User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 48
  2. Negative: 3 out of 48

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CodyK.
    Aug 24, 2005
    8
    A very mature movie that can be best categorized as a psychological drama. The drama overpowers the thriller aspect, in my opinion. Not only can you find great depth in the story, but the characters
  2. DanB.
    Sep 20, 2004
    8
    Who knew cartoon characters read Descartes and the Bible? This film is an esoteric quote-orgy, but has a good story and stronger characters than most movies, look cool, has a sense of humor... and strangely, the characters here look more real and in place than they do in any scene in Sky Captain.
  3. ChazG
    Sep 25, 2004
    8
    A spectacular combination of ultra modern CGI and traditional animation cells. Best I have ever seen. Action scenes are absolutly TOP NOTCH. The story keeps you involed but at times veers off into surrealism. I strongly reccommend having viewed the original Ghost in the Shell feature film before attempting this one. My only dissapointment was the lack of Major Kusanagi through most of the A spectacular combination of ultra modern CGI and traditional animation cells. Best I have ever seen. Action scenes are absolutly TOP NOTCH. The story keeps you involed but at times veers off into surrealism. I strongly reccommend having viewed the original Ghost in the Shell feature film before attempting this one. My only dissapointment was the lack of Major Kusanagi through most of the movie. Unfortunatly this film is limited release in theatres. It was over an hour drive for me to see this film and well worth the trip. Expand
  4. DCleve
    Jan 20, 2005
    8
    Breathtaking visuals and thought provoking would describe this anime the best. I would not attempt to view this work if your not up to paying attention, because this film will leave you flummoxed. But it's that same seemingly inextricable quality that makes it so intriguing and worth watching numerous times. Treat yourself to this one.
  5. JackO.
    Jan 19, 2005
    10
    If the mark of a good film is that you are compelled to watch it more than once; then this is better than good. A lot of hard work went into this, and it shows. The level of detail is outstanding. The story (to me) is a haunting one. I may not be as well read as some, but the notion of the relationship of dogs to dolls to humans was a new one to me. Some say the subtitles were less than If the mark of a good film is that you are compelled to watch it more than once; then this is better than good. A lot of hard work went into this, and it shows. The level of detail is outstanding. The story (to me) is a haunting one. I may not be as well read as some, but the notion of the relationship of dogs to dolls to humans was a new one to me. Some say the subtitles were less than perfect, and while I agree with this; I cant fault the film for my inability to speak Japanese. Expand
  6. DanF.
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    Incredibly thought provoking and beautifully comprised.
  7. StephenM.
    Oct 22, 2004
    9
    The images are beautiful. There are very few animations in this class. As for plot and story, you have to like the type of "is this a flashback, a holodeck or reality" sort of storyline wherein the same sequence of events repeats several times, each time with details changing.
  8. MichaelH.
    Sep 18, 2004
    9
    GITS 2 is beautiful cinema with a thought-provoking concept and a subtle dash of humor. The non-Japanese Otaku will be pleased to find that this is sub-titled, not dubbed. But not being dubbed I think will be a hindrance for people who are not already fans of the genre. The film is lush and the alternation and mixing of very vibrant and realistic CGI with classical 2D artwork works very GITS 2 is beautiful cinema with a thought-provoking concept and a subtle dash of humor. The non-Japanese Otaku will be pleased to find that this is sub-titled, not dubbed. But not being dubbed I think will be a hindrance for people who are not already fans of the genre. The film is lush and the alternation and mixing of very vibrant and realistic CGI with classical 2D artwork works very well. The colors and animation pop from the screen. The story is not entirely a new concept; but the medium allows a much more dramatic and ultimately realistic world to be developed. If you are not already versed in the GITS universe, I highly recommend watching the original to learn more of the back story on the characters and what happened leading up to the events in the sequel. Overall, the movie is a must see for fans of the genre. But sub-titles with such a densely packed story and visual delight make the movie too difficult to understand and appreciate for a new-comer. Expand
  9. TimothyP.
    Sep 24, 2004
    8
    Some of the most grogeous animation ever done, a musical score that haunts the images, and too many talking heads. The film is formally intricate, depending primarily on the viewer's ability to see that the cyborgs belong to the same decadent world as images of gods, demons, and clowns. But exposition depends too much, I think, on people talking rather than the film showing us what Some of the most grogeous animation ever done, a musical score that haunts the images, and too many talking heads. The film is formally intricate, depending primarily on the viewer's ability to see that the cyborgs belong to the same decadent world as images of gods, demons, and clowns. But exposition depends too much, I think, on people talking rather than the film showing us what they're talking about. It's certainly an intellectual exercise, and don't see it if you want Japanese mechas or bishojo pretty girls. Expand
  10. JRock
    Sep 29, 2004
    8
    Ive never been a fan of anime or cyberpunk or anything of the sort, but i saw this movie for a class and i can easily say its an 8 because it was absolutley beautiful.
  11. TimM
    Feb 11, 2005
    10
    Firstly, visually jaw-dropping. besides that, the story was very layered and more psychological than the first, delving into the characters' nature of being. awesome awesome awesome i just got the dvd. the worst thing about it is the action sub-titles, but oh well i'll deal with it.
  12. ThomasA.
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    Well anybody who has seen this movie with an open mind can tell you it is not only the visuals that are amazing, much more lies underneeth the visuals waiting for those with an open mind.
  13. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    The sequel of one of the most intriguing and best written science fiction anime ever, that Ghost in the shell that in 1995 revolutionized forever the way of painting cyberpunk: despite this huge responsibility on its shoulders, this 2004 second act is still able to create perfect, dark and oppressive cyberpunk atmospheres and give them life with solid action and dialogues. Essentially, theThe sequel of one of the most intriguing and best written science fiction anime ever, that Ghost in the shell that in 1995 revolutionized forever the way of painting cyberpunk: despite this huge responsibility on its shoulders, this 2004 second act is still able to create perfect, dark and oppressive cyberpunk atmospheres and give them life with solid action and dialogues. Essentially, the best way the brand could go on without prostituting its true nature. Expand
  14. GodComplex
    Jan 22, 2005
    7
    I can think of a lot better Anime's. Don't get me wrong, I loved the original movie, it's just not the same in the new film. The "gritty" feel isn't the same. I enjoyed this film for what it was worth. I'd recomend Ghost in the Shell; Stand Alone Complex too. There is better Anime out there though, like Samurai Champloo, Genkutsuou, Gundam Seed, Fullmetal I can think of a lot better Anime's. Don't get me wrong, I loved the original movie, it's just not the same in the new film. The "gritty" feel isn't the same. I enjoyed this film for what it was worth. I'd recomend Ghost in the Shell; Stand Alone Complex too. There is better Anime out there though, like Samurai Champloo, Genkutsuou, Gundam Seed, Fullmetal Alchemist, hell even the original Cowboy Beebop. Watch those..they are better. +8's! Expand
  15. Oct 19, 2014
    7
    Ghost In The Shell has an anime series and a movie series, but they're two separate continuities. This is the second movie, where The Major has left and Batou gets a new partner, but if you've seen the anime you're already vaguely familiar with all of the characters you'll see here. They're a little different but not too much. In terms of the actual content, this movie mixes is up withGhost In The Shell has an anime series and a movie series, but they're two separate continuities. This is the second movie, where The Major has left and Batou gets a new partner, but if you've seen the anime you're already vaguely familiar with all of the characters you'll see here. They're a little different but not too much. In terms of the actual content, this movie mixes is up with some armchair philosophy, some cyberpunk gunfights, and some slow establishing shots that reminded me of Blade Runner. It's a solid watch if you're familiar with what's going on in Ghost In The Shell, but it doesn't take much time to explain the sort of stuff that's going on if you're new to the series. Expand
  16. Dec 6, 2013
    7
    Falls short of the splendor of the first movie. GitS 2 seems to be doing 3 things:

    1) Recapture the spirit and style of the first movie. While a nice idea, the producers seem to have forgotten there were 2 whole seasons inbetween the movies. So the characters and tone of the series have changed quite drastically since GitS1. 2) It pays allot of fan service (not the pervy kind) by
    Falls short of the splendor of the first movie. GitS 2 seems to be doing 3 things:

    1) Recapture the spirit and style of the first movie.
    While a nice idea, the producers seem to have forgotten there were 2 whole seasons inbetween the movies. So the characters and tone of the series have changed quite drastically since GitS1.
    2) It pays allot of fan service (not the pervy kind) by clearly linking this movie to the first movie and the series.
    This, for me, was the movie's strong point. Dedication and acknowledgement of its fan base is crucial. It was nice to see the loose ends left from GitS: Second Gig being wrapped up. However, I would imagine that anyone not familiar with the series was probably scratching their head.
    3) Artistic animation overload.
    Clearly they were trying as hard as they could to amaze and dazzle with the animation, just like the first movie. While the animation was fantastic, it just did not have the same effect the first movie did. If they had stuck with hand drawn animation, it is likely they would have gotten the reaction they had intended.

    Overall:
    GitS 2 is a very good movie, but I have to say that is also the worst installment of the series as well. If they had stuck to the tone and animation style of the TV series, then maybe they could have had another generation defining movie, but as it is, it is just another good looking anime that fails to stand out from its competition.
    Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Like "Blade Runner," it's dense enough to be rewarding on multiple viewings, the hallmark of a classic.
  2. 50
    Unfortunately, the outcome here is so over-the-top that it’s going to wind up alienating most everyone that sees it.
  3. A downbeat story line layered with philosophical discourses will restrict the audience to fans of the animated genre.