Metascore
23

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 34
  2. Negative: 26 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Aug 29, 2013
    67
    Gomez is a nonstarter as an actor, alternating dully between petulance and indifference. Hawke compensates with a vivid, ferocious performance that doesn’t go over the top.
  2. Reviewed by:  Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Aug 28, 2013
    42
    For the most part, Getaway lacks tension and violence. Strobe cuts rob the stunts of any sense of motion; twisting metal, seen in half-second snippets, becomes abstracted texture. While it’s possible to appreciate this stuff on an individual level, it doesn’t quite add up to an action-movie whole.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Aug 30, 2013
    38
    The car chase thriller Getaway has a wild premise and few good moments, and if there were an Oscar for wrecking police cars, it would absolutely win.
  4. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Aug 29, 2013
    25
    Though always speeding forward in some gear of ridiculousness, the film is a lot more fun when it's completely nonsensical, before its baddie's motives and harebrained plot are funnel-fed to the viewer.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Aug 29, 2013
    25
    You've probably seen this movie before, watching a child play with his toy Hot Wheels cars after eating multiple bowls of sugary breakfast cereal.
  6. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Aug 31, 2013
    20
    The smash-and-crash chase scenes are numbingly dull.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Aug 28, 2013
    0
    It's understandable that larger scale movies will want to spawn sequels, but this is about two degrees away from being a movie that premieres on Cinemax on a Friday night, sandwiched between two soft core porn movies with funny titles. Getaway is stuck in neutral. And that's where it'll stay.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 37
  2. Negative: 21 out of 37
  1. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Love this movie...don't know why everyone is hating on Selena, she was great. Maybe it was a little hard but really? She's only 21, cut her some slack. Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    5
    Was not good and not to bad. The acting are so poor and the movie was to silly with that Selena Gomez that act like a child statue because she looks like Kristen Stweart in the Twilight Movies. Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2013
    4
    Just because I gave Paranoia a 10, doesn't mean I like bad movies. While Paranoia was entertaining enough, Getaway is pretty much a 90 minute long car chase. Ethan Hawke is not very interesting. Selena Gomez is pretty annoying as "The Kid", and is only there to mutter curse words at poor Brent Magna. It isn't too interesting and is a bit far-fetched; the storyline/plot is pretty weak. It's like Liam Neeson's "Taken" on wheels, but with less satisfying action. Also, the ending makes no sense; what was the real mastermind's objective/ plan?

    If you liked this review (or if you didn't, you can still) read my other work on a wide variety of movies, TV shows, and videogames and mark this review as helpful. Remember, every vote counts!

    (P.S, you may have read this and other reviews by me under the name "andrewgarcia732". I can't get enter my old account and have started a new one.)
    Expand
  4. Sep 7, 2013
    2
    Getaway really had me thinking on the way out of the theater, was it an ad for GoPro, or the Mustang? I have to say, the biggest star in the film was the beauty. Not Selena Gomez, but the Shelby GT500 Super Snake. Getaway features Ethan Hawkee, Selena Gomez, and Jon Voight, which was the original reason for my interest in the film. With such an interesting cast I wondered how the film would perform on screen. Getaway is the story of Brent Magna (Ethan Hawkee) former pro racecar driver, whose wife is taken. To get her back, Magna has to steal a car, and basically crash whatever Jon Voight tells him to. Many people at this point would consider me listing Jon Voight a spoiler but when you see the movie, you’ll immediately know it’s him even with his face partially obscured.

    Getaway truly wasn't a bad movie; it just was a struggle to get through. The more the film went on, the more pissed, me and other film critics became. Director Courtney Solomon made some big mistakes with the film, such as shooting 75% of the movie with GoPro's. I'm pretty sure there’s a rule in the Producing for Dummies about that. It was cool for a few minutes and then my head started to hurt watching the film switch from regular movie quality, to whatever lower quality the GoPro records at. Their must've been at least 15 of them on the car and that was the majority of the footage used in the film. It was funny to see all of them disguised in these cheap black tubes, and when you see them, you just know their GoPro’s, such as in picture one.

    Whoever decided to cast Selena Gomez, should also be fired, and banned from any job related to movies. She was just so bad it was amusing, and embarrassing at the same time. Let's face it, she's not a tough person, and I think the funniest part of the film was her aiming a gun at Ethan Hawke. It seemed out of place, and there are tons of actresses I could list, who could've taken her place, and done a better job in the roll. There's a scene when "the voice" (Voight) tells Hawke to kill "the kid" (Selena Gomez), and he refuses saying he's not a killer, and Voight says "good, because you will need her help." At that point I felt like it was our cue to take a bathroom break and get some more popcorn. What I’ve picked up in a lot of action movies lately is the unnecessary jump-cuts, and Getaway makes no effort in an attempt to prevent them. No doubt, a few of the car chases, and crashes were eye pleasing to watch, but when its nonstop camera angle cuts, and shaky scenes, the film loses some of my respect. I just felt that with an 18 million dollar budget, they could've hired some better editors, so the high end car scenes could've been better appreciated.

    Another flaw in Selena Gomez's role (other than that she is Selena Gomez in an action movie), is that all of the "computer hacking" she does is on a iPad. I'm not sure who on the crew thought it was a good idea, but they too deserve to be eliminated from the film industry. No hacker can be taken seriously doing their work on an iPad unless of course they are Face timing another hacker.

    I will say that despite all of the negative things I’ve explained about this film, there is an amazing car chase at the end all in one take, in first person, for two minutes. Also, I think Ethan Hawke did a phenomenal job in the film, convincing me he was the character. I feel the film would’ve been much better if I saw the trailer, and just the last ten minutes.

    Overall if you’re a fan of car crashes (especially at the end) I highly recommend Getaway. I would see it over Mortal Instruments: City of Bones any day, but other than that, it is a movie with much potential, held back by a crappy script, and Selena Gomez. I am sad to say that the film owned up to its title, and literally makes you want to “Get Away,” from the movie.
    Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    1
    90 minutes of driving car in Bulgaria is that supposed to be interesting?. Boring & flawed story, terrible directing, awful action. One of the worst movie of the year(along with Scary Movie 5 & Grown Ups 2) Collapse
  6. Sep 1, 2013
    1
    There's really no point of this movie. It's a terrible action movie with an extremely unoriginal story idea, bad screenplay and even bad acting. The only redeeming quality is the action. Other than that, this movie SUCKS! Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    Interesting plot is ruined by weak dialogue. Terrible acting, Mostly from Gomez because she seems so very uninterested and bored through out the course, She is one of the bigger reasons why this movie sucks so much. The film's biggest flaw is the piss-poor job done editing it. Cutting away from a main action scene to another shorter scene from a different angle, It just ruins the flow of the film and never allows the viewer to get a true look at the action through out. I think if it were re-edited, and they actually take their time with it, it'd at least be more watchable.

    Overall, Getaway is a massive disappointment and that's a shame because this film had the potential to earn 2-3 times it's budget in theaters. People, like myself, love action packed low budget films that just jumps right into the action without having wait a half hour or longer to do so. It was just so poorly done that it absolutely killed all hope for it.
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Trailers