Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 247 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 31
  2. Negative: 10 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 1, 2013
    70
    An action figure with a sweet core, Johnson can pump up the humanity of any franchise, whether he’s playing a stepdad who becomes a hero in Journey 2 or, as here, a stud soldier who treats Flint and Jaye like his grown children and shepherds them through peril. Following those younger Joes, the Retaliation audience is encouraged to clamber up on Johnson’s huge soldiers and go along for a pretty cool ride.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 27, 2013
    67
    It's well-executed technocratic action fluff. But it did leave me buzzed rather than drained.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 28, 2013
    63
    Willis is at his relaxed best this time.
  4. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Mar 27, 2013
    40
    It's massive, all the retaliation and the world saving stuff. And it's convoluted. Frankly no one should have to think that hard to keep up with the Joes.
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Mar 29, 2013
    40
    Plays like a tiresomely extended evening of channel surfing.
  6. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 28, 2013
    38
    Feels like a five-year-old with a megaphone, excitedly yelling about his latest bulldozer-soldier-dinosaur smash-kill-squash-everything game.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Mar 28, 2013
    25
    What's the difference between an action figure and an action star? Very little in G.I. Joe: Retaliation, which features no performances of note, even from such combat-tested thespians as Bruce Willis, Jonathan Pryce and Dwayne Johnson.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 72
  2. Negative: 17 out of 72
  1. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    A very off line Gi Joe movie, I was very excited for this one and it was good. First of all, there is this guy who is not Duke and is not Channing Tatum and he's still in the movie I mean is there some connection Mr. Chu? But, don't listen to me, this is a great oddball creation and is the best action movie so far in 2013 rather than Dead Man Down, and Retaliation has a boost up upgrade to actors, direction, story and screenplay. Rise Of The Cobra was a little disappointing and this sequel has everything- guns, chicks, and- hey! Dwayne Johnson! The film had good pace and timing, it keeps you hooked up till the end. Now, Bruce Willis is in the movie but is he cool in this movie? Duh, he's Bruce Willis and this Muscular Baldie is epic awesome is this movie. So, for the bad critics out there who think that this movie is bad- Watch It Again. I mean, it's a GOOD movie, its what Gi Joe fans want! It just like the cartoons and it has Cobra Menace! Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    8
    My Opinion *

    I've never seen a G.I. Joe, however watching this really gave me a buzz. Sure I understand that some people think that this
    film isn't that great, nor as great as it could should have been, however I really appreciated this movie and everything within it. The fight scenes really got my heart racing, and some of the effects and stunts were just fantastic! I give this an 8. It's great, but it's not perfect. Sure it's just another action movie, but mixing action along with martial arts is a rarity. I really recommend this. Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2013
    7
    This is actually a decent film. Desperately adequate story speckled with some excellent action sequences. The star power factor will keep you interested for most of your time with this movie as it dissolves into action movie overkill. Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2013
    5
    Well. This movie is a ''more of the same'' type movie. Its all very spectacular but with no sense. I saw it in 3D. Thats why I scored it with a 5. The 3D effects are good, but the story is a piece of crap. There are a lot of 'shoot whatever moves' moments. Don't waste your money. I mean it Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2013
    4
    G.I. Joe Retaliation featuring Dwayne Johnson, Channing Tatum, and Bruce Willis, is the third movie of the series, and the most hyped about. After seeing the trailer a year before it came out, I thought that they did this because the film was not as good as the crew thought, and Paramount still wanted to make their money. Turns out, Paramount just wanted their money. Director, Jon M. Chu really made some big mistakes. Read the full review to learn why. Retaliation begins with the infiltration of a North Korean base. I wasn't really sure what the outcome was because out of nowhere the G.I. Joe movie intro begins.

    It seemed to me that they spent more time on the intro then the actual movie. Roadblock (Dwayne Johnson) and Duke (Channing Tatum) are great friends in the film as shown by their friendly bets on their shooting accuracy, and Call of Duty matches. Within the first ten minutes of the film, Duke is killed by an enemy chopper that just completely wipes out their base while Roadblock, Jaye, (Adrianne Palicki) and Flint, (D.J. Cotrona) are underwater in a small tunnel. They escape and try to figure out what is going on, when we learn that Zartan (Arnold Vosloo) is in the presidents disguise while the real president (Jonathan Pryce) is captured, and Snake Eyes (Ray Park) has been captured and imprisoned by Warden James. (Walton Goggins)

    What I noticed about Retaliation is that about half of the movie is just fight scenes which though it is entertaining, it is just filler. The three Joes meet with General Joe Colton (Bruce Willis) at his house, whose entire first floor has trapdoors to weapons. It started to get excessive after the fifth drawer was opened containing more grenades. Again, their goes two more minutes of the film. My favorite part of the movie is when Zartan, (still disguised as the president) is meeting with all the world’s leaders telling them to give up their nuclear weapons. As they continue to call him crazy, he releases America’s nukes at all of the countries in the room. As the leaders fight back, they all have given up their weapons and are now in a nuclear free world like Zartan wished. Then he released one missile from his master weapon called Zeus, and wipes out most of London. As there is a short time before the rest of the weapon is deployed, Roadblock is the only one that can stop it.

    I will not reveal the ending but the movie was so predictable, a nine year old could have figured it out. While watching the movie, I wrote down a few of the things that really bugged me. The gunshots to start off. They looked like a crappy low budget film effect, and I can say that a $130 million dollar budget is not even close to low. I even recognized that in one of the fight scenes, the there was no sound effect when a kick to the face was thrown. One of our main characters Duke was killed within the first ten minutes which I mentioned earlier. I thought this was a big mistake because if the crew knew he was going to die this early in the film, they shouldn't have taken the precious movie length and added the pointless times in which they were together playing Call of Duty and having bets on babysitting each others kids. When I say precious run time, I am talking about the film being exactly 90 minutes. To compare, in this franchise, Rise of the Cobra was 118 min and directed by Stephen Sommers.

    I'm not sure if director Chu went into the film with a great idea and then realized that the idea only lasted half an hour on screen or what but they really messed up Retaliation. When I talked about spending most of their money on advertising, they started playing the trailer in theaters over a year before it came out and it really paid off. Retaliation made $371 Million. This obviously tells me Paramount got what they wanted and Chu knows what he's doing.

    Though the movie made an outrageous amount of money, It wasn't worth the $13 dollars a ticket or even half that. G.I. Joe Retaliation was so short it had me out in time for lunch and I will not be recommending it to anyone. I think the franchise again gets a new director and maybe puts some thought into the film, instead of whipping the cameras out and realizing at best, they can call it is a short film. When this happened, they added the useless fillers so they could actually call it a movie. As this is my biggest review so far, I hope you can tell I put a lot of thought into it and that my score reflects that.
    Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2013
    4
    Its definetly a bigger step from Rise of Cobra, however Retaliation has an are-we-there-yet effect on its non stop action scenes and has plot shifts that are strange especially because of what happens to Duke at the beginning. Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I saw this movie yesterday. I was looking forward to it having enjoyed Rise of Cobra. But I didn't. The one thing that killed this movie for me, was the death of Duke. This wouldn't have been so bad if he wasn't the main character of the FIRST movie! I kept telling myself, he'll come back, he'll still be alive, he'll make a comeback. But it was not to be. the fact they tried to make me relate to characters that I didn't know is incredulous. The exclusion of Ripcord and loads of other people from Rise, and the lack of the technology also seen in Rise, it just killed it. I would've liked to have seen the Baroness come back as well, as a good guy, but nooo. I got all hyped up for this film and it let me down. Badly. Don't bother buying tickets for it, don't buy the DVD. Rise of Cobra is just better, even if it too wasn't the best movie in the world.

    I admit, there were good bits, but there were too many bad bits. So many cons, that I cannot begin to describe them all.

    I would've been better off watching The Croods.
    Expand

See all 72 User Reviews