User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 57
  2. Negative: 12 out of 57
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Shells
    May 24, 2009
    5
    Its a chick flick don't have too many expectations.
  2. WinstonL
    May 5, 2009
    10
    Wow! I'm so surprised! This movie was actually funny! I loved it !
  3. malop
    Oct 17, 2009
    8
    They make a really nice couple, i enjoyed the movie and i would also recommend it.. even though it is a copy of a Christmas movie i think.
  4. EliF
    May 23, 2009
    0
    Wow...this was horrible. It looked cute, but ends up being a weirdly awkward sexual referenced failure of a summer romance flick!
  5. LisaJ
    May 20, 2009
    1
    Even though there were some nice moments in this movie, that does not un-do the other many dicpicible moments. It was crude, rude, deplorable. I cannot believe that Matthew & especially Jen would have anything to do with a movie like this. I won't even rate this movie as a movie you should wait for on dvd...no, it's a movie that I will warn people to NOT SEE...don't waste Even though there were some nice moments in this movie, that does not un-do the other many dicpicible moments. It was crude, rude, deplorable. I cannot believe that Matthew & especially Jen would have anything to do with a movie like this. I won't even rate this movie as a movie you should wait for on dvd...no, it's a movie that I will warn people to NOT SEE...don't waste your money!! Expand
  6. kgm
    May 2, 2009
    5
    Not sure why this movie was released in the spring as compared to the Christmas season but it
  7. TDKinDallas
    May 3, 2009
    6
    Cute, fun movie to waste some time in. Good date movie. Should have been rated R, very adult goings on.
  8. lauren
    Jun 30, 2009
    3
    My friend and I went to see this after school one day. You'd think that just because their was a lot of people in 1 room, you think the movie would've been good. Well, it failed. I'm a movie kind of girl, i enjoy Oscars, but none-the-less, i enjoy a cool chick flick. But this was stupid! I mean, really, this womanizing jerk, AKA Matthew's character Connor is just as My friend and I went to see this after school one day. You'd think that just because their was a lot of people in 1 room, you think the movie would've been good. Well, it failed. I'm a movie kind of girl, i enjoy Oscars, but none-the-less, i enjoy a cool chick flick. But this was stupid! I mean, really, this womanizing jerk, AKA Matthew's character Connor is just as predictable. AWFUL. AWFUL. AND AWFUL! Expand
  9. ChadS
    May 3, 2009
    4
    The Ghost of Girlfriends Past is so young; an eternal teenager who haunts Connor Mead at his brother's wedding because, one surmises, the lothario had something to do with her death. Cheerfully playing the curator of his own romantic history, the former Allison Vandermeersh was on the receiving end of a careless kiss from Connor at a basement party. They were high school The Ghost of Girlfriends Past is so young; an eternal teenager who haunts Connor Mead at his brother's wedding because, one surmises, the lothario had something to do with her death. Cheerfully playing the curator of his own romantic history, the former Allison Vandermeersh was on the receiving end of a careless kiss from Connor at a basement party. They were high school contemporaries. In all probability, the dead girl has issues with Connor, a fact that "Ghosts of Girlfriends Past" largely obscures since her comportment betrays no blatant malevolent signs which would be detrimental to the irritating lightness of this purported romantic comedy. But subtle signs subsist, in spite of the film's broad comic tone. Arranged by Allison's control of time and space, Connor revisits a scene from his formative years; his non-a**hole years before mom and dad expired in a car wreck, where he tells the girl on a the swing, "I'll keep it forever," because the ghost knows that the Polaroid is his most prized memento. With glee, Allison repeatedly rewinds this moment when Connor's older self denies ever having expressed himself so vulnerably. At the aforementioned party, Allison clearly wasn't part of the in-crowd(the glasses and braces are a dead giveaway), so her makeout session with Connor(off-screen, following the secondhand kiss) was quite possibly the highlight of her short life. The dead girl, after all these years, revels in being his first conquest. If "Ghosts of Girlfriends Past" was more honest, it would have included a scene in which the photographer asks Allison about the details surrounding her death. Sadly, her character is underwritten. Instead of ripping off Charles Dickens' "A Christmas Carol", the narrative might have benefited from having just one ghost: a ghost with a long memory and bruised feelings. The film seems unaware that Connor owes The Ghost of Girlfriends Past an apology. His redemption is too easy. Collapse
  10. PeteM.
    May 4, 2009
    8
    I found a lot of humor and some romance in this romantic comedy. The lead, Mathew Machonahey plays a sleazy photographer but realizes that with the help of ghosts from girlfriends past. I enjoyed this movie and recommend it.
  11. LukeA
    Jun 4, 2009
    2
    I took my mom to see this for mother's day as it was her pick being her day... I absolutely hated this movie. Typical predictable manufactured Hollywood garbage. I completely LOVE Jennifer Garner but even so, I found the flick painful to sit through... The only reason it got a 2, mom loved it; and I love my mom.
  12. GlennJ
    Oct 12, 2009
    8
    Loved it. A bit raunchy, stupid, predictable but very funny, endearing and lovable.
  13. SheldonH
    May 4, 2009
    6
    Just a normal shallow chick flick. It's great for a simple date, but don't expect an Oscar. It meets the expectation of just a decent flick.
  14. DavidH
    May 5, 2009
    2
    Here's a novel idea; cast Matthew McConaughey in a romantic comedy as an over-confident womanizer... wait, how many times have we seen this? Well, there is one silver lining here; if you've seen one McConaughey movie, you can check it off your list and there's no need to ever see another one.
  15. Diego
    Jun 5, 2009
    2
    I would give it a 0 or a 1 except it has SOME redeemingly funny parts with the the woman who plays Gretchen from Mean Girls (I dont know her name). Besides that, as David H said... "Here's a novel idea; cast Matthew McConaughey in a romantic comedy as an over-confident womanizer... wait, how many times have we seen this?" I simply don't understand how anyone working on this I would give it a 0 or a 1 except it has SOME redeemingly funny parts with the the woman who plays Gretchen from Mean Girls (I dont know her name). Besides that, as David H said... "Here's a novel idea; cast Matthew McConaughey in a romantic comedy as an over-confident womanizer... wait, how many times have we seen this?" I simply don't understand how anyone working on this movie THOUGHT it could be successful. Expand
  16. SergeyI
    Jul 15, 2009
    0
    I've seen many movies in my nearly 40 years of age, but this one shocked me with its utter stupidity and moronic content, forgive my French. Every woman in this movie is portrayed as a complete whore and a prostitue while each man is depicted there as a sex deprived and preoccupided narrow minded maniac with only one idea in their shallow mind: humping, humping and humping again. I've seen many movies in my nearly 40 years of age, but this one shocked me with its utter stupidity and moronic content, forgive my French. Every woman in this movie is portrayed as a complete whore and a prostitue while each man is depicted there as a sex deprived and preoccupided narrow minded maniac with only one idea in their shallow mind: humping, humping and humping again. Does it sound anything like real people around us? I mean there are people like that but by far not EVERYONE around us! Nasty, disgusting, immoral, repulsive, much like stepping on a slug with your bare foot. Watching this movie was not only a complete waste of time but also a whole world of negative emotions. If you wanna puke, that's your movie! Expand
  17. JayH
    Sep 16, 2009
    4
    The thing about Matthew McConaughey is he thinks he is hotter than just about anyone else and his conceit is quite irritating. This is a very predictable romantic comedy, not very well written and few performances that stand out. Nothing special at all.
  18. Nov 16, 2011
    6
    Considering this was a "chick flick" I actually enjoyed it. Its based on an idea similar to 'A Christmas Carol". I actually decided to purchase it after I had viewed the trailer on another film I purchased.

    I'm a big fan of films with a ghost type theme anyway, so thought I would give this one a go, although I'm not normally a fan of chick flicks, I found the story to be enjoyable.
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 29
  2. Negative: 11 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    50
    Ghosts is better-than-average McConaughey swill, but not by much - that's its pleasure and its curse.
  2. In terms of character, McConaughey is the toxin and Garner the antitoxin. It's not exactly chemistry, but as pharmacology it's effective.
  3. Despite my McConaughey resistance I got more guilty chuckles from Ghosts of Girlfriends Past than "Failure to Launch" or "Four Christmases."