Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance Image
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 293 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Nicolas Cage reprises his role as Johnny Blaze in "Ghost Rider Spirit of Vengeance." In this new vision for the character, Johnny is still struggling with his curse as the devil’s bounty hunter - but he may risk everything as he teams up with the leader of a group of rebel monks to save aNicolas Cage reprises his role as Johnny Blaze in "Ghost Rider Spirit of Vengeance." In this new vision for the character, Johnny is still struggling with his curse as the devil’s bounty hunter - but he may risk everything as he teams up with the leader of a group of rebel monks to save a young boy from the devil... and possibly rid himself of his curse forever. (Columbia Pictures)

    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 7 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Feb 23, 2012
    60
    This doesn't lack for crazy charm, particularly when Nicolas Cage (in his go-for-broke Bad Lieutenant mode) and Ciaran Hinds (playing the devil) try to out-weird each other with broad, even cartoonish performances.
  2. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Feb 17, 2012
    50
    Spirit of Vengeance is so focused and, as a result, so impoverished that you actually feel bad for Cage. The actor tries to bring the weird (though at this point one wonders if he can even do anything else) but the film more often than not leaves him high and dry, saddling him with standard-issue action hero lines and boilerplate action set-pieces.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Feb 17, 2012
    50
    Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance offers Cage plenty of opportunities to tap his inner circus geek, to twitch, cackle and flail without shame, going full tilt batwing crazy. Not since he danced in a pagan bear suit in The Wicker Man has Cage appeared this unconcerned about what the audience will think.
  4. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Feb 16, 2012
    40
    Like "Ghost Rider: Low Voltage," this is a surprisingly underpowered excursion into Marvel's mad world by Neveldine and Taylor. More purgatory than hellfire.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Feb 17, 2012
    40
    The first "Ghost Rider" film, directed by Mark Steven Johnson, was sort of a fizzy goof, the kind of movie where you don't expect much and then think, "Hey, that was actually kind of fun." Spirit of Vengeance, though, is undone by increased expectations, as promising more only makes it feel they are somehow delivering less.
  6. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    Feb 17, 2012
    33
    Most of the movie's action-horror set pieces play like lame Gwar music video outtakes, and Cage's signature mix of irony and off-the-rails mugging only works when you can see the actor's face. In Ghost Rider form, his character is just a skeletal automaton with neither a tongue nor a cheek to put it in.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Feb 17, 2012
    0
    One look at the dreadful mess that is Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance will turn your whisper into a primal Cage scream: MAKE THIS MOVIE STOP!

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 109
  2. Negative: 54 out of 109
  1. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Ladies and gentlemen, how could you possibly prefer the first ghost rider movie? it had NOTHING to do with the comics, it just tried to stitchLadies and gentlemen, how could you possibly prefer the first ghost rider movie? it had NOTHING to do with the comics, it just tried to stitch elements from TWO DIFFERENT STORY ARCS onto a mediocre western story which also has nothing to do with the comics, the first film just falls apart the moment it tries to move forward, spirit of vengeance, however, actually gets it right, neveldine/taylor mostly focus on ONLY ONE STORY ARC, that of johnny blaze, and the new appearance is ACTUALLY CREEPY, the VFX are phenomenal, and the rider's bike is ACTUALLY THE BIKE HE HAS IN THE COMICS, not some cheesy... THING they gave us in the first film, not to mention they actually get the villain's appearance right this time, seriously, look it up, blackout actually looks like he does in the comics, i grew up on these comics, so did my brother, and this film has finally restored my faith that we, the devoted fans, can still be given the adaption that we deserve, and the sad thing is that most people on here overlook this... Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Neveldine/Taylor kick ass with this movie, i love crank, crank 2, even jonah hex, they have a crazy directional style that benifits anything they do.
  3. Mar 31, 2012
    4
    Ghost Rider: SOV tried to improve his predecessor adding more action, more humour and more crazy scenes, but I don't think that is theGhost Rider: SOV tried to improve his predecessor adding more action, more humour and more crazy scenes, but I don't think that is the direction they have to go with. I didn't like neither the directors no Nic Cage in this film. The rest of the casting was great. David S. Goyer's script wasn't that great, I think he could have done it much better. The best part of the film were the scenes where Ghost Rider appeared. The ending was satisfying, though. Expand
  4. May 27, 2012
    3
    The first instalment of Ghost Rider was amazing. I really enjoyed that movie but the second instalment was just mediocre and I found myselfThe first instalment of Ghost Rider was amazing. I really enjoyed that movie but the second instalment was just mediocre and I found myself getting bored half way through. Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2012
    2
    Oh how I waited for this one how really bad it was. I'm a big fan of GR but this movie wasted all the potential. Pretty much everything exceptOh how I waited for this one how really bad it was. I'm a big fan of GR but this movie wasted all the potential. Pretty much everything except the CGI special effects was amateurish. The first one, while kinda childish was actually a lot better when compared to this. Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    0
    This film is one reason why Nic Cage should be banished from Hollywood. No offense, he was good in Face Off and just OK in the NationalThis film is one reason why Nic Cage should be banished from Hollywood. No offense, he was good in Face Off and just OK in the National Treasure films, but this film is utter garbage. The first scene of the film was mediocre with Idris Elba battling some bad guys with some average effects. The movie turns to crap the moment the Johnny Blaze enters the film. From lame jokes to dumb facial expressions, Nick Cage gets the whole thing wrong. I think that he just killed the Ghost Rider Franchise. So sad that I wasted over 10 bucks to see this garbage. If you thought the original was bad (which it was), then prepared to hit with something even worse. Or should I say pissed on! (Yes, you must endure Nic Cage pissing fire. LAME!) Expand

See all 109 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder

    20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder  Image
    Published: June 16, 2016
    We pick out 20 great examples of lousy movie sequels.
  2. Every Marvel Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Every Marvel Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: March 14, 2016
    We rank every recent Marvel film from worst to best by Metascore.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: December 16, 2011
    This week, watch new trailers for "Men in Black III," Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Dictator," "Rock of Ages," "G.I. Joe: Retaliation," "Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance," and more. Plus, catch up on all of the week's movie news.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  6. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  7. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.