United Artists | Release Date: July 20, 2001
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 145 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
130
Mixed:
9
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
EpicLadySpongeApr 18, 2016
Ghost World is a perfect example of how can you make something look epic just by looking at it. I love how they make it look completely detailed by the way I look at it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BradySmithOct 18, 2014
I must have been in a bad mood when I saw this before. When previously, I found it boring and bland, this time I found it to be witty and creative. The characters stand out and are unique. They also never feel forced. By my score though,I must have been in a bad mood when I saw this before. When previously, I found it boring and bland, this time I found it to be witty and creative. The characters stand out and are unique. They also never feel forced. By my score though, it's quite obvious that I don't think it's perfect. Some sections still bored me, and it's not always as funny as it thinks it is. It's greatest success might actually be in conveying the sadness of growing up, losing friends, and the uncertainty of what to do next. Maybe understanding these things now, helped me to enjoy it more. Or maybe I just wasn't paying attention enough last time to notice funny lines like, "Everyone's too stupid!" and "Can I call you Weird AL?" I'm not completely sure I wrote that last one right word for word. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Much like Zwigoff's "Crumb," this movie exists wholly in a field of its own, and its constant eccentricities give it all the more power to captivate the viewer. Aside from being perfectly casted, the scripting/editing really give the movieMuch like Zwigoff's "Crumb," this movie exists wholly in a field of its own, and its constant eccentricities give it all the more power to captivate the viewer. Aside from being perfectly casted, the scripting/editing really give the movie its edge, as many of the characters are defined by one-liners and quick shots. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ElectroNickApr 20, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film perfectly encapsulates the "smart Cinema" sub-genre and uses it to it's advantage t o tell a story with interesting social commentary and a compelling protagonist. The film has a unique laid-back tone like "The Big Lebowski" with a protagonist who doesn't care what people think of them. However this films seems to have a more cynical view of the world than the Coen's comedic masterpiece does. It pokes fun at today's Post Modern culture and how shallow everything has become. The title of the film is significant because it captures the meaning of the film about how materialism and the post-modern culture is really nothing more than a shell to hide truth but instead enforce people to pursue mindless escapism. Enid (played by Thora Birch) also acts a ghost since she feels that she doesn't belong in that post-modern world. Her sarcastic sense of humor leads to a lot of subtle humor that might go over the heads of the average movie going audience but it doesn't detract from the importance of what she is saying. She even realizes that her future love interest Seymour (played by Steve Buschemi) is also a ghost in the modern world since he fails to connect to the modern world and prefers to surround himself in antiaques. Another major theme is post-modern societies inability to accept the harshness of their present and past states. For example, Enid tells many potential costumers about the film they are going to watch as a shallow experience (in her usual sarcastic manner) which causes her boss to fire her. The consumers give a static and uncaring look when she warns about the picture since they have been conditioned to accept whatever has been thrown at them without questioning. Enid's questioning is damaging to the post-modern culture because it takes the empty copying of a formula to ridicule. Another interesting piece of post-modern culture that the film takes into ridicule is the in ability to accept the reality of history which is where the infamous "coon-skin" poster comes in. The poster has a picture of a character from a mistral show which caused a lot of people at the art show to take umbrage with it. It contrasts with the fifties diner that played modern rap music as a way to hide the actual state of racial relations at the time period the diner was supposedly paying homage to. The poster is an actual artifact from that time-period which many people choose to ignore since it causes people to question how things have actually improved from those days. The ending in particular captures that attitude of the "Smart Cinema" movement since Edith goes on a bus at the end of the film and her fate is left unstated. This allows the audience to determine what happens to her and to come to their own conclusions as opposed to being blindly told what had happened. This film is an excellent comedy with timeless satire that wont go into the state of irrelevance anytime soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
joomjim4Jun 18, 2012
The movie provides the most outrageous sense of humour, but in a positive way. The humour in the film was deeply touching in a way that the viewer would not expect from this kind of film. The storyline was so outrageously distinctive comparedThe movie provides the most outrageous sense of humour, but in a positive way. The humour in the film was deeply touching in a way that the viewer would not expect from this kind of film. The storyline was so outrageously distinctive compared to the othe ther teenage films. The protagonist of the movie was very well acted with such an original acting. My favorite teenage film so far ^^. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
AlexSAug 10, 2011
Ghost World is an extraordinary,poignant portrayal of teenage angst and the perks and difficulties of social outsideness.It's equally witty and touching in its delivery.Thora Birch and Scarlett Johansson convey the alienation of theirGhost World is an extraordinary,poignant portrayal of teenage angst and the perks and difficulties of social outsideness.It's equally witty and touching in its delivery.Thora Birch and Scarlett Johansson convey the alienation of their characters beautifully.Steve Buscemi gives one of the best performances of his career as Seymour,a lonely middle-aged man who finds solace only in his record collection.Zwigoff and Clowes have created characters that are completely believable and relatable.It's one of the few films that portrays teen anxiety in such a unique way.It's equally subtle and moving in its delivery.Ghost World is one of the few genuinely life-altering movies I've seen.Also Scarlett Johansson's husky voice makes me weak at the knees! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
JohnB.May 6, 2004
One of my favorite movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
thewisekingFeb 11, 2006
This film gets better with each viewing. My initial impression was that it was overly droll and too full of teenage ennui. However, with each reviewing (thanks to the indie film channels) I have really come to appreciate just how brilliantly This film gets better with each viewing. My initial impression was that it was overly droll and too full of teenage ennui. However, with each reviewing (thanks to the indie film channels) I have really come to appreciate just how brilliantly this film captures what it is like to not quite fit in, in an age when hip/hop, ignorance, misogyny and thuggery have completely hijacked the popular culture. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BobEApr 8, 2007
Story, acting, soundtrack, visuals, casting, all just about brilliantly perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
andoneNov 4, 2005
How can someone say "seems to me like a movie that exists for existing's sake" about this movie. The story follows the comic work of Daniel Clowes, known for being one of the best graphic novelists in America. He even wrote the How can someone say "seems to me like a movie that exists for existing's sake" about this movie. The story follows the comic work of Daniel Clowes, known for being one of the best graphic novelists in America. He even wrote the screenplay. Click over to the book review section on this site and read the reviews for one of his other works, 'Ice Haven'. The acting was the only redeeming quality? I bet that's why it recieved Academy Award and Golden Globe nominations for best adapted screenplay, right? b/c of the acting. The original story certainly didn't rely on acting to be compelling and respected. Just because you don't understand or can't relate to something doesn't mean that it "exists for existing's sake". I suspect J T is someone who is not well read. If you are someone who appreciates art, read Peter M and Alex C.'s reviews. If you would rather watch typical BS coming from hollywood, JT and C. Monster's reviews will better guide you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnA.Apr 26, 2006
What a supremely funny, entertaining and moving film this is. Thora Birch is an amazingly underrated actress. I hope she will soon get as much recognition as her co-star Scarlett Johansson already has. No question, that Birch is the better actress.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackLJul 26, 2007
This is a really really deep, intriguing and subtly poignant movie. The movie well deserves the score by the critics (if not higher). Those who says this movie is boring either because they don't watch it as if they are reading This is a really really deep, intriguing and subtly poignant movie. The movie well deserves the score by the critics (if not higher). Those who says this movie is boring either because they don't watch it as if they are reading literature, which mean that there are symbols, metaphors, and imagery which need to be looked closely and analyzed in order to see a greater picture, or because they are just too lazy to use their brain, which mean they rather let their brains be entertained (like when they watch those brainless, shallow mainstream blockbusters or those empty, mundane shows on television) than to make it think, which, in turn, would cause them too much pain since their brains have not been working for so long. C. Monster said that Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinE.Apr 27, 2006
basically I agree with what most other people said. I was slightly confusing at the end but an overall enjoyable trip thats worth revisiting again and again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamD.Jul 11, 2006
i liked it but sometimes it was a little, bleh. it was very depressing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
rzzzzzAug 14, 2006
most satisfying comedy in recent memory. original, deft and knowing. baby, even the losers get lucky some times, but in this film they're just too genuine and compelling to allow themselves to be Spielberged into some corny gift wrapped most satisfying comedy in recent memory. original, deft and knowing. baby, even the losers get lucky some times, but in this film they're just too genuine and compelling to allow themselves to be Spielberged into some corny gift wrapped resolution. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Farwell3dFeb 27, 2011
Hands down, the best movie of the 00's thus far. One of the greatest films ever made, a masterpiece. The career best performances for Thora Birch, Scarlett Johansson, and Steve Buscemi. Funny, touching, moving, and just enough of a meanHands down, the best movie of the 00's thus far. One of the greatest films ever made, a masterpiece. The career best performances for Thora Birch, Scarlett Johansson, and Steve Buscemi. Funny, touching, moving, and just enough of a mean streak to elevate it, without enough to hurt it. One of the best films ever to measure whether or not someone is a film fan, or just looking for mindless entertainment. The former will love this, the latter should go watch trash like Transformers 2. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
zizoou91Jun 26, 2015
i just saw a new movie with a definitely a new story, you may never see a movie like this one. and very nice act from Steve Buscemi, Thora Birch and Scarlett Johansson. now it will be come one of my favorite movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews