Summit Distribution | Release Date: February 19, 2010
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 213 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
166
Mixed:
23
Negative:
24
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
HCSouzaJan 19, 2011
It's not the best Polanski I've seen (the most unsettling for me is still The Tenant) but it is still a Polanski, very political - smashing over plausibility to make a point - very critical, dark and thrilling. Loved it.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
Roman Polanski uses "The Ghost Writer" to show that he's still not old, and he perfectly demonstrates his abilities to the audience. He leads the movie with smooth direction and even has the capacity to add humor in such tense situations.Roman Polanski uses "The Ghost Writer" to show that he's still not old, and he perfectly demonstrates his abilities to the audience. He leads the movie with smooth direction and even has the capacity to add humor in such tense situations. Man, I do like this guy... Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJul 4, 2016
Slow burning and purposefully paced, The Ghost Writer is the kind of thriller that is certainly not for everyone. However, it was definitely up my alley. Smart and wisely crafted, The Ghost Writer is yet another impressive entry into RomanSlow burning and purposefully paced, The Ghost Writer is the kind of thriller that is certainly not for everyone. However, it was definitely up my alley. Smart and wisely crafted, The Ghost Writer is yet another impressive entry into Roman Polanski's filmography. Say what you want about the man, but the filmmaker is brilliant. The film is, again, slow but never boring. Instead, it entertains and keeps you on edge waiting to see how the clues will all come together in this politically-based story. Ewan McGregor turns in a very good performance as the unwitting ghostwriter for a former British Prime Minister played by Pierce Brosnan. In that role, Brosnan is cool, calculating, and deeply mysterious, which expertly captures the very essence of this politician shrouded in controversy. Even better, The Ghost Writer is not your typical modern thriller and instead shows Polanski's trademark of despair and deeply unsatisfying conclusions which, to me, is far more realistic. Once more, Roman Polanski showcases why he is such a revered filmmaker inspite of his personal sins. The Ghost Writer is a smart, well crafted thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat waiting to see what twist and turn comes next. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
AbeMCJul 6, 2016
Slow-moving suspense that is beautifully filmed and well-acted. Ewan MacGregor is really extraordinary in The Ghost Writer; he dominates the screen by being almost completely self-effacing. That's probably as much a testament to Polanski asSlow-moving suspense that is beautifully filmed and well-acted. Ewan MacGregor is really extraordinary in The Ghost Writer; he dominates the screen by being almost completely self-effacing. That's probably as much a testament to Polanski as it is to MacGregor. I've enjoyed Olivia Williams' acting since A Heart of Me (2002), and she is great again. And though his scenes are few, Brosnan really gets to chew the dramatic scenery. Speaking of scenery, the north coast of Germany subbed for the Massachusetts coast; it's bleak, sandy and wind-swept. Alexandre Desplat created an oddly unique score; it felt out of place in the beginning, but seemed to fit more and more as relationships were tested and bonds broken.

So what kept me from giving The Ghost Writer a higher score? While possessed of a clever ending, I didn't find the suspense of the film to be very, well, suspenseful. Even when I didn't know what would happen next, I didn't find myself surprised by what did happen. Given that this is billed as a suspense thriller, it was a bit of a let-down. I still enjoyed the drama and the interplay of relationships, though, so The Ghost Writer is an easy recommendation from that point of view. And Polanski's skills are clearly as sharp as ever.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
CoDFatherSep 11, 2010
Roman Palanski, being himself, after his years of not being seen for what shall not be named, I think this is one of his very successful movies that, even with the ending, was a four- star winner and exciting within every minute of the wholeRoman Palanski, being himself, after his years of not being seen for what shall not be named, I think this is one of his very successful movies that, even with the ending, was a four- star winner and exciting within every minute of the whole movie. The perfect combination of excitement, frightement, and cliff- hangers, even with the ending. Endings like that have been dissappointing me for years, but that movie is for sure, no doubt, positively, in my top 20 favorite movies of all time. If you haven't seen this movei, I reccomend it to all those people who love long movies, and can pay attention, but if you can't last longer than Zombieland- length, don't bother. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BikerjamesDec 30, 2010
I was mesmorized by this film - very similar to **** in style. Even when the film slows down a bit, the atmosphere and cinematography grips you. I was never bored. This is Ewan McGregor's best performance since the underrated comedy "DownI was mesmorized by this film - very similar to **** in style. Even when the film slows down a bit, the atmosphere and cinematography grips you. I was never bored. This is Ewan McGregor's best performance since the underrated comedy "Down With Love". The ending was a little perplexing for me, but I still enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kettavanFeb 4, 2011
The movie was nice and interesting. I enjoyed the filmThe movie was nice and interesting. I enjoyed the filmThe movie was nice and interesting. I enjoyed the filmThe movie was nice and interesting. I enjoyed the film
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JasonBMar 5, 2010
Saw this in Poland, Polanski's home country. The audience loved it and I did too. Cinematically I thought it was perfect, at times I felt it could have moved a little faster but the acting and cinematography was top notch. I think the Saw this in Poland, Polanski's home country. The audience loved it and I did too. Cinematically I thought it was perfect, at times I felt it could have moved a little faster but the acting and cinematography was top notch. I think the story was all a bit too familiar but the way it was transferred to the screen was superb. I thought the comment about writers not being kittens was hilarious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GilbertLApr 5, 2010
Nice thriller from Polanski. Loved the shout outs to his previous films: Chinatown: caught in web of deceit; Rosemary's Baby: increasing paranoia; The Tenant: forces compelling protagonist to assume role of predecessor. Also liked the Nice thriller from Polanski. Loved the shout outs to his previous films: Chinatown: caught in web of deceit; Rosemary's Baby: increasing paranoia; The Tenant: forces compelling protagonist to assume role of predecessor. Also liked the ghost conceit that hovers over the movie, besides that of the writer...brilliant! Using the weather to augment the movie's atmosphere was clever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiloszP.Feb 26, 2010
No one does it like Roman - that's exactly the way a thriller should look like. Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MatsCMar 12, 2010
The movie per se is really great, with great performances by the actors. Unfortunately though,one of the important and interesting features of the book is gone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeHMar 16, 2010
Only a true dullard would think that this movie is anything but exceptional, thoroughly engaging, suspenseful and masterfully crafted. One "User" complained that the the movie was "plot-driven"! What a laughable comment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ashogoMar 22, 2010
An extremely suspenseful thriller with a perfectly eerie atmosphere and a nice mix of dry humor here and there. It's very deliberately paced, and the clues unfold slowly at first, then gather speed until all crashing together in the An extremely suspenseful thriller with a perfectly eerie atmosphere and a nice mix of dry humor here and there. It's very deliberately paced, and the clues unfold slowly at first, then gather speed until all crashing together in the finale. Although I'm not a huge Polanski fan, I can say that he knows how to pull the right strings in an audience and that he is a great filmmaker. The ending seems to be love/hate with a lot of people, but I thought it was brilliant. If not for the ending itself, but the actual way it was shot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesH.Mar 22, 2010
I loved this film. Cleverly crafted and beautifully shot, with great performances all around. It reminded me of some of the good Hitchcock films. There were no boring moments and I couldn't wait to find out the outcome. Loved the ending I loved this film. Cleverly crafted and beautifully shot, with great performances all around. It reminded me of some of the good Hitchcock films. There were no boring moments and I couldn't wait to find out the outcome. Loved the ending as well, although I'm not sure why he "passed the note" at the end of the movie knowing how dangerous it would be. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobK.Mar 7, 2010
I found the movie engaging. Some aspects may be contrived, it is true, but this is also true for most films. The scary thing is that plots not far from this one might actually occur.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaneS.Apr 3, 2010
Wonderful smart movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KenGApr 3, 2010
Seldom has a movie that does such a nice job avoiding cliches along the way, end up feeling so much like a cliche itself. The film does a very nice job of building up intrigue and tension as it goes along, but it is something of a let down Seldom has a movie that does such a nice job avoiding cliches along the way, end up feeling so much like a cliche itself. The film does a very nice job of building up intrigue and tension as it goes along, but it is something of a let down when it is revealed what's really going on. Polanski does a very good job building up the story, but he never really figured out how to finish it off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatG.Feb 26, 2010
I enjoyed most of this movie. BUT--one big problem with credibility re the big revelation at the end. The mode of revealing the secret is very Victorian. Would a 21st-century person really choose such an obscure, gimmicky way of setting up I enjoyed most of this movie. BUT--one big problem with credibility re the big revelation at the end. The mode of revealing the secret is very Victorian. Would a 21st-century person really choose such an obscure, gimmicky way of setting up something that might never be noticed? Don't we have more effective modern ways of sharing secrets? Any comments on that? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LornaS.Mar 11, 2010
A political thriller which leaves you involved in the story,wondering what's next as the suspense builds.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveM.Mar 21, 2010
Excellent film. Keeps your attention all the way through, and well acted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EnriqueMar 22, 2010
A perfectly well crafted thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickAMar 30, 2010
Hitchcock is back!! This was a thriller; suspenseful with the best. We're going back to see it again, in the same week!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LindaMApr 3, 2010
There is plenty of suspense as there is eye candy of MacGregor and Brosnan. When all is revealed at the end, you realize the plot points along the way were not entirely plausible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeneApr 3, 2010
The difference between a master and a hack: in just the last scene, a lesser director would have shown the whole mess in gory, shuddering detail to pander shamelessly to the groundlings. Like the LeCarre films, the violence, what there is of The difference between a master and a hack: in just the last scene, a lesser director would have shown the whole mess in gory, shuddering detail to pander shamelessly to the groundlings. Like the LeCarre films, the violence, what there is of it, furthers the story, rather than becomes it. All-too-rare intelligence and wit in this genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DennisL.Feb 25, 2010
Though not action-packed, the sinister mood --including the windswept beaches, make this an absorbing movie. Almost all the characters have something mysterious about them. It's vintage Polanski, with that quiet sense of dread. He Though not action-packed, the sinister mood --including the windswept beaches, make this an absorbing movie. Almost all the characters have something mysterious about them. It's vintage Polanski, with that quiet sense of dread. He doesn't need too many camera theatrics--just a little off center is enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatB.Mar 11, 2010
Great Direction. Nobody does paranoia like Polanski. Good preformances. Really entertaining. Not for those with short attention spans. Polanski does a great job of making every passing car, open window, or unconfortable silence meaningful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FranceL.Mar 19, 2010
Exquisite entertainment from first to final scene, quality performances by fine actors given the gift of fine dialog, fast paced editing, a terrific setting that echoes the tone and tension and offers a visual treat. ..what more could a Exquisite entertainment from first to final scene, quality performances by fine actors given the gift of fine dialog, fast paced editing, a terrific setting that echoes the tone and tension and offers a visual treat. ..what more could a moviegoer want? My only criticism is with the closing scene which seemed a bit too predictable. But in all, this film offers a first class ride for the discriminating viewer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JadeD.Mar 21, 2010
Excellent, brooding film. I was drawn in immediately and loved the mood of this movie. The actors were excellent and I felt it was an excellent political thriller. It felt like Ewan McGregor's character entered a maze he could not get Excellent, brooding film. I was drawn in immediately and loved the mood of this movie. The actors were excellent and I felt it was an excellent political thriller. It felt like Ewan McGregor's character entered a maze he could not get out of. I felt it showed the intense narcissism of politics and the reckless and violent acts politicians will commit to keep their power personally and globally. I will definitely see it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DomoR.Mar 21, 2010
Olivia Williams gives one of the best performances I've seen for a long time. Wickedly sly, droll, brittle and bitchy as hell, she gives this film an unexpected depth and intrigue that I didn't see coming. It's a great film Olivia Williams gives one of the best performances I've seen for a long time. Wickedly sly, droll, brittle and bitchy as hell, she gives this film an unexpected depth and intrigue that I didn't see coming. It's a great film that had me smiling out of sheer satisfaction that I derived from not being talked down to or overwhelmed by mind numbing special effects. I wish more films were as good as this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradleyPMar 28, 2010
A witty, creeping, thriller filled with intelligent, cold, yet interesting characters. The starkness was beautiful, the ending somehow so bleakly personal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Lopez17Aug 11, 2010
In his day Roman Polanski was and still is one of cinema's top directors directing such revered classics such as "Nó w wodzie"( Knife in the Water) Polanski's directorial debut, "Repulsion"(1965), the noir classicIn his day Roman Polanski was and still is one of cinema's top directors directing such revered classics such as "Nó w wodzie"( Knife in the Water) Polanski's directorial debut, "Repulsion"(1965), the noir classic "Chinatown"(1974), "Tess"(1979), "Frantic"(1988)," Cul-De- Sac"(1966), "Le Locataire" (The Tenant), "The Pianist"(2002) and "Oliver Twist"(2005). Over the last forty-eight years, Polanski has established himself as one of cinema's greatest and most controversial directors he has left an impression on Hollywood that will live on long after he has died and some will stand up and cheer when that day happens I might be one of them. There is no denying that Roman Polanski is a director of monumental skill he puts a certain flare and style to sometimes overused plot devices and stories making them viable daring pieces of filmmaking that surprisingly surpass anything Hollywood could possibly throw out of their shops. With his latest effort, "The Ghost Writerâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DiezmartinezSep 16, 2010
El más reciente filme del veterano Polanski es una de sus cintas más accesibles al gran público que ha hecho en toda su carrera -siempre y y cuando ese gran público, aclaro, no padezca deEl más reciente filme del veterano Polanski es una de sus cintas más accesibles al gran público que ha hecho en toda su carrera -siempre y y cuando ese gran público, aclaro, no padezca de síndrome de atención y se empiece a quejar de que "todo va muy lento". La trama, sobre el bestseller homónimo de Robert Harris, es una pesimista extensión especular de la vida política del exPrimer Ministro británico Tony Blair aunque, para ser francos, las cuestiones políticas específicas es lo que menos le interesa a Polanski. Estamos ante un thriller profundamente desesperanzador con un memorable desenlace de guillotina y fuera de cuadro. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FUNTALKAug 28, 2010
A well script base on the novel that selled and a direction mastered. The Ghost Writer is a thriller that will remind the audiences Hitchcock's films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GracianneSep 2, 2010
You have to admire this movie for what it is - it's slick, well-acted and relevant. It is generally well-scripted, but I'm amazed that fewer people have commented on the bizarre, nonsensical ending. I won't go into details, but it's simplyYou have to admire this movie for what it is - it's slick, well-acted and relevant. It is generally well-scripted, but I'm amazed that fewer people have commented on the bizarre, nonsensical ending. I won't go into details, but it's simply implausible and the Ghost's actions aren't at all in keeping with his character. It was a frustrating way to end an otherwise gripping story. I do question the slightly glib and slanted politics, too, but to call it propaganda would be unfair, since it says more implicitly than explicitly about the modern world political climate. In terms of acting, Pierce is at his hilarious best as Adam Laing - his rant towards the end is near-perfect - while Ewan McGregor and Olivia Williams are perfectly competent. In short, very good but a big shame about the ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LonelyBoy1105Sep 9, 2010
Smartly written, very good soundtrack, spectacular performance by Olivia Williams, great twists and suspense. And great ending, but a bit predictable. Maybe not Polanski's best, but again one great thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
blondowlDec 20, 2011
I'm with Ebert on this one. A clever script with convincing acting on the whole, The Ghost Writer offers tension of the good and entertaining sort.

Its moody locations (much of it was shot on location in Germany) is accompanied by a
I'm with Ebert on this one. A clever script with convincing acting on the whole, The Ghost Writer offers tension of the good and entertaining sort.

Its moody locations (much of it was shot on location in Germany) is accompanied by a well-crafted soundtrack that befits the mystery encounters and places; this is one finely crafted suspense thriller with a surprise ending to boot.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TonyDec 26, 2010
A great political thriller that will pull the rug out from under you in its final scenes. It's also a return to form for Polanski, an extremely talented filmmaker, regardless of how you feel about his personal actions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IsraelhandsOct 17, 2010
Very entertaining - perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tentilsixNov 19, 2010
While certainly not a masterpiece , this movie was very enjoyable for me . I knew nothing about it ahead of time so I had few expectations . A little more editing to pick up the pace would have been helpful but the cinematographyWhile certainly not a masterpiece , this movie was very enjoyable for me . I knew nothing about it ahead of time so I had few expectations . A little more editing to pick up the pace would have been helpful but the cinematography was excellent . I quite enjoyed my afternoon with The Ghost Writer . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jessetaylor25Apr 9, 2011
Roman Polanski is one of the very best when it comes to directing a thriller. "The Ghost Writer" employs a simple yet wildly engaging plot that develops wonderfully around the main character. We see the ghost writer (McGregor) slowlyRoman Polanski is one of the very best when it comes to directing a thriller. "The Ghost Writer" employs a simple yet wildly engaging plot that develops wonderfully around the main character. We see the ghost writer (McGregor) slowly unraveling the mystery of the film which ultimately puts him into a sheer state of paranoia that builds quite impressively thanks to the seamless direction of Polanski. Political thrillers often fail to engage their audience, but this one was downright mesmerizing. Solid performances from McGregor and Brosnan, but the real standout is Olivia Williams. This film earned a lot of attention in early 2010, but it seems to have faded as of late. It's sad because films like this don't come along all that often. One of the best of 2010. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RocketcrossingMay 10, 2011
Roman Polanski has proven time and time again that he's one of the world's finest directors. With film-greats such as Chinatown, Rosemary's Baby, and the Pianist under his belt, how could anyone expect him - at the age of 78 - to crank out aRoman Polanski has proven time and time again that he's one of the world's finest directors. With film-greats such as Chinatown, Rosemary's Baby, and the Pianist under his belt, how could anyone expect him - at the age of 78 - to crank out a movie that can stand up to many of the others in his filmography? That being said, The Ghost Writer really came out of left field; I hadn't even heard of it until it came and left theaters. All I knew was that it was a thriller directed and co-written by Roman Polanski, starred Ewan McGregor and Pierce Brosnan, and it had something to do with a political mystery. Ok, I was in. There are some really outstanding performances in this film, and that's extremely important in a movie like this: McGregor and Williams both do a terrific job, but it's Brosnan's performance that really stands out in this one. I'd have to say it's his best role yet. The writing is also very good, based on the "The Ghost" written by Robert Harris, you really feel like you're trying to uncover this mystery right along side The Ghost throughout the duration of this picture. But my favorite element in this movie has got to be the sets, which are often overlooked. The sets in this movie are simply incredible and they even become characters in their own right, most notably the film's primary location - Brosnan's rented beach house. When we first approach the house it looks like a fortress - guards pacing the building from the outside, grey concrete walls, secluded in the middle of nowhere. But once we see the inside it becomes a whole different thing; it's almost like a labyrinth bathed in a cold grey light from the outside where the weather is constantly either raining or on the verge of rain. These sets are subtle meaning and really help drive the points of this film home. I'm not saying that The Ghost Writer isn't without its flaws. The story does drag on a bit right around the middle of the second act, and it does leave you wishing there were a few more meaningful interactions between Brosnan and McGregor but all -in-all it's a pretty bullet-proof movie for those who can stomach a dialogue driven film with little to no action. Read the rest of the review on my film review site, rocketcrossing.com, and check out our facebook page at facebook.com/rocketcrossing Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlexSJun 27, 2011
The script is smart and suspenseful and the story is well developed.It's certainly not Polanski's best film but it still proves that he's a great director.The movie remains tense throughout and McGreggor's performance is very strong.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Spielberg00Jun 7, 2012
Let me start off by stating simply that I cannot compare THE GHOST WRITER to any of Roman Polanskiâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HardCopy_iMDbAug 7, 2011
You can't help but feel that Polanski is getting a raw deal here because of the past. Anyway, this was a decent thriller, but not the best, so ....7
Also, gratuitous sex??? Go play with your dolly elsewhere. Leave the grownups be. American
You can't help but feel that Polanski is getting a raw deal here because of the past. Anyway, this was a decent thriller, but not the best, so ....7
Also, gratuitous sex??? Go play with your dolly elsewhere. Leave the grownups be. American Pie, now THAT's gratuitous sex. Please take your sexual repression and your puritanical views somewhere else.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFFeb 20, 2013
Roman Polanski delivers a film that creates a thrilling story arc, one which we are not quite sure who to believe or who to trust, hence the reason that the suspense is built to perfection in this book adaption of 'The Ghost" (which the filmRoman Polanski delivers a film that creates a thrilling story arc, one which we are not quite sure who to believe or who to trust, hence the reason that the suspense is built to perfection in this book adaption of 'The Ghost" (which the film was titled in the UK).
Ewan McGregor plays the unnamed ghost writer in the film, the fact he is unnamed only came to my attention after a second viewing, and this was a clever technique indeed, simply because it never crossed my mind, and there is so much going on that it wasn't even mind-crossing. He has been asked to ghost write the memoirs of former British Prime Minister Adam Lang (Pierce Brosnan), after his previous writer was found dead of apparent suicide.
As the new ghost land in the secluded island that Lang and his personnel are staying on, his hesitance to take on the job are apparent, as Lang and his unfinished memoirs are in lockdown, due to a 'threat of national security'. The ghost soon delves deeper as to what might be the cause of such security, but is under intense pressure as Lang is being accused of severe war crimes and must go for questioning. The characters created here are full of mystery and suspense, we are never quite sure of their motives and we are never quite sure who is in the wrong, the secluded setting perfectly captures the grim and deadly secrets that these people hold, only adding to the tension.
Lang is a daring replica of former PM Tony Blair, and his air of smiles and "man" when he is around the ghost raises questions of is political prowess, which is later dug deeper.
McGregor does an excellent job of portraying the sophisticated yet possibly cowardly ghost, I often asked myself throughout the film what exactly his character would do if he found anything incriminating. But his intelligence shines through as his dialogue is snappy and often sarcastic.
Olivia Williams portrays Lang's wife Ruth, who he seemingly turns to in most of political endeavours for advice, she is a mixed bag of emotion, she's confrontational, bitter, but seems the upmost of loyal to her husband.
Kim Cattrall also makes an appearance as Lang's personal assistant, but also her mistress by night, I'm not sure if she was trying a British accent in the film or a civilised American one, either way she played her part well.
The Ghost Writer has all the makings of a classic thriller, especially with Polanski at the helm, it creates the perfect picture of thrill and suspense without relying on action and cheap tricks, which overall created a very pulsating, unforgettable, well acted and well written film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
spadenxJan 18, 2012
It wasnt that bad of a film. Plot is decent enough to keep you interested but it never really gets to that next level of great suspensful movies. The acting is good. Its worth the watch imo but I am sure a few people may get bored with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobSep 30, 2012
A little slow paced at times but other then that it was a rather good film. Well acted, Suspensful, and definently worth watching imo. I liked it and would recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Iwf67Mar 10, 2012
Sorry I'm late but I've just watched this on DVD. My wife read the book and said it was excellent, we're also fans of some of Ewan's work. BUT, an interesting story was massacred by poor production.

Did anybody else notice the appallingly
Sorry I'm late but I've just watched this on DVD. My wife read the book and said it was excellent, we're also fans of some of Ewan's work. BUT, an interesting story was massacred by poor production.

Did anybody else notice the appallingly photoshopped pictures from the 70s?

Then there was the accents!

I could go on. Lovely house though.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MarkAngelMar 11, 2013
Incredibly fine movie made by one of the few remaining Gods of contemporary film making. The Ghost Writer is a triumph of atmosphere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Oct 16, 2014
Whether or not you may enjoy the film's ending, there's no denying that "The Ghost Writer" is still a tense, unpredictable thriller that acts as a testament to Roman Polanski's enduring ability to craft a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
worleyjamersDec 8, 2012
The Ghost Writer is one of those films that when I saw it, I simply felt it was good. I saw it in early March, and as more great films have been released, this film has always remained in my mind. I think it's very good as opposed to justThe Ghost Writer is one of those films that when I saw it, I simply felt it was good. I saw it in early March, and as more great films have been released, this film has always remained in my mind. I think it's very good as opposed to just okay. It's not brilliant, but it's still is a strong film and one of the better movies of the year. Very intense and it had some good performances. The ending really was a shocker to me....check this film out! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 31, 2013
One of the best political thrillers ever made. I really enjoyed it and I want to watch it again. Brilliant!!! Excellent!!! Perfection!!! Do not miss it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
manofthemoonApr 1, 2014
Criminally ignored on its release, this is Polanski's best film since The Ninth Gate. Brosnan is pitch perfect as the Blairesque character and McGregor puts in one of his better efforts as the Ghost Writer of the title, but it is OliviaCriminally ignored on its release, this is Polanski's best film since The Ninth Gate. Brosnan is pitch perfect as the Blairesque character and McGregor puts in one of his better efforts as the Ghost Writer of the title, but it is Olivia Williams that steals the show as the cold and manipulative wife to the fallen Prime Minister. Directed with clinical style by Polanski, this is a well thought out thriller and deserving of reappraisal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysJun 18, 2014
The Ghost Writer is a Polanski film, so i immediately knew it would be good. I also immediately knew that none of the scenes would be in the U.S. So, the only part of the movie i didn't care for was the unconvincing British island thatThe Ghost Writer is a Polanski film, so i immediately knew it would be good. I also immediately knew that none of the scenes would be in the U.S. So, the only part of the movie i didn't care for was the unconvincing British island that doubled for Long Island. However, the acting is brilliant, the screenplay amazing, and the atmosphere very tense. The movie reveals one piece at a time until the climatic ending, and then a shocking twist that will stun you. See this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AwsafNov 29, 2013
this movie makes a moment mysterious and thrilling.So,after the movie ends it gives a great thought.In my way it"s a very exited movie and curious-tic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
adamjonesJul 28, 2014
Consistently heard negative reviews of this one, but was pleasantly surprised when I finally gave it a chance. THE GHOST WRITER had me guessing the entire way through and was an exciting ride. Admittedly, the style of the film is at timesConsistently heard negative reviews of this one, but was pleasantly surprised when I finally gave it a chance. THE GHOST WRITER had me guessing the entire way through and was an exciting ride. Admittedly, the style of the film is at times inconsistent - specifically I am thinking of the ending - this was my one criticism. The Northeastern backdrops and stylish hotel interiors helped to create a sophisticated, and, well, damn cool mood throughout. The production designer on this film deserved double whatever he was making. McGregor and Williams are especially great.

Overall, Polanski's suspenseful THE GHOST WRITER is a solid 8/10.
-a
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Armin_AbbasiFeb 27, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Roman Polanski’s political thriller drama is fully loyal to its dramatic elements. It narrates a lifelike story well with subtle strings of thrill revealing a political scandal, as mentioned in the beginning of the movie by Ruth.

It is a proper movie for adults. It will please them since there are many tricky subtle strings of thrill in the movie which youngsters may just ignore.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews