Ghostbusters II

Ghostbusters II Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Ghostbusters take up their proton packs once more to battle the forces of evil in Manhattan! After waging a war on slime that cost New York City millions, the they find themselves out of business until an ancient tyrant, preparing a return to the Earthly domain through his portrait atThe Ghostbusters take up their proton packs once more to battle the forces of evil in Manhattan! After waging a war on slime that cost New York City millions, the they find themselves out of business until an ancient tyrant, preparing a return to the Earthly domain through his portrait at the Manhattan Museum of Modern Art, sets his sights on Dana Barrett's baby as the new home for his wicked soul! With the help of the Museum's possessed curator, he plans to turn New York into a really scary place to live! Now only the Ghostbusters can save New York City, by turning paranormal pest control into an art form! Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Even the special effects are more to the point of the comedy than they were in the first film. For some reason, this appears to leave more room for the sort of random funny business that Mr. Murray and his friends do best, or to which they react with most aplomb.
  2. 80
    Here, the comedy breathes, and the illusion that it's not a factory-assembled product (which it most certainly is) is a nifty one. For a major studio blockbuster, the thing is darned chummy, and above all, that rare, modest thing, a good show.
  3. 80
    Ghostbusters II is babyboomer silliness. Kids will find the oozing slime and ghastly, ghostly apparitions to their liking and adults will enjoy the preposterously clever dialog.
  4. Empire
    Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    60
  5. Time
    Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    60
    The movie and everyone in it remain, under Ivan Reitman's determinedly casual direction, very loosely organized. They amble agreeably, but not necessarily hilariously, from one special-effects sequence to the next. These are not better, worse or even different from the original's trick work, and their lack of punctuating surprise is the film's largest problem, especially at the shamelessly repetitive climax. [26 June 1989, p.89]
  6. Chicago Sun-Times
    Reviewed by: Llyod Sachs
    50
    As amiable and formfitting as Ghostbusters II can be, it's a thin, dimly conceived affair. For all its rave-up special effects, it adds little to director Ivan Reitman's original, which itself was no fountain of wit but at least had a fresh gimmick going for it. [16 Jun 1989, p.37]
  7. San Francisco Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    12
    The best thing in the movie is Peter MacNicol as Dana's boss at the museum, a slippery character with an incomprehensible accent. [16 Jun 1989, p. E1]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. BFM
    Aug 3, 2016
    10
    Having to see the new 2016 Ghostbusters movie made me realize how good Ghostbusters II was.
    Is the story as good as in the original? No. But
    Having to see the new 2016 Ghostbusters movie made me realize how good Ghostbusters II was.
    Is the story as good as in the original? No. But the writing and characters are as intelligent as in the original.
    Expand
  2. Jun 7, 2015
    9
    This one is actually better than the first one by a bit. Ghostbusters is a great movie in the 80's and I really enjoyed it. The ghosts wereThis one is actually better than the first one by a bit. Ghostbusters is a great movie in the 80's and I really enjoyed it. The ghosts were better this time. The theme song is back. The plot and storyline is good. I enjoyed the part when the Statue of Liberty came to "life". The Second Ghostbusters is very good and I recommend you watch it and once again, if ya hate Ghostbusters, you're silly as J. Bieber. I really recommend you watch this one, and unlike 1, this one is underrated. Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2016
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ghostbusters was a very huge franchise, let's admit that for once. But I don't think anyone would have expected the series to get as popular as it did. Set five years after the first movie, our Ghostbusting crew is at it again. However, at the time of release, it wasn't met with the same feedback as the first one. So, what exactly happened? Well, let's jump right in.

    The last time we left them they had saved the city of New York from a mean old mother hubbard, but since then they experienced a decline and not really seen much ghost activity. Heck, some of them moved on like Peter Venkman (Bill Murray) having his own TV show and Egon Spengler (Harold Ramis) doing scientific work elsewhere. Winston and Ray (Ernie Hudson and Dan Aykroyd) are still the Ghostbusters, but more of attending parties for kids than actually capturing the supernatural. That is, until pink slime starts appearing from all over Manhattan and they have to reunite to see what on earth is going on. Little do they know about the bigger picture that is about to unfold. ...See what I did there?

    Aykroyd and Ramis are back on the writing chair again, to bring us another adventure from our Saturday Night Crew plus one. I actually liked that Hudson's character, Winston was given more time to interact with the cast than before. There are some pretty good moments with him and the other that really shine through on what was a movie full of doubt. Will the villain work? It really is an interesting choice to give a more active role to the main big guy, Vigo the Carpathian by manipulating other things and people to do his work. ...Well, more active than Gozer. (To be fair, it really couldn't do much without getting revived first.)

    I'm going to assume you seen the film already. I mean, You clicked the arrow that revealed this critique to begin with.

    There are some very funny moments here just like the first one, but none that actually made me laughed my bum off. Well, except maybe when testing the pink slime on a toaster, that was pretty cute I think. I also think some of you might have noticed that not many of the jokes they set up try to cross the line, more for kids to understand (at the time at least.) Plus, some changes that will make the casual fan go: "Wait a minute, I thought Egon and Janine had a little thing going on here. Why is Janine going for Louis now?" That answer brings us to the cartoon show airing around the same time, The Real Ghostbusters.

    From what I could gather, the series started faithful to the movie and had two seasons worth of spooky fun for kids and adults alike. However, anyone in production or watching the series would tell you that seasons 3 though 7 ended up dropping some of this to focus more on kids specifically, including making the plots more childish and essentially changing the show to Slimer and The Real Ghostbusters. No kidding, that green disgusting blob from the Sedgewick Hotel? He ended up taking more time than the actual cast we should have been focusing on! Thank goodness the movie doesn't do that, but some of the minor details from the show ended up sneaking into the product we did get. And I think that's what drove people up a wall along with those who only saw the first movie setting their expectations too high on the sequel.

    A real crying shame too, the plot is great, the character interactions are fun and most of the charm of the original is still there. It just ended up in an inconvenient place at the wrong time. Please, understand where I come from by saying so: It took what was great and maintained the status quo, and to me that is very good.
    Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    The sequel to the mid-80's hit is just that little bit better than the first thanks to just having a little more action and laughs as well asThe sequel to the mid-80's hit is just that little bit better than the first thanks to just having a little more action and laughs as well as just being a bit more updated also. Again, because its from the 80's I was late seeing it until probably the late 90's and while I liked it, it's just sitting in that average stage for me. Great to see all the main players from the first film back of course with the addition of a few newbies. Overall a decent sequel that manages to top the first, just Expand
  5. May 25, 2014
    7
    Ghostbusters II is a good sequel but its not on the level of the first movie. Granted i still enjoy the hell out of this movie even to thisGhostbusters II is a good sequel but its not on the level of the first movie. Granted i still enjoy the hell out of this movie even to this day. The cast is amazing with all the main characters returning from the previous installment so that was nice. My problem with it though is that for most of the first half of the movie it felt disjointed and it seemed like there was a lack of comedy which is a shame becuase thats what makes these movies so great i know compared to the first film i barely laughed. Also Bill Murray was rarely helping out the Ghostbusters and spent most of his time with Sigourney Weaver i understand that it was about building a relationship between them but it gave off the feel that the Ghostbusters dont really even need him anymore.

    Overall i give it a 7.0 If Ghostbusters III ever gets made it will be cool to see how it turns out also i would LOVE To see Rick Moranis in it.
    Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2014
    6
    Not nearly as good as the first film in the Ghostbusters series, but like the first still manages to capture the viewer in the strange worldNot nearly as good as the first film in the Ghostbusters series, but like the first still manages to capture the viewer in the strange world of the paranormal--In a comedic way. Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2013
    5
    II is not nearly as good or funny as the original, but little bits and pieces are amusing, especially Dana's boss that doesn't ever utter aII is not nearly as good or funny as the original, but little bits and pieces are amusing, especially Dana's boss that doesn't ever utter a coherent word. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  2. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 17, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Kubo and the Two Strings, Ben-Hur, War Dogs, Morris From America, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.