Sony Pictures Entertainment (SPE) | Release Date: February 16, 2007
3.5
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 410 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
101
Mixed:
82
Negative:
227
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
KgnDavelOct 29, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The reason why I'm giving it a ten is because first I'm a huge ghost rider fan. And I love marvel comics. Whatever people say about marvel movies it shall still bring out the awesome. Oh, yes the movie well let's see its all about a daredevil (Johnny Blaze) who made a deal with the devil to save his father from cancer. I know he's an idiot but he was seventeen. But he's father dies not from cancer but from a stunt he tried to do. But the deal was to turn Johnny into the ghost rider. The devils bounty hunter who was sent out to kill his son blackheart. And..and enough said just watch the damn movie!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Zanessa250QIJul 24, 2015
..............................................................................................................................................A Very decent action movie is not terrible like almost everyone says.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
NickB.Feb 20, 2007
Exactly what I would expect from a movie about a blazing demonically possessed motorcycle jock. First movie I've seen this year that was a hoot to watch--no it wasn't a brainy flick, but I think I can let it pass on that mark, but Exactly what I would expect from a movie about a blazing demonically possessed motorcycle jock. First movie I've seen this year that was a hoot to watch--no it wasn't a brainy flick, but I think I can let it pass on that mark, but until Spider Man 3 comes along, this is definitely the best comic-to-film event out there. Campy, a great cast, excellent special effects, and a plot that made precisely as much sense as any comic book plot should. Great! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ThoriaM.Feb 20, 2007
This is a movie about a biker from hell with a flaming skull. Seriously, this isn't Schindler's List with demons. For what it is, it's a fun ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
Really cool action with Nicolas Cage and stunning FX.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeP.Feb 18, 2007
The movie flows real well, never a dull moment. It has its fun,dark, cool, and even light moments. The special effects were very cool, and I liked the story where the main character was trying to make sense of his predicament. Do not expect The movie flows real well, never a dull moment. It has its fun,dark, cool, and even light moments. The special effects were very cool, and I liked the story where the main character was trying to make sense of his predicament. Do not expect Casablanca, it is a movie about a flaming skull chasing demons. Expect fun, you might have a good time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Ek-oFeb 23, 2007
I actually didn't think it was that bad. A decent action movie. It had it good parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PondaJFeb 28, 2007
Did I see a different movie? I can't believe this is getting slammed so badly. Sure it's cheesy and campy, but I had a great time. Recommended!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BertT.Mar 10, 2007
No one who actually saw this movie could rate it poorly unless their expectations were too high or else they went to see it specifically determined to hate it. Ghost Rider is worth watching, end of story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ClintH.Jul 8, 2007
A very well done movie. It's definitely worth a look.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlakeMFeb 19, 2009
Ghost Rider is my No.1 all time favorite movie. I mean come on now, whats not to like about it. It's got a skeleton wearing all black leather, on fire with a chain wrapped around his body and a gun on his back, riding on a awesome Ghost Rider is my No.1 all time favorite movie. I mean come on now, whats not to like about it. It's got a skeleton wearing all black leather, on fire with a chain wrapped around his body and a gun on his back, riding on a awesome chopper that's also on fire and sounds like something bad out of hell. What's not to like about it. Oh ya, and Nicolas Cage is extremely awesome, and Eva Mendes is extremely hot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CarsonEJan 17, 2010
A good superhero movie. Good action, okay dialogue. Nic Cage and Sam Elliot where awesome. Also Black Heart was cool. If your expecting this to be Iron Man then don't watch it just be thankful it isn't as bad as the 2003 Hulk.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristianB.Feb 16, 2007
Surprisingly faithful but fun and quirky. An interesting film that does get bogged down in the origin too much. Although that's a criticism of most origin superhero movies these days. The concept and performances show real promise and Surprisingly faithful but fun and quirky. An interesting film that does get bogged down in the origin too much. Although that's a criticism of most origin superhero movies these days. The concept and performances show real promise and as usual with these things now the origin is over we will be able to see what the character can do in it's sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulKaneFeb 16, 2007
This is on par with second class comic book adaptations like hellboy, daredevil, and the like. If you've seen the second trailer and felt compelled to see this, you won't be disappointed. Never you mind that red lighted 27 metascore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KevinL.Feb 16, 2007
doesn't take itself too seriously, parodies westerns, good movie overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveR.Feb 17, 2007
This movie was awesome!!!!!I I saw it last night with my wife and i'm still talking about it. It's about time moviemaking expose comics at best. The story, dialogue, acting, cinematography, action and adventure is one of the best This movie was awesome!!!!!I I saw it last night with my wife and i'm still talking about it. It's about time moviemaking expose comics at best. The story, dialogue, acting, cinematography, action and adventure is one of the best i've seen marvel do. If you want to see a class A movie watch this. I usually dont write reviews but this movie was so good i had to write one to motivate all to watch it. GREAT MOVIE!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LynnP.Feb 18, 2007
I might have given this a 6, but the movie proved to be entertaining. It is not a great film, but it is well done for its genre and fun to watch. I can understand the 4's from the demanding and the 10's from the fans, but this I might have given this a 6, but the movie proved to be entertaining. It is not a great film, but it is well done for its genre and fun to watch. I can understand the 4's from the demanding and the 10's from the fans, but this movie isn't a 0. The movie failed for me in choosing cheese over character development, but this is a film about one of Marvels more adult heros, so certain shortcuts were expected...and delivered. Over all, well done, though it may be a bit to scary for kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
K.A.Feb 18, 2007
I loved it ive been reading the comic for years i wish it stuck a more with the story line but overall it was a very good movie considering the type of comic book charater ghost rider is. it did have alot of corny lines but what comic doesnt I loved it ive been reading the comic for years i wish it stuck a more with the story line but overall it was a very good movie considering the type of comic book charater ghost rider is. it did have alot of corny lines but what comic doesnt its all about WHAM! POW! and things people dont say in real life. it wasnt a comic that was made into a sellout it was a comic that wasnt messed around with to much thats why i give it the rating i do Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelS.Feb 18, 2007
I've been to see it twice just to make sure that my initial reaction wasn't because of my anticipation to see the movie. I MUST say, it was still fantastic! It had wonderful effects & awesome action! Keep in mind, this is a comic I've been to see it twice just to make sure that my initial reaction wasn't because of my anticipation to see the movie. I MUST say, it was still fantastic! It had wonderful effects & awesome action! Keep in mind, this is a comic book movie. Don't expect it to change your life, but, it will make your day! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrwT.Feb 19, 2007
I thought the special effects where good. The flames look believable. As fars as dialogue it was ok come on it based on a comic book. what are you expecting shakespear. I found it funny with some action with a love story spun in. Major news I thought the special effects where good. The flames look believable. As fars as dialogue it was ok come on it based on a comic book. what are you expecting shakespear. I found it funny with some action with a love story spun in. Major news critics must have something against Niicholos Cage I don't get their low rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Daddy69Feb 19, 2007
Incredibly realistic and gritty look at life as a demon possessed bounty hunter. :) lol, just kidding. Shallow with plenty of funny and cheesy moments. A typical B-rate film that gets a decent score for just being a great popcorn movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanA.Feb 20, 2007
This movie was visually stunning. I don't care what critics say, it deserves a 10 for being stylish and visually stunning. An 8 out of 10 for acting and 9 out of 10 for plot. I can't wait for the sequel. Ghost Rider is not the type This movie was visually stunning. I don't care what critics say, it deserves a 10 for being stylish and visually stunning. An 8 out of 10 for acting and 9 out of 10 for plot. I can't wait for the sequel. Ghost Rider is not the type of movie for movie critics, but its the type of movie for fans from the looks of it unless it pulls a B&R on us which means it makes alot of money first weekend then drops significantly until its run in theaters ends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveK.Feb 25, 2007
It's meant to be an action-packed, effects-driven popcorn movie. Turn your brain off and enjoy. If you can lower your expectations, suspend your disbelief, and ignore the cheesy dialogue (it's a comic book movie about an undead It's meant to be an action-packed, effects-driven popcorn movie. Turn your brain off and enjoy. If you can lower your expectations, suspend your disbelief, and ignore the cheesy dialogue (it's a comic book movie about an undead flaming avenger on a motorcycle, it's not Shakespeare, folks), you will have a good time. If the idea of a Ghost Rider seems wacky to you in the first place, don't watch this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ToddGilletteFeb 27, 2007
I absolutely loved this movie, in the same way I loved Army of Darkness. Now Ghost Rider did appear to attempt some level of seriousness and character development at times (that AoD never did), but for the most part it appeared that the I absolutely loved this movie, in the same way I loved Army of Darkness. Now Ghost Rider did appear to attempt some level of seriousness and character development at times (that AoD never did), but for the most part it appeared that the horrible lines and cringe-inspiring moments were on purpose. Even if they weren't I still loved them. Campy? Yes. Silly? Yes. Crappy dialogue and plot? Yes. Funny as hell and a good time? Yes! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NanHMar 13, 2007
Overall good movie. Special effects are super. Nicolas Cage & Eva Mendes area a gread duo in this film. I highly recommend this movie to those who like good special effects and Marvel Comics themed movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NancyMar 18, 2007
I admit I had no real rexpectations except the effects and the hope that Nicolas Cage would provide another film that would be a source of "don't tell anyone I actually like this movie" (a la Con Air). But except for Sam Elliot, whom I I admit I had no real rexpectations except the effects and the hope that Nicolas Cage would provide another film that would be a source of "don't tell anyone I actually like this movie" (a la Con Air). But except for Sam Elliot, whom I would pay to see even if he just spit and didn't talk, the other performances weren't stong enough or campy enough to make is as fun a ride as it could have been. Everyone played it pretty straight and only Donal Logue (and maybe the guy who played tha father, Brett Cullen) seemed to have the energy that movie needed. More energy would have made this more fun - more fun with the dialogue would also not have gone amiss - after all - this is not the most subtle of "heros" I think just about any town would rather take their chances with bad guys and evil than to try and repair all the damage that was done just from Ghost Rider tooling down the street. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EduardoR.Mar 6, 2007
This is NOT as bad as people are saying. It is NOT a great movie, either. There are some smart jokes and the gothic look is nice. On the other hand, it definitely lacks decent battles. But, in the end, it is fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Louis'sbrotherApr 16, 2007
What I liked about this marvel Movie, set aside I really like Nick Cage, is that Johnny Blaze got his powers based on religious beliefs rather than exposure to radiation, bitten by a genetically enchanced spider, yadda yadda. The acting was What I liked about this marvel Movie, set aside I really like Nick Cage, is that Johnny Blaze got his powers based on religious beliefs rather than exposure to radiation, bitten by a genetically enchanced spider, yadda yadda. The acting was pretty good, but the story needs some help. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WilliamB.Jun 21, 2007
Fun popcorn movie, but nothing special.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeRDec 30, 2007
I don't follow the comic book of Ghost Rider.The dialog and acting was decent.But the action was awesome from start to finish.Nicolas was decent playing Ghost Rider but I'm not sure if any other actor could have done better.I I don't follow the comic book of Ghost Rider.The dialog and acting was decent.But the action was awesome from start to finish.Nicolas was decent playing Ghost Rider but I'm not sure if any other actor could have done better.I don't think Johnny Blaze is an easy character to do.Yes the movie did try to be serious but ended up being a little cheesy but the action is where the movie really shined.This movie is definitely a fun popcorn movie and nothing special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyW.Feb 17, 2007
I really don't understand the low ratings. Ghost Rider was quite enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertS.Feb 17, 2007
Excellent movie. saw it twice. great action, humor, and drama. Folks, please gnore the negative reviews just like you did for Fantastic Four and you will have a great time. I like all the multiple alias' writing the same neg reviews,Excellent movie. saw it twice. great action, humor, and drama. Folks, please gnore the negative reviews just like you did for Fantastic Four and you will have a great time. I like all the multiple alias' writing the same neg reviews, especially the one person who used the Leaving in Las Vegas comment in each of his posts. Its pathetic how people take on these personal vendettas to thro dirt at a great flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReefaRawFeb 18, 2007
This movie was great i dont understand the negative ratings. I saw this movie twice and thought overall it was an outstanding movie. To add what Robert S. was saying it really is funny how people take movies to personally if they didnt like This movie was great i dont understand the negative ratings. I saw this movie twice and thought overall it was an outstanding movie. To add what Robert S. was saying it really is funny how people take movies to personally if they didnt like it, and make negative comments under different alias as well. I wonder what kind of movies those individuals like? Probably not the ones WE like. Go watch this movie despite the negative ratings. Most people that i know loved it and i can almost gurantee you will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TomM.Feb 18, 2007
Fer cryin' out loud, it's movie about a comic book character, and a character that has a flaming skull and rides a motorcycle at that. I'm not expecting Shakespeare dialog or Ocscar-worthy performances. It's campy, goofy, Fer cryin' out loud, it's movie about a comic book character, and a character that has a flaming skull and rides a motorcycle at that. I'm not expecting Shakespeare dialog or Ocscar-worthy performances. It's campy, goofy, and entertaining. No, it certainly isn't the best comic adaptation out there, but it's follows the original story fairly well, and is fun to watch. Nic Cage is as wooden as ever. The villians are.... well, appropriately villainous. And Eva Mendes shares screen time with her womanly assests throughout. Overall, it isn't a great movie but it is a fun movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulF.Feb 18, 2007
First off for whatever reason this film was given way to many harsh reviews. Granted it was not a masterpiece but it was full of fun and camp. Peoples please do not take this film too seriously as it was not intended for that. The worst First off for whatever reason this film was given way to many harsh reviews. Granted it was not a masterpiece but it was full of fun and camp. Peoples please do not take this film too seriously as it was not intended for that. The worst flaws about this film were that the love chemistry was a little weak and could have been dialoged better, and the evil characters were not all that convincing. The positive aspects to this film were the special effects; they really do not get any better than this, as well as an interesting and fun story. What is a little sad is it really could have been great, but I'll settle for plain old good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudyFeb 28, 2007
I loved it!!! I want to go out riding now but I have to wait for the 2 feet of snow to melt first!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrutusO.Mar 11, 2007
Don't believe the critics. A fun movie, full of good natured redneck humour, raucous music and tongue in cheek romance. A better movie than X Men 3 or Borat, and well made. Good special effects. I thought the original comic book was Don't believe the critics. A fun movie, full of good natured redneck humour, raucous music and tongue in cheek romance. A better movie than X Men 3 or Borat, and well made. Good special effects. I thought the original comic book was tedious, but this sort of campy FX driven approach works quite well. I notice that it is doing pretty well, and rightly so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WadeF.Jun 28, 2007
A Hell of a ride. Cool Fx, good story, and good comic book adaptation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
phillyjeffFeb 21, 2012
I like this movie, because it is refreshing from the other dregs. It will make you laugh, cause some of the acting and dialogue are that outlandish . This movie falls into one of things you do not like to admit you like, but you can't help yourself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerMar 9, 2011
While it's not the most normal super hero movie it's a lot of fun, I actually enjoyed Nicholas Cage's performance as Ghost Rider, and enjoyed the unique story and action, a very unique super hero that I recommend for fans of the comics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
julian_zizzleSep 13, 2011
The rider who has a burning skull as a head and wears leather jacket, was looking good on this one. But i should say I didn't expect this to be a good movie actually. The reason was that they always find a way to fail in a superhero movie. SoThe rider who has a burning skull as a head and wears leather jacket, was looking good on this one. But i should say I didn't expect this to be a good movie actually. The reason was that they always find a way to fail in a superhero movie. So i watched this 4 year old movie in 2011. There was nothing bad about the plot or any characters. (I just wondered why was Blackheart looking like a human instead of his usual demonic appearance in comics) And lets just say i don't like Eva Mendes that much. The story was fine and by the end of the day this movie satisfied a comic-geek like me. But i should say im not that impressed and even though this was a good first movie to explain the background of main character, this was of course could be better in action way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellMay 27, 2012
It is a decent action movie with a little plague of problems. I think Nicholas Cage could have performed better here but its got decent action scenes. If a little more thought was put into the casting and script it could be as good as Batman Begins.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ReubenIsAGodApr 21, 2014
I love this film, I love Ghost Rider, don't get me wrong its a terrible movie but damn i just have a place in my heart for this film because it really showed me that their are different types of superheros besides Spiderman, Batman, SupermanI love this film, I love Ghost Rider, don't get me wrong its a terrible movie but damn i just have a place in my heart for this film because it really showed me that their are different types of superheros besides Spiderman, Batman, Superman etc and really made me want to explore and get a better understanding of the characters. Plus the films about a biker with a flaming skull for a head, BADass.

-Guilty pleasure film gets 7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Luna_BlazeApr 19, 2016
I LOVE Ghost-Rider he is the most awesome and badass hero I know and the movie is great there is a good and a bit sad story behind it ,awesome special effects, great music and yes there is also some scary things in it but who cares? :3
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tiber5Jan 17, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The reason why I'm giving it a ten is because first I'm a huge ghost rider fan. And I love marvel comics. Whatever people say about marvel movies it shall still bring out the awesome. Oh, yes the movie well let's see its all about a daredevil (Johnny Blaze) who made a deal with the devil to save his father from cancer. I know he's an idiot but he was seventeen. But he's father dies not from cancer but from a stunt he tried to do. But the deal was to turn Johnny into the ghost rider. The devil's bounty hunter who was sent out to kill his son blackheart. And..and enough said just watch the damn movie!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews