User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 240 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 240

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    2
    I'll begin by stating that I am not familiar with the G.I. Joe franchise. However, it doesn't take a G.I. Joe fan to recognize that pretty special effects can't save a film oozing with stale characters and a pathetic script.
  2. Mar 29, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't like this version. The actor not good. I don' t know what happens with Duke. The first version was very very very better that this version... Expand
  3. Apr 8, 2013
    2
    wasn't sure if it was possible for them to make a worse sequel that the 1st movie where they blow the ice caps and they sink....but turns out i was wrong, pure garbage movie, the action was awful, the acting was awful, they was nothing worth while in this movie.
  4. Mar 31, 2013
    3
    Having enjoyed the first movie, I expected to like this one as well, but I overlooked the fact that the director and the writers changed. This movie is a bunch of bloody ridiculous (they're too absurd, even by action movie standards) scenes with very little connection between them and with a load of new characters which aren't properly introduced. The plot, again, is total crap, both heroes and villains are damn clowns and action scenes are mostly dull with lots of shaky-cam awkwardness. I wish I didn't spend money on this circus, and I definitely can't recommend anyone to watch this piece of nonsense. (metacritic edited out 10 or so curse words in my review, that's a shame) Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So, I went and saw G.I. Joe Retaliation last night. The cinema should've handed out free gravy, to go with this turkey. Don't get me wrong. I expected precious little from this movie, & was really in the mood for some brain softening violence, & pointless explosions. On that level, it delivered, but much like the first movie, it could've been so much better. Mentioning the preposterous nature of just about everything in the film is kind of a moot point, considering the fanciful nature of the cartoon it was inspired by. So, let's just break this thing down to its bones.

    1. Intent. This film serves but one function: Selling a ton of toys for a zillion dollars. We can all thank Hasbro for that, & I don't fault them for it one bit. It's a very honest approach, but it tends to make this movie feel a bit soulless.

    2. Channing Tatum. I never thought I'd say it, but the filmmakers killed off his character way too soon. There are reasons for this, but none of them are very good. He was the main character, & although they tried to give him a hero's death, & pass the torch to The Rock, his death creates a huge vacuum in the movie, since his is the most developed character in the whole picture.

    3. The Rock. He actually did a decent job, considering what he was working with. Oddly enough, the scenes where he is not acting like a roided out WWE meets USMC hybrid reveal that he is capable of much more depth than this script allows.

    4. Cobra Commander. Although no one seemed to have the budget for Joseph Gordon Levitt this time, aesthetic changes were made to his look. This was a positive change. He still sounds wrong. Part of what made Cobra Commander such an endearing character, on the cartoon, was not his seriousness. He was supervillain evil, but also petty, arrogant, whiny, spoiled, and blaming when the situation would eventually go sideways. In this movie, he leaves Destro IN THE FREEZER! Huh? What? You remember Destro? He's the guy supplying all the weapons to COBRA. wtf?

    5. The ninjas. Retaliation seems like a patchwork of market research results from Comicon. You know...press the buzzer when you see something you like. Any woman made to watch this film was probably pressing the crud out of that button while Channing Tatum was still alive, while every male was pressing it during ninja fight scenes. Psst...we're also fond of bacon. It's so hot right now. So, absolutely no effort, at all, was put in to sharing with us how Stormshadow survived being ginsu'd up and tossed in to a fusion reactor. He was just back like nothing ever happened. Now, don't get it twisted. I like Byung-hun Le, and he looks really cool doing all this dope ninja stuff. Unfortunately, the writers of this thing really messed up the whole Stormshadow backstory, to the point that we're supposed to believe that Zartan duped him, and RZA's whole ninja order, into a life of evil. You can't even make up incoherent tripe like this.

    6. Bruce Willis. I love him, but he really needs to choose better projects, or just call it a day. He comes off as broken in Retaliation, either by age induced apathy or the harsh toll of his Demi Moore court battles. He just seemed like he was there for a paycheck, which is truly a waste of his talents.

    7. The female leads, while incredibly easy on the eyes, were totally forgettable. I'm not blaming the actresses for this one at all. Their performances strike at the very heart of an empty script. The only memorable thing about Jinx was her inability to remember if she was faking an Asian, Mexican, or English accent.

    8. Jonathan Pryce. I will never understand how a quality actor, like Jon, got mixed up in this grab-bag. He's fantastic, & while this film is certainly nowhere near the quality of 'Brazil' or 'Tomorrow Never Dies', he still manages to squeeze some fun out of this schlock.

    9. The plot. Now, I've already mentioned that picking apart a franchise like G.I. Joe for outlandish plots is a fool's errand, but this film had some plot holes so huge, Dora couldn't explore them. The G.I. Joe team used to consist of more than 5 people, even if you account for the troops slaughtered in the beginning. What happened to that big base, staffed with hundreds, in the Sahara? Dennis Quaid? Marlon Wayans? Baroness? wtf? After Cobra Commander leaves Destro on ice, he just waltzes in and assumes control of his whole company, & everyone is fine with it. Huh? Cobra can just launch 7 SDI satellites undetected without anyone noticing? Does anyone believe that a sword through the chest would do anything to a human infested with nanotech, other than cause some brief discomfort? How did the rec center computer screens change from some beat up CRTs to state of the art hacker powerhouse CPUs with flatscreens? Does anybody care that London was just obliterated? These are the sorts of novice problems that serve only to distract the audience, and foment massive amounts of confusion.

    Please don't make a third.
    Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2013
    4
    While I understand why they postponed release of this film for a year, they clearly needed more time. How can you have that much money to make a film and have that bad of a script and that dialogue that is so embarrassing one cannot stop laughing at it. Amazing special effects and tech stuff, really great. Stupid insipid story. Well photographed action and corny and uncomfortable non action. The action is good enough to make it interesting, but just barely. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    4
    Normally, I'd start with a plot summary, but this thing was confusing. I had no idea who the bad guys were, except for the president's doppelganger with his plan to rule the world. It doesn't matter anyway because a flick like this is strictly for the action and gadgets (some of which were neat). There's lots of fighting, but most of it is lazy: blurry camera, jerky editing and pumped noise. You can't really tell who's hitting what. There is one cool sequence on a mountainside, but the rest is just a jumbled, unexciting mess. Expand
  8. Aug 3, 2013
    3
    I would give this movie a solid "meh" review. I pretty much completely forgot it after I watched it. The biggest problem with this one was little tie in with the first movie, as well as only have a few actual focused GI Joe characters and pretty much a bunch of expendibles. The movie seemed to rush the plot, and was just rife with inaccuracies. I wouldn't even rate it eye candy, it was meh.
  9. Apr 26, 2013
    4
    A sequel to Steven Sommers GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra is not going to be the best film of 2013 but its gotta be better that the original right? Right, but not by much. Following the events of the first film, Zartan, a master of disguise has taken the place of the president. With this power he attempts to wipe out the Joe's including Duke (Channing Tatum), Roadblock (Dwayne Johnson), Lady Jaye (Adrianne Palicki), Snake Eyes (Ray Park) and Flint (DJ Cotrona). Right off the bat GI Joe Retaliation is a vast improvement over the previous entry if only because the action looks good and isn't shrouded in darkness, the action is clear and easy to watch and at times visually stunning (you'll know the moment) and inventive. The new Joe team is a much more relate able bunch making for a much more interesting film. The reduced numbers of heroes and villains helps simplify matters making for a rather simple film, at least in terms of story. Dwayne Johnson's addition seems to be the 'franchise Viagra' empire magazine states he is as he adds a sense of character to a franchise seemingly devoid of any. He is a charming lead and the role of Roadblock suits him. All this being said the film gets tiresome towards the end and becomes quite dull which is never a good thing for an action film in particular. The action is over the tip but not in a bad way, its the story and characters that become ridiculous with the finale being a monument to over the top nature of the original series. Johnathon Pryce seems to be enjoying himself as the villainous Zartan but his performance is about as camp as it can be. The film tries to inject some comedy into the proceedings to lighten the franchise, especially considering the dark nature of the first film but most of it fails to land which is unfortunate because it ruins the buddy movie feel. Overall the film is a mindless action film that embraces the bizarre nature of its source material that doesn't quite achieve what its going for despite the improvements it has made on Rise of Cobra Expand
  10. Apr 17, 2013
    4
    Mixing together wuxia levitation and marine bravado, G.I. Joe: Retaliation is incessantly loud, gleefully ridiculous and completely deprived of focus in its story. It has action sequences peppered in rapid shady construct to instill tension, but ultimately falls short to save the big picture. The impact of any carnage supposedly to enthrall audience is lost merely minutes after it happened, as if the movie just wants to push the next big action scene in which there are abundance of mandatory loud explosions, bullet showers and plus a legitimate reason for blade battles.

    Story is muddled past the half hour mark, it tries to show different plots of many characters almost at the same time. This could've been good, but the result is a heavy-handed storytelling as many scenes are excessively hurried to catch up with the others. Not to mention, a few instances where convenient plot devices are stringed together in hope to accomplish some sort of consistency. Approaching the end, it flutters into noisy, once again, multiple complicated brazen action scenes with many loose ends simply swept under the rug. Audience would probably not care much for characters aside from their slow-mo cinematic walk.

    Many stars grace the movie, although majority of the burden falls on Dwayne Johnson. He's quite the marine type and frankly has star quality, which sadly undermined by the hammy script or forced scenes. His bits in WWE is much more compelling and interesting that his theatrical role here. Channing Tatum and Bruce Willis make appearances, although not that much or fascinating in that matter. A couple of eye candies and Asian swordsmen give more eclectic vibe, though sometimes they do feel unnaturally thrown together only for that very purpose.

    Fortunately, the action itself is enjoyable enough. Fights are splendidly done, they are overblown but melee has controlled pace, if not too much slow-mo boom. I personally like the addition of parkour to shooting, which makes it more fluid and relies less on random barrage. Plenty of carnage in scenery as well, even if there's little to none time to dwell on the impact, similar to the level of catastrophic movie. Its choreograph might not be the best, but it could certainly delight action film fans.

    There's little substance to plot, never expected it anyway. It ambitiously gives audience too many plots it could convey. Action is arguably very video game inspired, and while it's not without merit, it does not save the movie entirely. G.I. Joe: Retaliation is a very crass, clamorous and too comical for its own good.
    Expand
  11. Jul 11, 2013
    4
    Smarter than the first film sure but Retaliation is full of cheesy, cliche', predictable sequences with over-the-top corny characters and a plot that becomes more convoluted the deeper you go. What makes it worse is that instead of knowing that its all of these things and not taking itself too seriously, it does the opposite it tries to be a highly serious action flick with comedic moments filled with supposedly what it thinks are brilliant action sequences but ultimately becomes a choppy, dull film with overused action sequences reminiscent (but not as well choreographed) as mediocre films such as the Transformers saga or Battleship. Its high point? The girls in the this movie: absolutely smoking hot. There some cool action scenes but overall, the movie itself suffers from so many elements that just basically destroys itself like a black hole. G.I. Retaliation is an example of what could've been a decent action flick let down by a horrible director (this is a guy with a lacking filmography with his last film being the Justin Bieber movie. Yes, I am totally serious), overuse of mediocre CG action sequences, some of the worst A grade movie action sequences Ive seen in a long time and shallow/2-dimensional cheesy characters. I feel like retaliation myself against this movie for taking away 2 hours of my life. Expand
  12. May 3, 2013
    4
    G.I. Joe: Retaliation is a no-brainer of a movie. If a supernatural force beyond understanding urged you to like "The Rise of Cobra", then it is likely that you will enjoy the sequel just as much. Bless you. However, if you hated the 2009 film at least half as much as I did, then you should be smart enough to avoid its 2013 follow-up. Besides, I'm pretty sure that you've long decided on whether you'll see this or not since it's already been out for almost three weeks.

    Sigh. I shouldn't be writing this review. It's almost 1 in the morning and I have to be at work in a few hours. (Damn it! I have to be at work in a few hours!) So what gives? You see, movies that are as preposterous as "G.I. Joe: Retaliation" are the most fun to review. And, dear reader, when a movie like this is released, I cannot resist. Roger Ebert specialized in reviewing movies that are dumb beyond belief. I write this in further dedication to his spectacular life.

    For the 15th time, Channing Tatum reprises his role as Channing Tatum. He isn't around for long through as he is quickly replaced by Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson as the film's lead hero. The Rock (The Tooth Fairy) makes a better action star than Channing Tatum, which doesn't really say much for The Rock, since Justin Timberlake and even Jay Leno would also make a better action star than Tatum. With over 20 movies in his resume, Tatum's career highlight so far is playing a stripper in "Magic Mike". Is it about time for the 32-year-old non-actor to take a long, honest look at himself?

    Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/gi-joe-retaliation/
    Collapse
  13. Apr 14, 2013
    4
    G.I. Joe: Retaliation is exactly what you would expect from it: action. The story line was dry and it was highly predictable. I even found myself guessing what characters were going to say next. It was actually quite pathetic writing. The action sequence on the mountains in the snow was the best action of the movie. Nothing terribly exciting came out of this film. Unless you want to see some decent action (which wasn't even that great) don't watch it. Expand
  14. Apr 29, 2013
    3
    Yeah, the strongest most elite army in the world gets wiped out with 6 granades.
    A movie so badly written, that the only thing enjoyable are the explotions ,because even the Ninja characters, do everything....except act like Ninjas.
  15. Mar 29, 2013
    4
    Its definetly a bigger step from Rise of Cobra, however Retaliation has an are-we-there-yet effect on its non stop action scenes and has plot shifts that are strange especially because of what happens to Duke at the beginning.
  16. Jul 6, 2013
    4
    It's better than Rise of the Cobra, but that's not saying much. I did enjoy The Rock in this movie and some of the stuff with Snake Eyes and Storm Shadow were cool, but still bad dialogue and some dumb scenes in this film makes it not worth your time.
  17. Apr 4, 2013
    2
    This movie is a joke! The story is messed up, there is no character development, the graphics are somewhat outdated and the jokes are forced and are corny. One of the most-hyped movies that turned out to be garabage. I gave it a 2 because I'm generous today. If you love GI Joe as a child and want to preserve your childhood, be warned. This movie is a nightmare. Beware!
  18. Apr 9, 2013
    1
    I realize you have to give lots of allowances for most action films, but damn. Plenty of boom, explosions, robot fireflies that pack the punch of a couple sticks of dynamite, but what kills this movie is the unbelievably insipid dialogue.
    Those of us old enough to recall the glory days of those wretched Hanna/Barbera cartoons, with the horrible animation, minimalist background and
    dialogue meant for the kiddies will get a memory nudge from this sequel. Imagine "Johnny Quest" but with worse acting.
    Sometimes action films can be a catharsis, some mindless entertainment on an otherwise dull day, but this film left me feeling like a redneck gun nut who acts patriotic until it's time to put up or shut up. As banal as any movie can get.
    Expand
  19. Apr 14, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I saw this movie yesterday. I was looking forward to it having enjoyed Rise of Cobra. But I didn't. The one thing that killed this movie for me, was the death of Duke. This wouldn't have been so bad if he wasn't the main character of the FIRST movie! I kept telling myself, he'll come back, he'll still be alive, he'll make a comeback. But it was not to be. the fact they tried to make me relate to characters that I didn't know is incredulous. The exclusion of Ripcord and loads of other people from Rise, and the lack of the technology also seen in Rise, it just killed it. I would've liked to have seen the Baroness come back as well, as a good guy, but nooo. I got all hyped up for this film and it let me down. Badly. Don't bother buying tickets for it, don't buy the DVD. Rise of Cobra is just better, even if it too wasn't the best movie in the world.

    I admit, there were good bits, but there were too many bad bits. So many cons, that I cannot begin to describe them all.

    I would've been better off watching The Croods.
    Expand
  20. Aug 17, 2013
    0
    You seriously have to be a 5 year old or an idiot to like this movie. It's got some STUPID actors and actresses, terrible graphics, and a plot line straight from a 3 year old's mouth. Just a cash grab where they didn't even TRY to make a decent movie.
  21. Apr 28, 2013
    2
    I'm sorry but being someone who watched the cartoon series and the animated movie as a child, this movie just pissed on all of my childhood. Duke is the main character of the cartoon and is the best known and this movie shows three scenes with him and kill him off right at the beginning of the movie. This movie had little to no story and outside of one great action scene with Snake Eyes and Jinx the rest of it was a bore. I felt dumber after watching this thing. Expand
  22. Jul 22, 2013
    4
    Esta pelicula no me gusto para nada, no le vi tanta emocion, ni mucha accion.A G.I. joe: Retaliation la veo mas una pelicula de accion para niños que para todo el publico.
  23. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I hated that they killed off Channing Tatum!! One of the main characters right in the beginning it made the movie awful!! If they were going to kill him off they needed to do it at the end not at the very beginning! Expand
  24. Sep 7, 2013
    4
    G.I. Joe Retaliation featuring Dwayne Johnson, Channing Tatum, and Bruce Willis, is the third movie of the series, and the most hyped about. After seeing the trailer a year before it came out, I thought that they did this because the film was not as good as the crew thought, and Paramount still wanted to make their money. Turns out, Paramount just wanted their money. Director, Jon M. Chu really made some big mistakes. Read the full review to learn why. Retaliation begins with the infiltration of a North Korean base. I wasn't really sure what the outcome was because out of nowhere the G.I. Joe movie intro begins.

    It seemed to me that they spent more time on the intro then the actual movie. Roadblock (Dwayne Johnson) and Duke (Channing Tatum) are great friends in the film as shown by their friendly bets on their shooting accuracy, and Call of Duty matches. Within the first ten minutes of the film, Duke is killed by an enemy chopper that just completely wipes out their base while Roadblock, Jaye, (Adrianne Palicki) and Flint, (D.J. Cotrona) are underwater in a small tunnel. They escape and try to figure out what is going on, when we learn that Zartan (Arnold Vosloo) is in the presidents disguise while the real president (Jonathan Pryce) is captured, and Snake Eyes (Ray Park) has been captured and imprisoned by Warden James. (Walton Goggins)

    What I noticed about Retaliation is that about half of the movie is just fight scenes which though it is entertaining, it is just filler. The three Joes meet with General Joe Colton (Bruce Willis) at his house, whose entire first floor has trapdoors to weapons. It started to get excessive after the fifth drawer was opened containing more grenades. Again, their goes two more minutes of the film. My favorite part of the movie is when Zartan, (still disguised as the president) is meeting with all the world’s leaders telling them to give up their nuclear weapons. As they continue to call him crazy, he releases America’s nukes at all of the countries in the room. As the leaders fight back, they all have given up their weapons and are now in a nuclear free world like Zartan wished. Then he released one missile from his master weapon called Zeus, and wipes out most of London. As there is a short time before the rest of the weapon is deployed, Roadblock is the only one that can stop it.

    I will not reveal the ending but the movie was so predictable, a nine year old could have figured it out. While watching the movie, I wrote down a few of the things that really bugged me. The gunshots to start off. They looked like a crappy low budget film effect, and I can say that a $130 million dollar budget is not even close to low. I even recognized that in one of the fight scenes, the there was no sound effect when a kick to the face was thrown. One of our main characters Duke was killed within the first ten minutes which I mentioned earlier. I thought this was a big mistake because if the crew knew he was going to die this early in the film, they shouldn't have taken the precious movie length and added the pointless times in which they were together playing Call of Duty and having bets on babysitting each others kids. When I say precious run time, I am talking about the film being exactly 90 minutes. To compare, in this franchise, Rise of the Cobra was 118 min and directed by Stephen Sommers.

    I'm not sure if director Chu went into the film with a great idea and then realized that the idea only lasted half an hour on screen or what but they really messed up Retaliation. When I talked about spending most of their money on advertising, they started playing the trailer in theaters over a year before it came out and it really paid off. Retaliation made $371 Million. This obviously tells me Paramount got what they wanted and Chu knows what he's doing.

    Though the movie made an outrageous amount of money, It wasn't worth the $13 dollars a ticket or even half that. G.I. Joe Retaliation was so short it had me out in time for lunch and I will not be recommending it to anyone. I think the franchise again gets a new director and maybe puts some thought into the film, instead of whipping the cameras out and realizing at best, they can call it is a short film. When this happened, they added the useless fillers so they could actually call it a movie. As this is my biggest review so far, I hope you can tell I put a lot of thought into it and that my score reflects that.
    Expand
  25. Sep 30, 2013
    2
    I saw this movie at my friends house and i got so bored that i turned of the TV and we did something else. I didn't see the whole movie but i saw enough to know that it was one of the worst movies of the year. if you are a fan of action movies and you watch this film you will be really disappointed.
  26. Oct 23, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was never going to be a masterpiece but even so its still boring and disappointing, especially as they kill off the most interesting character in my opinion. (Mouse, Joseph Mazzello) The franchise was in trouble when they can't get the original cast back. A shame because the Rock seems like a nice bloke but he keeps making terrible films. Expand
  27. Jan 5, 2014
    4
    G.I. Joe: Retaliation is a brainless exercise of fun and exciting action sequences but is held too loosely by its narrative and underdeveloped characters.
  28. Jan 17, 2014
    3
    G.I. Joe: Retaliation is bad but not terrible. Good crowd scenes and special effects, fights and explosions. He places an exciting but very stupid. The story and the script is very bad, almost none of the actors were not the first film.
  29. Jan 11, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. where do I begin. well first of all duke dying from a car explosion at the beginning, what were they doing killing of the main character right away???. second I was hoping that whole plot twist of the first one would be better, but the f###king guy was storm shadows old master, WTF???. third WTF storm shadow you cant help you enemy and just walk away and betray cobra command. fourth why did the cobra commander fly away at the end, what a b###H. this move deserves a negative rating, I hope this is the last G.I joe movie for a long time. fifth why was this movie delayed and in 3d Expand
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 31
  2. Negative: 10 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Louis Black
    Apr 3, 2013
    30
    There actually is some clever dialogue in the film, especially early on between Roadblock and Duke (Tatum). But this fades over the course of the film, and too much of what the characters say sounds as though it’s been lifted verbatim from 1930s and 1940s serials.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 3, 2013
    25
    This movie never realizes how ridiculous anything it does truly is, right up to the last-second promise of another sequel.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 1, 2013
    70
    An action figure with a sweet core, Johnson can pump up the humanity of any franchise, whether he’s playing a stepdad who becomes a hero in Journey 2 or, as here, a stud soldier who treats Flint and Jaye like his grown children and shepherds them through peril. Following those younger Joes, the Retaliation audience is encouraged to clamber up on Johnson’s huge soldiers and go along for a pretty cool ride.