G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 345 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. LuizE
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    A Piece of FUN, a lot of action and great special effects, good history. Its 10 to me, enormously entertaining.
  2. BradY
    Aug 7, 2009
    8
    Given the track record of Wolverine, Terminator and Transformers 2 this summer, my expectations for GI Joe, while initially high, had been tempered. But, in reality, I came out of the theater completely blown away. It seems fairly clear to me that they (the director, production staff, writers, actors, etc) all knew what they were going for... A clever, action-packed re-imagining of the GI Given the track record of Wolverine, Terminator and Transformers 2 this summer, my expectations for GI Joe, while initially high, had been tempered. But, in reality, I came out of the theater completely blown away. It seems fairly clear to me that they (the director, production staff, writers, actors, etc) all knew what they were going for... A clever, action-packed re-imagining of the GI Joe franchise that anyone over 18 remembered when growing up. Is it has hardcore as the comic books? Certainly not. Is it as campy as the cartoon? No, not exactly. But does it capture what made GI Joe so cool in the first place? Most definitely. GI Joe won't win awards for special effects, writing, or acting... But for doing things their own way and getting it (mostly) right, they should all be commended. Expand
  3. Lauranda
    Aug 9, 2009
    8
    People, it's based on a simple cartoon that was just plain good vs. bad. To expect anything more than a wild action ride is foolish. Not every movie that comes out has to be high art.
  4. GeorgeS.
    Aug 11, 2009
    8
    Certainly not a cinematic masterpiece like Citizen Kane or A Clockwork Orange, but still enormously entertaining. The story is not entirely ludicrous, and the characters, while not exactly dynamic, are also a ton of fun. In short, worth your money, if you are from 14-45, and unless you've got a massive pole up your ass, like King Art Snob David down there.
  5. Supernintendoh
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    A 10, just because. People that give movies Zero' and for th Stupidest Reason. Horrible Acting, Worst Movie ever. Like if any of you can act any better. LOL, Oh and those who talk about being the worst movie ever. You guys and gals are idiots. I bet you say that to every movie. Sure why not. I find Movies entertaining and Fun. I like to watch moveis not to see every picture prefect A 10, just because. People that give movies Zero' and for th Stupidest Reason. Horrible Acting, Worst Movie ever. Like if any of you can act any better. LOL, Oh and those who talk about being the worst movie ever. You guys and gals are idiots. I bet you say that to every movie. Sure why not. I find Movies entertaining and Fun. I like to watch moveis not to see every picture prefect and in-perfect movie. I have seen bad and this does not come close to bad {BLOOD RAYNE ANYONE) Maybe i should call Uwe a 10 for every movie he makes. LOL. GI JOE, your OK. Expand
  6. sanjayk
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    It's very good.
  7. FrancisA
    Nov 10, 2009
    7
    I gave this movie a 7 because I was a huge fan of GI JOE as a kid. If I was the average person who doesn't have any knowledge of GI JOE from the 80's. I would probably give it a 2.5-3 just because the film is looks like a close replica of how Transformers was shot. Army, secret government task force, action scenes through the city, cheesy relationships, I can go on and on. I I gave this movie a 7 because I was a huge fan of GI JOE as a kid. If I was the average person who doesn't have any knowledge of GI JOE from the 80's. I would probably give it a 2.5-3 just because the film is looks like a close replica of how Transformers was shot. Army, secret government task force, action scenes through the city, cheesy relationships, I can go on and on. I read Ebert's review and he was thinking that the Ninjas were in it because they need the asian audience in Japan. Which of course if you are a true JOE fan you would know Snake Eyes and Storm Shadow are a major part of GI Joe/Cobra. When I watched this movie, I watched it like I was that 10 year old boy again. GI Joe was made for 30 year olds who love the nostalgia of their childhood. If this was the worst movie you have ever seen I don't blame you. I really hated Revenge of the Fallen. Expand
  8. May 5, 2013
    10
    Thoroughly entertaining. Lots of action involving cool high-tech toys. Love the motorcycle chase. Animated, but on rails nonetheless. Hot chicks but cleavage is never enough. It feels just like the real-life version of the comic book heroes. Overall, I enjoyed the non-stop thrill ride from start to end.
  9. EdH
    Aug 7, 2009
    7
    [***SPOILERS***] DON'T READ THIS IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN IT. The movie was great, the plot was good, and the actors were good. Great special effects, action, and fight scenes too. The only part of the story I disliked was Stormshadow seems to be dead, and Baroness is turned good. To me Stormshadow and Snake Eyes were the most popular characters in the cartton and comics. It seems [***SPOILERS***] DON'T READ THIS IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN IT. The movie was great, the plot was good, and the actors were good. Great special effects, action, and fight scenes too. The only part of the story I disliked was Stormshadow seems to be dead, and Baroness is turned good. To me Stormshadow and Snake Eyes were the most popular characters in the cartton and comics. It seems silly if they plan on doing a trilogy that killing Stormshadow off in the first one is ridiculous! I even stayed through the credits to see if they pulled a clip of him living only to be let down. It's left open to a sequel and Stormshadows body wasn't destroyed and Baroness could possibly be turned bad again. Hopefully it's added into the story. So with that I took a possible 8 and minused a point for Stormshadow dying and Baroness turning. Expand
  10. JessG
    Aug 10, 2009
    9
    Excellent. So many visual effects, good story, the critic destroyed it but it was a very good movie. It's hard to adapt a movie from the cartoons but it was a very good job. Congratulations top the producers, actors and everybody who was involved in this project.
  11. JGrant
    Aug 16, 2009
    9
    I have no understanding whatsoever of critics.It's actually quite amusing.Honestly, the fact that a movie like Dragonball Evolution can get a higher average than G.I. Joe is beyond me!These critics just try to hard on thinking what they think is "professional" expecting high art in movies where it cannot possibly be due.There is great action and it is pure entertainment.If I have no understanding whatsoever of critics.It's actually quite amusing.Honestly, the fact that a movie like Dragonball Evolution can get a higher average than G.I. Joe is beyond me!These critics just try to hard on thinking what they think is "professional" expecting high art in movies where it cannot possibly be due.There is great action and it is pure entertainment.If your'e an action/adventure lover you'll enjoy this film. Expand
  12. Dr.Jim
    Aug 10, 2009
    9
    I don't get these reviews. I read the NY Times and The New Yorker, listen to NPR, and dont' have TV, so you would think I would hate something as mindless as GI Joe. But A.O. Scott at the NY Times and so many other reviewers are thinking too much. With a "blockbuster" like GI Joe, you have to suspend disbelief (yes, I know it's supposed to be "suspend belief, but I think my I don't get these reviews. I read the NY Times and The New Yorker, listen to NPR, and dont' have TV, so you would think I would hate something as mindless as GI Joe. But A.O. Scott at the NY Times and so many other reviewers are thinking too much. With a "blockbuster" like GI Joe, you have to suspend disbelief (yes, I know it's supposed to be "suspend belief, but I think my phrase is more accurate) and just go with what GI Joe is about: action, cool weapons and technology, beautiful women, however utterly implausible it is. If you like this sort of action/adventure movie, you'll like GI Joe. Heck, I loved GI Joe!! Expand
  13. DW
    Aug 10, 2009
    7
    Succeeds where Transformers 2 failed. It's dumb, sure, but it's not stupid to the point of feeling insulting. Moves along at a good pace, and doesn't really give you much time or reason to stop and think about how ridiculous it is. Of course a lot of it is obviously ridiculous, but what do you expect from a live action G.I. Joe cartoon? You can point at laugh at the moments Succeeds where Transformers 2 failed. It's dumb, sure, but it's not stupid to the point of feeling insulting. Moves along at a good pace, and doesn't really give you much time or reason to stop and think about how ridiculous it is. Of course a lot of it is obviously ridiculous, but what do you expect from a live action G.I. Joe cartoon? You can point at laugh at the moments of bad CGI (like, say, the polar bear) if that's your thing, but really this movie had it where it counted (the big Paris chase scene and most of the other big action sequences, aka most of the movie). A worthwhile escape from the heat and real life. Expand
  14. JimG
    Aug 7, 2009
    7
    It was a fun, somewhat dumb, action movie.
  15. DD
    Aug 9, 2009
    9
    Saw the movie last night....Yes the plot line was kind of dumb but overall it was a good action movie.
  16. DanielL
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    It was a great movie with cool action scenes and somewhat interesting storyline.
  17. mauriciol
    Oct 18, 2009
    8
    I had a good time seeing this movie, it was just what i expected, i mean its hard to live up to GI joe but they did.
  18. DavidL
    Aug 10, 2009
    8
    I don't believe any of the top critics have ever watched the G.I. Joe cartoon, which is exactly the targeted audience. They should relax.
  19. AaronW
    Aug 10, 2009
    10
    I loved the movie. It captured the simple action experience I had from my youth in a live action film.
  20. AnonymousMC
    Aug 11, 2009
    8
    Where is the love for this film? its all well and good to pan a film saying it has no depth, but its not meant to, when i was a kid the only thing going through my mind was "snake eyes, is bad ass" i truly wish the critics would wake up and stop being so pathetically preachy
  21. R.H
    Aug 10, 2009
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie. It had great action, comedy, actors fit the characters, was kind of cheesy. But hey so were the G.I. Joe cartoons! I grew up with G.I. Joe and I think they did a good job all around.
  22. JerodJ
    Aug 13, 2009
    8
    Pure popcorn entertainment. Definitely not a thinking man's film (if the concept of ice that sinks offends your intelligence, skip this flick), but as pure eye candy and cheesy fun this movie succeeds brilliantly. The acting and writing are deliciously over the top and totally cheesy, the action is loud and sparkly but far more cohesive than the caffeine-addled creature that was Pure popcorn entertainment. Definitely not a thinking man's film (if the concept of ice that sinks offends your intelligence, skip this flick), but as pure eye candy and cheesy fun this movie succeeds brilliantly. The acting and writing are deliciously over the top and totally cheesy, the action is loud and sparkly but far more cohesive than the caffeine-addled creature that was Transformers 2. Imagine that this movie is based on some of the battles and one-liners that you created as a 10-11 year old playing with the toys and you'll have a pretty good idea of what to expect, except on the big screen it's just as cool as you thought it was way back then. Cobra Commander is probably the best villian to hit the screen in a long time, from an unintentionally (or perhaps intentionally) hilarious point of view. Suspend your disbelief for the length of the movie and let the kid in you enjoy it ("not only do the suits let you run faster than a speeding car, they have fully automatic machine guns! Haha! Beat that, Cobra! *explosion noises*"). If you can do that, you'll love this flick. Expand
  23. FishS
    Aug 10, 2009
    7
    Dumb but lots of fun. Revenge of the Fallen coulda been this good if it followed a similar running time.
  24. NickG
    Aug 15, 2009
    8
    It held my interest and was very entertaining.Critics who gave it a negative rating just exaggerated on it flaws.It wasn't bad at all-It was definately worth the money.
  25. DrakeG
    Aug 16, 2009
    8
    Rotten Tomatoes gives a more accurate score of 49 based on 122 reviews.This movie was obviously not for everyone's taste.There were some really good scenes, like the car chase in Paris and the fight scenes with the Baroness and Scarlett to the fights with Snake Eyes and Storm Shadow.I actually liked it-it was hugely underrated.The acting wasn't bad.Sienna Miller and Storm Shadow Rotten Tomatoes gives a more accurate score of 49 based on 122 reviews.This movie was obviously not for everyone's taste.There were some really good scenes, like the car chase in Paris and the fight scenes with the Baroness and Scarlett to the fights with Snake Eyes and Storm Shadow.I actually liked it-it was hugely underrated.The acting wasn't bad.Sienna Miller and Storm Shadow acted very well. Expand
  26. HamrikL.
    Aug 18, 2009
    8
    Just because critics disliked this film does not make this a bad film.I really enjoyed it.With action films you just watch the film and dont think too much.That's the point.It's not Schindler's List!
  27. DavidG
    Aug 10, 2009
    9
    The critic always destroy a movie based in cartoons, I loved this movie, I think it was amazing! Many people will say that is unrealistic but I think NOTHING IN THE MOVIE WORLD COULD BE UNREALISTIC! Excellent Movie, I would like for the next movie a non human enemy.
  28. TylerS
    Aug 10, 2009
    8
    This movie was everything the GIjoe cartoons of my childhood where. Over the top action, crazy doomsday weapons and a last minute save by GI Joe. I wasn't cray about the ending they gave Baroness. but i feel they definitely left room for a sequel, and hopefully they will have flint and Lady J this time.
  29. ZachR
    Aug 29, 2009
    8
    If your a fan of G.I. Joe from the 80's, you'll love this movie. For everyone else.. its only an slightly above average action movie. I'm rating this based on my love of G.I. Joe, and urge every fan to watch it...
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 25
  2. Negative: 12 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    40
    Bond without the style and Team America without the bellylaughs. The moronic script and nonsensical plot are good for a snicker, though.
  2. 70
    While thesping is not the main game here, having a cast of bright young things certainly helps, and Quaid gets in a few nice John Wayne-like moments as the no-nonsense boss.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    30
    The only collateral damage is in the audience, where, as you sit through the movie, you can feel your IQ drop minute by minute.