Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 7 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Feb 18, 2012
    25
    For acting to be this bad in movie not directed by Michael Bay or George Lucas, it has to be intentional.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Feb 17, 2012
    0
    One look at the dreadful mess that is Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance will turn your whisper into a primal Cage scream: MAKE THIS MOVIE STOP!
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Feb 23, 2012
    30
    This time out, the action is in 3-D, which amounts to a few shots of flaming motorcycle parts comin' at ya, but little else.
  4. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Feb 17, 2012
    25
    The only part of this movie anyone's ever going to remember is the pair of scenes in which Ghost Rider pees flame.
  5. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Feb 17, 2012
    33
    The charismatic Idris Elba debuts in a key role as an alcoholic priest who recruits Cage's unique services. Yet instead of elevating the franchise, Ghost Rider: Spirit Of Vengeance ends up squandering even more potential.
  6. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    Feb 17, 2012
    33
    Most of the movie's action-horror set pieces play like lame Gwar music video outtakes, and Cage's signature mix of irony and off-the-rails mugging only works when you can see the actor's face. In Ghost Rider form, his character is just a skeletal automaton with neither a tongue nor a cheek to put it in.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Nordine
    Feb 17, 2012
    12
    To question where things went wrong feels somehow strange, as the project seems to have been ill-conceived from the very start.
User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 242 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 99
  2. Negative: 47 out of 99
  1. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Ladies and gentlemen, how could you possibly prefer the first ghost rider movie? it had NOTHING to do with the comics, it just tried to stitch elements from TWO DIFFERENT STORY ARCS onto a mediocre western story which also has nothing to do with the comics, the first film just falls apart the moment it tries to move forward, spirit of vengeance, however, actually gets it right, neveldine/taylor mostly focus on ONLY ONE STORY ARC, that of johnny blaze, and the new appearance is ACTUALLY CREEPY, the VFX are phenomenal, and the rider's bike is ACTUALLY THE BIKE HE HAS IN THE COMICS, not some cheesy... THING they gave us in the first film, not to mention they actually get the villain's appearance right this time, seriously, look it up, blackout actually looks like he does in the comics, i grew up on these comics, so did my brother, and this film has finally restored my faith that we, the devoted fans, can still be given the adaption that we deserve, and the sad thing is that most people on here overlook this... Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2012
    1
    There is no reason this movie should exist, no one asked for it and people want it to go away, you can very well tell Nickolas Cage is in it for the money, which is a shame. Full Review »
  3. Feb 18, 2012
    4
    Honestly, the only thing I liked about this movie were the scenes where Ghost Rider actually came out in. Notice the key word, actually, since he didn't even make that many appearances in it. When he didn't come out, I was falling asleep in the theater, just waiting for Ghost Rider to come out to wake me back up. Im not one of the people who disliked the first film, I liked it, but I didn't like this one. The ending, I dont even consider it a spoiler since its so predictable, hell, even the final battle was boring as hell. This is the epic ending (I don't consider it spoilers since its this simple but if you think it does, don't read beyond this: "Did we do it?" "Hell Yes". Ghost Rider rides. The end. Full Review »