User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 271 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 271
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2012
    5
    This movie was a serious disappointment. While most of the action with the rider were pretty good, this film had a lot of "WTF was the director smoking when he made this?" Several places there was either horrible overacting or underacting. No of the characters are really likable, none of them have any depth and none of them are particularly memorable. The plot was decent enough but itThis movie was a serious disappointment. While most of the action with the rider were pretty good, this film had a lot of "WTF was the director smoking when he made this?" Several places there was either horrible overacting or underacting. No of the characters are really likable, none of them have any depth and none of them are particularly memorable. The plot was decent enough but it was horribly told. This is not the same Johnny Blaze or Ghost Rider of the first film. Johnny Blaze is extremely shallow and Ghost Rider is overpowered. Enjoy the couple of laughs and the few truly good sequences with the rider in them and forget the rest. Expand
  2. Jun 30, 2012
    0
    Why are people giving this film a decent grade? The plot sucked, the acting sucked, the fights were terrible. The only decent thing about this film was the graphics. Ghost Rider has died to me thanks the recent films. The comics will never be the same to me again. And was it good for a movie for non-fans? Nope. It was pure crap. Only thing keeping me in the theater was half disbelief, aWhy are people giving this film a decent grade? The plot sucked, the acting sucked, the fights were terrible. The only decent thing about this film was the graphics. Ghost Rider has died to me thanks the recent films. The comics will never be the same to me again. And was it good for a movie for non-fans? Nope. It was pure crap. Only thing keeping me in the theater was half disbelief, a quarter because I had anticipated it for a long time (idiotically), and a quarter because of pride, afraid to show my wife my insecurities with a bad choice I made in film selection for a date... :P Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    5
    I walked in expecting a lot. Seeing the trailer expected. The story is ok. The characters in this part are not so into the act. It is just an average movie.
  4. Mar 30, 2012
    3
    This movie it's like... meh. The first one had many flaws but was still enjoyable, this is just stupid:
    bad acting, bad dialogues, kind of useless story, while at least the special effects are decent but this is not enough, sorry. It is indeed a pity, Ghost Rider is an amazing comic character and could have spawned a great superhero movie and a box-office hit. Let's just hope for a decent
    This movie it's like... meh. The first one had many flaws but was still enjoyable, this is just stupid:
    bad acting, bad dialogues, kind of useless story, while at least the special effects are decent but this is not enough, sorry. It is indeed a pity, Ghost Rider is an amazing comic character and could have spawned a great superhero movie and a box-office hit. Let's just hope for a decent reboot in the future.
    Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2014
    1
    "Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance" 10 Scale Rating: 1.0 (Horrible) ...

    The Good: Well, the motorcycle was cool ...

    The Bad: Nicholas Cage. The dialog. The corny action. Turning a cool badguy (Blackout) into a cheesy one line machine. I didn't think it possible, but this movie was drastically worse than the first one.
  6. Mar 5, 2012
    5
    The Rider gonna come out. And when he does, he will destroy whoever has got it coming. Yeahh, you rite! It destroys everything in its path! From now on, whenever you hear the words GHOST RIDER, the first thing that comes to your mind it will be a veryy baddd movie! They definitely do not have enough good basic material to build a reasonable movie in the first place, thiz is for the secondThe Rider gonna come out. And when he does, he will destroy whoever has got it coming. Yeahh, you rite! It destroys everything in its path! From now on, whenever you hear the words GHOST RIDER, the first thing that comes to your mind it will be a veryy baddd movie! They definitely do not have enough good basic material to build a reasonable movie in the first place, thiz is for the second time! The first GHOST RIDER in 2007 was one of the ugliest superhero movies ever made. Anyway, I have my respect for the Directors Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor. Generally, I like their works especially the stylish camera angle and color structure. A little bit rough, energetic and sometimes comical, with fast moving scenes exactly like they had shown in CRANK (2006) and GAMER (2009). But that is certainly not enough. Thiz time, Johnny Blaze (Nicolas Cage), the alter-ego of Ghost Rider has to protect a child from the devil in human form upon the demand of a monk named Moreau (Idris Elba). The storyline is obviously weak in all aspects. They tell a simple story in long and boring 90+ minutes. Furthermore, the setting is told in Europe. Hello... where is the Europe? I do not see Europe! All I see is desert and rocky mountains in the middle of nowhere. After all, the Ghost Rider character is originally dark and mysterious. That atmosphere is clearly not shown here. They are using too much sick humor and too much clear blue sky, if you know what I mean. It crossed my mind, it could be totally different if they hire the Director who knows how to make a convincing shade of dark gothic like Tim Burton or Guillermo del Toro. The next thing is Nicolas Cage. I do not know what really happened to Cage, he is obviously trying to look cool with his cheesy one-liner dialogue. Moreover, in some scenes when Blaze struggled to hold back the devil inside him to come out, he creates a very strange and amusing expression. The rest of the Casts delivering B-Class performance such as: Idris Elba, Violante Placido, Johnny Whitworth, Christopher Lambert, even the child Fergus Riordan. the Devil once said to Johnny Blaze, You were the worst fricking deal I ever made. well, I have my complaint too, I just want my money back!

    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Ladies and gentlemen, how could you possibly prefer the first ghost rider movie? it had NOTHING to do with the comics, it just tried to stitch elements from TWO DIFFERENT STORY ARCS onto a mediocre western story which also has nothing to do with the comics, the first film just falls apart the moment it tries to move forward, spirit of vengeance, however, actually gets it right,Ladies and gentlemen, how could you possibly prefer the first ghost rider movie? it had NOTHING to do with the comics, it just tried to stitch elements from TWO DIFFERENT STORY ARCS onto a mediocre western story which also has nothing to do with the comics, the first film just falls apart the moment it tries to move forward, spirit of vengeance, however, actually gets it right, neveldine/taylor mostly focus on ONLY ONE STORY ARC, that of johnny blaze, and the new appearance is ACTUALLY CREEPY, the VFX are phenomenal, and the rider's bike is ACTUALLY THE BIKE HE HAS IN THE COMICS, not some cheesy... THING they gave us in the first film, not to mention they actually get the villain's appearance right this time, seriously, look it up, blackout actually looks like he does in the comics, i grew up on these comics, so did my brother, and this film has finally restored my faith that we, the devoted fans, can still be given the adaption that we deserve, and the sad thing is that most people on here overlook this... Expand
  8. Mar 10, 2012
    4
    This movie was "ok", it had some scenes that were alright, but most of the movie was quite boring. I definitely would not go see a third one. Fool me once...
  9. Aug 1, 2012
    2
    HAHAHAHA WHAT THE F*CK. HOW DID THIS B-MOVIE END UP IN THE THEATERS? DID THE DIRECTOR FORGET TO SEND IT INTO THE DIRECT-TO-DVD PILE?! NEVER ON THIS PLANET SHOULD A FILM PACKED WITH **** QUALITY AND GREEDY ACTORS LIKE THIS BE MADE!!!!
  10. Feb 18, 2012
    4
    Honestly, the only thing I liked about this movie were the scenes where Ghost Rider actually came out in. Notice the key word, actually, since he didn't even make that many appearances in it. When he didn't come out, I was falling asleep in the theater, just waiting for Ghost Rider to come out to wake me back up. Im not one of the people who disliked the first film, I liked it, but IHonestly, the only thing I liked about this movie were the scenes where Ghost Rider actually came out in. Notice the key word, actually, since he didn't even make that many appearances in it. When he didn't come out, I was falling asleep in the theater, just waiting for Ghost Rider to come out to wake me back up. Im not one of the people who disliked the first film, I liked it, but I didn't like this one. The ending, I dont even consider it a spoiler since its so predictable, hell, even the final battle was boring as hell. This is the epic ending (I don't consider it spoilers since its this simple but if you think it does, don't read beyond this: "Did we do it?" "Hell Yes". Ghost Rider rides. The end. Expand
  11. Feb 19, 2012
    1
    There is no reason this movie should exist, no one asked for it and people want it to go away, you can very well tell Nickolas Cage is in it for the money, which is a shame.
  12. Feb 19, 2012
    3
    First, the good things. GRSOV is better than its predecessor. This wasn't a sequel, it was a reboot. And with David Goyer writing, it was expected to be better. Graphically, GR looked much better. He was much more of a character in this film. Nic Cage's Johnny Blaze was much better. I loved that they skimmed over the origin. It was very well done. The action sequences were also topFirst, the good things. GRSOV is better than its predecessor. This wasn't a sequel, it was a reboot. And with David Goyer writing, it was expected to be better. Graphically, GR looked much better. He was much more of a character in this film. Nic Cage's Johnny Blaze was much better. I loved that they skimmed over the origin. It was very well done. The action sequences were also top notch. However, the bad is a mix of what is bad about film-making in general and the unmet expectations of comic book lovers for Marvel Knight characters in general. Ghost Rider is a pseudo interesting character to begin with. In theory, he should make a bad-ass film protagonist. In reality, he's great in action and graphically, but even Goyer's writing skills can't make him that interesting. Like the abysmal attempts at getting a good Punisher on film, the reality is, the Marvel Knights characters will never make interesting films as long as the focus is on the violent part of their characters rather than what makes them dark in the first place. So, in the long line of poor attempts, GRSOV ranks higher than Punisher: War Zone, Dolph Lundgren's Punisher and the original GR, but that's about it. I truly hope there isn't a third. Expand
  13. Feb 19, 2012
    3
    I honestly don't even know where to begin. After the brief snippet of footage that was screened at Comic Con 2011, I had a tremendous amount of faith in GHOST RIDER: SPIRIT OF VENGEANCE. I'm a huge fan of the work that Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor did with the CRANK films, and I thought their unorthodox style would benefit the GHOST RIDER franchise and result in a sequel that farI honestly don't even know where to begin. After the brief snippet of footage that was screened at Comic Con 2011, I had a tremendous amount of faith in GHOST RIDER: SPIRIT OF VENGEANCE. I'm a huge fan of the work that Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor did with the CRANK films, and I thought their unorthodox style would benefit the GHOST RIDER franchise and result in a sequel that far surpassed its predecessor. Yeah, not so much. This film is a colossal disaster from start to finish, featuring a script that seems unfinished, characters that are barely established, and one of the absolute worst performances in Nicolas Cage's career. After a stylish animation sequence that establishes the character's origin, we find Johnny Blaze living in the Balkans for reasons that are never quite explained (this will become a recurring theme for nearly every major plot point in the film). An alcoholic priest named Moreau (Idris Elba with an inconsistent French accent) shows up on his doorstep and offers to lift the Ghost Rider curse in exchange for Blaze rescuing a young boy named Danny (Fergus Riordan) from the same demonic entity that purchased Blaze's soul, an entity that is now called Roarke rather than Mephistopheles and is now played by Ciarin Hinds rather than Peter Fonda. Blaze jumps on his bike and takes off, showing up just as our incredibly boring and non-threatening bad guy Carrigan (Johnny Whitworth) catches up with Danny and his Gypsy mother (Violante Placido). The Ghost Rider emerges and begins to lay waste to Carrigan's henchmen, turning them into piles of ash and terrifying the bejesus out of everyone - except Carrigan, who takes him out with a grenade launcher and disappears with the kid. The rest of the film is essentially one drawn-out chase sequence, punctuated by conveniently placed dialogue scenes where our characters try (and fail) to explain exactly what the hell is going on, amounting to nothing more than speed bumps on the road to Blaze's next transformation into his flaming skeletal alter-ego. To level the playing field, Roarke grants Carrigan some demonic powers of his own, leaving him with pale skin, a bad hair-metal wig, and the EXACT SAME ABILITIES as the first film's (far more interesting) villain, resulting in confrontations that feel boring, recycle, and unimaginative - because they are. Cage's manic, frenzied portrayal of Blaze feels nothing like the character he created in the first film, resulting in plenty of absurd, laughable moments as he shifts the insanity into overdrive, particularly in an interrogation scene where the Ghost Rider is "scraping at the DOOOOOOOR"and Blaze is trying desperately to hold him back. This performance is certainly the highlight of the film - unfortunately, it's for all the wrong reasons. While the new design of the Ghost Rider looks fantastic, featuring a charred skull and a leather jacket that bubbles and melts from the heat, the character feels like something from a cartoon, head tilted quizzically to one side as he contemplates his victims or giggling to himself as he turns a piece of construction equipment into a flaming instrument of death. Oh, and he pisses fire, of course. I'll give Neveldine and Taylor all the credit in the world for the adventurous and innovative method of filmmaking they developed on the CRANK films, but this style doesn't work here. GHOST RIDER: SPIRIT OF VENGEANCE is poorly written, poorly edited, and poorly acted, and accomplishes nothing except to showcase that Neveldine and Taylor obviously have no idea what makes the character work. Make no mistake, this is the BATMAN AND ROBIN of the GHOST RIDER franchise, and everyone involved in this mess should be ashamed of themselves. www.nerdrep.com Expand
  14. Feb 18, 2012
    1
    So. Just made an account to review this movie blah blah..I KNOW IM SO ORIGINAL. But this movie is so terrible that I have to warn you people. From the lackluster action sequences where all Ghost Rider has to do to defeat his foes is swing his chains to Nicholas Cage's simply loony acting this movie truly offers nothing to us. I am a huge superhero movie fan and slightly enjoyed Ghost RiderSo. Just made an account to review this movie blah blah..I KNOW IM SO ORIGINAL. But this movie is so terrible that I have to warn you people. From the lackluster action sequences where all Ghost Rider has to do to defeat his foes is swing his chains to Nicholas Cage's simply loony acting this movie truly offers nothing to us. I am a huge superhero movie fan and slightly enjoyed Ghost Rider 1. DONT EXPECT THEM TO MENTION ANYTHING ABOUT THE PREVIOUS MOVIE. Except for the fact it's Nicholas Cage, there is no connection. THis movie's story is a consistent set of plotholes so gaping and awkward that the extreme nerd on you is going to cry blood. Nothing after the credits. The visuals in this movie would be GREAT for a grad student's portfolio reel but the times they selected to use the over-the-top imagery are ill-fitting. Maybe it's because ghost-rider himself is a crappy hero to have a movie about but if this movie was a kitten I would not pet it. Expand
  15. Feb 25, 2012
    2
    Where to begin. With the horrible script? The complete lack of connection with the comics? The nauseating cinematography? Unfortunately Ghost Rider Spirit of Vengeance fails on so many levels that it's hard to even call it a movie. For example the very compelling "look into my eyes" from the first movie... totally missing from this one. Instead we have the ghost rider, well, openingWhere to begin. With the horrible script? The complete lack of connection with the comics? The nauseating cinematography? Unfortunately Ghost Rider Spirit of Vengeance fails on so many levels that it's hard to even call it a movie. For example the very compelling "look into my eyes" from the first movie... totally missing from this one. Instead we have the ghost rider, well, opening his mouth and moaning a lot... yeah seriously that's his thing. The fight scenes and the "actors" lurch around like they were making dawn of the dead. Hey Columbia, ever heard of choreography?

    The problem here folks? Take your pick. Certainly quality never entered into the picture. Quantity may have... as there's plenty of mess to go around. Amazingly this movie was able to take realatively good actors and make them look like cheap B movie actors, if even that.

    My suggestion? Wait for it to come out on Netflix or Amazon Prime. Anything else is a pure waste of time and money.
    Expand
  16. Feb 21, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are several reasons why I think this film failed spectacularly. I don't think that a soft reboot should ever include the main actor from the film that is being rebooted. It creates inconsistencies in the minds of the viewer that wouldn't be there if the actor had been replaced.

    There were certainly some serious inconsistencies in Ghost Riders powers. He is knocked out by a grenade launcher, but when he is shot by a stinger missile, which is obviously much more powerful, he shrugs it off completely.

    II think the actual appearance of Ghost Rider was pretty good, but in several fight sequences, he just kind of meanders around. I expected the Spirit of Vengeance to be brutal and he kind of played cat and mouse instead.

    There are also far too many unneeded, flat plot devices, such as Cage losing the spirit, only to regain it 10 minutes later, the evil or misguided tattooed priests, and the angel randomly regaining sanity(A plot point that could have been really good if it hadn't been essentially a throwaway line in the film).

    The quick synopsis is that this movie tried to fit too many plot points into the movie, and ended up developing none of them very well. I think this movie is far worse than the original Ghost Rider, and roughly equal with Punisher War Zone in the quality of a movie.
    Expand
  17. Jun 16, 2012
    0
    what the hell did i just watch? this has to be the worst movie i have ever seen. its has the acting of a low budget porno and the action of a toke flick. i'm embarrassed wasting money to watch this film, i would rather have a nail stuck up my nose then watch this trash ever again.
  18. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    I really don't know what to say exept don't go watch this movie unless your a brainless, low IQ, action junky because this movie is laughable at best, the stupid gags and extremely mediocre fightig scenes, and a movie which drags itself to it's own long awaited ending. And reallY I've seen better camera work in my Video Production class than in this movie, this movie is an I'll conceivedI really don't know what to say exept don't go watch this movie unless your a brainless, low IQ, action junky because this movie is laughable at best, the stupid gags and extremely mediocre fightig scenes, and a movie which drags itself to it's own long awaited ending. And reallY I've seen better camera work in my Video Production class than in this movie, this movie is an I'll conceived failed abortion, don't give these guys their money, DON'T GO WATCH IT! Expand
  19. Feb 19, 2012
    4
    had high hopes from this one but part2 lets it down. part 1 was much better. Stroy misses the grip which part 1 had. The vfx are good (typical ghost rider style) but screenplay disappoints all.
  20. Mar 2, 2012
    0
    A really terrible, horrible, film, the first part be great, but this second, wow EPIC FAIL, the cast is terrible, what is the reason for Violante Placido and Ciarán Hinds work in this awful film?.
  21. Feb 17, 2012
    0
    I don't know whether to laugh or cry watching Ghost Rider. Camera work is so sloppy, handheld camera movies are more steady than this. Dialogue is equally laughable, the forced humor makes me wanna cry, character development is an afterthought, the plot is so amazingly predictable. Remember the names Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor, make a note to never watch any of their movies in theI don't know whether to laugh or cry watching Ghost Rider. Camera work is so sloppy, handheld camera movies are more steady than this. Dialogue is equally laughable, the forced humor makes me wanna cry, character development is an afterthought, the plot is so amazingly predictable. Remember the names Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor, make a note to never watch any of their movies in the future. The only good scene was where we got a glimpse of the crazy Nic Cage that I love in an interrogation scene. Skip this drivel and go watch Chronicle. Expand
  22. JTD
    Feb 29, 2012
    1
    This movie blows. Not much more that needs to be said. The acting was horrible and you could tell it was made by different people. Nothing matched the first one.
  23. Feb 17, 2012
    2
    This movie has OK special effects, bad dialogue, bad acting, and a bad storyline. Spirit of Vengeance fails!
  24. Feb 17, 2012
    0
    A severely misguided film with a terrible plot, terrible dialogue, flat characters, no development, and I'm all just a loud and mediocre mess that will literally bore you to death. Nicolas Cage's performance has never been worse. This movie was 50x as bad as the first which I believe was an ok film, but I honestly think the purpose of this movie was to make a quick buck.
  25. Feb 25, 2012
    0
    Terrible, DO NOT WATCH.
    This was the worse movie I have seen in a while. I hated The Green Lantern but this somehow was actually worse. The director of this movie needs to be put down. It was badly put together no coherence between scenes and made the spirit of vengeance out to be a guy with a flaming skull who looks at you weird. They should maybe look through the bad guy list for this
    Terrible, DO NOT WATCH.
    This was the worse movie I have seen in a while. I hated The Green Lantern but this somehow was actually worse. The director of this movie needs to be put down. It was badly put together no coherence between scenes and made the spirit of vengeance out to be a guy with a flaming skull who looks at you weird. They should maybe look through the bad guy list for this series and actually use a good one, if it wasn't those elemental demons from the first one, we get another useless villain. The storyline was so telegraphed you could easily guess what was about to happen.

    Nicholas Cage had some of the worse acting in his entire career. The fight scenes were short and sh@t, Ghost Rider had two mover stare into a persons face almost using penance stare, or swing his chain and kill the bad guys in one hit..

    If you are going to make ghost rider movies like this, then don't, stop and think. Your practically ruining an entire series.This movie deserves a zero and I want my time back. P.S. anyone giving this movie a score of 4 or more is insane.
    Expand
  26. Feb 19, 2012
    1
    Le pari était-il vraiment de faire oublier le premier? De le valoriser plutôt! Parce que là, descendre bien plus bas était impensable, surtout avec un scénariste potable et des cinéastes dégénérés. Malheureusement, le problème provient plus de laLe pari était-il vraiment de faire oublier le premier? De le valoriser plutôt! Parce que là, descendre bien plus bas était impensable, surtout avec un scénariste potable et des cinéastes dégénérés. Malheureusement, le problème provient plus de la réalisation qu'autre chose (bon, il y a quand même un scénario lamentable et des acteurs nullissimes). Et pour cause, les frangins responsables d'Hypertension nous livre un trip insuivable! Avec une mise en scène (plans, montage...) abaissant le film au niveau d'un téléfilm de série Z, le Ghost Rider n'est pas prêt d'entrer dans le coeur des fans de Marvel. Franchement, avec un travail soigné, cette suite aurait pu être l'égal d'un Blade ou même monter au niveau d'un Hellboy. A croire que les réalisateurs se sont enflammés à vouloir à tout prix travailler avec Cage sans pour autant amuser le spectateur... Croyez-moi, en moins de 1h40, le premier film est devenu un chef-d'oeuvre! Expand
  27. Feb 21, 2012
    2
    Bloody piece of ****
    I liked the original, but this movie took everyting good from it and sucked the life out of it into a total bombshell. The characters are very bland and never thought out. (I'm looking at you Nicholas Cage!) Also, the story is VERY boring and i often zoned out and just realized they were at a different place. What's Next? Oh, they returned back to the place. Oh, some
    Bloody piece of ****
    I liked the original, but this movie took everyting good from it and sucked the life out of it into a total bombshell. The characters are very bland and never thought out. (I'm looking at you Nicholas Cage!) Also, the story is VERY boring and i often zoned out and just realized they were at a different place. What's Next? Oh, they returned back to the place. Oh, some random guy got rotting powers. However, the special effects were very nice, from Ghost Rider spitting bullets or the Zombie guy rotting away at people's flesh.
    Alltogether, throughout this movie i just wanted it to end... now
    Expand
  28. Mar 2, 2012
    3
    This movie has absolutely nothing to do with the actual comics, its an insult to the Ghost Rider story, sigh* this movie made sure The Ghost Rider franchise, is dead forever. How do we as comic book fans expect to see our favorite superheroes in a live action film, if movies like this, make sure that never happens. Part 1 is 10x better than this, and it wasnt the best movie either.
  29. May 31, 2012
    0
    only one word can describe this film : ANOTHER CRAP !!!
    honestly , this sequel is not just worse , but are worst than first film !!!
    lame stunting , dazzling visual effects , and even ghost rider can fly ???
    man ! this is insane !! **** !!! another trash behind my rubbish tin .....
  30. Mar 9, 2012
    3
    Ghost Rider 2 is crap... What, you want more? Okay, let's see the good things first. It's not many so it wonâ
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 7 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Feb 23, 2012
    30
    This time out, the action is in 3-D, which amounts to a few shots of flaming motorcycle parts comin' at ya, but little else.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Feb 23, 2012
    60
    This doesn't lack for crazy charm, particularly when Nicolas Cage (in his go-for-broke Bad Lieutenant mode) and Ciaran Hinds (playing the devil) try to out-weird each other with broad, even cartoonish performances.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew Barker
    Feb 20, 2012
    40
    The picture is still much too rickety, slapdash and surprisingly dull to qualify as a good barrel-bottom pleasure.