Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 239 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 31
  2. Negative: 10 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 1, 2013
    70
    An action figure with a sweet core, Johnson can pump up the humanity of any franchise, whether he’s playing a stepdad who becomes a hero in Journey 2 or, as here, a stud soldier who treats Flint and Jaye like his grown children and shepherds them through peril. Following those younger Joes, the Retaliation audience is encouraged to clamber up on Johnson’s huge soldiers and go along for a pretty cool ride.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 27, 2013
    67
    It's well-executed technocratic action fluff. But it did leave me buzzed rather than drained.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Mar 28, 2013
    63
    Willis is at his relaxed best this time.
  4. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Mar 27, 2013
    40
    It's massive, all the retaliation and the world saving stuff. And it's convoluted. Frankly no one should have to think that hard to keep up with the Joes.
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Mar 29, 2013
    40
    Plays like a tiresomely extended evening of channel surfing.
  6. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Mar 28, 2013
    38
    Feels like a five-year-old with a megaphone, excitedly yelling about his latest bulldozer-soldier-dinosaur smash-kill-squash-everything game.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Mar 28, 2013
    25
    What's the difference between an action figure and an action star? Very little in G.I. Joe: Retaliation, which features no performances of note, even from such combat-tested thespians as Bruce Willis, Jonathan Pryce and Dwayne Johnson.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 71
  2. Negative: 16 out of 71
  1. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    A very off line Gi Joe movie, I was very excited for this one and it was good. First of all, there is this guy who is not Duke and is not Channing Tatum and he's still in the movie I mean is there some connection Mr. Chu? But, don't listen to me, this is a great oddball creation and is the best action movie so far in 2013 rather than Dead Man Down, and Retaliation has a boost up upgrade to actors, direction, story and screenplay. Rise Of The Cobra was a little disappointing and this sequel has everything- guns, chicks, and- hey! Dwayne Johnson! The film had good pace and timing, it keeps you hooked up till the end. Now, Bruce Willis is in the movie but is he cool in this movie? Duh, he's Bruce Willis and this Muscular Baldie is epic awesome is this movie. So, for the bad critics out there who think that this movie is bad- Watch It Again. I mean, it's a GOOD movie, its what Gi Joe fans want! It just like the cartoons and it has Cobra Menace! Expand
  2. May 28, 2013
    8
    After the last one, I thought I was going to get the same thing, and since this was directed by the director of the Step Up movies, I thought it was going to be even worse than the last one. I was HUGELY mistaken! This sequel/reboot is exactly what G.I. Joe is: stupid fun! Jon M. Chu definitely shows he's a huge fan of G.I. Joe and he should be praised for this! Expand
  3. May 2, 2013
    7
    "G.I. Joe Retaliation" is a big dumb action movie, but that is not a bad thing because it is an entertaining big dumb action move. The spectacle of the action scenes is amazing and the actors do their job well. Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2013
    6
    No, GI Joe Retaliation is not more of the same. Its much different. After a major attack that killed most of them, the remaining GI Joes begin to rebuild the team. The white house is taken over and its up to them to save the world. This sequel is bigger than the original, but not necessarily better. I only saw one major flaw in the film, and it was that some characters felt almost unnecessary. Heck, Bruce Willis hardly got as much screen time as they hyped him up for. Still, this film is a glimmer of hope for the future of the franchise. Hopefully the next installment can improve on the little things. Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2014
    4
    G.I. Joe: Retaliation is a brainless exercise of fun and exciting action sequences but is held too loosely by its narrative and underdeveloped characters. Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2013
    4
    G.I. Joe: Retaliation is exactly what you would expect from it: action. The story line was dry and it was highly predictable. I even found myself guessing what characters were going to say next. It was actually quite pathetic writing. The action sequence on the mountains in the snow was the best action of the movie. Nothing terribly exciting came out of this film. Unless you want to see some decent action (which wasn't even that great) don't watch it. Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I saw this movie yesterday. I was looking forward to it having enjoyed Rise of Cobra. But I didn't. The one thing that killed this movie for me, was the death of Duke. This wouldn't have been so bad if he wasn't the main character of the FIRST movie! I kept telling myself, he'll come back, he'll still be alive, he'll make a comeback. But it was not to be. the fact they tried to make me relate to characters that I didn't know is incredulous. The exclusion of Ripcord and loads of other people from Rise, and the lack of the technology also seen in Rise, it just killed it. I would've liked to have seen the Baroness come back as well, as a good guy, but nooo. I got all hyped up for this film and it let me down. Badly. Don't bother buying tickets for it, don't buy the DVD. Rise of Cobra is just better, even if it too wasn't the best movie in the world.

    I admit, there were good bits, but there were too many bad bits. So many cons, that I cannot begin to describe them all.

    I would've been better off watching The Croods.
    Expand

See all 71 User Reviews