User Score
4.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 320 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LewW.
    Feb 15, 2007
    0
    What a joke. No wonder it rotted in the can for two years. The director can now add yet another cinematic abomination to his hysterical resume. Ditto for Cage, who looks ludicrous. WICKER MAN and GHOST RIDER in the same year? Bravo. Almost as good as his last double-play: WEATHER MAN and LORD OF WAR. Cage time and again manages to limbo under the low, low bar he set in CON AIR. Basically, What a joke. No wonder it rotted in the can for two years. The director can now add yet another cinematic abomination to his hysterical resume. Ditto for Cage, who looks ludicrous. WICKER MAN and GHOST RIDER in the same year? Bravo. Almost as good as his last double-play: WEATHER MAN and LORD OF WAR. Cage time and again manages to limbo under the low, low bar he set in CON AIR. Basically, Coppola's nephew keeps churning out the virtuoso performances. When will Nic Cage be exposed for the ham and fraud he is? Another 20 mil for the hack. Yeah, I know he was in Leaving Las Vegas, but he's long since spent whatever capital he earned from that. Whoever sees fit to pay Cage and this director is not fit to draw breath, let alone greenlight motion pictures. Shame on everyone involved. The money spent on this dreck could have fed orphans or gone to disease research. Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2012
    6
    Good first attempt into bringing the Ghost Rider to the big screen. This was an interesting film of an interesting character. Nicolas Cage and Peter Fonda were good, I didn't like the portrayal of Blackheart in this movie. Mark Steven Johnson wasn't the perfect director for this one, and the CGI effects weren't that great.
  3. Apr 20, 2013
    2
    When this movie first came out, I was really excited. I was really hoping for a scary and exciting superhero movie. But after watching what was so suppose to be excellent, this was pure crap. First off, the so-called horrorifying visuals and fight sequences sucked. They really bored the crap out of me. Second, the screenplay was just absolutely terrible. I mean seriously, a 5 year oldWhen this movie first came out, I was really excited. I was really hoping for a scary and exciting superhero movie. But after watching what was so suppose to be excellent, this was pure crap. First off, the so-called horrorifying visuals and fight sequences sucked. They really bored the crap out of me. Second, the screenplay was just absolutely terrible. I mean seriously, a 5 year old could have wrote this. Third, there was some bad acting. Not all the actors were terrible, but Eve Mendes was just bad. She may look sexy, but she really couldn't pull off her character (Roxane). The storyline may be somewhat decent, but overall, it's just a terrible comic book rip-off. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2011
    3
    What makes "Ghost Rider" so terrible is not the childish dialogue or Nicolas Cage, but the story. The plot madly stomps on everything, pulverizing the whole movie into a ugly piece of scrap.
  5. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The reason why I'm giving it a ten is because first I'm a huge ghost rider fan. And I love marvel comics. Whatever people say about marvel movies it shall still bring out the awesome. Oh, yes the movie well let's see its all about a daredevil (Johnny Blaze) who made a deal with the devil to save his father from cancer. I know he's an idiot but he was seventeen. But he's father dies not from cancer but from a stunt he tried to do. But the deal was to turn Johnny into the ghost rider. The devils bounty hunter who was sent out to kill his son blackheart. And..and enough said just watch the damn movie!! Expand
  6. caporegime
    Jun 10, 2009
    0
    There's not one good thing i can say about this movie.
  7. May 1, 2011
    1
    One of the worst movies ever to be created, terrible acting, terrible story, terrible special effects, terrible casting. I'm actually surprised this movie made it to the cinemas nevermind DVD.
  8. Feb 17, 2012
    2
    One of the most coolest characters from the Marvel Universe is instantly destroyed with a mediocre cast and a dumb narrative. Nicolas Cage , you are not the perfect actor for this kind of movie .
  9. NickB.
    Feb 20, 2007
    9
    Exactly what I would expect from a movie about a blazing demonically possessed motorcycle jock. First movie I've seen this year that was a hoot to watch--no it wasn't a brainy flick, but I think I can let it pass on that mark, but until Spider Man 3 comes along, this is definitely the best comic-to-film event out there. Campy, a great cast, excellent special effects, and a plot Exactly what I would expect from a movie about a blazing demonically possessed motorcycle jock. First movie I've seen this year that was a hoot to watch--no it wasn't a brainy flick, but I think I can let it pass on that mark, but until Spider Man 3 comes along, this is definitely the best comic-to-film event out there. Campy, a great cast, excellent special effects, and a plot that made precisely as much sense as any comic book plot should. Great! Expand
  10. BenS.
    Feb 22, 2007
    3
    Awful, even for a comic book movie. It's so bad that sometimes it's funny, ala "Snakes in a Plane".
  11. ThoriaM.
    Feb 20, 2007
    7
    This is a movie about a biker from hell with a flaming skull. Seriously, this isn't Schindler's List with demons. For what it is, it's a fun ride.
  12. PnArdyPnArdy
    May 13, 2007
    9
    Really cool action with Nicolas Cage and stunning FX.
  13. [Anonymous]
    Feb 15, 2007
    3
    A hilarious movie. 3 points only because it was entertaiing to watch such a stupid film in action. I cannot believe they spent so much money on making this quiet action movie that is awkard for the entire film. Very entertaining but very bad. A guilty pleasure but obviously an awful film.
  14. MikeP.
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    The movie flows real well, never a dull moment. It has its fun,dark, cool, and even light moments. The special effects were very cool, and I liked the story where the main character was trying to make sense of his predicament. Do not expect Casablanca, it is a movie about a flaming skull chasing demons. Expect fun, you might have a good time.
  15. JohnS.
    Feb 20, 2007
    4
    Very Cheazy. Looked like a hurried made for TV, Power Ranger like movie. Don't think for a minute that because it's a Marvel Comic Movie you can get away that.
  16. Dale
    Feb 22, 2007
    4
    Avi Arad, you are an imbecile and a buffoon. The debacles that were Daredevil and Elektra should have been warning enough. Quit messing with these Marvel characters you fool.
  17. Ek-o
    Feb 23, 2007
    7
    I actually didn't think it was that bad. A decent action movie. It had it good parts.
  18. DavidV
    Feb 24, 2007
    3
    This movie was an embarrasment for Marvel. Started out somewhat decently but almost became Catwoman at the end.
  19. RazvanT.
    Feb 25, 2007
    3
    It's horrible, nothing to see at this movie !
  20. 9572AD
    Feb 27, 2007
    2
    Some cool cinematics, but few. Awful plot. Fell asleep before the end, and it was a noon showing.
  21. PondaJ
    Feb 28, 2007
    7
    Did I see a different movie? I can't believe this is getting slammed so badly. Sure it's cheesy and campy, but I had a great time. Recommended!
  22. BertT.
    Mar 10, 2007
    9
    No one who actually saw this movie could rate it poorly unless their expectations were too high or else they went to see it specifically determined to hate it. Ghost Rider is worth watching, end of story.
  23. AnsonG.
    Mar 3, 2007
    0
    Absolutely garbage. The acting was horrendous, the special effects was terrible as the plot. I staring at on screen at 2 hours and i was very boooooooooriiiiiiiiiiiiiing like i had wasted over an hour of my life. There is NO story, no emotion, NOTHING. Please do not waste your money on this movie. I normally dont criticize movies like this, and most of the people might think bad, but this Absolutely garbage. The acting was horrendous, the special effects was terrible as the plot. I staring at on screen at 2 hours and i was very boooooooooriiiiiiiiiiiiiing like i had wasted over an hour of my life. There is NO story, no emotion, NOTHING. Please do not waste your money on this movie. I normally dont criticize movies like this, and most of the people might think bad, but this is going too far. This movie should not have been released. It was incredibly drawn out, which isnt surprising given the fact they had to take no story and stretch it over a couple of hours. The previews make it look bad enough, but if you see the movie you will discover the degree of awfulness this movie possesses. Take my word, dont put yourself through it. Im sorry, but any person who enjoyed this movie is at the same level intellectually as a 2 year old. Expand
  24. EmoK.
    Mar 5, 2007
    2
    Don't waste your money. The only reason it made box office hit list was because everyone thought it would be as good as the rest of the comic book movies.
  25. CJ
    Apr 6, 2007
    0
    Dreadful from start to finish. Full of cheesy gags and cliches. Caused me to laugh when I probably shouldn't have, while the actual "humour" in the film was about as funny as contracting Hepatitis. I never had high expectations for this film, and was appalled to discover that Ghost Rider couldn't even reach those low opinions I had of it in the first place. Unlike several other Dreadful from start to finish. Full of cheesy gags and cliches. Caused me to laugh when I probably shouldn't have, while the actual "humour" in the film was about as funny as contracting Hepatitis. I never had high expectations for this film, and was appalled to discover that Ghost Rider couldn't even reach those low opinions I had of it in the first place. Unlike several other comic adaptations, Ghost Rider should forever remain in a book, rather than move across to the big screen, so actors like Nicolas Cage don't have to embarrass themselves fulfilling a role that shouldn't have been issued to anyone. Expand
  26. DA.
    Jun 26, 2007
    6
    I actually kinda liked it. I had dreams about it for 4 days. I had one just last night. In all of them I am ghost rider. BACK TO THE MOVIE. It was good although it could o been better.
  27. ClintH.
    Jul 8, 2007
    8
    A very well done movie. It's definitely worth a look.
  28. BlakeM
    Feb 19, 2009
    10
    Ghost Rider is my No.1 all time favorite movie. I mean come on now, whats not to like about it. It's got a skeleton wearing all black leather, on fire with a chain wrapped around his body and a gun on his back, riding on a awesome chopper that's also on fire and sounds like something bad out of hell. What's not to like about it. Oh ya, and Nicolas Cage is extremely awesome, Ghost Rider is my No.1 all time favorite movie. I mean come on now, whats not to like about it. It's got a skeleton wearing all black leather, on fire with a chain wrapped around his body and a gun on his back, riding on a awesome chopper that's also on fire and sounds like something bad out of hell. What's not to like about it. Oh ya, and Nicolas Cage is extremely awesome, and Eva Mendes is extremely hot. Expand
  29. KeenanS.
    Sep 9, 2009
    4
    Ghost Rider had great potential to rank among the elite comic book flicks, but no, it decided to suck instead. The acting and dialogue int his film is simply atrocious, and you won't know whether to blame the actors or the script for it. The action scenes are poorly scripted and have no substance or meat to them. They are an utter bore to watch. While the CGI effects look nice and Ghost Rider had great potential to rank among the elite comic book flicks, but no, it decided to suck instead. The acting and dialogue int his film is simply atrocious, and you won't know whether to blame the actors or the script for it. The action scenes are poorly scripted and have no substance or meat to them. They are an utter bore to watch. While the CGI effects look nice and there might be maybe two or three action scenes worthy of mentioning, Ghost Rider just falls flat and even a rental will make you feel as if you wasted your money. Go see Watchmen or The Dark Knight instead. Expand
  30. CarsonE
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    A good superhero movie. Good action, okay dialogue. Nic Cage and Sam Elliot where awesome. Also Black Heart was cool. If your expecting this to be Iron Man then don't watch it just be thankful it isn't as bad as the 2003 Hulk.
  31. OthoS.
    Feb 16, 2007
    0
    I've always thought that Cage was a one-trick pony. Well, make that two tricks. He did manage to play a good drunk in Leaving Las Vegas. However, all his other roles are pretty much just variations on a theme. GR is no exception. Too bad--I usually like the Marvel flicks, even the Fantastic Four.
  32. KristianB.
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    Surprisingly faithful but fun and quirky. An interesting film that does get bogged down in the origin too much. Although that's a criticism of most origin superhero movies these days. The concept and performances show real promise and as usual with these things now the origin is over we will be able to see what the character can do in it's sequel.
  33. PaulKane
    Feb 16, 2007
    8
    This is on par with second class comic book adaptations like hellboy, daredevil, and the like. If you've seen the second trailer and felt compelled to see this, you won't be disappointed. Never you mind that red lighted 27 metascore.
  34. KevinL.
    Feb 16, 2007
    7
    doesn't take itself too seriously, parodies westerns, good movie overall.
  35. SpencerC.
    Feb 16, 2007
    5
    This movie was better than I expected. Then again, I wasn't expecting it to be any good at all. As far as I was concerned, of all the parts of this movie, the humorous elements did the best job of working the way I think the director intended. Problems: The love interest was totally pointless, the special effects frequently stole the show from the action, and there were problems with This movie was better than I expected. Then again, I wasn't expecting it to be any good at all. As far as I was concerned, of all the parts of this movie, the humorous elements did the best job of working the way I think the director intended. Problems: The love interest was totally pointless, the special effects frequently stole the show from the action, and there were problems with logic (didn't the caretaker say the demons couldn't step on hallowed ground? Why was Blackheart able to confront the priest in the church for the contract?) and common sense (Did the cops really let Roxanne walk in front of them as they all opened fire on the Ghost Rider?). At least I saw this movie for free. Expand
  36. VanessaC.
    Feb 17, 2007
    2
    A movie that starts with an already thin hope for fun ends up sucking even worse.
  37. SteveR.
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    This movie was awesome!!!!!I I saw it last night with my wife and i'm still talking about it. It's about time moviemaking expose comics at best. The story, dialogue, acting, cinematography, action and adventure is one of the best i've seen marvel do. If you want to see a class A movie watch this. I usually dont write reviews but this movie was so good i had to write one to This movie was awesome!!!!!I I saw it last night with my wife and i'm still talking about it. It's about time moviemaking expose comics at best. The story, dialogue, acting, cinematography, action and adventure is one of the best i've seen marvel do. If you want to see a class A movie watch this. I usually dont write reviews but this movie was so good i had to write one to motivate all to watch it. GREAT MOVIE!!! Expand
  38. PatrickM.
    Feb 17, 2007
    6
    Good special effects overall. Loved Cage. The dialogue was as bad as any Kung-fu theater mivie I have ever watched. Character development was virtually non-existent. But a fun movie overall if you don't go in expecting too much.
  39. DecepticonPom
    Feb 17, 2007
    6
    A fun bit of Marvel moral-loaded escapism. Nothing more, nothing less.
  40. TD
    Feb 17, 2007
    0
    Sadly, no. I wanted to say yes yes yes! but no.
  41. LynnP.
    Feb 18, 2007
    7
    I might have given this a 6, but the movie proved to be entertaining. It is not a great film, but it is well done for its genre and fun to watch. I can understand the 4's from the demanding and the 10's from the fans, but this movie isn't a 0. The movie failed for me in choosing cheese over character development, but this is a film about one of Marvels more adult heros, so I might have given this a 6, but the movie proved to be entertaining. It is not a great film, but it is well done for its genre and fun to watch. I can understand the 4's from the demanding and the 10's from the fans, but this movie isn't a 0. The movie failed for me in choosing cheese over character development, but this is a film about one of Marvels more adult heros, so certain shortcuts were expected...and delivered. Over all, well done, though it may be a bit to scary for kids. Expand
  42. K.A.
    Feb 18, 2007
    9
    I loved it ive been reading the comic for years i wish it stuck a more with the story line but overall it was a very good movie considering the type of comic book charater ghost rider is. it did have alot of corny lines but what comic doesnt its all about WHAM! POW! and things people dont say in real life. it wasnt a comic that was made into a sellout it was a comic that wasnt messed I loved it ive been reading the comic for years i wish it stuck a more with the story line but overall it was a very good movie considering the type of comic book charater ghost rider is. it did have alot of corny lines but what comic doesnt its all about WHAM! POW! and things people dont say in real life. it wasnt a comic that was made into a sellout it was a comic that wasnt messed around with to much thats why i give it the rating i do Expand
  43. MichaelS.
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    I've been to see it twice just to make sure that my initial reaction wasn't because of my anticipation to see the movie. I MUST say, it was still fantastic! It had wonderful effects & awesome action! Keep in mind, this is a comic book movie. Don't expect it to change your life, but, it will make your day!
  44. AndrwT.
    Feb 19, 2007
    8
    I thought the special effects where good. The flames look believable. As fars as dialogue it was ok come on it based on a comic book. what are you expecting shakespear. I found it funny with some action with a love story spun in. Major news critics must have something against Niicholos Cage I don't get their low rating.
  45. Daddy69
    Feb 19, 2007
    8
    Incredibly realistic and gritty look at life as a demon possessed bounty hunter. :) lol, just kidding. Shallow with plenty of funny and cheesy moments. A typical B-rate film that gets a decent score for just being a great popcorn movie.
  46. RyanA.
    Feb 20, 2007
    9
    This movie was visually stunning. I don't care what critics say, it deserves a 10 for being stylish and visually stunning. An 8 out of 10 for acting and 9 out of 10 for plot. I can't wait for the sequel. Ghost Rider is not the type of movie for movie critics, but its the type of movie for fans from the looks of it unless it pulls a B&R on us which means it makes alot of money This movie was visually stunning. I don't care what critics say, it deserves a 10 for being stylish and visually stunning. An 8 out of 10 for acting and 9 out of 10 for plot. I can't wait for the sequel. Ghost Rider is not the type of movie for movie critics, but its the type of movie for fans from the looks of it unless it pulls a B&R on us which means it makes alot of money first weekend then drops significantly until its run in theaters ends. Expand
  47. Alina
    Feb 24, 2007
    2
    perhaps the stupidest movie with the cheesiest plot since the 50's. i couldn't believe how bad tis movie was. it was the most "bleh" thing i have ever seen.. i walked out on it and went to eat. the only good part about it is making fun of how trite it is. oh and the bike was kinda cool.
  48. Eeganrac
    Feb 25, 2007
    2
    The movie is campy, boring, and just plain dumb. One of the worst movies I have seen in a long time.
  49. Deanna
    Feb 25, 2007
    1
    Honestly, I think this is the worst movie I have seen in about a year. My friend and I got so bored, we started to attempt to annoy the people in front of us, just to keep our minds occupied. The graphics was pittiful. I took about 10 minutes in the bathroom, just so I wouldn't have to go back. I suggested that we should leave, but my friend said "Why? There is nothing else to do." I Honestly, I think this is the worst movie I have seen in about a year. My friend and I got so bored, we started to attempt to annoy the people in front of us, just to keep our minds occupied. The graphics was pittiful. I took about 10 minutes in the bathroom, just so I wouldn't have to go back. I suggested that we should leave, but my friend said "Why? There is nothing else to do." I would have rather watched grass grow, personaly. It is not scary, thrilling or remotely interesting. SAVE YOUR MONEY!!! Do not see this movie! Expand
  50. SteveK.
    Feb 25, 2007
    7
    It's meant to be an action-packed, effects-driven popcorn movie. Turn your brain off and enjoy. If you can lower your expectations, suspend your disbelief, and ignore the cheesy dialogue (it's a comic book movie about an undead flaming avenger on a motorcycle, it's not Shakespeare, folks), you will have a good time. If the idea of a Ghost Rider seems wacky to you in the It's meant to be an action-packed, effects-driven popcorn movie. Turn your brain off and enjoy. If you can lower your expectations, suspend your disbelief, and ignore the cheesy dialogue (it's a comic book movie about an undead flaming avenger on a motorcycle, it's not Shakespeare, folks), you will have a good time. If the idea of a Ghost Rider seems wacky to you in the first place, don't watch this movie. Expand
  51. ToddGillette
    Feb 27, 2007
    7
    I absolutely loved this movie, in the same way I loved Army of Darkness. Now Ghost Rider did appear to attempt some level of seriousness and character development at times (that AoD never did), but for the most part it appeared that the horrible lines and cringe-inspiring moments were on purpose. Even if they weren't I still loved them. Campy? Yes. Silly? Yes. Crappy dialogue and I absolutely loved this movie, in the same way I loved Army of Darkness. Now Ghost Rider did appear to attempt some level of seriousness and character development at times (that AoD never did), but for the most part it appeared that the horrible lines and cringe-inspiring moments were on purpose. Even if they weren't I still loved them. Campy? Yes. Silly? Yes. Crappy dialogue and plot? Yes. Funny as hell and a good time? Yes! Expand
  52. EFrozen
    Feb 28, 2007
    2
    Horrible! So was there a fight scene at all? Have Singer or Rami direct the next one.
  53. NanH
    Mar 13, 2007
    10
    Overall good movie. Special effects are super. Nicolas Cage & Eva Mendes area a gread duo in this film. I highly recommend this movie to those who like good special effects and Marvel Comics themed movies.
  54. Nancy
    Mar 18, 2007
    7
    I admit I had no real rexpectations except the effects and the hope that Nicolas Cage would provide another film that would be a source of "don't tell anyone I actually like this movie" (a la Con Air). But except for Sam Elliot, whom I would pay to see even if he just spit and didn't talk, the other performances weren't stong enough or campy enough to make is as fun a ride I admit I had no real rexpectations except the effects and the hope that Nicolas Cage would provide another film that would be a source of "don't tell anyone I actually like this movie" (a la Con Air). But except for Sam Elliot, whom I would pay to see even if he just spit and didn't talk, the other performances weren't stong enough or campy enough to make is as fun a ride as it could have been. Everyone played it pretty straight and only Donal Logue (and maybe the guy who played tha father, Brett Cullen) seemed to have the energy that movie needed. More energy would have made this more fun - more fun with the dialogue would also not have gone amiss - after all - this is not the most subtle of "heros" I think just about any town would rather take their chances with bad guys and evil than to try and repair all the damage that was done just from Ghost Rider tooling down the street. Expand
  55. EduardoR.
    Mar 6, 2007
    7
    This is NOT as bad as people are saying. It is NOT a great movie, either. There are some smart jokes and the gothic look is nice. On the other hand, it definitely lacks decent battles. But, in the end, it is fun.
  56. Louis'sbrother
    Apr 16, 2007
    8
    What I liked about this marvel Movie, set aside I really like Nick Cage, is that Johnny Blaze got his powers based on religious beliefs rather than exposure to radiation, bitten by a genetically enchanced spider, yadda yadda. The acting was pretty good, but the story needs some help.
  57. Robyn
    Jun 14, 2007
    0
    one of the worst movies ever. a tragedy, given such a cool comic character. Nic Cage is awful, should have never been considered, or forced on the movie. unbelievable that a bunch of idiot movie execs could get 100 million dollars to make such a piece of garbage.
  58. WilliamB.
    Jun 21, 2007
    7
    Fun popcorn movie, but nothing special.
  59. PeterC.
    Jan 9, 2008
    0
    I really want the few hours I spent watching this movie back. They were the worst hours of my life.
  60. MikeR
    Dec 30, 2007
    7
    I don't follow the comic book of Ghost Rider.The dialog and acting was decent.But the action was awesome from start to finish.Nicolas was decent playing Ghost Rider but I'm not sure if any other actor could have done better.I don't think Johnny Blaze is an easy character to do.Yes the movie did try to be serious but ended up being a little cheesy but the action is where the I don't follow the comic book of Ghost Rider.The dialog and acting was decent.But the action was awesome from start to finish.Nicolas was decent playing Ghost Rider but I'm not sure if any other actor could have done better.I don't think Johnny Blaze is an easy character to do.Yes the movie did try to be serious but ended up being a little cheesy but the action is where the movie really shined.This movie is definitely a fun popcorn movie and nothing special. Expand
  61. AMovieCritic
    Feb 16, 2007
    6
    Whoo boy.....in a time when comic book movies are trying to be more "human" and are trying to be much more character-driven and serious...Ghost Rider comes along and completely reverts back to the "Batman and Robin" days. The entire movie feels like a giant cartoon. The dialogue is (intentionally at times) horrible, character conversations are cartoony and unrealistic, no characters are Whoo boy.....in a time when comic book movies are trying to be more "human" and are trying to be much more character-driven and serious...Ghost Rider comes along and completely reverts back to the "Batman and Robin" days. The entire movie feels like a giant cartoon. The dialogue is (intentionally at times) horrible, character conversations are cartoony and unrealistic, no characters are developed at all, the plot is laughable.....completely a step backwards. It's a case of style over substance, clearly. Some inspired special effects and a somewhat interesting first half (and Eva Mendes) make this movie worth seeing but the 2nd half is bogged down by dull action, really bad dialogue, a plot and villains that go nowhere, and increasingly uninteresting characters. I don't know who greenlit this script but it REALLY needed a re-write. It's never a good sign when large numbers of people in the theater got up and left after the final showdown with the villain despite there still being about 5 minutes left in the movie. Meh...go, turn your brain off, it's kind of worth seeing, just don't expect much of anything. The only thing really exciting here wasn't even in the movie; it was the teaser for Resident Evil; Extinction that was shown before it. Expand
  62. E7-2521
    Feb 17, 2007
    4
    I expected so much more from Mark Steven Johnson. I really thought he'd be on his way to the A-list. I loved Daredevil and the director's cut of that film is even better. I do know "how" to watch films and suspend disbelief, but Ghost Rider just can't be recommended. It's all so cheesy. But that aspect was expected. It's just not well crafted on every level. I I expected so much more from Mark Steven Johnson. I really thought he'd be on his way to the A-list. I loved Daredevil and the director's cut of that film is even better. I do know "how" to watch films and suspend disbelief, but Ghost Rider just can't be recommended. It's all so cheesy. But that aspect was expected. It's just not well crafted on every level. I think it's appeal is really for 4 - 10 year old kids only. If the screenplay was revised by Joe Lansdale, this could have been special. But I'm dreaming. Pluses: I couldn't take my eyes off Eva Mendes. And the end credits song is really awesome. I found the Christopher Young score on Amazon, but that doesn't include the song. At this time I can't locate the name of the artist and song. If anyone knows, please let me know. Thanks Expand
  63. TonyW.
    Feb 17, 2007
    8
    I really don't understand the low ratings. Ghost Rider was quite enjoyable.
  64. RobertS.
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    Excellent movie. saw it twice. great action, humor, and drama. Folks, please gnore the negative reviews just like you did for Fantastic Four and you will have a great time. I like all the multiple alias' writing the same neg reviews, especially the one person who used the Leaving in Las Vegas comment in each of his posts. Its pathetic how people take on these personal vendettas toExcellent movie. saw it twice. great action, humor, and drama. Folks, please gnore the negative reviews just like you did for Fantastic Four and you will have a great time. I like all the multiple alias' writing the same neg reviews, especially the one person who used the Leaving in Las Vegas comment in each of his posts. Its pathetic how people take on these personal vendettas to thro dirt at a great flick. Expand
  65. ReefaRaw
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    This movie was great i dont understand the negative ratings. I saw this movie twice and thought overall it was an outstanding movie. To add what Robert S. was saying it really is funny how people take movies to personally if they didnt like it, and make negative comments under different alias as well. I wonder what kind of movies those individuals like? Probably not the ones WE like. Go This movie was great i dont understand the negative ratings. I saw this movie twice and thought overall it was an outstanding movie. To add what Robert S. was saying it really is funny how people take movies to personally if they didnt like it, and make negative comments under different alias as well. I wonder what kind of movies those individuals like? Probably not the ones WE like. Go watch this movie despite the negative ratings. Most people that i know loved it and i can almost gurantee you will. Expand
  66. MLee
    Feb 18, 2007
    6
    It was alright. Don't go to this flcik expecting Spiderman, or X-Men. It's a solid and fun movie. Plain and simple. It's somewhere above X-Men The Last Stand, but below Blade 2 and Daredevil. If you go in expecting the level of FF, or Hulk, you'll be greatly surprised...
  67. TomM.
    Feb 18, 2007
    7
    Fer cryin' out loud, it's movie about a comic book character, and a character that has a flaming skull and rides a motorcycle at that. I'm not expecting Shakespeare dialog or Ocscar-worthy performances. It's campy, goofy, and entertaining. No, it certainly isn't the best comic adaptation out there, but it's follows the original story fairly well, and is fun Fer cryin' out loud, it's movie about a comic book character, and a character that has a flaming skull and rides a motorcycle at that. I'm not expecting Shakespeare dialog or Ocscar-worthy performances. It's campy, goofy, and entertaining. No, it certainly isn't the best comic adaptation out there, but it's follows the original story fairly well, and is fun to watch. Nic Cage is as wooden as ever. The villians are.... well, appropriately villainous. And Eva Mendes shares screen time with her womanly assests throughout. Overall, it isn't a great movie but it is a fun movie. Expand
  68. PaulF.
    Feb 18, 2007
    8
    First off for whatever reason this film was given way to many harsh reviews. Granted it was not a masterpiece but it was full of fun and camp. Peoples please do not take this film too seriously as it was not intended for that. The worst flaws about this film were that the love chemistry was a little weak and could have been dialoged better, and the evil characters were not all that First off for whatever reason this film was given way to many harsh reviews. Granted it was not a masterpiece but it was full of fun and camp. Peoples please do not take this film too seriously as it was not intended for that. The worst flaws about this film were that the love chemistry was a little weak and could have been dialoged better, and the evil characters were not all that convincing. The positive aspects to this film were the special effects; they really do not get any better than this, as well as an interesting and fun story. What is a little sad is it really could have been great, but I'll settle for plain old good. Expand
  69. MarcoP.
    Feb 19, 2007
    6
    As comic book movies go, this one feels nestled between Elektra and Blade Trinity. I know that's not exactly saying much, but if that kind of mindless comic book movie does it for you then by all means enjoy Ghost Rider. I liked it for all its campiness and humor but for those hoping for it to be along the same lines as the best in the genre, look elsewhere. I did like Nic As comic book movies go, this one feels nestled between Elektra and Blade Trinity. I know that's not exactly saying much, but if that kind of mindless comic book movie does it for you then by all means enjoy Ghost Rider. I liked it for all its campiness and humor but for those hoping for it to be along the same lines as the best in the genre, look elsewhere. I did like Nic Cage's take on Johnny Blaze and Eva Mendes as always looks stunning (if not a little confused the entire time). Add in some neat-o familiar faces like Peter Fonda and Sam Elliott and it just gets better in a "what were they thinking?" kinda way. The FX also aren't as bad as many would have you believe, and the music definately adds some much needed oomph about halfay through the film. I guess you could say I liked it. All in all it's a fine popcorn movie and easily better than some efforts Nic Cage has made lately. (Wicker Man anyone? "The BEES! No! Not the BEES!") LOL I would even say it's worth seeing more than once in the theater just to see the final showdown between ol' Ghosty and Blackheart. Sure it's not the best film out there right now in the cineplexes (Pan's Labyrinth if it's still playing in a theater near you is definately worth checking out) but it makes for very passable entertainment. I give it 6/10. Expand
  70. JR
    Feb 19, 2007
    3
    Once again Hollywood takes a fairly interesting comic book hero (and accompanying mythology) and turns it into a giant, stinking coiler. I have to admit that it was exciting watching the Ghost Rider in action. But every single person in this movie overacted and for this one can only blame the director. The fact that he helmed "Daredevil" should have been red flag enough.
  71. ChadS.
    Feb 27, 2007
    3
    "Ghost Rider" glosses over its one potentially interesting storyline; the familial rift between Mephistopheles(Peter Fonda) and his son(the creepy HV guy from "American Beauty"). Blackheart and his minions of darkness cohorts look like a goth band on their night off. Ghost Rider seems like an inept name for this second-tier Marvel creation; after all, he's a skelton and we can see "Ghost Rider" glosses over its one potentially interesting storyline; the familial rift between Mephistopheles(Peter Fonda) and his son(the creepy HV guy from "American Beauty"). Blackheart and his minions of darkness cohorts look like a goth band on their night off. Ghost Rider seems like an inept name for this second-tier Marvel creation; after all, he's a skelton and we can see him. The Vandalizer might be a better moniker for Johnny Blaze's alter ego; he's a messy super(or is it super anti-)hero. To distract yourself, estimate how much it'll cost the city to repair all those fire-scorched boulevards. Oh, but what about the plot, you say? Of course, it blows. Selling your soul to the devil is a storyline that hasn't been put to good use since Ralph Macchio kicked Steve Vai's ass in "Crossroads". Oh, but what about the acting, you say? Nicolas Cage looks bored. Eva Mendes always looks bored. And Fonda has only one-note to play. There will be no "Ghost Rider 2". Expand
  72. Judy
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    I loved it!!! I want to go out riding now but I have to wait for the 2 feet of snow to melt first!
  73. BrutusO.
    Mar 11, 2007
    8
    Don't believe the critics. A fun movie, full of good natured redneck humour, raucous music and tongue in cheek romance. A better movie than X Men 3 or Borat, and well made. Good special effects. I thought the original comic book was tedious, but this sort of campy FX driven approach works quite well. I notice that it is doing pretty well, and rightly so.
  74. Axis
    Jun 14, 2007
    0
    and the award for the worst movie I've seen to date goes to.....ghost rider. (hold for non existent applause) like many people i had no expectations of this movie. i figured it would be full of action and good cg but swing and a miss for me because this movie was terrible. the acting is sub par along with the spotty story line. i recommend that you grab a chair, maybe some popcorn, and the award for the worst movie I've seen to date goes to.....ghost rider. (hold for non existent applause) like many people i had no expectations of this movie. i figured it would be full of action and good cg but swing and a miss for me because this movie was terrible. the acting is sub par along with the spotty story line. i recommend that you grab a chair, maybe some popcorn, paint the wall and watch it dry before you rent this dud. Expand
  75. WadeF.
    Jun 28, 2007
    9
    A Hell of a ride. Cool Fx, good story, and good comic book adaptation.
  76. RobbyH
    Dec 22, 2007
    2
    It gets a 2 instead of a 0 because it was so bad as to actually be kind of funny. I couldn't help but laugh when Nic Cage slowly extended his flaming finger, dramatically, just to strike a pose before answering a yes/no question.
  77. DME
    Jun 11, 2012
    6
    Ghost Rider is nothing special and it's definitely not a superhero movie, but it's an above-par action flick that's worth seeing on a rainy day.
  78. Feb 21, 2012
    7
    I like this movie, because it is refreshing from the other dregs. It will make you laugh, cause some of the acting and dialogue are that outlandish . This movie falls into one of things you do not like to admit you like, but you can't help yourself.
  79. Mar 9, 2011
    7
    While it's not the most normal super hero movie it's a lot of fun, I actually enjoyed Nicholas Cage's performance as Ghost Rider, and enjoyed the unique story and action, a very unique super hero that I recommend for fans of the comics.
  80. Feb 28, 2011
    4
    Nothing really to recommend here, the acting is sub-standard, the action scenes are stationary and the whole film takes ages to get going. For a superhero action flick, this misses the mark by a long shot, but for the special effects alone, it's worth a look.
  81. Sep 13, 2011
    7
    The rider who has a burning skull as a head and wears leather jacket, was looking good on this one. But i should say I didn't expect this to be a good movie actually. The reason was that they always find a way to fail in a superhero movie. So i watched this 4 year old movie in 2011. There was nothing bad about the plot or any characters. (I just wondered why was Blackheart looking like aThe rider who has a burning skull as a head and wears leather jacket, was looking good on this one. But i should say I didn't expect this to be a good movie actually. The reason was that they always find a way to fail in a superhero movie. So i watched this 4 year old movie in 2011. There was nothing bad about the plot or any characters. (I just wondered why was Blackheart looking like a human instead of his usual demonic appearance in comics) And lets just say i don't like Eva Mendes that much. The story was fine and by the end of the day this movie satisfied a comic-geek like me. But i should say im not that impressed and even though this was a good first movie to explain the background of main character, this was of course could be better in action way. Expand
  82. Dec 25, 2011
    1
    "Ghost Rider" is what you could possibly expect from Nicolas Cage's recent films: horrendous script, lame acting and turgid action saturated with mediocre special effects.
  83. May 27, 2012
    8
    It is a decent action movie with a little plague of problems. I think Nicholas Cage could have performed better here but its got decent action scenes. If a little more thought was put into the casting and script it could be as good as Batman Begins.
  84. Aug 28, 2014
    4
    I expected a far better movie, and ended up disappointed. Haven't read the comics, so I can't tell if the movie would have been better/worse with knowledge from them.

    The visuals weren't stunning, the plot was great but somehow lacking a lot - not to speak of things that were never really explained and others that just didn't seem to click (at this point I'm sure reading comics would
    I expected a far better movie, and ended up disappointed. Haven't read the comics, so I can't tell if the movie would have been better/worse with knowledge from them.

    The visuals weren't stunning, the plot was great but somehow lacking a lot - not to speak of things that were never really explained and others that just didn't seem to click (at this point I'm sure reading comics would help).

    I have seen better Marvel-based movies, really.
    Expand
  85. Mar 7, 2012
    6
    I'm watching the second part and be awful, but this first part is better (and much), have mistakes, but the most better things are the action scenes, is not the best title, but is a good film. Yes better than the second part.
  86. Feb 2, 2015
    5
    Ghost Rider is poorly acted and badly scripted but is partially made up for with it's somewhat decent effects. The directing is weak and Nicholas Cage is terrible as usual.
  87. Apr 21, 2014
    7
    I love this film, I love Ghost Rider, don't get me wrong its a terrible movie but damn i just have a place in my heart for this film because it really showed me that their are different types of superheros besides Spiderman, Batman, Superman etc and really made me want to explore and get a better understanding of the characters. Plus the films about a biker with a flaming skull for a head,I love this film, I love Ghost Rider, don't get me wrong its a terrible movie but damn i just have a place in my heart for this film because it really showed me that their are different types of superheros besides Spiderman, Batman, Superman etc and really made me want to explore and get a better understanding of the characters. Plus the films about a biker with a flaming skull for a head, BADass.

    -Guilty pleasure film gets 7/10
    Expand
  88. Nov 15, 2012
    2
    Ugh-yuck. So much wasted potential here, this sad, sad movie just makes you want to puke on the screen.
  89. Jan 4, 2014
    2
    Destaca-se como um dos piores filmes de super heróis que já vi, uma droga completa, mal feito, mal produzido da pena de assistir esse desastre......
  90. May 28, 2013
    4
    Sadly, the only good part about this movie is the Ghost Rider himself, the rest of the movie, with the story, co-characters, and enemies, are just plain boring and useless.
  91. Aug 5, 2013
    3
    A sloppy effort at bringing this movie to life, full of lousy dialogue, one-dimensional characters, and subpar special effects that make Ghost Rider a difficult superhero film to sit through.
  92. Jan 2, 2014
    4
    I don't know what is more ridiculous, the fact that this spawned a sequel or the rug on Nicholas Cage's head. I was surprised to see the writer and director didn't go in a dark direction for this film and instead decided to go camp and over-the-top.
  93. Nov 13, 2013
    4
    Ghost Rider is dead inside.
    A very cool, refreshing concept to a superhero movie executed with poor negligence. It is only successful at its special effects, but is an udder catastrophe with acting and dialogue.
  94. Jan 29, 2014
    2
    Good god this was painful to watch. It's this ectoplasm of Marvel and skeletons and westerns and grave keepers and demons and...I don't even know. Right off the bat, Cage does not look like he's 20-something he's supposed to be portraying by any stretch of the imagination, no matter how hard he tries to brush his hair over. It was like watching someone with superpowers have a psychologicalGood god this was painful to watch. It's this ectoplasm of Marvel and skeletons and westerns and grave keepers and demons and...I don't even know. Right off the bat, Cage does not look like he's 20-something he's supposed to be portraying by any stretch of the imagination, no matter how hard he tries to brush his hair over. It was like watching someone with superpowers have a psychological meltdown amidst a mid-life crisis. Guhhhhhh. Expand
  95. Jan 29, 2014
    2
    Ghost Rider another Marvel Comics adaptation with star Nicolas Cage (Ghost Rider). Johnny Blaze makes a pact with the devil Mephistopheles (Peter Fonda) that would save his father. Mephistopheles tells him that he will become a ghost rider. Father Blaze (Brett Cullen) dies and Joni breaks up with his childhood love Roxanne Simpson (Eva Mendes). Several years later, Johnny became famousGhost Rider another Marvel Comics adaptation with star Nicolas Cage (Ghost Rider). Johnny Blaze makes a pact with the devil Mephistopheles (Peter Fonda) that would save his father. Mephistopheles tells him that he will become a ghost rider. Father Blaze (Brett Cullen) dies and Joni breaks up with his childhood love Roxanne Simpson (Eva Mendes). Several years later, Johnny became famous stuntman. Johnny Blaze all the time lucky with death and he always survives during his stunts. one of the jumps he meets Roxanne. He risked his life invites her to dinner. Blaze evening sees Mephistopheles and turns into a ghost rider. Mephistopheles says Blaze that he needed to fight his son, Blackheart (Wes Bentley) and his fallen angels.

    Cage begins to wriggle and turn your bike into a ghost bike. Now he begins to sacrifice murderers and evil spirits from the souls that would burn in hell. Blaze Blackheart win if the curse will disappear. Armed with a motorcycle chain with bad CG animation it starts to fight against evil. He meets the cemetery Carter Slade / Ghost Rider who is the caretaker of the cemetery. He teaches him to control his mind. Blackheart kidnaps Roxanne Blaze and says that if he does not bring the contract it will die.
    Blackheart does not constitute a charismatic villain. It is not impressive as his fallen angels. Cage sees murderers and again begins to wriggle constantly. This is the main problem of the film is not very Cage looks at the role of the rider. Ghost Rider should be dark and serious, but all the time Cage hamming and joking.

    Director Mark Steven Johnson, the director of Daredevil is not very able to do movie comics. Screenplay is very stupid. Silly and funny dialogues will throughout the film. But the ending is just awful. Blaze Blackheart wins and refuses to expire. He says he is a racer that would win Mephistopheles.

    Subtotal: Ghost Rider is one of the worst movie comics
    Rating: C-
    Expand
  96. Jul 24, 2014
    3
    Despite the efforts of Ghost Rider, this forgettable, nonsensical film suffers from pathetically laughable dialogues, poor acting and a clichêd narrative.
  97. Oct 10, 2014
    0
    Normally I would watch a film featuring Nicolas Cage because they're hilarious, for example 'The Wicker Man'. This is that bad it's not funny, Cage is so poor it's un-watchable. If I'm bored and I want to watch a terrible film that's funny, Cage is the first actor I will go for, but this was diabolical.
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 10 out of 20
  1. 25
    The movie's last words are "This is how legends are born." Make that stillborn, because when the makers of this one pitch the sequel, the only answer is going to be, "Ah HA HA HA!"
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    38
    Ghost Rider is the kind of movie that's great stupid fun as long as someone else is buying the tickets.
  3. 38
    Marvel-man Mark Steven Johnson, who wrote and directed "Daredevil" (2003) and scripted "Elektra" (2005), continues to demonstrate the wrong way to make comic book movies: Make sure special effects overwhelm the characters, let campy mannerisms go unchecked and be sure dialogue is declaimed rather than spoken.