac shown us that rappers CAN be able to act ok. Though the whole movie reminded me of a movie which my friend shown me a few weeks before and which was one of the worst I've ever seen . State Property. If you know that movie you'll understand what kind of acting and what a "deep" storyline is gonna await you. If you go there because you love his music then better listen to his CDs. All in all I have to agree with 2Pac Game. 50 Cent first made fun out of the music industry, now its the movie industry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ZackL.Jun 16, 2006
I loved it! The story is well-paced, the script isn't half as bad as people claim it to be, the setting and music is great and the characters are interesting. It may not be as good as 8 mile, but Get Rich or Die Tryin' is still an I loved it! The story is well-paced, the script isn't half as bad as people claim it to be, the setting and music is great and the characters are interesting. It may not be as good as 8 mile, but Get Rich or Die Tryin' is still an inspiring and well-directed movie. I definately recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillP.Nov 11, 2005
Really good movie !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RockstarakaCysseroNov 11, 2005
Gave it a0: Wow can this guy not act or what? What a shameless, uninspired attempt to cash in on a hot-selling music "artist." This ghetto-to-riches storyline is way too familiar, and when the lead is outacted by his medallions, well... If Gave it a0: Wow can this guy not act or what? What a shameless, uninspired attempt to cash in on a hot-selling music "artist." This ghetto-to-riches storyline is way too familiar, and when the lead is outacted by his medallions, well... If you want to buy this guy's songs, go for it, but if you want to watch a movie there are so many other worthwhile films in the world. This is not a story someone was burning or yearning to tell, this is a bunch of managers and executives in a room trying to make money. See it for what it is and pass on this insulting attempt to make a rich man richer. DO NOT SEE THIS FILM co-sign DO NOT SEE THIS FILM. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshPNov 12, 2005
One of the best movies of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
macp.Nov 16, 2005
Very good!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DariusSNov 17, 2005
I loved get rich or die tryin..Me and 50 grew up together but i moved away and he stayed in Jamaica.so we lost contact..so 50 big ups on ur movie and i hope to see u soon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TPOLKNov 19, 2005
Good work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TimboDNov 20, 2005

Lol, no he just didn't call him Mr. Cent, lol ! The movie sux lol.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SpongeeeNov 30, 2005
Its an OK movie except for the script. Very badly written through and through. The acting is not bad at all, just wish the there were better characters. Story is so-so and its not an all out violent mess like the media makes it to be. To my Its an OK movie except for the script. Very badly written through and through. The acting is not bad at all, just wish the there were better characters. Story is so-so and its not an all out violent mess like the media makes it to be. To my suprise it didnt' feel like a 2 hour movie...so it has its ups as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RappityRapBlingHipHopYoYoGatsCristalNov 8, 2005
Wow can this guy not act or what? What a shameless, uninspired attempt to cash in on a hot-selling music "artist." This ghetto-to-riches storyline is way too familiar, and when the lead is outacted by his medallions, well... If you want to Wow can this guy not act or what? What a shameless, uninspired attempt to cash in on a hot-selling music "artist." This ghetto-to-riches storyline is way too familiar, and when the lead is outacted by his medallions, well... If you want to buy this guy's songs, go for it, but if you want to watch a movie there are so many other worthwhile films in the world. This is not a story someone was burning or yearning to tell, this is a bunch of managers and executives in a room trying to make money. See it for what it is and pass on this insulting attempt to make a rich man richer. DO NOT SEE THIS FILM. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MartinS.Nov 8, 2005
His music is decent at best, but this movie almost made me hang myself for watching it. I would rather rub myself in bloody chum and swim with sharks than go watch this so called movie again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
carrieNov 9, 2005
Amazing movie i loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BoydS.Nov 9, 2005
How many of these "crack dealer turned rapper" movies must we endure?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChrissyFeb 11, 2006
Honestly.. is it really a surprise that this movie is so terrible? The plot really only appeals to one person. And that's 50 Cent himself. The acting (especially on his part) is absolutely appauling; and there is absolutely nothing that Honestly.. is it really a surprise that this movie is so terrible? The plot really only appeals to one person. And that's 50 Cent himself. The acting (especially on his part) is absolutely appauling; and there is absolutely nothing that makes this movie particularly interesting. In my opinion the only people who should go to see this movie are die-hard 50 Cent fans. However I have the greatest suspicion that no one who enjoys his music, will enjoy his acting quite as well. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregL.Mar 21, 2006
Way above what I thought it would be. I like the story line and it made me wish for a few minutes that my occupation was a "Gangsta" as 50 so cooly says to his future wife in the movie. If you like 50/Eminem/or Dr. Dre you should check this Way above what I thought it would be. I like the story line and it made me wish for a few minutes that my occupation was a "Gangsta" as 50 so cooly says to his future wife in the movie. If you like 50/Eminem/or Dr. Dre you should check this out it really has a decent story and i'm for sure buying it when it comes out next tuesday on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesR.Oct 31, 2007
The concept was dreadful, acting pathetic. How did this even get off the shelf?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricENov 11, 2005
Perhaps the best movie of all time.Along the lines of Casablanca or Gone with the Wind but not Citizen Cane.Mr.50 is perhaps the first natural born actor.Beating out Pacino , Deniro or Hanks.Might of been slightly better if Ron Howard directed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BullCent!Nov 14, 2005
Cliched, dumb, and why do I want to root for him? Life is hard for everyone, but 50 cent gets to glorify his immaturity and make a movie. He still isn't a man. And worse for a movie he can't act!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ToddG.Nov 14, 2005
My friend bet me 20 dollars that I couldn't sit through this entire movie. Needless to say, I lost 20 dollars today. It glorifies violence in a most ungloriful way, someone should really put this 50 cents guy away. Oh look I rhymed! Now My friend bet me 20 dollars that I couldn't sit through this entire movie. Needless to say, I lost 20 dollars today. It glorifies violence in a most ungloriful way, someone should really put this 50 cents guy away. Oh look I rhymed! Now if I can get shot a few times I can star in movies like this regardless of my acting ability. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
2centsNov 14, 2005
I believe 50 cent has it all wrong. He should be paying us to see his movie. And it sure as hell better be more than 50 cents.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZackANov 15, 2005
One of the best movies i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WyattW.Nov 17, 2005
One of the best movies i ever seen. and the soundtrack is geart. 50 cent is going to go don in history.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KurtO.Dec 11, 2005
I thought it was pretty good. Anyone who thinks it's terrible just doesn't like 50 Cent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TBDOPEY22Feb 22, 2011
I thought it was a great documentary of his life. Yes there were something change to make it more interesting for the big screen, but the basic outline was there. It was also a good look into the streets and what goes on out there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Chrislake94Jun 8, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was powerful, emotional and violent. So the 45 Cry babies who couldn't handle the film because of that go watch Princess Diaries or something. This movie is not suitable for everyone and won't hit a wide ranges of audiences, even if most of 50's fan base. It is a very hard hitting film espiacially when his mother is murdered. For someone who doesnt do any acting and is able to do this entire film I couldn't rate this low. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ThegodfathersonNov 10, 2013
50 Cent was brilliant and Terence Howard was epic. Get Rich Or Die Tryin' is one of the best films of the year, period. Jim Sheridian has done a great job directing and 50 Cent rocks in acting. A story about ghettos, drug wars and violence50 Cent was brilliant and Terence Howard was epic. Get Rich Or Die Tryin' is one of the best films of the year, period. Jim Sheridian has done a great job directing and 50 Cent rocks in acting. A story about ghettos, drug wars and violence that will effect a man's son. The raw debut by 50 Cent was perfect and the songs were great as well. People think its a waste of time and a negative society movie, but this film is hard hitting and powerful with sadistic violence that made me cry till the end. Such a emotional film that its excellent. The story is powerful and the ghetto story, goes deep down into the gangs of power. Portrayal was beautiful and acting was breathtaking. Maybe not for the soft hearted but for the lovers out there- Get Rich Or Die Tryin' is the most engaging films in history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SqueelshnickyDec 30, 2014
You'd need to know about Fifty cent's life to enjoy this film, but I thought it was great. It's an extremely tense film and one I would recommend to any other Fifty cent fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews