Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 31
  2. Negative: 10 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 27, 2013
    38
    Everything in G.I. Joe: Retaliation is perfunctory - technically proficient but soulless. It's not exciting. It's boring.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Mar 28, 2013
    30
    I won't pretend that I had a great time watching G.I. Joe: Retaliation.
  3. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 28, 2013
    38
    Feels like a five-year-old with a megaphone, excitedly yelling about his latest bulldozer-soldier-dinosaur smash-kill-squash-everything game.
  4. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 3, 2013
    25
    This movie never realizes how ridiculous anything it does truly is, right up to the last-second promise of another sequel.
  5. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 28, 2013
    30
    The film’s director, Jon M. Chu, executes a pretty good high-altitude fight scene. Still, there should be a “Fans Only” sign at the door of every theater.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Mar 28, 2013
    25
    What's the difference between an action figure and an action star? Very little in G.I. Joe: Retaliation, which features no performances of note, even from such combat-tested thespians as Bruce Willis, Jonathan Pryce and Dwayne Johnson.
  7. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 27, 2013
    38
    The dialogue and exposition scenes in G.I. Joe are like something out of a Saturday morning cartoon from the 1980s, but the PG-13 violence is a little intense for the 7-year-old boys (and girls) who might love this stuff.
  8. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Mar 28, 2013
    38
    How funny that Pryce, a tweedy Brit playing a bad guy, should be the one person doing anything remotely heroic for this dud.
  9. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    Apr 3, 2013
    30
    There actually is some clever dialogue in the film, especially early on between Roadblock and Duke (Tatum). But this fades over the course of the film, and too much of what the characters say sounds as though it’s been lifted verbatim from 1930s and 1940s serials.
  10. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Mar 28, 2013
    37
    Although “G.I. Joe” is merely a movie based on Hasbro toys, the action -- the real point of all this -- feels just as lifeless.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 240 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 71
  2. Negative: 16 out of 71
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    2
    I'll begin by stating that I am not familiar with the G.I. Joe franchise. However, it doesn't take a G.I. Joe fan to recognize that pretty special effects can't save a film oozing with stale characters and a pathetic script. Full Review »
  2. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    A solid movie all around with fantastic action sequences, strong acting performances, and pacing that isn't too fast. The story/setup was a little unbelievable but I guess you gotta expect that with this kind of film (come on... those girls wouldn't be in the military). The ending was also very predictable, as expected. Regardless I was fully engaged the entire time and really enjoyed it. Definitely go and see it. Full Review »
  3. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    A very off line Gi Joe movie, I was very excited for this one and it was good. First of all, there is this guy who is not Duke and is not Channing Tatum and he's still in the movie I mean is there some connection Mr. Chu? But, don't listen to me, this is a great oddball creation and is the best action movie so far in 2013 rather than Dead Man Down, and Retaliation has a boost up upgrade to actors, direction, story and screenplay. Rise Of The Cobra was a little disappointing and this sequel has everything- guns, chicks, and- hey! Dwayne Johnson! The film had good pace and timing, it keeps you hooked up till the end. Now, Bruce Willis is in the movie but is he cool in this movie? Duh, he's Bruce Willis and this Muscular Baldie is epic awesome is this movie. So, for the bad critics out there who think that this movie is bad- Watch It Again. I mean, it's a GOOD movie, its what Gi Joe fans want! It just like the cartoons and it has Cobra Menace! Full Review »