Sony Pictures Entertainment (SPE) | Release Date: February 16, 2007
3.5
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 415 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
101
Mixed:
86
Negative:
228
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
Movie1997Apr 20, 2013
When this movie first came out, I was really excited. I was really hoping for a scary and exciting superhero movie. But after watching what was so suppose to be excellent, this was pure crap. First off, the so-called horrorifying visuals andWhen this movie first came out, I was really excited. I was really hoping for a scary and exciting superhero movie. But after watching what was so suppose to be excellent, this was pure crap. First off, the so-called horrorifying visuals and fight sequences sucked. They really bored the crap out of me. Second, the screenplay was just absolutely terrible. I mean seriously, a 5 year old could have wrote this. Third, there was some bad acting. Not all the actors were terrible, but Eve Mendes was just bad. She may look sexy, but she really couldn't pull off her character (Roxane). The storyline may be somewhat decent, but overall, it's just a terrible comic book rip-off. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
LewW.Feb 15, 2007
What a joke. No wonder it rotted in the can for two years. The director can now add yet another cinematic abomination to his hysterical resume. Ditto for Cage, who looks ludicrous. WICKER MAN and GHOST RIDER in the same year? Bravo. Almost What a joke. No wonder it rotted in the can for two years. The director can now add yet another cinematic abomination to his hysterical resume. Ditto for Cage, who looks ludicrous. WICKER MAN and GHOST RIDER in the same year? Bravo. Almost as good as his last double-play: WEATHER MAN and LORD OF WAR. Cage time and again manages to limbo under the low, low bar he set in CON AIR. Basically, Coppola's nephew keeps churning out the virtuoso performances. When will Nic Cage be exposed for the ham and fraud he is? Another 20 mil for the hack. Yeah, I know he was in Leaving Las Vegas, but he's long since spent whatever capital he earned from that. Whoever sees fit to pay Cage and this director is not fit to draw breath, let alone greenlight motion pictures. Shame on everyone involved. The money spent on this dreck could have fed orphans or gone to disease research. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ftoonsMar 31, 2012
Good first attempt into bringing the Ghost Rider to the big screen. This was an interesting film of an interesting character. Nicolas Cage and Peter Fonda were good, I didn't like the portrayal of Blackheart in this movie. Mark Steven JohnsonGood first attempt into bringing the Ghost Rider to the big screen. This was an interesting film of an interesting character. Nicolas Cage and Peter Fonda were good, I didn't like the portrayal of Blackheart in this movie. Mark Steven Johnson wasn't the perfect director for this one, and the CGI effects weren't that great. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
What makes "Ghost Rider" so terrible is not the childish dialogue or Nicolas Cage, but the story. The plot madly stomps on everything, pulverizing the whole movie into a ugly piece of scrap.
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
KgnDavelOct 29, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The reason why I'm giving it a ten is because first I'm a huge ghost rider fan. And I love marvel comics. Whatever people say about marvel movies it shall still bring out the awesome. Oh, yes the movie well let's see its all about a daredevil (Johnny Blaze) who made a deal with the devil to save his father from cancer. I know he's an idiot but he was seventeen. But he's father dies not from cancer but from a stunt he tried to do. But the deal was to turn Johnny into the ghost rider. The devils bounty hunter who was sent out to kill his son blackheart. And..and enough said just watch the damn movie!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
caporegimeJun 10, 2009
There's not one good thing i can say about this movie.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
1
UnknownsockMay 1, 2011
One of the worst movies ever to be created, terrible acting, terrible story, terrible special effects, terrible casting. I'm actually surprised this movie made it to the cinemas nevermind DVD.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
Watermelon789Feb 17, 2012
One of the most coolest characters from the Marvel Universe is instantly destroyed with a mediocre cast and a dumb narrative. Nicolas Cage , you are not the perfect actor for this kind of movie .
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Zanessa250QIJul 24, 2015
..............................................................................................................................................A Very decent action movie is not terrible like almost everyone says.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
A few days ago, Ghost Rider star Nicolas Cage made news by defending his appearance in a film based on a comic book by summoning up names like Goethe and Thomas Mann, and talking about comics' potential to reintroduce timeless themes in aA few days ago, Ghost Rider star Nicolas Cage made news by defending his appearance in a film based on a comic book by summoning up names like Goethe and Thomas Mann, and talking about comics' potential to reintroduce timeless themes in a "pop-art contemporary manner." And he's absolutely right. Or he would be if he were talking about Batman Begins or the Spider-Man series, recent comic-book adaptations that got both the spectacle and the depth right. But he couldn't have been talking about Ghost Rider.

Cage is a comic-book fan from way back (he has a son named Kal-El, and his own stage name comes from Marvel hero Luke Cage), and he's circled around comics-inspired movie projects for years. Too bad he landed on this one, which reinvents a bizarre Marvel hero born of a 1970s enthusiasm for motorcycle-stunt heroics. Director Mark Steven Johnson previously botched an adaptation of Daredevil by being unable to decide what kind of movie he wanted to make. Here, that isn't a problem, assuming he set out solely to make the kind that fills moviegoers with buyers' remorse.

Played in the opening scenes by young actor Matt Long, future Ghost Rider Johnny Blaze inadvertently brokers a deal with Mephistopheles (Peter Fonda) to save his father from cancer, only to watch his dad die in a motorcycle crash the next day. (There's always a catch with those supernatural pacts, isn't there?) Understandably upset, he embarks on a career of daredevil stunt-riding, gaining fame and fortune by jumping across football fields. But when Fonda comes calling, Cage gets transformed into a supernatural force for vengeance with a flaming skull-head and the ability to ride his motorcycle up the side of skyscrapers.

Any potential the film had for making pop art in a contemporary manner is drained away by the familiar demands of second-tier action blockbusters. Cage has some fun with the role, making Blaze a kind of Zen Elvis with a strange fixation on Carpenters songs, but the film's priorities lie with the digital effects and not the story, and even the effects aren't that hot. Eventually, Ghost Rider devolves into a long fight between Fonda's even more evil son Blackheart (Wes Bentley) and Ghost Rider, with Cage largely disappearing to make room for a CGI flaming skull. At least they got the cheekbones right.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
NickB.Feb 20, 2007
Exactly what I would expect from a movie about a blazing demonically possessed motorcycle jock. First movie I've seen this year that was a hoot to watch--no it wasn't a brainy flick, but I think I can let it pass on that mark, but Exactly what I would expect from a movie about a blazing demonically possessed motorcycle jock. First movie I've seen this year that was a hoot to watch--no it wasn't a brainy flick, but I think I can let it pass on that mark, but until Spider Man 3 comes along, this is definitely the best comic-to-film event out there. Campy, a great cast, excellent special effects, and a plot that made precisely as much sense as any comic book plot should. Great! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BenS.Feb 22, 2007
Awful, even for a comic book movie. It's so bad that sometimes it's funny, ala "Snakes in a Plane".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ThoriaM.Feb 20, 2007
This is a movie about a biker from hell with a flaming skull. Seriously, this isn't Schindler's List with demons. For what it is, it's a fun ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
Really cool action with Nicolas Cage and stunning FX.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
[Anonymous]Feb 15, 2007
A hilarious movie. 3 points only because it was entertaiing to watch such a stupid film in action. I cannot believe they spent so much money on making this quiet action movie that is awkard for the entire film. Very entertaining but very A hilarious movie. 3 points only because it was entertaiing to watch such a stupid film in action. I cannot believe they spent so much money on making this quiet action movie that is awkard for the entire film. Very entertaining but very bad. A guilty pleasure but obviously an awful film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeP.Feb 18, 2007
The movie flows real well, never a dull moment. It has its fun,dark, cool, and even light moments. The special effects were very cool, and I liked the story where the main character was trying to make sense of his predicament. Do not expect The movie flows real well, never a dull moment. It has its fun,dark, cool, and even light moments. The special effects were very cool, and I liked the story where the main character was trying to make sense of his predicament. Do not expect Casablanca, it is a movie about a flaming skull chasing demons. Expect fun, you might have a good time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JohnS.Feb 20, 2007
Very Cheazy. Looked like a hurried made for TV, Power Ranger like movie. Don't think for a minute that because it's a Marvel Comic Movie you can get away that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DaleFeb 22, 2007
Avi Arad, you are an imbecile and a buffoon. The debacles that were Daredevil and Elektra should have been warning enough. Quit messing with these Marvel characters you fool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Ek-oFeb 23, 2007
I actually didn't think it was that bad. A decent action movie. It had it good parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DavidVFeb 24, 2007
This movie was an embarrasment for Marvel. Started out somewhat decently but almost became Catwoman at the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RazvanT.Feb 25, 2007
It's horrible, nothing to see at this movie !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
9572ADFeb 27, 2007
Some cool cinematics, but few. Awful plot. Fell asleep before the end, and it was a noon showing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PondaJFeb 28, 2007
Did I see a different movie? I can't believe this is getting slammed so badly. Sure it's cheesy and campy, but I had a great time. Recommended!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BertT.Mar 10, 2007
No one who actually saw this movie could rate it poorly unless their expectations were too high or else they went to see it specifically determined to hate it. Ghost Rider is worth watching, end of story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnsonG.Mar 3, 2007
Absolutely garbage. The acting was horrendous, the special effects was terrible as the plot. I staring at on screen at 2 hours and i was very boooooooooriiiiiiiiiiiiiing like i had wasted over an hour of my life. There is NO story, no Absolutely garbage. The acting was horrendous, the special effects was terrible as the plot. I staring at on screen at 2 hours and i was very boooooooooriiiiiiiiiiiiiing like i had wasted over an hour of my life. There is NO story, no emotion, NOTHING. Please do not waste your money on this movie. I normally dont criticize movies like this, and most of the people might think bad, but this is going too far. This movie should not have been released. It was incredibly drawn out, which isnt surprising given the fact they had to take no story and stretch it over a couple of hours. The previews make it look bad enough, but if you see the movie you will discover the degree of awfulness this movie possesses. Take my word, dont put yourself through it. Im sorry, but any person who enjoyed this movie is at the same level intellectually as a 2 year old. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EmoK.Mar 5, 2007
Don't waste your money. The only reason it made box office hit list was because everyone thought it would be as good as the rest of the comic book movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CJApr 6, 2007
Dreadful from start to finish. Full of cheesy gags and cliches. Caused me to laugh when I probably shouldn't have, while the actual "humour" in the film was about as funny as contracting Hepatitis. I never had high expectations for this Dreadful from start to finish. Full of cheesy gags and cliches. Caused me to laugh when I probably shouldn't have, while the actual "humour" in the film was about as funny as contracting Hepatitis. I never had high expectations for this film, and was appalled to discover that Ghost Rider couldn't even reach those low opinions I had of it in the first place. Unlike several other comic adaptations, Ghost Rider should forever remain in a book, rather than move across to the big screen, so actors like Nicolas Cage don't have to embarrass themselves fulfilling a role that shouldn't have been issued to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DA.Jun 26, 2007
I actually kinda liked it. I had dreams about it for 4 days. I had one just last night. In all of them I am ghost rider. BACK TO THE MOVIE. It was good although it could o been better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClintH.Jul 8, 2007
A very well done movie. It's definitely worth a look.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlakeMFeb 19, 2009
Ghost Rider is my No.1 all time favorite movie. I mean come on now, whats not to like about it. It's got a skeleton wearing all black leather, on fire with a chain wrapped around his body and a gun on his back, riding on a awesome Ghost Rider is my No.1 all time favorite movie. I mean come on now, whats not to like about it. It's got a skeleton wearing all black leather, on fire with a chain wrapped around his body and a gun on his back, riding on a awesome chopper that's also on fire and sounds like something bad out of hell. What's not to like about it. Oh ya, and Nicolas Cage is extremely awesome, and Eva Mendes is extremely hot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KeenanS.Sep 9, 2009
Ghost Rider had great potential to rank among the elite comic book flicks, but no, it decided to suck instead. The acting and dialogue int his film is simply atrocious, and you won't know whether to blame the actors or the script for Ghost Rider had great potential to rank among the elite comic book flicks, but no, it decided to suck instead. The acting and dialogue int his film is simply atrocious, and you won't know whether to blame the actors or the script for it. The action scenes are poorly scripted and have no substance or meat to them. They are an utter bore to watch. While the CGI effects look nice and there might be maybe two or three action scenes worthy of mentioning, Ghost Rider just falls flat and even a rental will make you feel as if you wasted your money. Go see Watchmen or The Dark Knight instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CarsonEJan 17, 2010
A good superhero movie. Good action, okay dialogue. Nic Cage and Sam Elliot where awesome. Also Black Heart was cool. If your expecting this to be Iron Man then don't watch it just be thankful it isn't as bad as the 2003 Hulk.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
OthoS.Feb 16, 2007
I've always thought that Cage was a one-trick pony. Well, make that two tricks. He did manage to play a good drunk in Leaving Las Vegas. However, all his other roles are pretty much just variations on a theme. GR is no exception. Too I've always thought that Cage was a one-trick pony. Well, make that two tricks. He did manage to play a good drunk in Leaving Las Vegas. However, all his other roles are pretty much just variations on a theme. GR is no exception. Too bad--I usually like the Marvel flicks, even the Fantastic Four. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristianB.Feb 16, 2007
Surprisingly faithful but fun and quirky. An interesting film that does get bogged down in the origin too much. Although that's a criticism of most origin superhero movies these days. The concept and performances show real promise and Surprisingly faithful but fun and quirky. An interesting film that does get bogged down in the origin too much. Although that's a criticism of most origin superhero movies these days. The concept and performances show real promise and as usual with these things now the origin is over we will be able to see what the character can do in it's sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulKaneFeb 16, 2007
This is on par with second class comic book adaptations like hellboy, daredevil, and the like. If you've seen the second trailer and felt compelled to see this, you won't be disappointed. Never you mind that red lighted 27 metascore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KevinL.Feb 16, 2007
doesn't take itself too seriously, parodies westerns, good movie overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SpencerC.Feb 16, 2007
This movie was better than I expected. Then again, I wasn't expecting it to be any good at all. As far as I was concerned, of all the parts of this movie, the humorous elements did the best job of working the way I think the director This movie was better than I expected. Then again, I wasn't expecting it to be any good at all. As far as I was concerned, of all the parts of this movie, the humorous elements did the best job of working the way I think the director intended. Problems: The love interest was totally pointless, the special effects frequently stole the show from the action, and there were problems with logic (didn't the caretaker say the demons couldn't step on hallowed ground? Why was Blackheart able to confront the priest in the church for the contract?) and common sense (Did the cops really let Roxanne walk in front of them as they all opened fire on the Ghost Rider?). At least I saw this movie for free. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
VanessaC.Feb 17, 2007
A movie that starts with an already thin hope for fun ends up sucking even worse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveR.Feb 17, 2007
This movie was awesome!!!!!I I saw it last night with my wife and i'm still talking about it. It's about time moviemaking expose comics at best. The story, dialogue, acting, cinematography, action and adventure is one of the best This movie was awesome!!!!!I I saw it last night with my wife and i'm still talking about it. It's about time moviemaking expose comics at best. The story, dialogue, acting, cinematography, action and adventure is one of the best i've seen marvel do. If you want to see a class A movie watch this. I usually dont write reviews but this movie was so good i had to write one to motivate all to watch it. GREAT MOVIE!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatrickM.Feb 17, 2007
Good special effects overall. Loved Cage. The dialogue was as bad as any Kung-fu theater mivie I have ever watched. Character development was virtually non-existent. But a fun movie overall if you don't go in expecting too much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DecepticonPomFeb 17, 2007
A fun bit of Marvel moral-loaded escapism. Nothing more, nothing less.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TDFeb 17, 2007
Sadly, no. I wanted to say yes yes yes! but no.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LynnP.Feb 18, 2007
I might have given this a 6, but the movie proved to be entertaining. It is not a great film, but it is well done for its genre and fun to watch. I can understand the 4's from the demanding and the 10's from the fans, but this I might have given this a 6, but the movie proved to be entertaining. It is not a great film, but it is well done for its genre and fun to watch. I can understand the 4's from the demanding and the 10's from the fans, but this movie isn't a 0. The movie failed for me in choosing cheese over character development, but this is a film about one of Marvels more adult heros, so certain shortcuts were expected...and delivered. Over all, well done, though it may be a bit to scary for kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
K.A.Feb 18, 2007
I loved it ive been reading the comic for years i wish it stuck a more with the story line but overall it was a very good movie considering the type of comic book charater ghost rider is. it did have alot of corny lines but what comic doesnt I loved it ive been reading the comic for years i wish it stuck a more with the story line but overall it was a very good movie considering the type of comic book charater ghost rider is. it did have alot of corny lines but what comic doesnt its all about WHAM! POW! and things people dont say in real life. it wasnt a comic that was made into a sellout it was a comic that wasnt messed around with to much thats why i give it the rating i do Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelS.Feb 18, 2007
I've been to see it twice just to make sure that my initial reaction wasn't because of my anticipation to see the movie. I MUST say, it was still fantastic! It had wonderful effects & awesome action! Keep in mind, this is a comic I've been to see it twice just to make sure that my initial reaction wasn't because of my anticipation to see the movie. I MUST say, it was still fantastic! It had wonderful effects & awesome action! Keep in mind, this is a comic book movie. Don't expect it to change your life, but, it will make your day! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrwT.Feb 19, 2007
I thought the special effects where good. The flames look believable. As fars as dialogue it was ok come on it based on a comic book. what are you expecting shakespear. I found it funny with some action with a love story spun in. Major news I thought the special effects where good. The flames look believable. As fars as dialogue it was ok come on it based on a comic book. what are you expecting shakespear. I found it funny with some action with a love story spun in. Major news critics must have something against Niicholos Cage I don't get their low rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Daddy69Feb 19, 2007
Incredibly realistic and gritty look at life as a demon possessed bounty hunter. :) lol, just kidding. Shallow with plenty of funny and cheesy moments. A typical B-rate film that gets a decent score for just being a great popcorn movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanA.Feb 20, 2007
This movie was visually stunning. I don't care what critics say, it deserves a 10 for being stylish and visually stunning. An 8 out of 10 for acting and 9 out of 10 for plot. I can't wait for the sequel. Ghost Rider is not the type This movie was visually stunning. I don't care what critics say, it deserves a 10 for being stylish and visually stunning. An 8 out of 10 for acting and 9 out of 10 for plot. I can't wait for the sequel. Ghost Rider is not the type of movie for movie critics, but its the type of movie for fans from the looks of it unless it pulls a B&R on us which means it makes alot of money first weekend then drops significantly until its run in theaters ends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AlinaFeb 24, 2007
perhaps the stupidest movie with the cheesiest plot since the 50's. i couldn't believe how bad tis movie was. it was the most "bleh" thing i have ever seen.. i walked out on it and went to eat. the only good part about it is making perhaps the stupidest movie with the cheesiest plot since the 50's. i couldn't believe how bad tis movie was. it was the most "bleh" thing i have ever seen.. i walked out on it and went to eat. the only good part about it is making fun of how trite it is. oh and the bike was kinda cool. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EeganracFeb 25, 2007
The movie is campy, boring, and just plain dumb. One of the worst movies I have seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DeannaFeb 25, 2007
Honestly, I think this is the worst movie I have seen in about a year. My friend and I got so bored, we started to attempt to annoy the people in front of us, just to keep our minds occupied. The graphics was pittiful. I took about 10 Honestly, I think this is the worst movie I have seen in about a year. My friend and I got so bored, we started to attempt to annoy the people in front of us, just to keep our minds occupied. The graphics was pittiful. I took about 10 minutes in the bathroom, just so I wouldn't have to go back. I suggested that we should leave, but my friend said "Why? There is nothing else to do." I would have rather watched grass grow, personaly. It is not scary, thrilling or remotely interesting. SAVE YOUR MONEY!!! Do not see this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveK.Feb 25, 2007
It's meant to be an action-packed, effects-driven popcorn movie. Turn your brain off and enjoy. If you can lower your expectations, suspend your disbelief, and ignore the cheesy dialogue (it's a comic book movie about an undead It's meant to be an action-packed, effects-driven popcorn movie. Turn your brain off and enjoy. If you can lower your expectations, suspend your disbelief, and ignore the cheesy dialogue (it's a comic book movie about an undead flaming avenger on a motorcycle, it's not Shakespeare, folks), you will have a good time. If the idea of a Ghost Rider seems wacky to you in the first place, don't watch this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ToddGilletteFeb 27, 2007
I absolutely loved this movie, in the same way I loved Army of Darkness. Now Ghost Rider did appear to attempt some level of seriousness and character development at times (that AoD never did), but for the most part it appeared that the I absolutely loved this movie, in the same way I loved Army of Darkness. Now Ghost Rider did appear to attempt some level of seriousness and character development at times (that AoD never did), but for the most part it appeared that the horrible lines and cringe-inspiring moments were on purpose. Even if they weren't I still loved them. Campy? Yes. Silly? Yes. Crappy dialogue and plot? Yes. Funny as hell and a good time? Yes! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EFrozenFeb 28, 2007
Horrible! So was there a fight scene at all? Have Singer or Rami direct the next one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NanHMar 13, 2007
Overall good movie. Special effects are super. Nicolas Cage & Eva Mendes area a gread duo in this film. I highly recommend this movie to those who like good special effects and Marvel Comics themed movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NancyMar 18, 2007
I admit I had no real rexpectations except the effects and the hope that Nicolas Cage would provide another film that would be a source of "don't tell anyone I actually like this movie" (a la Con Air). But except for Sam Elliot, whom I I admit I had no real rexpectations except the effects and the hope that Nicolas Cage would provide another film that would be a source of "don't tell anyone I actually like this movie" (a la Con Air). But except for Sam Elliot, whom I would pay to see even if he just spit and didn't talk, the other performances weren't stong enough or campy enough to make is as fun a ride as it could have been. Everyone played it pretty straight and only Donal Logue (and maybe the guy who played tha father, Brett Cullen) seemed to have the energy that movie needed. More energy would have made this more fun - more fun with the dialogue would also not have gone amiss - after all - this is not the most subtle of "heros" I think just about any town would rather take their chances with bad guys and evil than to try and repair all the damage that was done just from Ghost Rider tooling down the street. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EduardoR.Mar 6, 2007
This is NOT as bad as people are saying. It is NOT a great movie, either. There are some smart jokes and the gothic look is nice. On the other hand, it definitely lacks decent battles. But, in the end, it is fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Louis'sbrotherApr 16, 2007
What I liked about this marvel Movie, set aside I really like Nick Cage, is that Johnny Blaze got his powers based on religious beliefs rather than exposure to radiation, bitten by a genetically enchanced spider, yadda yadda. The acting was What I liked about this marvel Movie, set aside I really like Nick Cage, is that Johnny Blaze got his powers based on religious beliefs rather than exposure to radiation, bitten by a genetically enchanced spider, yadda yadda. The acting was pretty good, but the story needs some help. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RobynJun 14, 2007
one of the worst movies ever. a tragedy, given such a cool comic character. Nic Cage is awful, should have never been considered, or forced on the movie. unbelievable that a bunch of idiot movie execs could get 100 million dollars to make one of the worst movies ever. a tragedy, given such a cool comic character. Nic Cage is awful, should have never been considered, or forced on the movie. unbelievable that a bunch of idiot movie execs could get 100 million dollars to make such a piece of garbage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WilliamB.Jun 21, 2007
Fun popcorn movie, but nothing special.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PeterC.Jan 9, 2008
I really want the few hours I spent watching this movie back. They were the worst hours of my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeRDec 30, 2007
I don't follow the comic book of Ghost Rider.The dialog and acting was decent.But the action was awesome from start to finish.Nicolas was decent playing Ghost Rider but I'm not sure if any other actor could have done better.I I don't follow the comic book of Ghost Rider.The dialog and acting was decent.But the action was awesome from start to finish.Nicolas was decent playing Ghost Rider but I'm not sure if any other actor could have done better.I don't think Johnny Blaze is an easy character to do.Yes the movie did try to be serious but ended up being a little cheesy but the action is where the movie really shined.This movie is definitely a fun popcorn movie and nothing special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AMovieCriticFeb 16, 2007
Whoo boy.....in a time when comic book movies are trying to be more "human" and are trying to be much more character-driven and serious...Ghost Rider comes along and completely reverts back to the "Batman and Robin" days. The entire movie Whoo boy.....in a time when comic book movies are trying to be more "human" and are trying to be much more character-driven and serious...Ghost Rider comes along and completely reverts back to the "Batman and Robin" days. The entire movie feels like a giant cartoon. The dialogue is (intentionally at times) horrible, character conversations are cartoony and unrealistic, no characters are developed at all, the plot is laughable.....completely a step backwards. It's a case of style over substance, clearly. Some inspired special effects and a somewhat interesting first half (and Eva Mendes) make this movie worth seeing but the 2nd half is bogged down by dull action, really bad dialogue, a plot and villains that go nowhere, and increasingly uninteresting characters. I don't know who greenlit this script but it REALLY needed a re-write. It's never a good sign when large numbers of people in the theater got up and left after the final showdown with the villain despite there still being about 5 minutes left in the movie. Meh...go, turn your brain off, it's kind of worth seeing, just don't expect much of anything. The only thing really exciting here wasn't even in the movie; it was the teaser for Resident Evil; Extinction that was shown before it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
E7-2521Feb 17, 2007
I expected so much more from Mark Steven Johnson. I really thought he'd be on his way to the A-list. I loved Daredevil and the director's cut of that film is even better. I do know "how" to watch films and suspend disbelief, but I expected so much more from Mark Steven Johnson. I really thought he'd be on his way to the A-list. I loved Daredevil and the director's cut of that film is even better. I do know "how" to watch films and suspend disbelief, but Ghost Rider just can't be recommended. It's all so cheesy. But that aspect was expected. It's just not well crafted on every level. I think it's appeal is really for 4 - 10 year old kids only. If the screenplay was revised by Joe Lansdale, this could have been special. But I'm dreaming. Pluses: I couldn't take my eyes off Eva Mendes. And the end credits song is really awesome. I found the Christopher Young score on Amazon, but that doesn't include the song. At this time I can't locate the name of the artist and song. If anyone knows, please let me know. Thanks Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyW.Feb 17, 2007
I really don't understand the low ratings. Ghost Rider was quite enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertS.Feb 17, 2007
Excellent movie. saw it twice. great action, humor, and drama. Folks, please gnore the negative reviews just like you did for Fantastic Four and you will have a great time. I like all the multiple alias' writing the same neg reviews,Excellent movie. saw it twice. great action, humor, and drama. Folks, please gnore the negative reviews just like you did for Fantastic Four and you will have a great time. I like all the multiple alias' writing the same neg reviews, especially the one person who used the Leaving in Las Vegas comment in each of his posts. Its pathetic how people take on these personal vendettas to thro dirt at a great flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReefaRawFeb 18, 2007
This movie was great i dont understand the negative ratings. I saw this movie twice and thought overall it was an outstanding movie. To add what Robert S. was saying it really is funny how people take movies to personally if they didnt like This movie was great i dont understand the negative ratings. I saw this movie twice and thought overall it was an outstanding movie. To add what Robert S. was saying it really is funny how people take movies to personally if they didnt like it, and make negative comments under different alias as well. I wonder what kind of movies those individuals like? Probably not the ones WE like. Go watch this movie despite the negative ratings. Most people that i know loved it and i can almost gurantee you will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MLeeFeb 18, 2007
It was alright. Don't go to this flcik expecting Spiderman, or X-Men. It's a solid and fun movie. Plain and simple. It's somewhere above X-Men The Last Stand, but below Blade 2 and Daredevil. If you go in expecting the level It was alright. Don't go to this flcik expecting Spiderman, or X-Men. It's a solid and fun movie. Plain and simple. It's somewhere above X-Men The Last Stand, but below Blade 2 and Daredevil. If you go in expecting the level of FF, or Hulk, you'll be greatly surprised... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TomM.Feb 18, 2007
Fer cryin' out loud, it's movie about a comic book character, and a character that has a flaming skull and rides a motorcycle at that. I'm not expecting Shakespeare dialog or Ocscar-worthy performances. It's campy, goofy, Fer cryin' out loud, it's movie about a comic book character, and a character that has a flaming skull and rides a motorcycle at that. I'm not expecting Shakespeare dialog or Ocscar-worthy performances. It's campy, goofy, and entertaining. No, it certainly isn't the best comic adaptation out there, but it's follows the original story fairly well, and is fun to watch. Nic Cage is as wooden as ever. The villians are.... well, appropriately villainous. And Eva Mendes shares screen time with her womanly assests throughout. Overall, it isn't a great movie but it is a fun movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulF.Feb 18, 2007
First off for whatever reason this film was given way to many harsh reviews. Granted it was not a masterpiece but it was full of fun and camp. Peoples please do not take this film too seriously as it was not intended for that. The worst First off for whatever reason this film was given way to many harsh reviews. Granted it was not a masterpiece but it was full of fun and camp. Peoples please do not take this film too seriously as it was not intended for that. The worst flaws about this film were that the love chemistry was a little weak and could have been dialoged better, and the evil characters were not all that convincing. The positive aspects to this film were the special effects; they really do not get any better than this, as well as an interesting and fun story. What is a little sad is it really could have been great, but I'll settle for plain old good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarcoP.Feb 19, 2007
As comic book movies go, this one feels nestled between Elektra and Blade Trinity. I know that's not exactly saying much, but if that kind of mindless comic book movie does it for you then by all means enjoy Ghost Rider. I liked it for As comic book movies go, this one feels nestled between Elektra and Blade Trinity. I know that's not exactly saying much, but if that kind of mindless comic book movie does it for you then by all means enjoy Ghost Rider. I liked it for all its campiness and humor but for those hoping for it to be along the same lines as the best in the genre, look elsewhere. I did like Nic Cage's take on Johnny Blaze and Eva Mendes as always looks stunning (if not a little confused the entire time). Add in some neat-o familiar faces like Peter Fonda and Sam Elliott and it just gets better in a "what were they thinking?" kinda way. The FX also aren't as bad as many would have you believe, and the music definately adds some much needed oomph about halfay through the film. I guess you could say I liked it. All in all it's a fine popcorn movie and easily better than some efforts Nic Cage has made lately. (Wicker Man anyone? "The BEES! No! Not the BEES!") LOL I would even say it's worth seeing more than once in the theater just to see the final showdown between ol' Ghosty and Blackheart. Sure it's not the best film out there right now in the cineplexes (Pan's Labyrinth if it's still playing in a theater near you is definately worth checking out) but it makes for very passable entertainment. I give it 6/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JRFeb 19, 2007
Once again Hollywood takes a fairly interesting comic book hero (and accompanying mythology) and turns it into a giant, stinking coiler. I have to admit that it was exciting watching the Ghost Rider in action. But every single person in this Once again Hollywood takes a fairly interesting comic book hero (and accompanying mythology) and turns it into a giant, stinking coiler. I have to admit that it was exciting watching the Ghost Rider in action. But every single person in this movie overacted and for this one can only blame the director. The fact that he helmed "Daredevil" should have been red flag enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadS.Feb 27, 2007
"Ghost Rider" glosses over its one potentially interesting storyline; the familial rift between Mephistopheles(Peter Fonda) and his son(the creepy HV guy from "American Beauty"). Blackheart and his minions of darkness cohorts look like a "Ghost Rider" glosses over its one potentially interesting storyline; the familial rift between Mephistopheles(Peter Fonda) and his son(the creepy HV guy from "American Beauty"). Blackheart and his minions of darkness cohorts look like a goth band on their night off. Ghost Rider seems like an inept name for this second-tier Marvel creation; after all, he's a skelton and we can see him. The Vandalizer might be a better moniker for Johnny Blaze's alter ego; he's a messy super(or is it super anti-)hero. To distract yourself, estimate how much it'll cost the city to repair all those fire-scorched boulevards. Oh, but what about the plot, you say? Of course, it blows. Selling your soul to the devil is a storyline that hasn't been put to good use since Ralph Macchio kicked Steve Vai's ass in "Crossroads". Oh, but what about the acting, you say? Nicolas Cage looks bored. Eva Mendes always looks bored. And Fonda has only one-note to play. There will be no "Ghost Rider 2". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudyFeb 28, 2007
I loved it!!! I want to go out riding now but I have to wait for the 2 feet of snow to melt first!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrutusO.Mar 11, 2007
Don't believe the critics. A fun movie, full of good natured redneck humour, raucous music and tongue in cheek romance. A better movie than X Men 3 or Borat, and well made. Good special effects. I thought the original comic book was Don't believe the critics. A fun movie, full of good natured redneck humour, raucous music and tongue in cheek romance. A better movie than X Men 3 or Borat, and well made. Good special effects. I thought the original comic book was tedious, but this sort of campy FX driven approach works quite well. I notice that it is doing pretty well, and rightly so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AxisJun 14, 2007
and the award for the worst movie I've seen to date goes to.....ghost rider. (hold for non existent applause) like many people i had no expectations of this movie. i figured it would be full of action and good cg but swing and a miss and the award for the worst movie I've seen to date goes to.....ghost rider. (hold for non existent applause) like many people i had no expectations of this movie. i figured it would be full of action and good cg but swing and a miss for me because this movie was terrible. the acting is sub par along with the spotty story line. i recommend that you grab a chair, maybe some popcorn, paint the wall and watch it dry before you rent this dud. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WadeF.Jun 28, 2007
A Hell of a ride. Cool Fx, good story, and good comic book adaptation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RobbyHDec 22, 2007
It gets a 2 instead of a 0 because it was so bad as to actually be kind of funny. I couldn't help but laugh when Nic Cage slowly extended his flaming finger, dramatically, just to strike a pose before answering a yes/no question.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DMEJun 11, 2012
Ghost Rider is nothing special and it's definitely not a superhero movie, but it's an above-par action flick that's worth seeing on a rainy day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
phillyjeffFeb 21, 2012
I like this movie, because it is refreshing from the other dregs. It will make you laugh, cause some of the acting and dialogue are that outlandish . This movie falls into one of things you do not like to admit you like, but you can't help yourself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerMar 9, 2011
While it's not the most normal super hero movie it's a lot of fun, I actually enjoyed Nicholas Cage's performance as Ghost Rider, and enjoyed the unique story and action, a very unique super hero that I recommend for fans of the comics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TargetF209Feb 28, 2011
Nothing really to recommend here, the acting is sub-standard, the action scenes are stationary and the whole film takes ages to get going. For a superhero action flick, this misses the mark by a long shot, but for the special effects alone,Nothing really to recommend here, the acting is sub-standard, the action scenes are stationary and the whole film takes ages to get going. For a superhero action flick, this misses the mark by a long shot, but for the special effects alone, it's worth a look. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
julian_zizzleSep 13, 2011
The rider who has a burning skull as a head and wears leather jacket, was looking good on this one. But i should say I didn't expect this to be a good movie actually. The reason was that they always find a way to fail in a superhero movie. SoThe rider who has a burning skull as a head and wears leather jacket, was looking good on this one. But i should say I didn't expect this to be a good movie actually. The reason was that they always find a way to fail in a superhero movie. So i watched this 4 year old movie in 2011. There was nothing bad about the plot or any characters. (I just wondered why was Blackheart looking like a human instead of his usual demonic appearance in comics) And lets just say i don't like Eva Mendes that much. The story was fine and by the end of the day this movie satisfied a comic-geek like me. But i should say im not that impressed and even though this was a good first movie to explain the background of main character, this was of course could be better in action way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Potter17Dec 25, 2011
"Ghost Rider" is what you could possibly expect from Nicolas Cage's recent films: horrendous script, lame acting and turgid action saturated with mediocre special effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellMay 27, 2012
It is a decent action movie with a little plague of problems. I think Nicholas Cage could have performed better here but its got decent action scenes. If a little more thought was put into the casting and script it could be as good as Batman Begins.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
oxanaAug 28, 2014
I expected a far better movie, and ended up disappointed. Haven't read the comics, so I can't tell if the movie would have been better/worse with knowledge from them.

The visuals weren't stunning, the plot was great but somehow lacking a
I expected a far better movie, and ended up disappointed. Haven't read the comics, so I can't tell if the movie would have been better/worse with knowledge from them.

The visuals weren't stunning, the plot was great but somehow lacking a lot - not to speak of things that were never really explained and others that just didn't seem to click (at this point I'm sure reading comics would help).

I have seen better Marvel-based movies, really.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MegWhiteleyMar 7, 2012
I'm watching the second part and be awful, but this first part is better (and much), have mistakes, but the most better things are the action scenes, is not the best title, but is a good film. Yes better than the second part.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MovieFan123Sep 20, 2015
I've changed my rating for this movie many times as I've gotten older. Hopefully, this will be the last time. Ghost Rider starring Nicholas Cage, Wes Bentley and some other people. Yes it's so bad I don't even remember who else was in itI've changed my rating for this movie many times as I've gotten older. Hopefully, this will be the last time. Ghost Rider starring Nicholas Cage, Wes Bentley and some other people. Yes it's so bad I don't even remember who else was in it because every character is changed for the sequel so, who cares. Oh wait Eva Mendes, she was in it. Okay so as always let's start with the bad. Nicholas Cage is awful, awful, awful as Johnny Blaze. They could have casted the guy from The Room and it would have been better. See the problem is he should have known he couldn't act with a terrible script provided by Mark Steven Johnson so he should have just given a Wicker Man performance. Unfortunately, his performance is awful because it's forgettable. There was not a single memorable quote in this movie at all. Not to mention zero character development. They barley gave a name for Eva Mendes' character. The visuals aren't even that great and that jacket is so cheesy, it gave me chills just looking at it. Also, there were so many puns that weren't funny in anyway. As for the good parts of the movie, well they weren't really good. There really just the okay parts that made me not give this movie a 0 rating. Anyway, Sam Elliot gives a decent somewhat cheesy performance. The only pretty good part of this movie was the graveyard scene which was well executed and exciting. In the end, Ghost Rider is poorly acted, badly written, filled with somewhat bland special effects and bad puns. Ultimately despite some redeeming moments, Ghost Rider receives a 2/10 score. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ReubenIsAGodApr 21, 2014
I love this film, I love Ghost Rider, don't get me wrong its a terrible movie but damn i just have a place in my heart for this film because it really showed me that their are different types of superheros besides Spiderman, Batman, SupermanI love this film, I love Ghost Rider, don't get me wrong its a terrible movie but damn i just have a place in my heart for this film because it really showed me that their are different types of superheros besides Spiderman, Batman, Superman etc and really made me want to explore and get a better understanding of the characters. Plus the films about a biker with a flaming skull for a head, BADass.

-Guilty pleasure film gets 7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Ugh-yuck. So much wasted potential here, this sad, sad movie just makes you want to puke on the screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Iky009Jan 4, 2014
Destaca-se como um dos piores filmes de super heróis que já vi, uma droga completa, mal feito, mal produzido da pena de assistir esse desastre......
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
savagejoe444May 28, 2013
Sadly, the only good part about this movie is the Ghost Rider himself, the rest of the movie, with the story, co-characters, and enemies, are just plain boring and useless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SuperheroMoviesAug 5, 2013
A sloppy effort at bringing this movie to life, full of lousy dialogue, one-dimensional characters, and subpar special effects that make Ghost Rider a difficult superhero film to sit through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
marcmyworksJan 2, 2014
I don't know what is more ridiculous, the fact that this spawned a sequel or the rug on Nicholas Cage's head. I was surprised to see the writer and director didn't go in a dark direction for this film and instead decided to go camp and over-the-top.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Ghost Rider is dead inside.
A very cool, refreshing concept to a superhero movie executed with poor negligence. It is only successful at its special effects, but is an udder catastrophe with acting and dialogue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
cmykJan 29, 2014
Good god this was painful to watch. It's this ectoplasm of Marvel and skeletons and westerns and grave keepers and demons and...I don't even know. Right off the bat, Cage does not look like he's 20-something he's supposed to be portraying byGood god this was painful to watch. It's this ectoplasm of Marvel and skeletons and westerns and grave keepers and demons and...I don't even know. Right off the bat, Cage does not look like he's 20-something he's supposed to be portraying by any stretch of the imagination, no matter how hard he tries to brush his hair over. It was like watching someone with superpowers have a psychological meltdown amidst a mid-life crisis. Guhhhhhh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MortimerJan 29, 2014
Ghost Rider another Marvel Comics adaptation with star Nicolas Cage (Ghost Rider). Johnny Blaze makes a pact with the devil Mephistopheles (Peter Fonda) that would save his father. Mephistopheles tells him that he will become a ghost rider.Ghost Rider another Marvel Comics adaptation with star Nicolas Cage (Ghost Rider). Johnny Blaze makes a pact with the devil Mephistopheles (Peter Fonda) that would save his father. Mephistopheles tells him that he will become a ghost rider. Father Blaze (Brett Cullen) dies and Joni breaks up with his childhood love Roxanne Simpson (Eva Mendes). Several years later, Johnny became famous stuntman. Johnny Blaze all the time lucky with death and he always survives during his stunts. one of the jumps he meets Roxanne. He risked his life invites her to dinner. Blaze evening sees Mephistopheles and turns into a ghost rider. Mephistopheles says Blaze that he needed to fight his son, Blackheart (Wes Bentley) and his fallen angels.

Cage begins to wriggle and turn your bike into a ghost bike. Now he begins to sacrifice murderers and evil spirits from the souls that would burn in hell. Blaze Blackheart win if the curse will disappear. Armed with a motorcycle chain with bad CG animation it starts to fight against evil. He meets the cemetery Carter Slade / Ghost Rider who is the caretaker of the cemetery. He teaches him to control his mind. Blackheart kidnaps Roxanne Blaze and says that if he does not bring the contract it will die.
Blackheart does not constitute a charismatic villain. It is not impressive as his fallen angels. Cage sees murderers and again begins to wriggle constantly. This is the main problem of the film is not very Cage looks at the role of the rider. Ghost Rider should be dark and serious, but all the time Cage hamming and joking.

Director Mark Steven Johnson, the director of Daredevil is not very able to do movie comics. Screenplay is very stupid. Silly and funny dialogues will throughout the film. But the ending is just awful. Blaze Blackheart wins and refuses to expire. He says he is a racer that would win Mephistopheles.

Subtotal: Ghost Rider is one of the worst movie comics
Rating: C-
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
diogomendesJul 24, 2014
Despite the efforts of Ghost Rider, this forgettable, nonsensical film suffers from pathetically laughable dialogues, poor acting and a clichêd narrative.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
RegularVSGOct 10, 2014
Normally I would watch a film featuring Nicolas Cage because they're hilarious, for example 'The Wicker Man'. This is that bad it's not funny, Cage is so poor it's un-watchable. If I'm bored and I want to watch a terrible film that's funny,Normally I would watch a film featuring Nicolas Cage because they're hilarious, for example 'The Wicker Man'. This is that bad it's not funny, Cage is so poor it's un-watchable. If I'm bored and I want to watch a terrible film that's funny, Cage is the first actor I will go for, but this was diabolical. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
emiliomiceli31Aug 8, 2015
ghost rider no es obstante para recibir criticas positivas en general y apenas llegaria a mixtas pero le falta mucha mejora para llegar a las criticas postivas pero es buena
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews