User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 296 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 296

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 12, 2012
    5
    This movie was a serious disappointment. While most of the action with the rider were pretty good, this film had a lot of "WTF was the director smoking when he made this?" Several places there was either horrible overacting or underacting. No of the characters are really likable, none of them have any depth and none of them are particularly memorable. The plot was decent enough but itThis movie was a serious disappointment. While most of the action with the rider were pretty good, this film had a lot of "WTF was the director smoking when he made this?" Several places there was either horrible overacting or underacting. No of the characters are really likable, none of them have any depth and none of them are particularly memorable. The plot was decent enough but it was horribly told. This is not the same Johnny Blaze or Ghost Rider of the first film. Johnny Blaze is extremely shallow and Ghost Rider is overpowered. Enjoy the couple of laughs and the few truly good sequences with the rider in them and forget the rest. Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2012
    5
    I walked in expecting a lot. Seeing the trailer expected. The story is ok. The characters in this part are not so into the act. It is just an average movie.
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    5
    The Rider gonna come out. And when he does, he will destroy whoever has got it coming. Yeahh, you rite! It destroys everything in its path! From now on, whenever you hear the words GHOST RIDER, the first thing that comes to your mind it will be a veryy baddd movie! They definitely do not have enough good basic material to build a reasonable movie in the first place, thiz is for the secondThe Rider gonna come out. And when he does, he will destroy whoever has got it coming. Yeahh, you rite! It destroys everything in its path! From now on, whenever you hear the words GHOST RIDER, the first thing that comes to your mind it will be a veryy baddd movie! They definitely do not have enough good basic material to build a reasonable movie in the first place, thiz is for the second time! The first GHOST RIDER in 2007 was one of the ugliest superhero movies ever made. Anyway, I have my respect for the Directors Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor. Generally, I like their works especially the stylish camera angle and color structure. A little bit rough, energetic and sometimes comical, with fast moving scenes exactly like they had shown in CRANK (2006) and GAMER (2009). But that is certainly not enough. Thiz time, Johnny Blaze (Nicolas Cage), the alter-ego of Ghost Rider has to protect a child from the devil in human form upon the demand of a monk named Moreau (Idris Elba). The storyline is obviously weak in all aspects. They tell a simple story in long and boring 90+ minutes. Furthermore, the setting is told in Europe. Hello... where is the Europe? I do not see Europe! All I see is desert and rocky mountains in the middle of nowhere. After all, the Ghost Rider character is originally dark and mysterious. That atmosphere is clearly not shown here. They are using too much sick humor and too much clear blue sky, if you know what I mean. It crossed my mind, it could be totally different if they hire the Director who knows how to make a convincing shade of dark gothic like Tim Burton or Guillermo del Toro. The next thing is Nicolas Cage. I do not know what really happened to Cage, he is obviously trying to look cool with his cheesy one-liner dialogue. Moreover, in some scenes when Blaze struggled to hold back the devil inside him to come out, he creates a very strange and amusing expression. The rest of the Casts delivering B-Class performance such as: Idris Elba, Violante Placido, Johnny Whitworth, Christopher Lambert, even the child Fergus Riordan. the Devil once said to Johnny Blaze, You were the worst fricking deal I ever made. well, I have my complaint too, I just want my money back!

    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2012
    4
    This movie was "ok", it had some scenes that were alright, but most of the movie was quite boring. I definitely would not go see a third one. Fool me once...
  5. Feb 18, 2012
    4
    Honestly, the only thing I liked about this movie were the scenes where Ghost Rider actually came out in. Notice the key word, actually, since he didn't even make that many appearances in it. When he didn't come out, I was falling asleep in the theater, just waiting for Ghost Rider to come out to wake me back up. Im not one of the people who disliked the first film, I liked it, but IHonestly, the only thing I liked about this movie were the scenes where Ghost Rider actually came out in. Notice the key word, actually, since he didn't even make that many appearances in it. When he didn't come out, I was falling asleep in the theater, just waiting for Ghost Rider to come out to wake me back up. Im not one of the people who disliked the first film, I liked it, but I didn't like this one. The ending, I dont even consider it a spoiler since its so predictable, hell, even the final battle was boring as hell. This is the epic ending (I don't consider it spoilers since its this simple but if you think it does, don't read beyond this: "Did we do it?" "Hell Yes". Ghost Rider rides. The end. Collapse
  6. Feb 19, 2012
    4
    had high hopes from this one but part2 lets it down. part 1 was much better. Stroy misses the grip which part 1 had. The vfx are good (typical ghost rider style) but screenplay disappoints all.
  7. DME
    Jun 11, 2012
    4
    I've seen worse, but even so... Ghost Rider Spirit of Vengeance was kind of.... lame. I really can't describe it any other way. It's nothing like the first movie.
  8. Nov 4, 2012
    4
    Big fan of the first Ghost Rider movie, so I was really looking forward to this one. The trailers made it look like an awesome, crazy, and over the top action movie with some hilarious moments, however the movie failed to deliver that. It seems to me like the people behind this movie couldn't decide what they wanted to do with this movie. It couldn't decide whether to be some super seriousBig fan of the first Ghost Rider movie, so I was really looking forward to this one. The trailers made it look like an awesome, crazy, and over the top action movie with some hilarious moments, however the movie failed to deliver that. It seems to me like the people behind this movie couldn't decide what they wanted to do with this movie. It couldn't decide whether to be some super serious movie, or the zany over the top, humorous movie the trailers showed. When it's trying to be serious it ends up being super boring, and when it's trying to be over the top it's like the director didn't know how to make it happen so it falls flat, and because of this the action scenes are really boring. It's got some funny moments, some intentional most not, but that's mostly do Nicolas Cage's performance, although I think most of my laughs were at his poor performance rather than genuine humor in the script. Actually just about every performance in this was poor. There are so many things wrong with this movie that I couldn't fit them all into this review, but by far the worst flaw this movie has it that at times you can see hints of a great movie in there. You'll only see them for a second, but their there and that's what makes it so sad. Even sadder is that most of the movies hints of greatness are also in the trailer. Expand
  9. Jun 12, 2012
    4
    It is mild fun. The first 15 minutes start off slow but as it progresses the action and story really begin to pick up. Its mostly different from the original but its worth watching as a rental.
  10. Apr 5, 2012
    4
    To be honest, I wasn't expecting much more than badly directed action sequences that makes a mockery of the character of Ghost Rider. In that sense, Spirit of Vengeance delivered.
  11. Apr 10, 2012
    4
    I actually enjoyed the first film. Yes it was flawed and not that great, but it's an okay film to watch on a lazy afternoon when nothing else is on. So I went into this film with an open mind. Firstly, this is nothing like the first film. Everything is different, with the exception being Mr. Cage. It is very much a B-movie. Something you can imagine with lots of action, almost zero plot,I actually enjoyed the first film. Yes it was flawed and not that great, but it's an okay film to watch on a lazy afternoon when nothing else is on. So I went into this film with an open mind. Firstly, this is nothing like the first film. Everything is different, with the exception being Mr. Cage. It is very much a B-movie. Something you can imagine with lots of action, almost zero plot, and character development that seems to have gone up in smoke. It bears very little resemblence to the comic. It's a mash-up of Crank with a really bad B-action movie (think a recent Van Damm movie) and that it the best way to describe it. It's nothing more than a Meh film, that left me bored at the first half an hour and clock watching till the end. If it comes on telly, maybe check it out if nothing else is on. But I wouldn't go out of my way to view it. Simply Meh. Expand
  12. Mar 29, 2012
    5
    Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance gives a nice continuation to the first part but it has fallen into the mistake of trying to compete with the first part which was a 9/10, so overall its a good movie but there is no need to rush to watch it and its a one time movie. I shell give no more than 5/10 to it.
  13. Mar 31, 2012
    4
    Ghost Rider: SOV tried to improve his predecessor adding more action, more humour and more crazy scenes, but I don't think that is the direction they have to go with. I didn't like neither the directors no Nic Cage in this film. The rest of the casting was great. David S. Goyer's script wasn't that great, I think he could have done it much better. The best part of the film were the scenesGhost Rider: SOV tried to improve his predecessor adding more action, more humour and more crazy scenes, but I don't think that is the direction they have to go with. I didn't like neither the directors no Nic Cage in this film. The rest of the casting was great. David S. Goyer's script wasn't that great, I think he could have done it much better. The best part of the film were the scenes where Ghost Rider appeared. The ending was satisfying, though. Expand
  14. Jan 31, 2013
    5
    The accursed Ghost Rider is hired by a secret sect of religious monks in the hopes of rescuing a young boy from the devil's grasp in exchange for his soul, a battle that will rage across Eastern Europe as The Rider takes on the forces of Hell atop his fiery motorcycle! CRANK directors Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylorn attempt to inject the same high-energy aesthetic in to the GHOST RIDERThe accursed Ghost Rider is hired by a secret sect of religious monks in the hopes of rescuing a young boy from the devil's grasp in exchange for his soul, a battle that will rage across Eastern Europe as The Rider takes on the forces of Hell atop his fiery motorcycle! CRANK directors Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylorn attempt to inject the same high-energy aesthetic in to the GHOST RIDER reboot, with disastrous results. SPIRIT OF VENGEANCE comes off looking like an unscripted mess, almost as if it were shot as an amateur music video for some no-name rock group. Nicolas Cage is as awful as ever. Why even bother rebooting the series only to bring back the single worst element from the original film? SPIRIT OF VENGEANCE takes a darker approach to the material that falls more closely in line with the comics, sacrificing the kid-friendly attitude from before in lieu of the increased action and horror. Ghost Rider has received a major overhaul as well, his charred skull and blistering costume being the only welcomed changes to the character. When standing before his enemies or blazing down the highway on his hellish motorcycle, he is an awesome sight to see. The remaining effects are uneven at best, and take a dive during the ugly transformation sequences. With a pointless excuse for a plot is hard to ignore, GHOST RIDER: SPIRIT OF VENGEANCE offers little more than the occasional eye-candy. Expand
  15. Apr 5, 2012
    5
    Ghost Rider is one of best marvel characters of all time, I enjoy the first film,but the Spirit of Vengeance wasn't i though it would be. With a weak script, unorganized cgi, an okay directing, and of course Nic Cage performance as Johnny Blaze/Ghost Rider once again was okay. The film look funny than a action film and therefore Ghost Rider need to be work on more.
  16. Aug 14, 2012
    4
    An obvious low budget attempt at a sequel for a movie that, well, wasn't so good but don't right it off just yet. Yeah, the story line is just utterly terrible, the acting laughable however when Ghost Rider actually makes an appearance you are reminded why you are watching this movie. The action is far and few between but generally satisfying. The CGI when it comes to Ghost Rider isAn obvious low budget attempt at a sequel for a movie that, well, wasn't so good but don't right it off just yet. Yeah, the story line is just utterly terrible, the acting laughable however when Ghost Rider actually makes an appearance you are reminded why you are watching this movie. The action is far and few between but generally satisfying. The CGI when it comes to Ghost Rider is fantastic, the flames flowing off of enemies he has vanquished, vehicles he is driving. Everything literally breathes fire upon his touch. It's a shame that most of the budget was clearly spent on making him look cool, that the movie ended up becoming an even bigger let down than original. For Marvel/Ghost Rider fans only. Expand
  17. Aug 29, 2012
    5
    I Found ghost rider spirit of vengeance mild fun, What I mean by mild is half the movie is decent the other half is worthless.Here are the good things Idria elba He was the best actor in the flick and the action,special effects and what not.Surprisly this film was written by David S. goyer or partially written.There are many plot holes which are also very familar holes.The story is clicheI Found ghost rider spirit of vengeance mild fun, What I mean by mild is half the movie is decent the other half is worthless.Here are the good things Idria elba He was the best actor in the flick and the action,special effects and what not.Surprisly this film was written by David S. goyer or partially written.There are many plot holes which are also very familar holes.The story is cliche most of the time except for the worthless scenes put throughout the movie.Here's the thing about ghost rider he wasn't really that great of a character to start with in the comics he has a great look not gonna lie.And yes ghost rider was created by Marv Wolfman don't get me wrong he made blade also and did wonders ith the new teen titans and Crisis in Infinite Earths but ghost rider eeally isn't his crowning achievement.And if you want to know yes Nicolas Cage's acting was pretty bad. Expand
  18. Sep 18, 2012
    6
    Wow, people on here either love it or hate it, me, i just enjoyed it, it was rather fun in 3D, i haven't read the comics that this is apparently based on, so i can't say anything on, you know, that sort of stuff, but it was pretty cool to see a burning skeleton guy kill people with a bagger, if you feel the same way, you might get a kick out of it.
  19. Jan 12, 2013
    4
    A sequel that seems to be made ​​just to raise money.
  20. Jan 19, 2013
    6
    I love "superhero" movies, so it was good. I liked the actors, and action, but it was not that great overall.When it ended, It didn`t have me asking for more.
  21. Aug 10, 2013
    4
    It suffers from the same blemishes that overwhelmed the first Ghost Rider, sloppy scripting, substandard special effects, and even though it's faster and more straight to the point than the first, it has hardly improved in any other department.
  22. Jan 29, 2014
    6
    It's so ridiculous! And it's great! I don't follow the comics, and I have a general dislike of Cage's acting, but I actually found him tolerable in this movie(the only other movie he's marginally ok in my eyes being "Face Off"). It's not a life changing, mold-breaking piece of cinema by any means, but it's still good fun. I had my doubts after the catastrophe the first movie was, but I'mIt's so ridiculous! And it's great! I don't follow the comics, and I have a general dislike of Cage's acting, but I actually found him tolerable in this movie(the only other movie he's marginally ok in my eyes being "Face Off"). It's not a life changing, mold-breaking piece of cinema by any means, but it's still good fun. I had my doubts after the catastrophe the first movie was, but I'm glad I used my afternoon to give this version a go. Who knew insane flaming skeletons in a leather jacket could be so hot? Expand
  23. Jul 4, 2015
    5
    After watching this movie for the first time, I was disappointed to see such a great comic book character wasted destroyed by a movie that doesn't feel the same like the the Ghost Rider movie in 2007. The story was stupid and lacked all understanding at all. I only cared for Ghost Rider himself, when Nicholas Cage wasn't Johnny Blaze and when he was Ghost Rider, he was off the chains crazyAfter watching this movie for the first time, I was disappointed to see such a great comic book character wasted destroyed by a movie that doesn't feel the same like the the Ghost Rider movie in 2007. The story was stupid and lacked all understanding at all. I only cared for Ghost Rider himself, when Nicholas Cage wasn't Johnny Blaze and when he was Ghost Rider, he was off the chains crazy in a kick ass way. Expand
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 7 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Feb 23, 2012
    30
    This time out, the action is in 3-D, which amounts to a few shots of flaming motorcycle parts comin' at ya, but little else.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Feb 23, 2012
    60
    This doesn't lack for crazy charm, particularly when Nicolas Cage (in his go-for-broke Bad Lieutenant mode) and Ciaran Hinds (playing the devil) try to out-weird each other with broad, even cartoonish performances.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Feb 20, 2012
    40
    The picture is still much too rickety, slapdash and surprisingly dull to qualify as a good barrel-bottom pleasure.