Summit Distribution | Release Date: February 19, 2010
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 220 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
173
Mixed:
23
Negative:
24
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JasonBMar 5, 2010
Saw this in Poland, Polanski's home country. The audience loved it and I did too. Cinematically I thought it was perfect, at times I felt it could have moved a little faster but the acting and cinematography was top notch. I think the Saw this in Poland, Polanski's home country. The audience loved it and I did too. Cinematically I thought it was perfect, at times I felt it could have moved a little faster but the acting and cinematography was top notch. I think the story was all a bit too familiar but the way it was transferred to the screen was superb. I thought the comment about writers not being kittens was hilarious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GilbertLApr 5, 2010
Nice thriller from Polanski. Loved the shout outs to his previous films: Chinatown: caught in web of deceit; Rosemary's Baby: increasing paranoia; The Tenant: forces compelling protagonist to assume role of predecessor. Also liked the Nice thriller from Polanski. Loved the shout outs to his previous films: Chinatown: caught in web of deceit; Rosemary's Baby: increasing paranoia; The Tenant: forces compelling protagonist to assume role of predecessor. Also liked the ghost conceit that hovers over the movie, besides that of the writer...brilliant! Using the weather to augment the movie's atmosphere was clever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiloszP.Feb 26, 2010
No one does it like Roman - that's exactly the way a thriller should look like. Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MatsCMar 12, 2010
The movie per se is really great, with great performances by the actors. Unfortunately though,one of the important and interesting features of the book is gone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeHMar 16, 2010
Only a true dullard would think that this movie is anything but exceptional, thoroughly engaging, suspenseful and masterfully crafted. One "User" complained that the the movie was "plot-driven"! What a laughable comment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ashogoMar 22, 2010
An extremely suspenseful thriller with a perfectly eerie atmosphere and a nice mix of dry humor here and there. It's very deliberately paced, and the clues unfold slowly at first, then gather speed until all crashing together in the An extremely suspenseful thriller with a perfectly eerie atmosphere and a nice mix of dry humor here and there. It's very deliberately paced, and the clues unfold slowly at first, then gather speed until all crashing together in the finale. Although I'm not a huge Polanski fan, I can say that he knows how to pull the right strings in an audience and that he is a great filmmaker. The ending seems to be love/hate with a lot of people, but I thought it was brilliant. If not for the ending itself, but the actual way it was shot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesH.Mar 22, 2010
I loved this film. Cleverly crafted and beautifully shot, with great performances all around. It reminded me of some of the good Hitchcock films. There were no boring moments and I couldn't wait to find out the outcome. Loved the ending I loved this film. Cleverly crafted and beautifully shot, with great performances all around. It reminded me of some of the good Hitchcock films. There were no boring moments and I couldn't wait to find out the outcome. Loved the ending as well, although I'm not sure why he "passed the note" at the end of the movie knowing how dangerous it would be. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobK.Mar 7, 2010
I found the movie engaging. Some aspects may be contrived, it is true, but this is also true for most films. The scary thing is that plots not far from this one might actually occur.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaneS.Apr 3, 2010
Wonderful smart movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KenGApr 3, 2010
Seldom has a movie that does such a nice job avoiding cliches along the way, end up feeling so much like a cliche itself. The film does a very nice job of building up intrigue and tension as it goes along, but it is something of a let down Seldom has a movie that does such a nice job avoiding cliches along the way, end up feeling so much like a cliche itself. The film does a very nice job of building up intrigue and tension as it goes along, but it is something of a let down when it is revealed what's really going on. Polanski does a very good job building up the story, but he never really figured out how to finish it off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatG.Feb 26, 2010
I enjoyed most of this movie. BUT--one big problem with credibility re the big revelation at the end. The mode of revealing the secret is very Victorian. Would a 21st-century person really choose such an obscure, gimmicky way of setting up I enjoyed most of this movie. BUT--one big problem with credibility re the big revelation at the end. The mode of revealing the secret is very Victorian. Would a 21st-century person really choose such an obscure, gimmicky way of setting up something that might never be noticed? Don't we have more effective modern ways of sharing secrets? Any comments on that? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LornaS.Mar 11, 2010
A political thriller which leaves you involved in the story,wondering what's next as the suspense builds.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveM.Mar 21, 2010
Excellent film. Keeps your attention all the way through, and well acted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EnriqueMar 22, 2010
A perfectly well crafted thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickAMar 30, 2010
Hitchcock is back!! This was a thriller; suspenseful with the best. We're going back to see it again, in the same week!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LindaMApr 3, 2010
There is plenty of suspense as there is eye candy of MacGregor and Brosnan. When all is revealed at the end, you realize the plot points along the way were not entirely plausible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeneApr 3, 2010
The difference between a master and a hack: in just the last scene, a lesser director would have shown the whole mess in gory, shuddering detail to pander shamelessly to the groundlings. Like the LeCarre films, the violence, what there is of The difference between a master and a hack: in just the last scene, a lesser director would have shown the whole mess in gory, shuddering detail to pander shamelessly to the groundlings. Like the LeCarre films, the violence, what there is of it, furthers the story, rather than becomes it. All-too-rare intelligence and wit in this genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DennisL.Feb 25, 2010
Though not action-packed, the sinister mood --including the windswept beaches, make this an absorbing movie. Almost all the characters have something mysterious about them. It's vintage Polanski, with that quiet sense of dread. He Though not action-packed, the sinister mood --including the windswept beaches, make this an absorbing movie. Almost all the characters have something mysterious about them. It's vintage Polanski, with that quiet sense of dread. He doesn't need too many camera theatrics--just a little off center is enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatB.Mar 11, 2010
Great Direction. Nobody does paranoia like Polanski. Good preformances. Really entertaining. Not for those with short attention spans. Polanski does a great job of making every passing car, open window, or unconfortable silence meaningful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FranceL.Mar 19, 2010
Exquisite entertainment from first to final scene, quality performances by fine actors given the gift of fine dialog, fast paced editing, a terrific setting that echoes the tone and tension and offers a visual treat. ..what more could a Exquisite entertainment from first to final scene, quality performances by fine actors given the gift of fine dialog, fast paced editing, a terrific setting that echoes the tone and tension and offers a visual treat. ..what more could a moviegoer want? My only criticism is with the closing scene which seemed a bit too predictable. But in all, this film offers a first class ride for the discriminating viewer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JadeD.Mar 21, 2010
Excellent, brooding film. I was drawn in immediately and loved the mood of this movie. The actors were excellent and I felt it was an excellent political thriller. It felt like Ewan McGregor's character entered a maze he could not get Excellent, brooding film. I was drawn in immediately and loved the mood of this movie. The actors were excellent and I felt it was an excellent political thriller. It felt like Ewan McGregor's character entered a maze he could not get out of. I felt it showed the intense narcissism of politics and the reckless and violent acts politicians will commit to keep their power personally and globally. I will definitely see it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DomoR.Mar 21, 2010
Olivia Williams gives one of the best performances I've seen for a long time. Wickedly sly, droll, brittle and bitchy as hell, she gives this film an unexpected depth and intrigue that I didn't see coming. It's a great film Olivia Williams gives one of the best performances I've seen for a long time. Wickedly sly, droll, brittle and bitchy as hell, she gives this film an unexpected depth and intrigue that I didn't see coming. It's a great film that had me smiling out of sheer satisfaction that I derived from not being talked down to or overwhelmed by mind numbing special effects. I wish more films were as good as this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradleyPMar 28, 2010
A witty, creeping, thriller filled with intelligent, cold, yet interesting characters. The starkness was beautiful, the ending somehow so bleakly personal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Lopez17Aug 11, 2010
In his day Roman Polanski was and still is one of cinema's top directors directing such revered classics such as "Nó w wodzie"( Knife in the Water) Polanski's directorial debut, "Repulsion"(1965), the noir classicIn his day Roman Polanski was and still is one of cinema's top directors directing such revered classics such as "Nó w wodzie"( Knife in the Water) Polanski's directorial debut, "Repulsion"(1965), the noir classic "Chinatown"(1974), "Tess"(1979), "Frantic"(1988)," Cul-De- Sac"(1966), "Le Locataire" (The Tenant), "The Pianist"(2002) and "Oliver Twist"(2005). Over the last forty-eight years, Polanski has established himself as one of cinema's greatest and most controversial directors he has left an impression on Hollywood that will live on long after he has died and some will stand up and cheer when that day happens I might be one of them. There is no denying that Roman Polanski is a director of monumental skill he puts a certain flare and style to sometimes overused plot devices and stories making them viable daring pieces of filmmaking that surprisingly surpass anything Hollywood could possibly throw out of their shops. With his latest effort, "The Ghost Writerâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DiezmartinezSep 16, 2010
El más reciente filme del veterano Polanski es una de sus cintas más accesibles al gran público que ha hecho en toda su carrera -siempre y y cuando ese gran público, aclaro, no padezca deEl más reciente filme del veterano Polanski es una de sus cintas más accesibles al gran público que ha hecho en toda su carrera -siempre y y cuando ese gran público, aclaro, no padezca de síndrome de atención y se empiece a quejar de que "todo va muy lento". La trama, sobre el bestseller homónimo de Robert Harris, es una pesimista extensión especular de la vida política del exPrimer Ministro británico Tony Blair aunque, para ser francos, las cuestiones políticas específicas es lo que menos le interesa a Polanski. Estamos ante un thriller profundamente desesperanzador con un memorable desenlace de guillotina y fuera de cuadro. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CoDFatherSep 11, 2010
Roman Palanski, being himself, after his years of not being seen for what shall not be named, I think this is one of his very successful movies that, even with the ending, was a four- star winner and exciting within every minute of the wholeRoman Palanski, being himself, after his years of not being seen for what shall not be named, I think this is one of his very successful movies that, even with the ending, was a four- star winner and exciting within every minute of the whole movie. The perfect combination of excitement, frightement, and cliff- hangers, even with the ending. Endings like that have been dissappointing me for years, but that movie is for sure, no doubt, positively, in my top 20 favorite movies of all time. If you haven't seen this movei, I reccomend it to all those people who love long movies, and can pay attention, but if you can't last longer than Zombieland- length, don't bother. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
FUNTALKAug 28, 2010
A well script base on the novel that selled and a direction mastered. The Ghost Writer is a thriller that will remind the audiences Hitchcock's films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GracianneSep 2, 2010
You have to admire this movie for what it is - it's slick, well-acted and relevant. It is generally well-scripted, but I'm amazed that fewer people have commented on the bizarre, nonsensical ending. I won't go into details, but it's simplyYou have to admire this movie for what it is - it's slick, well-acted and relevant. It is generally well-scripted, but I'm amazed that fewer people have commented on the bizarre, nonsensical ending. I won't go into details, but it's simply implausible and the Ghost's actions aren't at all in keeping with his character. It was a frustrating way to end an otherwise gripping story. I do question the slightly glib and slanted politics, too, but to call it propaganda would be unfair, since it says more implicitly than explicitly about the modern world political climate. In terms of acting, Pierce is at his hilarious best as Adam Laing - his rant towards the end is near-perfect - while Ewan McGregor and Olivia Williams are perfectly competent. In short, very good but a big shame about the ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LonelyBoy1105Sep 9, 2010
Smartly written, very good soundtrack, spectacular performance by Olivia Williams, great twists and suspense. And great ending, but a bit predictable. Maybe not Polanski's best, but again one great thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
blondowlDec 20, 2011
I'm with Ebert on this one. A clever script with convincing acting on the whole, The Ghost Writer offers tension of the good and entertaining sort.

Its moody locations (much of it was shot on location in Germany) is accompanied by a
I'm with Ebert on this one. A clever script with convincing acting on the whole, The Ghost Writer offers tension of the good and entertaining sort.

Its moody locations (much of it was shot on location in Germany) is accompanied by a well-crafted soundtrack that befits the mystery encounters and places; this is one finely crafted suspense thriller with a surprise ending to boot.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews