Sony Pictures Entertainment (SPE) | Release Date: February 16, 2007
3.6
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 432 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
104
Mixed:
96
Negative:
232
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
EpicLadySpongeJan 16, 2016
Thank goodness for this movie coming out the week after the incident where movies will never be the same. However... it's not as decent as you wanted it to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
marcmyworksJan 2, 2014
I don't know what is more ridiculous, the fact that this spawned a sequel or the rug on Nicholas Cage's head. I was surprised to see the writer and director didn't go in a dark direction for this film and instead decided to go camp and over-the-top.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoJul 25, 2015
Alla we will see a new movie Out of Marvel and say that of the Ghost Rider is bad ?. If it was checked . And do not come to know that Nicolas Cage chose that as bad role of Johnny Blaze , as well as other Nicolas Cage Sorry , you're myAlla we will see a new movie Out of Marvel and say that of the Ghost Rider is bad ?. If it was checked . And do not come to know that Nicolas Cage chose that as bad role of Johnny Blaze , as well as other Nicolas Cage Sorry , you're my favorite actor, but as bad papers did! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
oxanaAug 28, 2014
I expected a far better movie, and ended up disappointed. Haven't read the comics, so I can't tell if the movie would have been better/worse with knowledge from them.

The visuals weren't stunning, the plot was great but somehow lacking a
I expected a far better movie, and ended up disappointed. Haven't read the comics, so I can't tell if the movie would have been better/worse with knowledge from them.

The visuals weren't stunning, the plot was great but somehow lacking a lot - not to speak of things that were never really explained and others that just didn't seem to click (at this point I'm sure reading comics would help).

I have seen better Marvel-based movies, really.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Ghost Rider is dead inside.
A very cool, refreshing concept to a superhero movie executed with poor negligence. It is only successful at its special effects, but is an udder catastrophe with acting and dialogue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MegWhiteleyMar 7, 2012
I'm watching the second part and be awful, but this first part is better (and much), have mistakes, but the most better things are the action scenes, is not the best title, but is a good film. Yes better than the second part.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SrPepeNov 13, 2017
Es gracioso como esta película pasa a ser buena después de ver la innecesaria y horrible secuela. Podría haber sido peor, al menos no te dan ganas de sacarte los ojos con una cuchara.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
savagejoe444May 28, 2013
Sadly, the only good part about this movie is the Ghost Rider himself, the rest of the movie, with the story, co-characters, and enemies, are just plain boring and useless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
emiliomiceli31Aug 8, 2015
ghost rider no es obstante para recibir criticas positivas en general y apenas llegaria a mixtas pero le falta mucha mejora para llegar a las criticas postivas pero es buena
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DMEJun 11, 2012
Ghost Rider is nothing special and it's definitely not a superhero movie, but it's an above-par action flick that's worth seeing on a rainy day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TargetF209Feb 28, 2011
Nothing really to recommend here, the acting is sub-standard, the action scenes are stationary and the whole film takes ages to get going. For a superhero action flick, this misses the mark by a long shot, but for the special effects alone,Nothing really to recommend here, the acting is sub-standard, the action scenes are stationary and the whole film takes ages to get going. For a superhero action flick, this misses the mark by a long shot, but for the special effects alone, it's worth a look. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ftoonsMar 31, 2012
Good first attempt into bringing the Ghost Rider to the big screen. This was an interesting film of an interesting character. Nicolas Cage and Peter Fonda were good, I didn't like the portrayal of Blackheart in this movie. Mark Steven JohnsonGood first attempt into bringing the Ghost Rider to the big screen. This was an interesting film of an interesting character. Nicolas Cage and Peter Fonda were good, I didn't like the portrayal of Blackheart in this movie. Mark Steven Johnson wasn't the perfect director for this one, and the CGI effects weren't that great. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
JohnS.Feb 20, 2007
Very Cheazy. Looked like a hurried made for TV, Power Ranger like movie. Don't think for a minute that because it's a Marvel Comic Movie you can get away that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DaleFeb 22, 2007
Avi Arad, you are an imbecile and a buffoon. The debacles that were Daredevil and Elektra should have been warning enough. Quit messing with these Marvel characters you fool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DA.Jun 26, 2007
I actually kinda liked it. I had dreams about it for 4 days. I had one just last night. In all of them I am ghost rider. BACK TO THE MOVIE. It was good although it could o been better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KeenanS.Sep 9, 2009
Ghost Rider had great potential to rank among the elite comic book flicks, but no, it decided to suck instead. The acting and dialogue int his film is simply atrocious, and you won't know whether to blame the actors or the script for Ghost Rider had great potential to rank among the elite comic book flicks, but no, it decided to suck instead. The acting and dialogue int his film is simply atrocious, and you won't know whether to blame the actors or the script for it. The action scenes are poorly scripted and have no substance or meat to them. They are an utter bore to watch. While the CGI effects look nice and there might be maybe two or three action scenes worthy of mentioning, Ghost Rider just falls flat and even a rental will make you feel as if you wasted your money. Go see Watchmen or The Dark Knight instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SpencerC.Feb 16, 2007
This movie was better than I expected. Then again, I wasn't expecting it to be any good at all. As far as I was concerned, of all the parts of this movie, the humorous elements did the best job of working the way I think the director This movie was better than I expected. Then again, I wasn't expecting it to be any good at all. As far as I was concerned, of all the parts of this movie, the humorous elements did the best job of working the way I think the director intended. Problems: The love interest was totally pointless, the special effects frequently stole the show from the action, and there were problems with logic (didn't the caretaker say the demons couldn't step on hallowed ground? Why was Blackheart able to confront the priest in the church for the contract?) and common sense (Did the cops really let Roxanne walk in front of them as they all opened fire on the Ghost Rider?). At least I saw this movie for free. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatrickM.Feb 17, 2007
Good special effects overall. Loved Cage. The dialogue was as bad as any Kung-fu theater mivie I have ever watched. Character development was virtually non-existent. But a fun movie overall if you don't go in expecting too much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DecepticonPomFeb 17, 2007
A fun bit of Marvel moral-loaded escapism. Nothing more, nothing less.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AMovieCriticFeb 16, 2007
Whoo boy.....in a time when comic book movies are trying to be more "human" and are trying to be much more character-driven and serious...Ghost Rider comes along and completely reverts back to the "Batman and Robin" days. The entire movie Whoo boy.....in a time when comic book movies are trying to be more "human" and are trying to be much more character-driven and serious...Ghost Rider comes along and completely reverts back to the "Batman and Robin" days. The entire movie feels like a giant cartoon. The dialogue is (intentionally at times) horrible, character conversations are cartoony and unrealistic, no characters are developed at all, the plot is laughable.....completely a step backwards. It's a case of style over substance, clearly. Some inspired special effects and a somewhat interesting first half (and Eva Mendes) make this movie worth seeing but the 2nd half is bogged down by dull action, really bad dialogue, a plot and villains that go nowhere, and increasingly uninteresting characters. I don't know who greenlit this script but it REALLY needed a re-write. It's never a good sign when large numbers of people in the theater got up and left after the final showdown with the villain despite there still being about 5 minutes left in the movie. Meh...go, turn your brain off, it's kind of worth seeing, just don't expect much of anything. The only thing really exciting here wasn't even in the movie; it was the teaser for Resident Evil; Extinction that was shown before it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
E7-2521Feb 17, 2007
I expected so much more from Mark Steven Johnson. I really thought he'd be on his way to the A-list. I loved Daredevil and the director's cut of that film is even better. I do know "how" to watch films and suspend disbelief, but I expected so much more from Mark Steven Johnson. I really thought he'd be on his way to the A-list. I loved Daredevil and the director's cut of that film is even better. I do know "how" to watch films and suspend disbelief, but Ghost Rider just can't be recommended. It's all so cheesy. But that aspect was expected. It's just not well crafted on every level. I think it's appeal is really for 4 - 10 year old kids only. If the screenplay was revised by Joe Lansdale, this could have been special. But I'm dreaming. Pluses: I couldn't take my eyes off Eva Mendes. And the end credits song is really awesome. I found the Christopher Young score on Amazon, but that doesn't include the song. At this time I can't locate the name of the artist and song. If anyone knows, please let me know. Thanks Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MLeeFeb 18, 2007
It was alright. Don't go to this flcik expecting Spiderman, or X-Men. It's a solid and fun movie. Plain and simple. It's somewhere above X-Men The Last Stand, but below Blade 2 and Daredevil. If you go in expecting the level It was alright. Don't go to this flcik expecting Spiderman, or X-Men. It's a solid and fun movie. Plain and simple. It's somewhere above X-Men The Last Stand, but below Blade 2 and Daredevil. If you go in expecting the level of FF, or Hulk, you'll be greatly surprised... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarcoP.Feb 19, 2007
As comic book movies go, this one feels nestled between Elektra and Blade Trinity. I know that's not exactly saying much, but if that kind of mindless comic book movie does it for you then by all means enjoy Ghost Rider. I liked it for As comic book movies go, this one feels nestled between Elektra and Blade Trinity. I know that's not exactly saying much, but if that kind of mindless comic book movie does it for you then by all means enjoy Ghost Rider. I liked it for all its campiness and humor but for those hoping for it to be along the same lines as the best in the genre, look elsewhere. I did like Nic Cage's take on Johnny Blaze and Eva Mendes as always looks stunning (if not a little confused the entire time). Add in some neat-o familiar faces like Peter Fonda and Sam Elliott and it just gets better in a "what were they thinking?" kinda way. The FX also aren't as bad as many would have you believe, and the music definately adds some much needed oomph about halfay through the film. I guess you could say I liked it. All in all it's a fine popcorn movie and easily better than some efforts Nic Cage has made lately. (Wicker Man anyone? "The BEES! No! Not the BEES!") LOL I would even say it's worth seeing more than once in the theater just to see the final showdown between ol' Ghosty and Blackheart. Sure it's not the best film out there right now in the cineplexes (Pan's Labyrinth if it's still playing in a theater near you is definately worth checking out) but it makes for very passable entertainment. I give it 6/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful